Rent Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition for Xbox One
view large frontback

Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $19.99

Also on:PS4
GF Rating
8.6

1667 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game I ever played

posted by locotruckdriver (MONTEVALLO, AL) May 30, 2014

Member since May 2014

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like Indiana jones, you will enjoy being laura croft in this awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Story

posted by d3groat (ROLLA, MO) Apr 7, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Story is intriguing, easy to follow. Controls feel great. Graphics are superb. Definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Xbox One equivalent of Uncharted Series

posted by PureBeats (CONCORD, NC) May 22, 2014

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

game is amazing. From the graphics, sound, the way the connect allows you to look around corners physically, and takes voice command seamlessly in game make this a standout title for an Xbox one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sick!!!

posted by Californinja (SAN JOSE, CA) Jan 29, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Better graphic and gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Game. Only worth renting IMO.

posted by srd4484nj (FAIR LAWN, NJ) Feb 11, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Took me about 16 hours to finish the story. I only have 73% of the game completed. Too many little objectives to complete. Never like doing all of them.
I like the weapons. It's neat to use the bow & arrow. Took me the whole game to realize you can upgrade your weapons. Oh well. Didn't have issues with what I had.
Game was fun and enjoyable. I don't think it's worth the $60 price tag. Def. a game to rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

this is a upgrade ?

posted by justchillin (NEW YORK, NY) Feb 8, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

well after beating the XBOX 360 and pc version of this last game i have to say im pretty disappointed. 1 the game can no stack up to a pc. but it does look alot better then the XBOX 360 version. Overall if you liked the XBOX 360 / ps3 / pc then this should be fun aswell. I set the game on Hard and started it up. about 2 hours in to the game i'm 11% done.
over all the look of the game is pretty bad. Lara her self looks not that good. hair movement is nothing like the pc. puddles of water look nasty. you can see some bad stuff when you go in to a cave that is dark. they did try and i do mean try to bump the gfx up a bit but for some reason a 6NINE50HD GFX CARD looks a lot better then the XBOX ONE on this game. Save your money and rent this you will be done with it in less then 72 hours. Sorry but its just not worth the money of a new game. and its not a new game what is it a upgrade of a old game and full price just my thoughts take them how you want.
I'm giving this game a 7 rating as its nothing new and no big overall improvements where made.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Sweet Game!!!

posted by ThaddeusSR (PONCHATOULA, LA) Oct 17, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

My wife could not put this game down...... Played right through beginning to end. Crazy Graphics and great story line. I wish we could have used the double pistols a little more:{

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect in every way

posted by JDM91 (SAN JOSE, CA) Oct 14, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

This game has to be by far the best game I played in the Xbox 1
Its a must have!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

My first Tomb Raider

posted by mascottjr (WINCHESTER, VA) Oct 13, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

This game is fun. So fun in fact i went a head and brought it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beautiful game!

posted by flysince95 (MIAMI, FL) Oct 3, 2014

Member since Oct 2014

I love this game! I want to say it is perfect... Keeps you engaged and it is very intense. Will make you stay in front of TV for hours. So glad they didn't kill the series and they rebooted it. Most definitely looking forward to the sequel! Best action single player game besides GTA!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Jojosm87 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Sep 22, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

Very challenging, loads of actions and the graphics are on point would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Game - Must Play

posted by xmarks (CHERRY HILL, NJ) Sep 15, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

I have played both the XBOX 360 and XBOX One version of this game from end to end. What sets this Tomb Raider apart is the original story. If you are a Laura fan, the chance to find out why she is who she is through the story mode is very compelling. The graphics and the game engine are top flight. The game avoids the curse of repetition by varying what you have to do and making whole portions of the game optional. If you want to emphasize stealth and misdirection that game can handle that, if you want to bull rush through, the game can handle that as well. I find it well balanced and something that I could play through again and again. When I see articles decrying the lack of playable female characters, I can point to this game as the exception to the common perception.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dont Judge by the Cover

posted by krismonty09 (PARRISH, FL) Sep 11, 2014

Member since Sep 2014

I started playing this game, only because it was rated high. After an hour, I was bored. I kept playing... this game became incredibly enjoyable, and has wonderful graphics. Reminds me a lot of Assassins Creed in several ways. Story sucked, but it was very enjoyable play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

marvelous reincarnation

posted by fdude69 (MELBOURNE, FL) Sep 2, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

Tomb Raider is a must rent for gamers with a passion for a good action based story that envelops you from the first time you hear the iconic Croft name. The controls are a plus and its a different outtake from your assassin creeds games. furthermore the game gives you a hefty dosage of weapon upgrades and the difficult isn't unbeatable, even on hard. The Story also captivates you into playing more trying to figure out the secrets of the island that your stranded on, which includes beautiful vistas especially in this rendered definitive addition. Rent this game, its worth a play through and for all the gamers that never finish storylines, this game is not long and to the point if you don't collect hidden items. Enjoy and have a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by HonestGameRater (AUBURN, MA) Aug 21, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This is a fun adventure game with a long enjoyable story with sick cutscenes. And it doesent hurt that Lorais hott

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by Knightsbane (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Jul 31, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

online is tacked on to keep you playing gets boring after a few hours

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Game was good but...

posted by simplyunstable (HUMBLE, TX) Jul 29, 2014

Member since Oct 2011

Not a bad title, but one that seemed to lack depth. Lots of walking around as to expand on how vast a board can be. The action in the game was a very far and in between, not a lot to be had. After about 5 hours of playing, one can lose interest, if they are fans of the previous tomb raider games. All in all worth playing through once, but I do not think its a game I will play again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun and exciting, but stale overall.

posted by bullelk (MERIDIAN, ID) Jul 29, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

The game is the perfect rental - short, sweet, fair story line, plenty of action. I feel like it took about 5-7 hours to beat. It was very linear to me, however, they hide enough random "artifact" type items to search for that really, that seemed to be where you were supposed to spend a majority of your time, which I'm not a fan of. The puzzles were fun enough, although, they seemed fairly shallow. Overall the game is a good pick up if you are struggling to find games to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Rent

posted by wkc002 (BAYTOWN, TX) Jul 22, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

This was a fun game to play. (For me) There isn't much replay value so I can't recommend buying it. But if your looking for a decent and challenge gaming I would defiantly recommend renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Well Done

posted by xMetasiNx (FORT WAYNE, IN) Jul 21, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

First of all, I'd just like to say that the game looks fantastic. This was the first game I played on XBox One that I actually went "wow" at some of the scenery while playing. The storyline is great. It progresses extremely well, and the side quests didn't seem as grindy as some games that I've played in the past. In other words, the side quests added enough to the storyline to make me want to complete them. The weapon upgrades are a cool feature, but some of them are overkill. Toward the end I was unlocking explosive shotgun shells and penetrating arrows... Stuff that I never really even got the chance to use, for instance. I gave it a 9 instead of a 10 because the hit detection is pretty close to terrible. When enemies are behind cover, it appears as though you can blow their head off... but you can't, because the bullet never gets there. I also had a hard time shooting through cracks in structures even though my sights were in the clear. Overall, excellent game. Provides somewhat challenging enemies, interesting features, progressive storyline with strong character development, beautiful scenery, and fluid controls. I haven't played a better game on XBox One so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Whats there in graphics, lacks in story.

posted by andrewh7789 (SAN GABRIEL, CA) Jul 20, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

Ok here is my breakdown to this game. First off I would like to input that I have NEVER played a Tomb Raider game before this one. Second, I dont like Square Enix AT ALL. With that said, lets get started. First, I want to start off by saying this game has pretty good graphics. The lighting and environment are well put together and even though I know these graphics are just the start of next gen consoles, they can only get better with future games.
Now, the fun part, THE CONS. Like I said, I never played a TR game in my life and was expecting this reboot to have more of a background story of the protagonist considering well...ITS A REBOOT. This story line throws you in a WILD storm of events that just have you dazed and confused the whole game with little background and no idea why its all happening. The antagonist, whom I wont spoil, is seen very little of and has no background or even the slightest bit of showtime in the game. Finally, I'd like to mention the attempt of making a skill tree. Even though it was THERE it was too easy to fill and had little to no meaning.
Next, the multiplayer. Although I loved the attempt at this Gears of war type multiplayer, it lacked in server dedication and consistency. I know games like these don't really have an AMAZING multiplayer but I would like to try it out without getting disconnected ever other game.
Lastly, I'm a hardcore achievement hunter and I will say most of these achievements are pretty easy but when it came to the multiplayer achievements they were almost impossible to get (like Assassins Creed) if you know what i mean. I did end up getting them thanks to a boosting partner but by yourself its almost impossible.
All in all, I am just baffled by the amount of people who rate this game above 7. It is confusing how a game like this can get a higher rating than a game like Forza 5 or Titanfall not because they are big titles just because this game lacks a lot of things. Peace

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Just wow

posted by Yoyoma16 (CHANDLER, AZ) Jul 20, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I was a little hesitant at first since I've never played any TR game before. Once I started I couldn't put it down. The graphics and gameplay are amazing. The fire graphics are so realistic! Gameplay is so much fun - a perfect blend of combat, strategy and problem solving. If the uncharted and far cry series had a child, TR would be it. Do not pass this up!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tomb Raider Definitive Edition

posted by Qonscience (HAYMARKET, VA) Jul 16, 2014

Member since Nov 2011

I've never played or seen Tomb Raider in my life and I thought it would just be some boring, generic action story that I would quickly forget. I was thoroughly mistaken. After playing this game, I realized Lara Croft is a beast and should not be messed with under any circumstances. You get to see her transform from a somewhat "normal" traveler/explorer into a cold hard killer that will do anything to save her friends from the evil people who inhabit Yamatai. The gameplay feels really smooth and there are neat tools and weapons that you use throughout the game. There are plenty of things to discover on the island as well. You will find artifacts, journals, and camps (where you can upgrade your weapons with salvage and upgrade Lara's abilities). In a game like this, you might be under the assumption that the gunplay is lacking, but it isn't. Once you reach the end of the game, you will have an arsenal containing a shotgun, machine gun, handgun, and, of course, a bow and arrows. You will need to use these a lot, because there are plenty of enemies to kill. The story is incredible and I had trouble taking breaks from the game. I finished the entire story in two days, but it may take longer for some. My only complaint is the multiplayer. I was hoping that this game would have solid online matches because of my experience with the gunplay in story mode, but the servers were so dead that I couldn't even find an online match. Other than that, I really enjoyed the game. Tomb Raider deserves your time if you are in for a sweet survival story. I wouldn't buy this game because it doesn't have great replay value, but it is definitely worth a rent. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Well put together

posted by cedmac21 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Jul 12, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

Great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game.

posted by CageFighter1568 (DAYTON, OH) Jul 9, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

I think this game is close to perfect. Its never slow. It always looks amazing. And plays pretty smooth. The only thing I could "find" wrong with it is the hit detection. When the enemy's are in cover you can aim at part of them but it will almost always miss. Other than that, its perfect for anyone who loves action adventure games. Longer then normal story and a bunch of unlocks. I actually kept this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse