Rent Tomb Raider Underworld for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tomb Raider Underworld

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3, DS, PS2
GF Rating
6.6

5346 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tomb Raider games are not action games.

posted by weave008 (ATHENS, TN) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

23 out of 24 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

This game has many great points but many bad points. First thing is first if your looking for a straight forward game with not much thought on where to go this game is not for you. This is not a strictly action game you will find that more often than not your just trying to do some puzzle solving. It is most certainly not without it's fair share of action. If your a fan of the other tomb raiders than you will feel right at home. Its got everything that a tomb raider fan would be familiar with. Unfortunately that also includes that lackluster controls. It is still a difficult game to play especially with the jumping controls not knowing if your going to jump in the right direction or fall to your death. Controls are the biggest problem with this game. The graphics and scenery are beautiful. Where Underworld really shines though is the manner in which you solve the many puzzles in the game. They always have new obstacles and challenges and I never found it repetitive. I did one puzzle that had so many different steps to it that by the time I finished I couldn't help but throw my hand up in the air. All in All I think this was a great tomb raider game and would recommend it to anyone who likes the series or likes problem solving in games. Once again though if you are looking for just straight action this is defiantly not the game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Sweet but Short

posted by clone1073 (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Aug 2004

29 out of 31 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed playing this game. If you played Legends, then you will quickly feel right at home with the controls and puzzles. They made a few upgrades to Lara's moves, but most are easy to pick up and make sense when using them to solve puzzles. Weapons are all available from the start so you don't have too much trouble dispatching baddies. They're ridiculously stupid anyway.
I think the only gripes I have are that the game was over quickly, and once you got the super weapon you didn't really have to fight anymore. Not to mention there was no final boss or real complexity to the final puzzle.
The game is definitely worth a rent but I don't think I would buy it. It really has little replay value except for the hardcore treasure hunters. Take a long weekend and enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad

posted by Scott666 (ENDICOTT, NY) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2007

29 out of 33 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

First let me start by saying I am a huge TR fan. I have played all of them and found something special in all the titles. Now let me start with the good. Most of the locations and art design of the levels were really good to great. Some of the jumping elements were well thought out and provoked a sense of thought into making the next leap or jump. What I didn't like about it was this: WAY TO SHORT! There were a handful of bugs and glitches in the game that didn't really hinder game play, but got a tad frustrating after awhile. There weren't any boss battles. Every time I thought I was going to fight a boss, it cut to a cinematic and that was it. Not a bad game, but Legend was a lot more involved and entertaining.
Worth a rental but DON'T spend the cash on owning it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not a very fun game at all

posted by Ivellias (HIGHLAND FALLS, NY) Sep 14, 2009

Member since May 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I remember playing the original Tomb Raider games for the playstation fondly, back when analog sticks were still the big, hip new thing, and 3d graphics were coming into full swing. I picked up Tom Raider: Underworld to see if the game held any of that nostalgia, and unfortunately all it did was make me remember what I -didn't- like about the games in the first place.

Graphics - The graphics on the 360 version of the game are servicable, but not overwhelming. The first level, a burning mansion,is done up rather well,and look pretty. Unfortunately the levels are still designed like the original resident evil, i.e., you can only move down certain paths, and there's very little interaction with the environment that aren't pre-scripted. Lara herself is quite well done(to cater to tastes like mine, hur hur hur), but the enemies(starting with sharks) are horribly rendered and look like plastic toy models.

Gameplay - The gameplay stumbles right from the get-go. Instead of a nonlinear, open environment(which just begs to be created with all the visible things you encounter), the differing levels all more or less run you a relatively straight path, with confusing or otherwise annoying ways to activate objectives and puzzles. Most of the time you can simply throw yourself off a ledge,or die at a particular objective, and magically appear past it.
The camera controls are simply horrendous, slow, and unwieldy, as is Lara herself. They crammed so many action moves to a scant three or four buttons that sometimes you end up doing the wrong thing at the wrong time, and the way it happens endlessly does not inspire one to continue.

Still, the objectives are fun(in one part, you dive underwater, and slip into an abandoned temple, where you have to kill a massive, but blind squid), but even the thrill of a LAra Croft Story(and her tight bikini-clad pixels of course), can't help shore up an otherwise frustrating, and boring game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tomb Raider: Classic updated, but frustrating too

posted by MidXIII (SPRINGFIELD, PA) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

11 out of 13 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Some Tomb Raider titles arent without their merit, but this one captures exploration in almost the same way the original did, which is both fun AND frustrating!
A couple of good keypoints.

Storywise: It has a plot, a good one too. A very adventure movie quality type.

Graphics: VERY good, this game has the water effects done well, and the lighting and shadow definitely sets a good atmosphere.

Now you cant have the good without the bad and unfortunately, this game hits me where it hurts the most... play control.
In a game where you HAVE to be on point for your jumps, this almost fights you on it. Lining yourself up for most of the actions (jumping and grabbing mainly) is often unpredictable. And the camera does little to help you, often making the second issue I have with Underworld even worse... the lost feeling you get way too often.
Here's the overview: You climb up a set of rocks to get into a part of the cave you havent been at before, and... the game basically abandons you... good luck on finding out what to do next. Lara's voice recorder tells you nothing helpful, so you're left standing there scanning the walls and floors for ANYTHING to give you a clue. Many times I found myself jumping blindly HOPING to grab something, only to fall to my death. At least when this was done before (in prince of persia) you could reverse time!
Dont get me wrong I'm not totally against using my brain to figure out what to do, and that lost feeling does add to the exploration part of TR, but it happens TOO many times and more often turns this into a blind-luck-strategy game rather then a fun action one.

Issues aside, it does bring back the classic feel of the original Tomb Raider, so if you're a die hard fan or in need of some old school game frustration moments, then I would say this could be a rental for you.
If what I mentioned above would make you turn this game into an expensive frisbee then pass this one by and lose no sleep over your decision.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Beautiful but...

posted by whatEevr (BROOKLYN, NY) Feb 3, 2009

Member since Jun 2003

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I'm trying to recall the last time I found a game more tedious and less fun. This beautiful looking game with incredible potential is hampered by relentless camera issues, aimless wandering, countless restarts, and quirky control problems. It's highly possible that I have grown out of the excellent Tomb Raider series and its wondrous legacy...alas, I regrettably found this one very disappointing in spite of the talented creative team's efforts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

frustrating to say the least.

posted by DrunkChud (LIVONIA, MI) Mar 6, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this was my first foray into tomb raider. while i found the story fun and interesting, and the puzzles easy. the thing that makes this game a 3 is the gameplay. plain and simple, it's broken. i play hours of video games a day and this is the only game that has ever given me motion sickness.

the camera is broken. trying to run and pan, doesn't work. inching along a ledge with your back to it? hope you don't plan on looking away from the wall, you know, in the direction your character is facing.

the general mechanics of the gameplay are just flat frustrating. trying to jump to grab something, which a lot of the time will be a blind jump due to the camera malfunctions, is hard due to the non camera/sometimes when it feels like it camera relative movements while inching.

don't even get me started on the dang grappling hook. there is a level near the end in which you have to grapple and swing for your life. good luck. it turns you backwards and wants you to swing sideways. yeah, again, good luck.

the saddest thing is that the studio couldn't even build a third person engine that works while walking and then they decided to throw in a couple of motorcycle driving levels. yeah. trust me, you will be frustrated.

i wanted to send this game back early, but i had put too much time into it already, and i just couldn't bring myself to do it. i finished it, and it wasn't worth the time and frustration. and it seems as the levels progress the gameplay gets worse.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Deserves to be under something anyway

posted by mattr25 (PHOENIX, AZ) Dec 1, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Pro's:
Looks great, I mean detail added to detail, Lara gets dirty as you go. Water moves about as you play, when your not under it anyway. The story builds off past games and Lara's history, you meet up with people Lara knows so on so forth.

Con's:
Well now all of the above kinda screams good game doesn't it. It would be if that was all there was to it, I mean a movie made using the game probably would be entertaining and everything. Sad fact here, this is not a movie made with the game, this is the game, I use the term game loosely.

The controls are iffy, if your trying to move closer you can't kick anything, you have problems with collision recognition. It does not always recognize that hey there is a wall there that you can jump up and grab something. The grapple works fine, when you find something to grapple, finding said thing is not always easy. It gives you alerts on what you can do as you go along, except at a very key point very early on in the game, namely pulling a piece of a statue down so you can get a door open.

It has a help audio, that generally is useless. Though at least they spent the time to make an audio. The combat system which happens rather often is worse than useless, no more can you run about shooting fast, the fastest shooting gun you have is the assault rifle, it shoots about 10 rounds a second. Pistols are very slow shooting, shotgun reloads take about 2 seconds and are very short range. There is a target system, that does not always appear when you press the button, you move slower and the reticule moves slow. You can get a target by pressing the left trigger, good luck on getting the right one, good luck on keeping the right one and good luck in shooting them all fast enough that you do not die.

Looks great, actual storyline that is kinda interesting, gameplay that is the absolute worst ever for Tomb Raider. Barely even a renter, though it looks great and has eye candy in Lara and her clothing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game held back by a wonky camera system

posted by Jackalib (CHADRON, NE) Feb 18, 2009

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

As a big Tomb Raider fan, I have to say that this game was quite enjoyable and defiantly worth a rent. The achievements were fairly easy and I got most of them by just playing through the story without going out of my way to get them.

Game play 7: The game play had to be the most frustrating part of the game. A lot of the jumps, like most tomb raiders, take timing and precision. This is expected, but what isn't expected is the wonky camera system. The camera is constantly repositioning itself and and often does so in the wrong direction. I found myself having to make a lot of "blind jumps". I could never seem to rotate the camera were I wanted it to be. The puzzles were fun and not to hard. The camera angles made them very challenging at times. The games difficulty level is very customizable to your needs. If your like me, and like the game more for the puzzles, you can turn the enemy's health down a notch and not have to spend a lot of time on the gun battles. Messing with these settings does not affect the achievements, except there is one achievement for beating the game on the hardest difficulty.

Visual 9: The graphics of this game are just stunning. The underwater worlds are great and the jungles are very detailed. This sometimes presented a challenge in itself. There was so much detail that sometimes it was hard to find a ledges that you could grab. This wasn't a big factor though.

Story 7: The story was OK and gave sufficient purpose to the game. Wasn't very gripping though. I could give you a summary of the story and that's about it. It really didn't hold my attention.

Overall 7: Honestly, this game would have easily been an 8 or 9 in my book if it weren't for the terrible camera controls. I found myself knowing exactly what I needed to do in the game, but having troubles accomplishing it because I couldn't find the right camera angle at times. If you can accept that, you will probably enjoy this game like I did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing

posted by Chris75189 (ROCKWALL, TX) Nov 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have no clue why people would put this game down for one the graphics are amazing, Second the game play isn't like the other ones, granted the movement is alittle sticky at times but other then that its worth it. I have just finish the Second level and on too the 3rd level, aleast this time the levels are harder then the rest of the previous games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Maximum tomb raiderage

posted by happythug (VANCOUVER, WA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is the most solid and substantial addition to the Tomb Raider series I've seen yet. So when play control, graphics, sound, and puzzle quality are no longer available for bad-mouthing. It makes you realize that even when all these things are perfect, Tomb Raiding can be a little boring.

The last Tomb Raider game I played “Legend” was startling short, so I never had a chance to get bored. This addition is at least 3 times longer than that game and it makes you realize that while it can be fun, it lacks flare, excitement, and suspense. Since Ubi-Soft took over the series, Tomb Raider basically plays just like Prince of Persia, except its a little less mystical, but also the areas make more sense. Playing like Prince of Persia is hardly a bad thing, as this has granted Laura an ease of control that was severely lacking in pre-UbiSoft iterations.

I enjoyed the under-water exploration in this one. It sent me back to my days with Echo The Dolphin on the Dreamcast. Beautiful, puzzling, and a great sense of discovery. Combat is pretty snoresville, you will either peck away at people with your gun or perform the same 2 kicks on them until they are dead. However, getting the last weapon and unleashing 1 hit kills on most things is lots of fun.

While this game is beautiful, logical and playable. The story is confusing if you haven't played every Tomb Raider. What Laura really needs is more upgrades. You are basically doing the same thing the whole time. Laura never gets any new abilities or upgrades until the very end. So this game dragged on about 7 hours longer than what was fun. Finally, level based games like this need to upgrade to more open world. Exploration games are more fun when you can get powers that unlock previous areas.

In the end it is a worthy rental, but that's all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Good luck with this one

posted by LosTonto (FAIRPORT, NY) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

First off this is my first TR experience and I will stay far away from now on. The game is very difficult to play because the camera has a mind of its own it seriously does whatever it wants. That unfortunatley makes the other controls difficult several times in the game id jump and end up dead on the ground due to the crazy camera. I really tried to give this game a chance I suffered through a couple levels for some gps but bottom line its not for me. In fact shouldnt really be for anyone...youll probably end up doing the same as me couple levels and back in the mailbox.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I See Why Eidos Wanted To Delay The Reviews!!!!!!!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Nov 26, 2008

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 26 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

You go through a quick 1 minute tutorial in a burning mansion and then you grapple the door and end up in a room that you cant go anywhere else. There is no spot to grapple on and if you jump you die; this is terrible at least "Anniversary" for the Wii was even better. With most of the new release titles we are seeing less quality! MK vs DC, Shaun, Undercover, Banjo, Mirror, etc. Nov supposed to be the biggest and best. I hope 09 is better!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Xbox 360 or PS1?

posted by outsider161 (MUNDELEIN, IL) Jan 11, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Not much has changed for this title since the original Tomb Raider. The graphics haven't improved much. The glitchy camera views you've come to know and love (or hate) from previous Tomb Raiders are still present.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome game

posted by Chinlee720 (SAN JOSE, CA) Aug 10, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Its a great even through it's hard to figure out way in the mission, but it's fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

GOOD, NOT BAD OR GREAT.

posted by Straighttothe (SAN JACINTO, CA) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

Graphics are good, especially the scenery, but it's not on Uncharted's level. Controls are good most of the time, here and there you will die because of the camera angle and the controls. Music fits in perfectly. Voice acting is alright. If you like other Tomb Raider games you will like this one just as much, maybe a little more. Long live Lara Croft.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

the game is very good

posted by littledog378 (SHELL LAKE, WI) Feb 8, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

it has lots of levels but they can be good and bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Death to Lara Croft

posted by fantasy_boy (NEWPORT, TN) Jan 20, 2012

Member since May 2011

The dumbest game I have ever played.....

Would not rent or buy,it is that bad..

I hope the new one is alot better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not impressed

posted by brett83501 (LEWISTON, ID) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

Just have never been a Tomb Raider game fan, but figured would give it a try. Still haven't changed my opinion. Played it for a couple of hours to give it a fair try, but still not impressed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Short and EHH

posted by MrUrbanAle (KANSAS CITY, MO) Sep 17, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Game flys toward the quick ending. Enviorments not as cool. Very weak compared to others in series

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I cannot see

posted by Yikes78 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jun 23, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

It's bad enough that the camera jumps around and leaves you in awkward positions. And Lara has a mind of her own as she jumps to her death time and time again because the screen action does not translate to the direction you pushed. But the worst of all is the darkness. You absolutely cannot see. Horrible. Horrible. Horrible. Blech. It's no wonder this franchise almost died. And previews for the next iteration seem to indicate Lara will be returning in an action movie that will rely less on player involvement and more on graphics and mindless button mashing. RIP, LC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very fun indeed

posted by jknabe (NORTH LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

I thought this game was one of the most funnest and entertaining games that I have received thus far from Gamefly. The only complaint that I have was that the camera was a little twitchy at times but overall, I really enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Way better than I thought!

posted by ericlsu (AUSTIN, TX) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Apr 2005

Now if you are wanting a FPS blow everything up kinda game, move on. This game is mostly problem solving. With climbing type skills in Assassin's Creed series, you move around objects in order to solve a problem (usually like how to open this door to get a relic).

If you truly try and get all the relics and treasures, this game will take awhile. Which is great for gamers like me that needed something to task during the holidays other than COD / Fable / Fallout / AC.

Overall the gameplay is great, problem solving is actually challenging in some situations and maps, and Lara Croft is virtually appeasing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Solid Experience

posted by gamer414 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Apr 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

I just finished this game and am playing thru it again, seeing if i missed anything the first time. Tomb Raider is basically shooting enemies and solving puzzles. Most puzzles are pretty obvious once you get used to the game, don't waste your money on a strategy guide, i played thru the entire game and didn't need it once. Level design and graphics are excellent, some beautiful environments mixed with clever puzzle creation make this game a solid experience. And if u have Xbox Live i highly recommend downloading some of Lauras alt wetsuites and drysuites, makes playing alot more fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Spiffy!

posted by xMutax (Bremerton, WA) Mar 6, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

I personally loved the game. It was my favorite of the whole Tomb Raider series. The controls are easy to get the hang of, which is a good thing because the puzzles can get kinda hard. You don't want to be focusing too much on what to press when you're trying to solve a puzzle, right?
There weren't any boss battles, and I can see how that could upset some people, but I actually preferred. I was never a fan of boss battles. I really like the puzzle solving.
And the graphics were astounding! It really took me to where Lara was exploring, and I KNOW it made me want to go explore there too.
All in all, I think it's a great game depending on your tastes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse