Rent Tomb Raider Trilogy for PS3
view large frontback

Tomb Raider Trilogy

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.9

988 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

3X's the Action +

posted by D1g1tal_Palad1n (SPRING HILL, FL) Apr 30, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The only reason I didn't give this title a 10 is because of the graphics, (compared to the more modern games) but other than that this game has all the Tomb Raider you'll need. Three great adventures to choose from. Over 100 earnable trophies, a free downloadable theme, and free Playstation Home items makes this game worthy for any platform lover. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worth the wait for PS3 owners

posted by VipSphinx (EL PASO, TX) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

I had completed the version of Legends and Anniversary on the Xbox360 but now that the remake in Hi Definition came out for the PS3 I had been reborn, I started playing the remastered version and I'm not disappointed at all. The graphics had been tweaked and have a better resolution than ever. If you really want to see the power of the Trilogy try playing either the Anniversary or Underworld, that were the remake really shines.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

tomb raider

posted by jasonpm (LILBURN, GA) Mar 2, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Good for rent but not to buy a big let down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tomb Raider

posted by dateshuu (BIRMINGHAM, AL) May 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I was a huge Tomb Raider fan when it first came out. I bought the first 2 for PC as they launched and the third on PSX. They were amazing games back in the day, although the series went downhill after the second.

I figured a HD remix of the series would be awesome. I was right and wrong.

The original TR games were on a grid system. I'm sure it had to do with the limitations of the original platforms and game engine, but it worked very well. Now the grid system is gone. I know it has been like that for some time now, since the PS2 days. I really wish they would go back to that.

It seems a lot more fluid now, but it also makes platforming WAY more difficult. And in Anniversary (which is the one I was most looking forward to playing as it is a remake of the original) they added the grappling hook mechanic, which changes how most of the puzzles are solved. It pretty much took my nostalgic feelings and hucked them out the window.

I've been enjoying the game, but I'm not sure I'll be able to finish it. It is neat seeing all the old locations again, and it made me giggle to step on Midas's hand and see her turn to gold in HD, but somehow it isn't worth it.

Now for the numbers.

Gameplay 6 - the grid system was restricting but made platforming easier. Since its removal, things are a little more difficult and just not the same.
Graphics 8 - looks real good but everything's shiny. I hate shiny textures where they shouldn't be. Stones and khaki pants aren't supposed to have specular highlights.
Fun factor 7 - after all it is still Tomb Raider, and exploration is still a major part of the game.

NOTE: I have not played Tomb Raider Underworld (which is on the disk) I seem to remember it not being very good and having a lot of glitches so I'm going to pass on it for now.

tl;dr decent game, playable and enjoyable, at least for a little while. 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Will not play!

posted by Junes2k (PRESTONSBURG, KY) May 25, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 9 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I looked online and this game has major issues. I got it to play for one day and the next time I tried to it would load the main screen and then go black & go straight back to the dashboard. BS!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

bad game hot laura

posted by BANDIT345 (CANYON COUNTRY, CA) May 2, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 14 gamers (7%) found this review helpful

bad mapping and doesnt really do a good job of telling you what to do.... all this game does really have going is that laura is fine.... hahah

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BORING!!

posted by snow (NASHVILLE, TN) Jun 12, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 18 gamers (6%) found this review helpful

The only good thing about this game is Laura's body.
;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

no get up and go

posted by kastins (KINGSTON, NY) Aug 3, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

Didnt really care for this game , got this by mistake so I figured ill try it anyway -wast of my time sending it back asap. to many long cutscenes , the graphics are shakey and the puzzles are for a 5 yr old to solve .
this game really got me to fustrated to the point I didnt even want to finish it .
I wold not recemend this game at all it one of the worst ive played so far DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing.

posted by coolbeans2009 (MODESTO, CA) Oct 12, 2012

Member since May 2011

Tomb raider is an amazing game series. The camera controls are awesome. Using Crystal dynamics makes it even more awesome. To me it feels better on ps3. if this could be a Sony exclusive it would be super awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Trilogy Set

posted by RpgGamer4Ever (NASHWAUK, MN) May 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

When I first got this game, I had many expectations for this game since the trilogy package had three of my favorite tomb raider games on it. It had met my expectations and surpassed them. Game is really really fun and exciting, I really recommend this game not only to rent but to own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Woman's Game

posted by LordLegend (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jan 9, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

This is by far one of the best games for women. I give it a 9.8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tomb raider Trilogy

posted by sovereignslink (GARY, IN) Nov 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

Game is ok since the last time I played tomb raider on playstation one. The story that links all three games together is not all that interesting to me because some parts of it did not make sense. The gameplay is kinda boring because I rarely did battle with enemies and if I did, it was with animals like spiders rather than actual humans. One more thing that annoyed me is the over emphasis on her rolling and jumping acrobatics instead of actually better controller functions. Overall, the puzzles is the only thing that kept me wqnting to play even though 80% of all the games was puzzles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty good game

posted by Drowzee7 (COLUMBUS, OH) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2004

this game was really fun and i enjoyed playing it until my ps3 got YLOD luckily Tomb Raider Trilogy wasnt the game that is stuck in my ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tomb Raider is good. 3 Tomb Raiders? Too much.

posted by DeadBob67 (SPENCER, MA) Sep 23, 2011

Member since May 2011

I like Tob Raider Games, but I could not play all three of thee in a row.

This is a great rental for someone who missed a game or two in the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is what fun is

posted by yourdog23 (DENVER, CO) Sep 18, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

There's a reason that the Tomb Raider series persists through time in the gaming universe: they're fun games. Each game on its own is worth a rental, but this disk has 3 of them! I had forgotten how much I loved playing Tomb Raider games until I started playing this one.

Why didn't I give this a perfect 10? Well, it reminded me that there are a few Tomb Raider games that aren't in this collection, and gave me a reason to grab some of them from the PSN store.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Legend & Anniversary

posted by Mike3083 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

I whould have gave it a 9 or 10 but they did a bad job with legend & anniversary graphics looked 10x better on xbox 360 looked the same on my psp!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

very good game play

posted by wes802 (FAYETTEVILLE, AR) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

very good game play but use the ign walkthroughs that way you get the rewards

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Rate of 10

posted by petunias (DEER PARK, WA) Aug 12, 2011

Member since Aug 2004

Im giving this game a rate of 10, because it has 3 fun Tomb Raider PS2 games on one PS3 disc. What i also like about playing Trilogys or collection games is graphics. They try there best to replace every screen work into HD. It gives you a good time of playing Tomb Raider, with kickass action, solving puzzles or mysteries, and exploring levels with traps, enemies, and history. Who cares if people think the graphics on here are terrible, i want to play a game with a kickass hot chick that knows what she can do to bring joy to players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Treasure Trove For Tomb Raider Fans

posted by revenger68 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jul 10, 2011

Member since May 2010

The remake of the Legend and Anniversary games is amazing! Lara never looked better. All 3 games include the full content of the originals, in all their glory, updated to HD graphics. My biggest disappointment in Underworld was the lack of costumes, I had really missed those in Legend and Anniversary when I played them on PC. This brings all that back, along with videos on the making of the games, original sound tracks, concept art, character bio's, all the unlockable clothes & uniforms, and much more. There are even dev notes. Crammed into one bluray disk: This is a absolute must have for any Tomb Raider fan. You can't go wrong with this pack if you loved the Tomb Raider games and want to re-live those moments.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

poor graphics yet tomb raider rock on!

posted by Bacon1 (CARROLLTON, TX) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

A bit confusing W/ old graphics.. Yet a hot chick a (stud) NICE!! I bet the graphics wound be better if; it was a big MAN!!!! The celib in HD no way ever!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »