Rent Tomb Raider: Legend for PSP Games
view large frontback

Tomb Raider: Legend

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC, DS, PS2, GBA, Xbox 360, Xbox
GF Rating
6.3

336 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

its pretty sweet

posted by gamez206 (WEBSTER, MA) Jun 27, 2006

Member since Apr 2004

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

well the game is good. the controls are a bit on the edge but it makes sense as this is the psp( no second analog control) the story is tight if you have not played on the ps2 the thing is you have miss croft in you pocket and ready to raid tombs anywhere.

graphics- 4 out of 5
gameplay /story if not played on ps2- 4 out of 5
controls - 3 out of 5
camera- 2 out of 5
replayerbility- not yet determined

overal this game is interesting action packed.... the cinematics are interactive so its not always you watching anything is possible... the puzzles are also good for your brain...... i love this game.Lara is back to wat she does best.

rent it, if you can't finish it buy it.....lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tomb Raider Legend PSP

posted by CaptainTig (BOTHELL, WA) Jul 3, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Here we have our fellow adventurer Lara Croft in yet another globe trotting quest for artifacts. Like many people I'm am on of the long time fans who has often followed her adventures through the games. Now , in Legend, she is entering her own past to help discover her Mother's mysterious disappearance. I have always liked the Tomb Raider series and was anticipating the latest edition's arrival. I got it for X-Box and was pleased with the graphics and the gameplay.I also thought that they couldn't have done a better job with the storyline. But, there were things I found that it lacked. I was surprised to see that there wasn't much difficulty in the puzzles and that the previous games were much more difficult. The only part of the game that probably took me like 6 tries was the showdown with Lara and the Demon/ Monster thing in the Carbonek Facility. Compared to its predecessor I thought that the latest installment was a little too easy. (Even when played at a respectable difficulty)While renting the PSP version, I stopped taking the X-box one for granted. It was still a pretty good game, but the controls were new and very different. The new mini games were a step up though. The characters were great too like Zip and Allistor. One of the best things about the game is earning and being able to choose what outfit you want to wear on your next expedition. That gave me some things to shoot for.
All in all, the game is still pretty good. IT was just the little things that the designers could have spent a little more time on to make the game even better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

TOMB RAIDER LEGENDS PSP REVIEW

posted by 1nme4u (EL PASO, TX) Jun 26, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Well let me begin by prefacing this with a fact. I have played this game for the home console and it was pretty good, at least better than the last debacle of a tomb raider game. The game itself is a great game, in theory! Who wouldn't want to take Lara wherever they go? The reality is, sadly, a different story.

On the PSP, the graphics, while toned down for portability, are ok, no problems there. The main flaw of this game is its control! The fact that the psp only has one analog stick means for some bad control problems. Lara is hard to control and it gets very frustrating very quickly. The other main flaw is also due to the one analog stick problem, and its the camera. The control for the camera is clunky and feels like an afterthought. With so many jumps and turns, you will feel like hurtling your psp into a wall when dealing with this problem.

The game is basically a straight port of the ps2 version, so having played that, there were no surprises here. I would recommend avoiding this game at all costs simply because of the control scheme. Though graphically a beautiful game, the poor controls, bad camera, and massive lagging frame rate, make this, in my opinion, a avoid at all cost type of game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

this game made me feel ininterested

posted by bobafett (FORT COLLINS, CO) Sep 6, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I did not like the control figuration and the grafics SUCK!I hate it!

1 out of 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tomb Raider: Legend PSP

posted by 95impSS (AMERICAN CANYON, CA) Aug 10, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

One word : Horrible ! The controls will keep you frustrated in the most crucial areas of the game, especially when driving or parts where precession is needed but you are not afforded that because of the poor control scheme/ camera angles. Do not rent at any cost. I put my self through agony in finishing this game, just to say I beat it, definitely not worth it with the ending. Do yourself a favor and do not rent this title.

95SS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

cool

posted by gilbert1 (HENDERSONVILLE, NC) Jun 22, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

everything u expect from a tomb raider

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It almost works. . .

posted by clintonk (SAN MARCOS, CA) May 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

It looked good but not great as it should and being on a portable just took away from the whole action adventure feeling. It almost works but then half-way through it you wonder why you would deprive yourself of the full TR experience. This is just one of those games that doesn't belong on a port this small.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I should have listened to the reviews

posted by AlanaMJ (BROOKLYN, NY) Jul 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

The game is a good to go one..but can they have made it anymore PC-ish? The controls were very disappointing for such a game with a good story line. Hopefully the game designers have made improvements in the sequel game to this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A must have game!

posted by Samson123 (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Jun 8, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

This game rocks! it has a killer story line.(it like goes on forever!) Great wepons,graphics, and vechicels! If you like this game, try tomb raider aniversry!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Camera and Controls are frustrating

posted by xterranv (BELMONT, NH) May 9, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

I like the game. The graphics, considering is the PSP, are good. And the story is good. But the lack of a second control stick makes it hard on the controls and camera angles. I was pretty disappointed in that.

I'd suggest this for the console version but not so much for the PSP. I Definitely suggest this as a "Try It Before You Buy It" game to see if the controls are that much of a bother to you as I found it to be. (and it seems a lot of other reviewers are saying the same thing).

If you're just looking for a portable Lara Croft adventure game for on the go and can withstand the controls and lacking camera angles, it's a fun game for that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Merry Meet- CONTROL & CAMERA ISSUES!

posted by seajewel (DEDHAM, MA) Jan 28, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

Merry Meet fellow gamers! I am a HUGE fan of games based on movies. As a "newbie" gamer, this type of game allows me to better understand the concepts and story allowing easier game play and less frustration. I do believe, however, females will enjoy this game more than our male counterparts. I found this game challenging and enjoy it. The graphics are great and the story line is exciting. Drawbacks-the camera angles are terrible and cause many mistakes, followed by much unnecessary frustration. Also, the controls do not respond as they should and again, mistakes are the result. This game could have been great if the designers put a bit more thought into its set up. All-in-all, I would recommend this game for teens through adult players. Merry Part & Bright Blessings )O(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreaaatt- ttt!!!

posted by Sdubble (ROCHESTER, NY) Sep 7, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

the last time i played as lara croft was on PS1. I never had a ps2 and havent really played anything since PS1. I have a job with lots of time so i copped a PSP. Of all the games Ive played, this one was one of my favorites. Im talkin entertainment value. I dont know jack about graphics or pixel rates or any of that junk. All i know is that playing this game was better than throwing rocks at woodchucks all day. i highly suggest it to those non-hardcore gamers out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Lara at least looks better

posted by PSPFreak (TULSA, OK) Sep 3, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

This game has some issues with the controls and the camera angles. Not a bad storyline but the game play could be better. It gets frustrating with the camera angles trying to do the stupid jumping puzzles. The game looks great and they did a great job with Lara but other than that this game is just a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loves It!

posted by blakeksu05 (SENECA, KS) Aug 15, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

I don't know what it is about this game, but I was hooked and wished that it was about eleventy five times longer. The story, acting, gameplay, mechanics... EVERYTHING! oh except for the pseudo cruddy control, but that only led to about 3 control related deaths which can be easily overlooked. This is the type of game that you could play over and over and over, and on a long plane flight, sayyy to Europe, you'd most likely be playing the whole time, so bring some extra batteries. I love it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

nice, but not as good as console or PC

posted by JustScott (ALBANY, CA) Aug 11, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

Game looks like a total port from the console and PC versions which is cool. However, the camera control is pretty much lost without the second analogue and the main controls are pretty squirrly. If you can get this on a console or really good PC instead of PSP, do it. I have played this on all and i found the consoles version to have the best controls. The graphics are pretty good for PSP and it's still a fun game if you can deal with the controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Good game, bad controls

posted by SonjaBlade (PORTLAND, OR) Aug 8, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

I adore Lara and the Tomb Raider series (well, at least the earlier games). I was excited to try the PSP version, but I had a lot of trouble with the controls. The sensitivity of the stick was just not what it needed to be in order to play the game smoothly.

I finally traded in the game for the PS2 version, and I am so happy that I did. The controls are smooth and I quickly completed beginning levels that were giving me great grief on the PSP. So if you're on the fence between the PSP version and the full console, I would recommend going for the PS2 version. Not to mention getting to see the fantastic scenery on a large screen!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »