Rent Tomb Raider: Anniversary for Wii
view large frontback

Tomb Raider: Anniversary

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.6

667 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Oh Lara, is it our anniversary already?

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Jul 15, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Yes gamers, it's apparently been 10 years since we were first introduced to Lara Croft and the Tomb Raider series. Miss Croft, how far we have come. Gone are the giant pixels, twitchy controls, contact-ultra-sensitive environments and rigid shooting system. Tomb Raider Anniversary is definitely an improvement over the original. TRA is not exactly a remake of the original game. Instead, it keeps the spirit of the original game, but with all the new game mechanics and improvements that turn it into something much richer. You'll be wall running, swinging, crawling and jumping all over Egypt, Peru and Greece in no time. You'll also unload a nice arsenal into several endangered species (in all fairness, they're trying to make you endangered too). The Wii controls are a mixed blessing however. Targeting works pretty well (same idea as an FPS). But, because the motion sensor controls aiming and can move your camera, getting a good shot while moving can be tricky. There are also a few motion controls that seem tacked on. For instance, grappling requires you to swing the nunchuk, when hitting a button would be far more convenient when you're in mid-air. There are also switches which require you to move Wiimote and nunchuk after grabbing the control, an unnecessary extra step. Since we're nit-picking, objectives tend to be vague, if not unknown. I suppose the big problem is the camera. Sometimes it won't budge and other times it will do a 180 at a very inconvenient time. Still, this is a fairly lengthy and enjoyable game with beautiful graphics, some nice action and platforming elements and serves as a wonderful tribute to a classic video game series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good.

posted by pkessler (LOUISVILLE, OH) Jan 25, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I've never really been a big fan of the Tomb Raider series, but I decided to give this game a try. It's not that bad at all. It was fun and exciting. Good controls. Good feel to the game. Pretty good. Worth a rent and possibly a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tomb Raider: Anniversary Review Don037

posted by Don037 (DUPO, IL) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I want to start by saying that I didn't finish this game. This review should be read with this in mind. Now that's been said, let me tell you why. I played for a few hours and made some progress. This is supposed to be a remake of the original Tomb Raider for the PS1. I thought they might have made some improvements, but it seems like they improved the graphics and that's it. Lara still handles like a shopping cart and the motion-sensitive controls don't help either. The controls lacked something important, camera control. Oh sure, you have some control, but it's difficult to simply look around. In an action/adventure game where you need to see clues, this is unacceptable. When I was playing I got to a point where I fell off the trail I needed to take. It was not entirely my fault this happened, but I realized I would have to backtrack through the last 10 minutes of plat forming. This is when I started playing something else. Not for a lack of skill, but the fact that I'd already done it once and didn't feel like fighting the controls to get back there. I feel this game wasn't fun. I can forgive technical problems for a fun time, but this wasn't fun. I rated this game a 4 and I might have been too generous, but I didn't finish it. Maybe I didn't make it far enough to where the fun begins, but I doubt it. Not even Lara Croft could make me continue to slog through this game.
Don037

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Fit For the Wii But Has Imperfections!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Nov 17, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Just got it today. I was looking forward to this becasue it is a classic IP and match that with the Wii it could be a game of the year. However there are a lot of issues; the camera is set to close to Laura making it difficult to kill bats, and bears (so you die often), the textures are to flat making it cumbersome to find your way, and it is easy (I went through several checkpoints within an hour), and when you are in the mansion you can't get out because all the doors are locked so just start the game! All in all it is a good one to rent (the controls make it better/fun); but not a buy. I was just as dissapointed as you; maybe Eidos will do another version; but maybe an exclusive and not a PS2 port!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Loved it

posted by Capdain (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 12, 2008

Member since Aug 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I loved this game. The camera never seemed to get suck and the game play with the controls was fun. It is one that I might rent again. Plus, my daughter loved it given that it is one of the few games that stars a woman.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not Impressed...Boring

posted by Mulley007 (MEDFORD, NY) Jan 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I don't know, it just seems like this title is getting old. It's like I've already played it...and I just can't get into it. The graphics are ok, the gameplay is ok, but I am just not blown away. It's nothing new...
I wouldn't buy this, maybe just rent for a really cheap thrill.
Game-off!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tomb Raider: Anniversary

posted by Anna1997 (CLACKAMAS, OR) Jul 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This game is pure awsomeness. Well to me anyways. this gane is filled with twists and turns you never know whats gonna happen next. But if you dont like fighting or stuff like that then i wont recemend this game. But to people who like the movie then you will LOVE the game i own Tomb raider underworld and its by far the best game i own. It might not go with the movies that well but it has a brand new advencher with Laura Croft. The back in time kinda part with dinos and stuff like that really made it really fun. People who have never tyed playing it might think that its kidish but its not its very fun and the short movies are fun to. I would say that this game is good for kids between the ages 12 (if your parents let its not gory or anythink just lots of action) to well 20 maybe if you still like wii games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tomb raider anniversary

posted by popgirl (BATESVILLE, MS) Dec 7, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

great game something new around every turn , never dull, love it, and will most likely keep this one!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Please don't get this game...

posted by Smashbro (ORLANDO, FL) Jun 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

Please just save yourself the waste of time and don't get this peace of junk it's just horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nice trip down memory lane

posted by BossMeng (DUBUQUE, IA) Apr 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2007

It was nice to see an update to Lara Croft's first adventure, but after an hour of gaming bliss -- I thought about keeping it -- I couldn't get past the wonky controls, which far outweighed the nostalgia, so... I went out and got it for the PS2. Visuals are practically the same, but it controls MUCH better. If you have a PS2 or a PS3 that has backwards compatibility, go with that version instead. It's still a fun game, but so much more fun with responsive controls.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Get the guide

posted by Ziantman (JAMAICA, NY) Dec 1, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

If you don't get the guide, you won't get the game. I purchased the guide for the first time in my life and it helped me get through one stage...after that reading and doing just got a lil boring. Graphics are ok and controls are cool once you get used to...gameplay is just a lil boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

My first Tomb Raider "adventure"

posted by thejoker (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Aug 24, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

This was the first tomb raider i have ever played. I had heard about and thought i would try it out. It was much less adventure than I expected. There is barely any shooting/ fighting and when there is its organized, directed and boring. It is mainly trying to jump correctly so that you dont fall and have to replay the last few minutes over again. I was dissapointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love this game!

posted by TLOZOoTMQ (BELLFLOWER, CA) Jul 21, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

This game is awesome. I love the wii controls for this game even though the camera adjusting takes a lil while to get used to. This game is fun and challenging. I would definitely play this game over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun Action

posted by Stubby826 (LIVE OAK, TX) Jun 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

Tomb Raider Anniversary is a fun action game. It keeps you wondering what is going to happen, or what am I going to have to do next. The graphics are good enough that you can tell someone took their time to create detail. I would rent this game again, and even consider buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just Acceptable

posted by ataylorm (SACHSE, TX) Jun 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

I've played many of the tomb raider games, and like the others this one offers many puzzles for you to solve and tricky jumps to complete.

However going from PC to Wii leaves a lot to be desired on this title. The controls are a bit difficult to use, especially when you need to look and move at the same time.

The graphics are well... Wii graphics, no such thing as anti-aliasing. 10 year old copies on the PC had better graphics honestly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Pretty O.K. game, but lacks for the Wii's power!

posted by CCORTEZ (NORTH HAVEN, CT) May 15, 2008

Member since May 2008

This game is pretty good. The original PSOne system was an absolute classic when it came to revolutionizing the gaming industry. Who could forget such titles as 'Dino Crisis', 'Tomb Raider [1,2,3,+], and of course, the ultimate still to this day on ANY PLATFORM survival horror series, Resident Evil. However, with the Tomb Raider series, there was awesome gameplay and story and great CG, but horrible in-game polygonal graphics. Not much can be said about that for Wii nowadays. Unfortunately the Wii is very underestimated when it comes to the graphics world. Sure, it doesn't have a 'Blue Ray' player, or 1080p resolution, or 2x512 MB of video ram available, but it does produce rich and vibrant colors and luminance variations. 480p can stand up. Yes i know, it's not as clear, or good, but still, ATI still kicks butt and the Wii can produce prove so! The gameplay for this game is a lil tricky at first - takes getting used to with the Wii-Mote®, but it's kinda fun when it kicks in. The overall story is good and overall it makes the first wanna beg to a 'New Release' again. I would def. purchase this game, as it's long levels and seamlessly infinite places to explore will keep you up late at night for hours.....if not days.....be careful tho....boredom may set in. -C.W.Cortez

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NATURAL FEELING

posted by tasmbx (BRONX, NY) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2005

THIS WAS MEANT TO BE PLAYED WITH SENSOR MOTION. FORGET WHAT THE CRITICS SAY, THIS GAME IS AWESOME! I'VE PLAYED THE 360 VERSION WHICH LOOKS AMAZING; BUT THE INTUITIVE CONTROLS ON THE WII MAKE IT WORTH WHILE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

it's ok

posted by mambitigre (MIRAMAR, FL) Apr 14, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

i just gave it 6 because i already played the game long time ago but in PC version , it's just the same game but with new graphics , i like the new graphics but the story is the same. i also liked the way you control lara with the wii remote , didn't like the way the camera moves though , i guess that you need to get use to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good, but hard

posted by colinkurt (CLEVELAND HEIGHTS, OH) Mar 19, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

This is a fine game. There are lots of puzzles to solve. I would have rated it 10 but I got to a really hard level I can not get past. I might send it back because I am so frustrated. People who are really good at video games should get this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Typical Tomb Raider game, with a bit of Wii spin.

posted by koalanerd (EL PASO, TX) Mar 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

I am a big fan of the Tomb Raider games. I enjoy the puzzle solving aspect of a game, rather than the ability to push buttons fast and blast tons of enemies. The puzzles in this are good, but do get monotonous after a while. The graphics and sound are good. I enjoyed the interaction with the Wii remote, but the lock on feature while shooting doesn't work well. The grappling hook action with the nun chuck is an excellent addition. I would have liked to have seen more weapons like some of the older Tomb Raiders. It is a pretty long game with long individual levels each containing several puzzles. But it is worth the time that you will put into it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Legendary gameplay

posted by cekeys (RICHMOND, TX) Feb 10, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

OK, I admit it, I've never played a Tombraider game.

The game itself can be described as a 3rd person (Camera behind you), 3d puzzle solver with guns. The controls are good and intuitive; there is a small learning curve to get used to them. Aiming the camera at times does get a bit frustrating, but thankfully tapping the camera button twice recenters.

The graphics are very nice, and make use of the Wii's abilities.

The challenge of the game is rewarding. There are puzzles to solve by having Lara jump from ledge to ledge to get to a lever far overhead that opens a door far below. The maps aren't terribly complicated, but there are times where you will get lost and finally remember that hole that you crawled in to get there is your way out. Just when you think you're done with a level, you can revisit it for a time trial which has goodies to unlock.

Overall if you've ever played any of the Prince of Persia series and liked it, you'll enjoy this game. Remember that if you fall & die, you restart at your last checkpoint.

Great game, and definitely worth a play for the Wii.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tomb Raider wii!!

posted by Longshot (STATE CENTER, IA) Jan 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

Tomb Raider Anniversary on the Wii has two main differences compared to the other versions of the game. The first are the controls. For the most part I like the Wii versions controls, but there are a few things I found to be a bit bothersome. The camera controls to start with. Normally the camera is fixed behind Lara which works just fine but some times you will want/need to look around to do this you hit the C button and then use the Wiimote to move the camera. The camera moves a bit slow when doing this and it can be a bit hard to line up a jump fast when you need to. Other main controller difference is that instead of a hitting a button to climb a ladder or swim faster you shake the Nunchuk. I found this to be pretty neat , but I could see how some people could find this to be of kind tiresome. The second big difference between the Wii version of TRA and the other Versions of the game are the puzzles. Many of them have been changed a bit for the Wii. For instants instead of pulling a lever to open a door like in the other versions of game you will have to do some sort of puzzle to open it. The puzzles very from using the Wiimote like a brush to uncover a code to a door or using the Wiimote to move gears around. Some of the secrets pick ups have been changed too. Instead of just picking up the item after you’ve found it, you may have to use the Wiimote like a brush to uncover it or use the Wiimote like a pickaxe before you can pick it up. Both the new puzzles and the changes to the secret pick ups are a nice touch that adds to the Tomb Raider experience. Graphics wise the Wii version looks better then the PS2 version of the game but not as good as the 360 version. Bottom line TRA on the Wii has inferior camera controls compared to the PS2 and 360 versions, but if you can get past that you will find that the changes to puzzles and secrets add more to the game then the camera controls take away. Making TRA on the Wii at the very least worth renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Have to sell my Wii

posted by freakytoot (CORNING, NY) Jan 15, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

Tomb Raider is why I started gaming.
It was and is still the most exciting game that I have ever played.
BUT NOT ON THE Wii!!!!!!

I intended to have my son join me in a gaming experience with Tomb Raider Anniversary for the Wii.
It is so poorly constructed that it is nearly impossible to play....

The remote makes it very difficult to play this game with enjoyment. At each turn I was met with frustration and disappointment.

I really need to sell the Wii and get a Playstation3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great revisit of an old classic

posted by remalnat (MAMARONECK, NY) Jan 9, 2008

Member since Sep 2003

This is a fantastic adaptation/revisit.

The control is sometimes challenging (throwing the hook gave me quite a few issues) but it's really fun to play.

I add completed the original on the Playstation back in the days and spent quite some nights on it, same here.

A lot of the game feels "familiar" yet is different enough that it's not like replaying the old game.

And of course she looks better than ever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »