Rent Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition for PS4
view large frontback

Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $24.99

Also on:Xbox One
GF Rating
8.6

1920 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Welcome back Lara

posted by darkside (SAINT MARYS, OH) Feb 25, 2014

Member since May 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game to welcome Lara back into the main stream. Would have been a lot better off being single player only. Played the main story to 100% completion and did multiplayer for about half the levels 30/60 I gave up trying to get 20 kills with the turrets for a trophy and getting level 60 and buying all the multiplayer upgrades. Matches took way to long to start to be fun and a lot of times lop sided 3 on 2's because not enough people playing. Ended up with 89% of the trophies or something also played it on PS3 it was fun both times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun to run through again on the PS4

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) Jun 29, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Even if you played Tomb Raider on the PS3 or 360 The Definitive Edition is reason enough to run through the game again. On the PS4 anyways the game runs at 1080p and manages to keep at frame rate between 40 - 60 fps without a lot of stuttering or screen tearing. The story is an origins story of sorts and explains how Ms. Croft ended up becoming so bad-arsed and determined. I'd like to also mention that the game makes great use of the dual shock 4's audio in playing audio files you discover through the game thru the controller and also channeling some other sounds (weapons reloading for instance) though it as well. A+

SuperMcMutant (PSN)
FalloutNewVegaz (Xbox)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The difference. blew me away.

posted by societydweller (INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

If you're still waiting to play this game, don't. I love this latest TR game. I played through a couple times on PS3 and was quite impressed with the whole thing. The gameplay is incredible and the upgrade system levels up quick enough to keep me interested. But the graphical difference between PS3 and PS4 is more than i expected even after watching the comparison vids online. Definitely worth the upgrade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The definitive edition

posted by CheifingTrees (ANKENY, IA) Feb 1, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Great game even if you already played it. Graphics are definitely next gen and it surprised me how much better it looks over the ps3\360 version. Plus 1080p 60 fps PS4 ftw!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tomb raider

posted by lonewanderer900 (SHERRILL, NY) Aug 1, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a re-boot and totally not like the original tomb raider's.Firstly the graphics are incredibly nice on the ps4 and the character models look excellent.Beyond that there is not alot of impressive things about this game.The game does not follow the the behavior or activities of the original tomb raider and simply serves as a origin story for the character.Instead of searching for treasure or mysterious ruins like tomb raider would, this takes a backseat in the plot with most of the game just revolving around a mission to survive on an island against a crazy cult.No one in the game is really that memorable and is one dimensional.
The game is one giant action film cliche.There's a great amount of brutality,explosions,combat in the third person and platforming.This game is the perfect example of accessibility concessions being used in most modern games.There is a ridiculous amount of hand holding in the game and a over use of quick time events can make the game both very easy and frustrating at very random times.The controls for the game are good.
Overall tomb raider in my opinion is mediocre.Too many quick time events,plot and characters that are lame,and too much emphasis shifting away from challenging puzzles in favor of third person shooter mechanics.This game is a rent otherwise skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rad as heck

posted by ElectricEcstasy (ALMA, AR) Jun 9, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I really like the improvements of graphics. The game play was the same, obviously.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BROKEN GAME

posted by stealthwooki (REISTERSTOWN, MD) Feb 18, 2014

Member since May 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Game is broken. you cant beat it. corrupts your save at shipwreck beach. developers and reviewers and everyone knew about it since release but didnt bother to tell anyone. scrolling news in ps4 and cant be bothered to make a notification

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A great story, a bad remaster port

posted by Valenshka (MIDDLETOWN, CA) Sep 15, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

The PlayStation 4 is a very powerful machine where gaming consoles are concerned. Even where most gaming PC's are concerned. To say the textures and cinematic graphics of this port were much better than the PS3/360 versions would be a lie. This is not much better to look at than the original. Deeper particle density, some bloom and HDR. But the rest is bland. Especially the cinematics. The story is compelling. And well composed. The gameplay and combat are mediocre at best and mostly awkward. You're going to fall death a lot in any TR game but I was hoping they would improve movement accuracy over previous TR games. Nope. A slow camera, With awkward movement ability. Gameplay will make you want to rip Laura's head off in 2 hours or less and scream vulgarities at your dog. But again, most important factor is this is not a good Tomb Raider, feels more like God of War with an alternate camera and theme. And this is not a PS4 caliber game graphically.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It looks even better!

posted by edstroke (SICKLERVILLE, NJ) Sep 8, 2014

Member since Oct 2010

While I was secretly hoping for a nice wheel kick melee combo addition, this graphical overhaul for the next gen consoles is just what the doctor ordered since I was replaying it on the PS3 anyway! LOL I'm in love with her/it all over again! Please don't limit the sequel to XBOXone for long Crystal Dynamics! EVERYBODY should play this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I haven't got the game its been a mouth now

posted by Babygyrl5 (LONG BEACH, MS) Sep 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I haven't got the game its been a mouth now

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Worth a rental

posted by G5Xeon (WOODLAND, CA) Sep 4, 2014

Member since Oct 2004

I guess I am not one much to go back and play through a game I have done already. The graphics were nice as expected but overall I could of missed this one and not felt like I should of played it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good but not great

posted by shoknawe (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Sep 3, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

I liked that the game still focused on exploring the surrounding areas for little items and token but I also felt like the exploration was a bit forced, but enjoyable.

The "RPG" elements to the game like upgrades and searching for upgrade currency were done in a good way when also compared to the story progression of the game.

Story itself is a bit wonky, don't ever really care about any of the characters but the game wants you to know how much emotion they have for each other, which is fine and good, but then your putting arrows through faces but the first guy was such a defining experience for Lara, I mean it's things like that, ohh this character is hurt and can't continue, but Lara can tear down an ancient monetary, get more than injured in the process, yet continue to solider on...

So story loses a point, and some repetitive gameplay loses a point, but overall, worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best games I've played in a long time

posted by soli3us (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Aug 28, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

The Tomb Raider reboot is without a doubt one of the best games I've played in a long time. I'm rarely compelled to play a game all the way through more than once. With Tomb Raider I played it twice through on PS3 and then twice through on PS4. Needless to say I LOVED it. Brilliant gameplay, excellent mechanics and weapons (especially the bow), beautiful graphics, and an interesting story. Well worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing!!

posted by sloppyplay2014 (HARTFORD CITY, IN) Aug 26, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

This game has a very good concept and i like the fact that you can travel back to each base you stop at. The playstation 4's compatibility for this game is the best experience you will get because of the touch technology. A must play game for any player's

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not about the game

posted by collin9199 (CORAL SPRINGS, FL) Aug 25, 2014

Member since May 2012

My issue was not with this game, it is a great game that I really enjoyed, but due to the recent sell out where the sequel will be exclusive to the xbox, effectively cutting off 3/4 of the market for the game and trying the whole time to say it was the best decision for the game and the fan base, I say to never buy this game, and to be honest I don't intend to give them any of my money ever again. Even if the exclusive of the sequel is a timed exclusive and they launch it on the PS4 next year, I will not get it, I will not rent it. As far as I am concerned they decided to forsake their die hard fans for some up front money from Microsoft. If the xbone were a decent console and sold half as well as the PS4 they probably wouldn't have put up the money for the game anyway. All this, with the sequel, is Microsoft throwing money around to try and force people to switch to their console, but it's too late for that, numbers don't lie, and they shot themselves in the foot with this generation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty darn good game

posted by Zafo_the_tank (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 18, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

The game play is beautiful and graphics are great. The fighting and weapons are excellent just as much as the story line.

Lara does a great job again, the only draw back is the fighting is always the same. Would prefer constant fighting but it was great!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by eroctbl (LAS VEGAS, NV) Aug 18, 2014

Member since Apr 2006

I have always been a tomb raider fan, and the last few installments seemed very lacking. Well this new installment, or a starting over in the series I guess for lack of a better phase really hit the mark. Unbelievable graphics and gameplay really take this game to the next level. I would highly recommend this game if you have been a fan of the tomb raider series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

fun fun fun

posted by xBLOODx (HOUSTON, TX) Aug 2, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Love this game, looks amazing, pre long campaign with some fun trophies to unlock, and a bunch of cool gadgets to use, a must rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A blast

posted by n_maker (SAINT PAUL, MN) Jul 25, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

What a great game. I was very pleasantly surprised when I tried this game out. The game is a little on the easy side, but it was fun.

I cant wait for the sequel. I just hope they add a little more variety and difficulty in the side quests.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great refurbish

posted by Chevinator (SELMA, OR) Jul 19, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This was a thrilling game! A lot of action and lora croft basically gets mangled through the whole game with all the obstacles collapsing and what not. The voice acting was not to bad, but i feel as though the story was a bit fast paced. And there were times the game did get a bit glitch, like loras hair spazzing in place. But for a re-defined game for the ps4 it sure does make up for it. Graphics are beautiful and i like how the cutscenes graphics merge with the gameplay graphics. Big turn on. I had a lot of fun playing this, upgrading weapons and skills and what not, jumping different obstacles from ship and plane wreckage and cliff hanging, puts you at the edge of your seat. This game reminds me a lot of uncharted. Played a little bit of multiplayer. Its not to bad..but it aint nothing special..but still alright! Better then killzone imo. Anyways i recommend this game for anyone who hasnt played it back during the ps3. Its a great tune up.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great title

posted by HollywoodH88ter (ROYALTON, MN) Jul 15, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Super fun game recommended for all platinum hunters mp is a bit of a grind but over all fun title

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Straight masterpiece!!!

posted by Eg101 (JOLIET, IL) Jul 14, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

If you like the uncharted series you'll absolutely love tomb raider. Everything about this game is great IMO. It's stunningly beautiful to look at,has a good story line,and has moments of action that you won't forget. Hands down once again IMO one of the best games I've ever played.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

UNCHARTED FANS WILL LOVE THIS!!

posted by TD777 (YUMA, AZ) Jul 1, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I'm not one to really feel compelled to write a review, but this game really blew me away. I was not expecting it to be so good dispite the good reviews (I normally play multiplayer games). This game is addictive, plain and simple. I love the weapon modifications, that's one thing uncharted doesn't have. I like the optional side missions (raiding the tombs) they sure are puzzles at times.

My only complaint with this game would be the difficulty or lack there of. I selected hard the first go though and it really feels like normal. Sad to say hard is the highest.

All-in-all if you like games like the Uncharted series you'll love this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by moose87 (PALMETTO, FL) Jun 24, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

Not a huge jump from the PS3 version, but is still worth another play through on PS4. Story is still pretty dull or else I would give it a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tomb Raider

posted by alex_g32 (SIOUX FALLS, SD) Jun 21, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Great reboot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse