Rent Tomb Raider: Legend for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tomb Raider: Legend

Not Rentable
Also on:GBA, DS, Xbox, PS2, PSP Games, GC

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.3

5060 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Return to the roots

posted by Chrono1632 (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

37 out of 41 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

This newest installment in the tomb raider franchise is in my opinion one of the best. Clocking in at around 6-7 hours its short, but very sweet. 85% of the game is set inside ancient tombs and ruins (where it should be), and the other 15% is places like tokyo, and some small deserted towns. The games weak point is its gun play. You mainly just aim and fire, and they die. Putting that negative aspect aside. climbing falling ruins, and dodging booby traps is still as fun as it was in the original tomb raider with one major improvement... THE CONTROLS ARE ACTUALLY GOOD! do yourself a favor and rent this beautiful game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A new adventure awaits you!

posted by Funfactor (Cypress, CA) Apr 15, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

46 out of 53 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Tomb Raider Legend takes you back to the good old days of the first tomb raider with fantastic locations to perform more amazing acrobatics and provides a somewhat short but definitely fun filled adventure in the process. The game play mechanics which have hindered past Tomb Raider games have been, for the most part fixed, allowing you to enjoy the game on a much higher level without having to worry about lining up to hit a jump just right. My only complaints about the game are the somewhat weak gun play with enemies and that the game could have been longer. Game play variety within each level does drive this game in a positive direction. Taking from past games such as Shenmue there are points during cut scenes where you must quickly press a button on the controller to successfully complete a move or you will see yourself die in extravagant fashion. The puzzle solving in this game is fairly easy once you do a couple and get the routine down of how each is set up. Any experienced gamer can go through this game in about 5 to 7 hours. The variety of things to unlock will keep die-hard players coming back for more. You can unlock new outfits and more as you play levels and beat them meeting a certain criteria. I highly recommend this game to all for it's easy to pick up and play mechanics and awesome gameplay throughout each level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Visually awesome, and gameplay massively improved.

posted by tripeh3lix (LANCASTER, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Ok, all I have to say is that this game is really cool. I loved every inch of it , by the music, the graphics, and the voice acting wasn't bad either. But the complaints I see are on the shortness of the game, because the previous ones were based on the legthiness of them. Well it was kind of a dissappointment, but there is alot of replay value. So thats a plus. Visually 8/10 could be a little better specially for a next gen. Story, 6/10. Could have added something more, but was still great. Acting, is pretty nice, so I give it a 9/10. And the gameplay, is very well improved , which is a big plus. So its a 8/10. I give this game an 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great weekend romp, not quite a must-own

posted by dralithi (OMAHA, NE) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

In short, this game was one you could beat in a weekend, even as a casual gamer. The puzzles were fun and satisfying. The action was pretty ho-hum, but the special bullet time move was cool (you do a back-flip off of their head and spray them with bullets in slow-motion). The enemies were mostly nobodies, usually gun-toting morons, that once in a while sought cover.

The majority of puzzles could be figured out in five minutes or less, but there were a few head-scratchers that took me a little bit longer. Just like the first Tomb Raider, you'll get the light bulb over your head in no time at all.

The boss battles ranged from shoot-rinse-repeat, to a cool puzzle style boss battle with a gargantuan leviathan.

The controls and acrobatics (the most important part of this game other than the puzzles) were pretty tight and you didn't feel cheated by the responsiveness or by missing a ledge by a hair. I felt it gave you a fair chance to push the "Y" button to regain your hold if you did a jump that wasn't so great.

I had a great time exploring Lara's Mansion and found many a secret passageway and hidden lever. The "extras" for the most part included ranged from lame to not noticeable. Under the lame category, we have character models that are poorly lit and a little too small for the screen and silly back-stories for the characters, presumably written as an afterthought by some marketing nerd, then under not even noticeable were the "pistol upgrades".

On the good side, you have a plethora of costumes to choose from to fulfill almost every Lara fantasy you might have, and you can show off the FMVs to your friends without playing your way to that part. There are cheat codes to unlock, which only one was unlocked by me. This particular cheat was funny, because it turns off all of the textures. You can run around with a grey Lara in a drab environment, which makes you further appreciate the lush foliage and realistic waterfalls when they are in full color.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good fun while it lasts

posted by Respen (PENRYN, CA) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

This game has finally given the tomb raider series credibility again. It returns to what the series did best in the first place, raiding tombs.

The graphics are excellent, especially on the xbox 360 version. Everything is nice and shiny, and there are some truly beautiful environments.

The sound is great. The dialogue and voice acting are superb, and the music reminds me of the original games sometimes, which is good.

The gameplay is probably the best feature. It is still great fun to jump around and swing on ropes, prince of persia style. The puzzles are all pretty similar (push something heavy onto pressure plate etc.), but are still entertaining. The combat is fine. It is pretty simple, but that is ok with me.

The only real negative thing I have to say is that the game is too short. It also ends with a sort of cliffhanger, which just left me wanting more. Then again, the fact that I didn't want the game to end just shows how much I really liked it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tomb Raider Legend (360) and I - Final Review

posted by CrazyTom (AURORA, OH) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

-Presentation 9 – The menu is laid out well. Flat looking cutscenes, but the story and gameplay flows together well.
-Graphics 9.4 – Absolutely beautiful, the varied exotic locations will take your breath away. Whoever modeled the characters, took a slightly more cartoonish approach, even with Lara. Still, her face shows her emotions well and it really adds to bringing Lara to life. Cut scenes looked flat and I suspect they are the same used cross platform.
-Sound 9.8 – This game sports some very fitting, grand adventure music. The voice acting brings everyone to life and draws you into the story. Every sound felt just right.
-Story 9 – They really make you feel for Lara and her family. With each level, I couldn’t wait to find out more. I can’t wait for the next Tomb Raider!!
-Controls 9 – You now have full control over Lara! On a rare occasion, you will experience a tiny delay in reaction time, otherwise, she does what you want, when you want her to do it. The ability to move faster up ropes and along ledges with the Y button is great! The camera is good most of the time.
-Gameplay 9 – The pacing is well done. The story and gameplay mesh very well. Generous checkpoints and improved control over Lara keep it fun and not tedious. Puzzles aren’t too deep but you'll be scratching your head from time to time. Moving a block is a refreshing reminder that you're using a physics engine instead of a contrived grid. Combat is decent, but needs improved. You have some neat close combat moves, and the environment interaction to help you is very nice, but mostly it's lock, shoot and dodge. Boss battles are a lot of fun and require you to think. More please!
-Replay 7.8 – Treasures are hidden well and fun to find. Replay any level to collect the ones you missed. Dress in any outfit you've unlocked! Time trials and the Croft Mansion to unlock more goodies!
-Overall 8.9 - Controlling Lara works now, many exotic locations to explore, many treasures to find, excellent story!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Saves the series, but.....

posted by kaiosama (BOSTON, MA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

First off I want to say that I gave this an 8 based not solely on this game itself but also because it gives the Tomb Raider series some creditability again. Honestly, if this wasn't a Tomb Raider game I suspect people would be rather less enthused about it. As a regular game I would give this game a 6.5, maybe 7.5 at most when compared to the amount of schlock that is out there...

The plot is nice, since it does give you some insight Lara's past; though it does suffer sometimes due to inane chatter of Lara's flunkies. One can definitely do without a wannabe hipster, cynical tech guy and some stereotypical, nerd historian doing commentary as you are risking your virtual life...

As for the gameplay itself, its pretty decent but lacking in some parts. The puzzles are well designed, they will definitely cause most players to pause and have to think the first time through. But most of the gameplay is based around traversing the environment of the levels, which can be a flaw or a strength dependent on you style of play.

But the biggest flaw, in my opinion, is the absurd level of mental retardation on the part of the enemy AI and the lack of challenge when it comes to any parts involving a weapon. Even if you only use the dual pistols through the entire game, the enemy AI will present no real challenge. The boss encounters are no better, they merely force you to use the surrounding environment as a gimmick; rather than provide test of your skills. The final boss is by far the easiest fight in the entire game, in my opinion, which is rather anticlimactic.

Ultimately, if you are looking for a decent game to kill a few hours with this as good as any. But if you are looking for a future classic or an innovative game, this is not it.

The biggest issue I have with this game, and much of the Tomb Raider series, is when Tomb Raider came out, back in the day, it was fresh and innovative. But now its not really making any new improvements, rather its just fixing past flaws.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Niche Game...

posted by Radius (LEWISVILLE, TX) Aug 10, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If you like the Tomb Raider series, you might like this. I see a little bit of a trend in the people who liked the previous. The graphics are nice and the "action" is cool with all the acrobatic moves.

However for me PERSONALLY... it's not very challenging, and its not very exciting. The gun aiming system is a little flawed, and they failed to grasp the thrill of hanging from a cliff and jumping from ledges. I guess that's what has always bugged me about these titles, hanging from a ledge on a cliff would be terrifying. But they just act like its a normal day occurrence and I guess that's just not really exciting for me.

Bottom line for me is that this game just isn't very fun. Everyone has there taste though, its worth a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Uninspiring, possibly overrated?

posted by SamIam (DALY CITY, CA) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2002

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It's fun,entertaining, and a good solid game but I think it's a little overrated. The platforming is good but not as good as Prince of Persia. The combat is boring and not challenging. It's also a little on the short side. Graphics are this gen, not next gen(Xbox 360 version). Overall, good but a little flat at times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but VERY VERY short

posted by Radar2670 (LEXINGTON, KY) May 1, 2006

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I must give credit to Crystal Dynamics for resurrecting the Tomb Raider franchise.

The game play is great. Running around in the tombs solving the various puzzle was a blast. Gun play is in there but not to excessive amounts. The controls are solid, the graphics are definitely easy on the eyes and the narrative and voice acting are good as well.

HOWEVER, I beat this game in *FIVE* hours on a Sat evening with no guide/walkthru/hintbook. I cannot see ever purchasing a game this short. Rent, enjoy and return. Save you $60 for something that offers alot more game for the buck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tomb Raider Legend is the bomb

posted by JJTheGreat (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I just got this game today and I couldnt stop playing it. The levels are'nt hard at all but it is a lot of fun to play. One of the best parts are when you are riding on the motorcycle and killing guys that is awesome. In my opinion the game is a lil to easy but it is still a great game its a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tomb Raider Reborn

posted by fileid (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The original game designer of Tomb Raider 1 and Crystal Dynamics have teamed up to ressurect this old and tired franchise from the grave. They have done this by developing an intriguing story and reintroducing the exploration and adventure aspect of the original Tomb Raider. There is less focus less on the action this time around and more on the adventure.

Controlling Lara Croft this time around is more fluid and dynamic this time around similar to the Prince of Persia series. This was my number 1 gripe about the whole series.

My only gripe about this game is that this game is short. Two hours into the game and I am already 30% into the game.

Overall a well rounded adventure game with a great storyline compared to the other Tomb Raiders in the series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tomb Raider: Legend

posted by diskodawg (ROLLING MEADOWS, IL) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome, I was kicking my self in the back side for buying the 360. Wow does this game justify my purchasing this unit... I feel much better about buying the XBOX 360 now... Tomb Raider is smooth and just flows like a river, I have played video games for a real long time and I can say that this is the best game I have ever played...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!

posted by andrewsp13 (PINE GROVE, CA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is AWESOME! I recenly bought it and it was well worth my money. THis game has awesome graphics, wonderful controls, and an intresting but not to complicated storyline. In the intense levels you meet many obstacles and challenges. My personal favorite is riding the motorcycle. All in all this game is awesome and you should definitely rent( and then end up buying)this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tomb raider Legend

posted by Dimitry (SAINT ALBANS, NY) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Lara is back and a new way this is one of the best tomb raider ever its easy to get in too well i knew lara since 1996 i had played all the tomb raider games and this one i love it the games is really short puzzle are not that hard to do. and the gun play are weak u can finich this game under 6 hours but im still playing over and over.the story is about how lara's mother died and she's trying to find out something about her past..which she go to lots of diffrent local.their are many things to do in this games which is fun the X360 is the best one to play which has more things to do.Lara is still looking hot one of the best one yet and i would like to see more of lara on the PS3 buy it ur love it if ur a fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bad camera and poor controls

posted by AGamer (BEAVERTON, OR) Apr 21, 2006

Member since Jan 2004

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is merely a ps2 port with some extra polish.We will not start seeing true next gen games till the ps3 and nintendo rev are here.Games are still made with the current systems in mind.And then merely polished up for the 360.But that is not why I don't like this game.I did not like the camera and I felt that the controls wre not as responsive as they should be.It felt like a chore to play,and was not fun.I feel it is a step in the right direction though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Short yet entertaining Adventure…

posted by sNakel337 (BROOKLYN, NY) May 14, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Short yet entertaining Adventure…

Gamertag: snakel337

Ok, I’ve had this game on my ‘Q’ for a while now in gamefly and I finally got my hands on it! I wanted to play it since I played the demo of it, and even from the Demo I was very impressed with the visuals that the game presents. Some of you might not find it as interesting as I do, but the water effects in this game are by far the best I’ve seen on the Xbox 360. Take for example at the beginning of the game (the first level), just take out your binoculars and look at the water fall. The amount of detail and density you can see it amazing!

Ok, enough about the amazing water effects, let’s talk about the game. This game can go either direction for you – very easy, or very complicated. Either way the game is fairly short, but defiantly very entertaining.

Now to expand on what I said earlier. The game it self has 7 levels, if you are an experienced player and can manage the time trails it’s set so that you can complete the levels within 10-20 mins per level(depending on the level). Meaning if you do the math an experienced player can run through this game in less than 2 hours! However, for the rest of us, it can take up to 5 to 6 hours depending on how well you can solve puzzles. In any event, if you do run through the or not Tomb Raider does manage to present a very good plot line – funny, action packed, and full of surprises. It also manages to take you through all types of events and terrains – you will find yourself riding a bike, going through a jungle, swinging on ledges of a building, etc!

Final Thoughts: This is a very fun but short game. It’s defiantly too bad that it couldn’t be a bit longer – just a bit! So, rent or buy? How about RENT then decide after you complete the game if you wish to keep it.
8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

BEST TOMB RAIDER OUT THERE

posted by 82cypress (EL MONTE, CA) Sep 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was great. First of all the graphics and the soundtrack were really good. Second the puzzles weren't boring like the other tombraiders. Third, there was alot of action, and alot of shooting which you won't find in the other ones. This game you will enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

At least its better than the last couple!

posted by TheButtry (SARALAND, AL) Sep 13, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The last few Tomb Raider games have been rather.... well... awful! So it is refreshing to find a solid Tomb Raider game again. Some of the old problems to exist: the camera can cost you, and the AI has the intelligence of the people who created King Kong. But with that aside it is a fun plat former puzzle solver. And that statement has always summed up this series. The bulk of this game is jumping and figuring out how to get to the next area to jump through. Solving the puzzles does prove to be rewarding at times but most of them are rather straight forward. When playing this game always look for the obvious. Their is a shooting aspect to the game but if it were not there it wouldn't be missed. The bosses are standard, one way to beat them and repeat. But all in all this is a solid game and worth a play. It isn't ground breaking in any sense but a fun play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, but not a Buy

posted by Hornet65 (KATONAH, NY) May 1, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game is good, its actually back to the Tomb Raider roots, unlike alot of the previous Tomb Raider games. the puzzles are good, and there is some extra things you can unlock in the game but, the main story is simple but it does have the ocasional parts where you find yourself stuck for half an hour then finaly finding that the solution to the puzzle is right infront of you. thats the way Tomb Raider games should be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

She's BAAAAAAAAAAACk!

posted by Gretzky (CANOGA PARK, CA) Apr 20, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome if you hold near and dear to the original tomb raider on ps one. The amazing running around the room trying to figure out the puzzle for twenty minutes is back. Not since myst have we seen such beautiful and elaborate puzzles, and the breakdown of the action and mini games is handled masterfully as well. To get to the point, play this game. If you have finished oblivion already, put this game in your 360 for a month or two, you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

whoa!!! what a great game!! lara at her best!!!!!!

posted by Dnice77 (HARRISBURG, PA) Apr 16, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

all i can say is, whoa!!! best tomb raider of them all! 10! in everything but tha length of it! i was shock to hear you can beat it quick! and i beated in about 8 1/2 hours. Not quite long enought but it jus a short story line, thats all! but i love everything about it, her looks, costumes, and gear she has. i been playin lara croft tomb raider for years and been playin since tha first one. And well be a fan for life. if you love or like lara like me, u should check this game out, ight!! it grrrrrreat!!! i hope to see another game and hope it alittle bit longer. But still a most wanted game tho!!! lara obessive fan!!! D-Nice77

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ummmmm Hello

posted by GameWiz93 (WABASH, IN) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

This game I felt was very enticing, but about three fourths into the game I lost all interest. It lacked texture and volume. I mean I beat the game on my lunch break! Besides all of those things I thought it was great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

awful

posted by bobistheru (GLENCOE, IL) May 6, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

1 out of 21 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

just awful

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont waste your time

posted by vleboy (ATLANTA, GA) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 35 gamers (3%) found this review helpful

This game is bad im going to stick with ncaa basketball because thats the only game worth buying for the xb360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse