Rent Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition for PS4
view large frontback

Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox One
GF Rating
8.6

1597 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Welcome back Lara

posted by darkside (SAINT MARYS, OH) Feb 25, 2014

Member since May 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game to welcome Lara back into the main stream. Would have been a lot better off being single player only. Played the main story to 100% completion and did multiplayer for about half the levels 30/60 I gave up trying to get 20 kills with the turrets for a trophy and getting level 60 and buying all the multiplayer upgrades. Matches took way to long to start to be fun and a lot of times lop sided 3 on 2's because not enough people playing. Ended up with 89% of the trophies or something also played it on PS3 it was fun both times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun to run through again on the PS4

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) Jun 29, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Even if you played Tomb Raider on the PS3 or 360 The Definitive Edition is reason enough to run through the game again. On the PS4 anyways the game runs at 1080p and manages to keep at frame rate between 40 - 60 fps without a lot of stuttering or screen tearing. The story is an origins story of sorts and explains how Ms. Croft ended up becoming so bad-arsed and determined. I'd like to also mention that the game makes great use of the dual shock 4's audio in playing audio files you discover through the game thru the controller and also channeling some other sounds (weapons reloading for instance) though it as well. A+

SuperMcMutant (PSN)
FalloutNewVegaz (Xbox)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rad as heck

posted by ElectricEcstasy (ALMA, AR) Jun 9, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really like the improvements of graphics. The game play was the same, obviously.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The difference. blew me away.

posted by societydweller (INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

If you're still waiting to play this game, don't. I love this latest TR game. I played through a couple times on PS3 and was quite impressed with the whole thing. The gameplay is incredible and the upgrade system levels up quick enough to keep me interested. But the graphical difference between PS3 and PS4 is more than i expected even after watching the comparison vids online. Definitely worth the upgrade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The definitive edition

posted by CheifingTrees (ANKENY, IA) Feb 1, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Great game even if you already played it. Graphics are definitely next gen and it surprised me how much better it looks over the ps3\360 version. Plus 1080p 60 fps PS4 ftw!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BROKEN GAME

posted by stealthwooki (REISTERSTOWN, MD) Feb 18, 2014

Member since May 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Game is broken. you cant beat it. corrupts your save at shipwreck beach. developers and reviewers and everyone knew about it since release but didnt bother to tell anyone. scrolling news in ps4 and cant be bothered to make a notification

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A blast

posted by n_maker (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 25, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

What a great game. I was very pleasantly surprised when I tried this game out. The game is a little on the easy side, but it was fun.

I cant wait for the sequel. I just hope they add a little more variety and difficulty in the side quests.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great refurbish

posted by Chevinator (SELMA, OR) Jul 19, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This was a thrilling game! A lot of action and lora croft basically gets mangled through the whole game with all the obstacles collapsing and what not. The voice acting was not to bad, but i feel as though the story was a bit fast paced. And there were times the game did get a bit glitch, like loras hair spazzing in place. But for a re-defined game for the ps4 it sure does make up for it. Graphics are beautiful and i like how the cutscenes graphics merge with the gameplay graphics. Big turn on. I had a lot of fun playing this, upgrading weapons and skills and what not, jumping different obstacles from ship and plane wreckage and cliff hanging, puts you at the edge of your seat. This game reminds me a lot of uncharted. Played a little bit of multiplayer. Its not to bad..but it aint nothing special..but still alright! Better then killzone imo. Anyways i recommend this game for anyone who hasnt played it back during the ps3. Its a great tune up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great title

posted by HollywoodH88ter (ROYALTON, MN) Jul 15, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Super fun game recommended for all platinum hunters mp is a bit of a grind but over all fun title

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Straight masterpiece!!!

posted by Eg101 (JOLIET, IL) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

If you like the uncharted series you'll absolutely love tomb raider. Everything about this game is great IMO. It's stunningly beautiful to look at,has a good story line,and has moments of action that you won't forget. Hands down once again IMO one of the best games I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

UNCHARTED FANS WILL LOVE THIS!!

posted by TD777 (YUMA, AZ) Jul 1, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I'm not one to really feel compelled to write a review, but this game really blew me away. I was not expecting it to be so good dispite the good reviews (I normally play multiplayer games). This game is addictive, plain and simple. I love the weapon modifications, that's one thing uncharted doesn't have. I like the optional side missions (raiding the tombs) they sure are puzzles at times.

My only complaint with this game would be the difficulty or lack there of. I selected hard the first go though and it really feels like normal. Sad to say hard is the highest.

All-in-all if you like games like the Uncharted series you'll love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by moose87 (PALMETTO, FL) Jun 24, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

Not a huge jump from the PS3 version, but is still worth another play through on PS4. Story is still pretty dull or else I would give it a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tomb Raider

posted by alex_g32 (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Jun 21, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Great reboot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A great game!

posted by minushuman (RENO, NV) Jun 21, 2014

Member since Jul 2010

I haven't played a TR game in a long time, but I really enjoyed this one. It was everything I expected, and better. I'm considering keeping it to show off to friends, I'll make that decision after a couple days of replay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tomb Raider definitive edition

posted by Khalyssah (COLUMBUS, OH) Jun 19, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Awsome game I've played all Tomb Raider titles and this one is the best one thus far. I was glued to the tube for a week straight. Can't wait till the sequel comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great Game if You Missed it on Last Gen

posted by liquid731 (CULVER CITY, CA) Jun 17, 2014

Member since Aug 2004

If you missed Tomb Raider on 360 or PS3, this is a great game to have to have in your collection. If you have played it before and love the game, you will not be disappointed. The game is very clean and gorgeous. It's better looking than any other port that has been released thus far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Lara Croft comeback

posted by AncLEoniX (FEDERALSBURG, MD) Jun 14, 2014

Member since Jun 2009

Visuals are amazing all the way down to gameplay mechanics a must play for anyone on any console it's a gorgeous reincarnation of the tombraider series have beat it both on the ps3 and ps4 and still was an amazing experience replaying it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!

posted by Cveloz (GLENDALE, CA) Jun 13, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

Really great reboot of the franchise, with an excellent story to boot. Superb graphics, gameplay, and design all around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome!

posted by Patelsa85 (WALTHAM, MA) Jun 8, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Brilliant gameplay w/ awesome cinematics & edge-of-my-seat storyline d/t action-packed cut scenes. Definitely a must play game now!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by ILikeToFish1994 (LAKELAND, FL) Jun 4, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I was excited to receive this game as my first gamefly game. I must say, this game looks great. The graphics are so crisp and their is hardly any lag at all. I give the graphics two thumbs up. The overall simple player campaign is great too. Of course, they have to stretch the campaign out and the game is very unrealistic but that is what makes it interesting and fun. I am hooked on the story. You play as Lara Croft and you are stranded on an island filled with bad guys and untold secrets dating back centuries ago. I am not going to get too into the game because you all will have to see for yourself. I highly recommend this game. The only thing I don't like is the multiplayer. As soon as you hop into a game you are instantly killed by people with upgraded weapons that kill you with one shot while you are stuck with a sub machine gun that takes at least 6-7 shoots to take someone down. The multiplayer felt cheap and rushed. This is a single player game!

Graphics - 9/10
Campaign - 8 /10
Controls - 8/10
Multiplayer - 2/10
Overall - 8/10 (Not including multiplayer)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beautiful game!

posted by Bluedevildude (CRAMERTON, NC) Jun 1, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Noticeably visually different than ps3 version. Visually striking!Great game. only complaint, I wish the game was longer..!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Still a great game

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) May 26, 2014

Member since Aug 2005

It's a shame that the next-gen consoles didn't launch with a good action-adventure title from first-parties, but the next generation did get this, which is Tomb Raider the way it was really meant to be played. My only complaint is that the trophies/achievements are the same as the last-gen release. Including a hefty number involving the lackluster multiplayer that really has no place in this game at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic

posted by Greggorson (PHOENIX, AZ) May 20, 2014

Member since May 2014

A great game that I didn't want to end. Story was long and good with plenty of side quests. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game!

posted by stratman2010 (WINTER HAVEN, FL) May 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2012

This is a very well done game. Great challenges, the animation is super. The multi player isn't too great though. The campaign is great tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by inahashton (SYCAMORE, GA) May 17, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Great game. Upgraded a lot since my days playing tomb raider 1 & 2 on ps1 running around the mansion swan diving into Lara's pool. Very interactive gameplay with varying difficulties between levels and your settings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse