Rent Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition for PS4
view large frontback

Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox One
GF Rating
8.6

2334 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Welcome back Lara

posted by darkside (SAINT MARYS, OH) Feb 25, 2014

Member since May 2007

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game to welcome Lara back into the main stream. Would have been a lot better off being single player only. Played the main story to 100% completion and did multiplayer for about half the levels 30/60 I gave up trying to get 20 kills with the turrets for a trophy and getting level 60 and buying all the multiplayer upgrades. Matches took way to long to start to be fun and a lot of times lop sided 3 on 2's because not enough people playing. Ended up with 89% of the trophies or something also played it on PS3 it was fun both times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun to run through again on the PS4

posted by ColeCreek (KREAMER, PA) Jun 29, 2014

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Even if you played Tomb Raider on the PS3 or 360 The Definitive Edition is reason enough to run through the game again. On the PS4 anyways the game runs at 1080p and manages to keep at frame rate between 40 - 60 fps without a lot of stuttering or screen tearing. The story is an origins story of sorts and explains how Ms. Croft ended up becoming so bad-arsed and determined. I'd like to also mention that the game makes great use of the dual shock 4's audio in playing audio files you discover through the game thru the controller and also channeling some other sounds (weapons reloading for instance) though it as well. A+

SuperMcMutant (PSN)
FalloutNewVegaz (Xbox)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Played straight through

posted by JohnDeHope (LOUISVILLE, KY) Nov 17, 2014

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've never played a Lara Croft game. I really enjoyed this one. The graphics are great, pacing felt good, combat never got frustrating at medium difficulty, puzzles never stumped me for too long, and story elements were fun but not overdone. I played it nonstop until it was over.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pleasently suprised.

posted by hevinlyreign (SPOKANE, WA) Oct 3, 2014

Member since May 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has just about everything you could want all mashed into a single game. The character is great, the game play is smooth, the dialogue and voice acting is believable. My only real gripe with this title is that it lacked any sort of depth. There should have been more to accomplish; building better weapons/tools, upgrading your character more, hunting and drinking water to survive. This game infused with more Fallout would be amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The difference. blew me away.

posted by societydweller (INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN) Feb 2, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

If you're still waiting to play this game, don't. I love this latest TR game. I played through a couple times on PS3 and was quite impressed with the whole thing. The gameplay is incredible and the upgrade system levels up quick enough to keep me interested. But the graphical difference between PS3 and PS4 is more than i expected even after watching the comparison vids online. Definitely worth the upgrade.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The definitive edition

posted by CheifingTrees (ANKENY, IA) Feb 1, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Great game even if you already played it. Graphics are definitely next gen and it surprised me how much better it looks over the ps3\360 version. Plus 1080p 60 fps PS4 ftw!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rad as heck

posted by ElectricEcstasy (ALMA, AR) Jun 9, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I really like the improvements of graphics. The game play was the same, obviously.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

BROKEN GAME

posted by stealthwooki (REISTERSTOWN, MD) Feb 18, 2014

Member since May 2011

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Game is broken. you cant beat it. corrupts your save at shipwreck beach. developers and reviewers and everyone knew about it since release but didnt bother to tell anyone. scrolling news in ps4 and cant be bothered to make a notification

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tomb raider

posted by lonewanderer900 (SHERRILL, NY) Aug 1, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is a re-boot and totally not like the original tomb raider's.Firstly the graphics are incredibly nice on the ps4 and the character models look excellent.Beyond that there is not alot of impressive things about this game.The game does not follow the the behavior or activities of the original tomb raider and simply serves as a origin story for the character.Instead of searching for treasure or mysterious ruins like tomb raider would, this takes a backseat in the plot with most of the game just revolving around a mission to survive on an island against a crazy cult.No one in the game is really that memorable and is one dimensional.
The game is one giant action film cliche.There's a great amount of brutality,explosions,combat in the third person and platforming.This game is the perfect example of accessibility concessions being used in most modern games.There is a ridiculous amount of hand holding in the game and a over use of quick time events can make the game both very easy and frustrating at very random times.The controls for the game are good.
Overall tomb raider in my opinion is mediocre.Too many quick time events,plot and characters that are lame,and too much emphasis shifting away from challenging puzzles in favor of third person shooter mechanics.This game is a rent otherwise skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tombyyyy fans

posted by abe008 (HOMESTEAD, FL) Dec 20, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

Another great tomb raider great Grafix gameplay good story good game ova all,not many puzzles this time around I don't know if that's a good thing or bad but if your a raider fan then you won't be disappointed let's see what ps4 can really do with its next gen power on the next game........

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good ... expected better

posted by teddyruggxpin (LAS VEGAS, NV) Dec 10, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

Tomb Raider has big shoes to fill. it's always been a great game, and this is no exception. I felt I was obsessively meticulous during game play, but I missed a lot of content (easter eggs, hidden items). graphics are good during game play, and stunning during cut scenes. battles are challenging, not "hard" as you would expect. I really enjoyed the puzzles, that's a big reason I've always loved this franchise. didn't buy it though... felt that a single play-through was enough for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing!

posted by Cunningham28 (HIXSON, TN) Nov 19, 2014

Member since Apr 2012

absolutley love this game, want to play it again gery bad but 100% it. would highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game!

posted by MFU47 (HARLINGEN, TX) Nov 14, 2014

Member since May 2014

They way you get to play, the interactions, graphics, just all around I think it's awesome.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Too dark and the story is bad

posted by ruthlessstar (SYRACUSE, NY) Nov 4, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

the fight is too ez,and boring
and story is so-so

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must Play!

posted by LostControlGame (RIFLE, CO) Nov 4, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

A real solid game and a great play through. Graphics are amazing as well as game controls and story line. Don't wait to start building xp and side missions. Enjoy, Cheers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Single Player Experience

posted by Keene_ (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 20, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

The game delivers a solid experience in single-player mode. Can't say the same for multi-player. I gave this game an 8 for single-player.

The levels are nice and large. The gameplay is easy and fluid. I haven't played many 3rd person shooters lately, but this was easy to get into.

The story line was rich with content, although, to me, it got old fairly quick. You seem to find a lot of 'relics' that have no real reason for being in the game.

My main gripe with the game is that the bosses seem robotic. The main antagonist in the game was way to easy to beat - using a fighting mode where you just wait for buttons to flash on the screen, then press them. Might as well just make it a cinematic sequence if you're going to cop out on gameplay that much.

Gameplay - 9
Graphics - 7
Storyline - 7
Multiplayer - 5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tomb Raider

posted by BeastWitcher (MIAMI, FL) Oct 20, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

Best TOMB RAIDER since the oldies! Great game and a he|| lot of fun! Caves and dungeons could be better but are rather good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Complete waste of time

posted by ryfi (ORLANDO, FL) Oct 18, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

There are multiple issues with this game.

Lets start with the cinematic breaks. For the first hour of the game I felt like I was watching a poorly acted, B-rate film. I started to wonder if I accidentally rented a movie and not a game.

Secondly the button mashing.

Why in the world would you create a game where every few minutes you need to repeated twirl a joystick or maniacally cram buttons to get some result? It was annoying when they first thought of it and its just as bad now.

So between the obnoxious scene breaks and interruptions with button mashing, you cannot walk "50 feet" in this game without getting annoyed. They have completely forgotten what Tomb Raider used to be and they barely even paid homage..

I would suggest you do not waste your time on the game. Maybe, MAYBE if you have the two game package but now its Saturday and I have to wait at least 3 days to replace this dud... not worth it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty awesome

posted by dat83kid (BRONX, NY) Oct 16, 2014

Member since Dec 2007

Two words that describe this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

wow!

posted by liquid_snake91 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 14, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Graphics were stunning. Great story. A little repetitive though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First time player Loved It

posted by HandicapMan (HURRICANE, WV) Oct 14, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

This is the first time playing tomb raiders but decided to try it after seeing the reviews, Loved It, had a great story line and the action got intense at times, controls were easy to learn and use and the weapons were great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tomb Raider Definitive

posted by jazziejazz00 (LA PUENTE, CA) Oct 6, 2014

Member since May 2014

This game was the bomb.com. The graphics were amazing. Story line was great & so was the player control.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not impressed

posted by Beard74 (HAVRE, MT) Oct 6, 2014

Member since Nov 2013

Not as fun as I expected. Mechanics/ handling was awkward the entire game. Story could be better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tomb Raider

posted by Dpacheco81 (WILMINGTON, OH) Oct 1, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

This game kicked some major butt. Everything was cool, the gameplay, story line had me going even if it's a new skin on a old game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good will keep gamer busy for a while

posted by RWSWIFT (LAUDERHILL, FL) Sep 27, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse