Rent Tomb Raider: Anniversary for PSP Games
view large frontback

Tomb Raider: Anniversary

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS2, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.3

320 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tomb Raider PSP!!

posted by RE4orever (TEMPE, AZ) Aug 12, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To start off, we all know that Tomb Raider Legend on the PSP was pretty bad. Tomb Raider Anniversary on the other hand is a different story. It has some of the best graphics on the PSP that I have ever seen. The camera controls are way better than Legend and I was totally amazed. Tomb Raider fans and all of you that like adventures, rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Extremely engaging

posted by USNChief (LAKE OSWEGO, OR) Dec 15, 2007

Member since Dec 2004

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is very challenging, and very well built- until the dreaded centaurs. Looking online you will see loads of questions about these bosses. They are the sole reason I sold this game. I simply could not defeat them. I used the tricks everyone was suggesting about taking their shields, but it never worked. After seeing more forums, it appears other people had the same problem also, and therefore could not finish the game.
The puzzles are excellent, the movcements are fluid. There could be more smaller bad guys running around, but overall a pretty good play...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Classic Games For The Win

posted by ediddy (GRANGER, IN) Aug 19, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the type of title that works well on the PSP. The proven gameplay has been translated very well. The camera is easy to control. All of the platforming elements are there and it is a proven game. I would recommend this title to anyone who is a fan of the Tomb Raider franchise.

The graphics are slightly dated, but it is still better then some of the newer games. I really enjoyed this game.

Take control of Lara Croft old style. Easy as a pick up and play if you have never played a game like this. The pop up tutorials don't get in the way at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Still no change but it's OK

posted by clintonk (SAN MARCOS, CA) May 7, 2009

Member since Apr 2009

Didn't change much but still kind of a waste on the PSP. This is one of many games I can't tell which version I'm playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

KRAP!

posted by psychoh (EDMOND, OK) Nov 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This game blows. I want my money back for my psp.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

WOW, the story is good, yet the control need work.

posted by SterITuP (CYPRESS, CA) Jul 23, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

Tomb raider games to me are pretty interesting to play besides how lara croft looks, they all are pretty much like prince persia games yet ur a bomb 10.

This game though on the psp got straight-up difficult once you got to level 3. And I know it's a puzzle game, yet for how much ur SUPPOST to do on a little psp, it's very annoying falling down to ur death over and over!! It just gets annoying, plus the load-screens after each death. It's very time-comsuming. which is not bad, but it's just annoying.

But for me, it's just the camara. U have no support at all. and pressing triangle along with the analog does not help much.

But the game is good, the levels are challenging, And u get to play as a HOT babe. Nothing beats that, unless u have a gf as Hot as her, and if so why are u playing it???

So I give this game a 7, only because of it just being lara croft.

Now rent it, play it, and deal with it.. Thats all i'll conclude to.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ahhhhh, my long lost friend!

posted by Alicorn (CLEARLAKE, CA) Apr 1, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

Whether you are a seasoned tomb raider Veteran like myself or this is your first time ever playing with Lara, this game is an awesome one. it takes you right back to the first tomb raider game (12 years ago) without being another run-of-the mill boring remake of a game people enjoyed over a decade ago. the visuals are captivating and the storyline is fun to play through. and it's really nice to see how far we've come since the days of PSone. If you are a fan who was driven away by Tomb Raider legends" you owe it to yourself to allow this game to redeem your love for Lara, and the adventures that left us hanging on the edge of our seats so many times before (without all of the bugs in the system and difficult controls) I enjoyed it so much that I refused to send it back and ended up purchasing the game for my personal collection :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Over all a solid PSP game.

posted by Longshot (STATE CENTER, IA) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

I wouldn’t recommend TRA on the PSP to anyone who’s just looking to rent the game, There are better versions of the game to rent then the PSP version.
The main drawback on the PSP are the camera controls. You use the L and R buttons to move the camera left or right while moving. But if you want to be able to look up and down you have to stop and hold the triangle button then you can use the analog stick to move the camera around like in the PS2/360 versions of the game. That works ok when you don’t have to move fast for some reason like a puzzle or while in combat, it just feels a bit awkward. But when you need to move fast because of puzzle being on a timer or combat adjusting the camera can be a real pain. I want to be clear I only have a problem with the camera controls when compared to other versions of the game. The camera controls are actually pretty good for the PSP. Probably the best we can hope for on the PSP. There are some other control issues but none of them are very serious. There are some frame rate and graphical troubles now and then but none of that is very serious. The game isn’t all bad. Once you get past the controls you will find the same great game play that is in the other versions of the game, but portable. Basically with the PSP version you’re giving up solid controls in favor of portability. If you’re just renting the game to play at home I would recommend going with one of the other versions of the game (360, PS2 or Wii). But if you’re gone a lot and want to be able to carry the game with you and you can put up with some so so camera controls TRA on the PSP is a great rent or buy.

Be safe all and happy gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Puzzles Galore

posted by Spagball (BETHESDA, MD) Oct 26, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2004

Challenges abound in this TR title for PSP. If you don't frustrate easily, this game will definitely capture attention. Expansive levels with plenty of tricks and traps to stump. I'm only into the second section of this game and I've logged a few hours on this title. So get used to running, jumping, grappling, and shooting your way through the various levels. I've read there are some unlockables available in the Croft Manor (off the main menu), but I haven't even gotten to that, b/c I've been busy trying to get through the main levels.

Somebody mentioned the camera being a problem. I can see their point. But, it's not so bad that it make the game unplayable. In fact it's generally pretty solid. L and R shoulder buttons let you pan around and if you are really stuck for an alternate view it helps to go into the aiming mode.

All in all this is a really solid game. But, as far as replayability, might not be much fun once you figure it out and finish it.

BUY IT, RENT IT, BURN IT?
Definite Rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Raiding on the go done right.

posted by Telekill (GRAND JUNCTION, CO) Oct 10, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

So I'm sure many of you have played the PS2 or PC version of this game already... or you're holding out for the Wii or 360 versions of the game. Or maybe you just dont care.

Either way though... I rented the PSP version of TR Anniversary to see how it is in comparison to the PS2 version (the version I own). I've gotta say that the game is the EXACT same game but with a few losses.

For just the PSP version however... here's the break down:

Positives:
- Levels are all there.
- 90% of all the moves are there.
- The graphics for any handheld are unsurpassed in this game. (at least until the new God of War is released)
- Story, music and quick time events are all in place.
- Load times are tolerable

Negatives:
- Controls are not on par with PS2 version:
.... - [ ] now has some of the functions of /\ from the PS2 version. (kinda confusing at first)
.... - Analog stick is very imprecise.
- I dont think they implemented a vertical camera control. At least I dont know what it is yet.
- The game cinamatics skip sometimes.

So as you can see... the game does have it's flaws in comparison to the PS2 version. For a PSP game though it's pretty good. If you dont have a PC, PS2, PS3, 360 or Wii... and you havn't played this game on any of those systems... then you should give this one a try.

Unfortunatly... if you have... there really is no point in buying this version of the game as it's the EXACT same version as the PS2... but with maybe some multiplayer capabilities on the PSP version. I'm hoping that when Tomb Raider 8 is released for PS3... that instead of just porting the game to PSP... that Eidos/CD end up making a different storyline for the handheld so that it feels like a different game. If they dont however... I may eventually buy TR Anniversary for my PSP for Tomb Raider on the go.

I give this game an 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Maybe it's just me...

posted by IronDiva (WAYNE, NJ) Sep 2, 2007

Member since Sep 2006

Yeah, the graphics are great. But I hate the camera. Why can't I look down or up, to get my bearings?

And can someone tell me why I'm supposed to love this game? So far, all I've done is shoot some bears, and grappled along ledges. Oh boy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Awesome Game, bad camera.

posted by Bafford (NAPLES, FL) Aug 27, 2007

Member since May 2007

I love the game, I love it. I have the PC version and this one looks like a mini-me of the big one. They've done an amazing job in keeping it real for the PSP; however (this is the part that will make some hate me, some agree with me):

[SPOILER ALERT!!!]

The camera is awkward and sometimes you can't see the edge you're going to fall from, or the T-Rex that's snapping at you. In fact, I'm STUCK on the T-Rex screen. When the thing comes, mad at you, you have to dodge and shoot on the cross air; well, when the Rex gets close to you, the camera changes angles and left is now UP and instead of dodging, you roll in front of the beast and loose HP's. It is frustrating at the point that I thought in returning the game, when I once wanted to buy it. I'm still going to give it another try, though... after all, it's Lara, you know :|

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A portable adventure 4 all!

posted by GamingGuru (HOBART, IN) Aug 18, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Let me start this off by saying I can't compare this game to Tomb Raider: Legend for the PSP since I have not played it. That being said, I found this game to be extremely fun, and I was pleasantly surprised at the high graphical quality that was pulled from the PSP hardware.

Now, to get the bad out of the way first. Like Tomb Raider: Legend for the multiple consoles it was released on, the fighting mechanic isn't great. It's by no means unplayable, but then again Tomb Raider is a game that is more focused on exploration and platforming than on gun play.

One of the first questions that will likely come to mind to anyone interested in playing this game will be the camera. If you have played Daxter for the PSP, than it is quite similar, and does not cause much trouble, which is rare for a PSP game. However it does tend to have it's share of problems in the middle of a fight, which tends to be the most frustrating. Not much of a problem though since the enemy A.I. isn't that great to begin with. The Controls are set up as good as can be for the PSP as well, and again will give little trouble.

But it's all about the Tomb Raiding and this is where the game shines. The levels seem larger and less linear than in Tomb Raider: Legend, and again are beautiful to behold. The only down side is that there are technicaly only 4 this time around. Peru, Greece, Egypt, and Lost Island. The developers also added Croft Manor again. The puzzles can be easy at times, and other times leave you stumped, providing a good challenge. If you are a fan of adventure games and don't own this game on any of the consoles, than you will likely enjoy it.

I would still recommend the game on consoles first, particularly the upcoming 360 version, but you can't go wrong with this game for your PSP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »