Rent Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell for Xbox
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell

Not Rentable
Also on:GC, GBA, PS2

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.5

980 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT Spy Game!

posted by Sensewu (VISALIA, CA) Jun 28, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Splinter Cell is definitely one of the best spy games out. You play as Sam Fisher, who is a member of the NSA, and you go on missions in different parts of the world to do missions, mainly to find information and either take out people.

The graphics in this game aren't bad, for being an early Xbox release, the game actually looks decent. It runs really smooth, and has a good shadow effect allowing you to hide in the shadows to hide from enemies and so on.

The sound in this game is nothing great, since there isn't really much music during missions, just faint sounds here and there. And of course, the sound when you've been spotted, intense.

The controls in this game are really good and tightly controlled, its easy to maneuver. You can jump, crouch/crouch walk/run and run. You can hang onto poles to get across areas, and glide down zip lines etc. The game has a really good controls system.

Overall, I think the first Splinter Cell is one of the best in the series. Its original, has its own style that differentiates itself from other games in the same type of genre. The AI isn't too bad in this game, even though sometimes they seem to be stupid and get spooked for absolutely no reason lol but it doesn't bring down the game at all. The game also has a good list of missions and things to accomplish, some are easy, but as you progress, most of the missions get harder. Just a tip, some of the areas in the game take strategic planning beforehand, so most of the game you'll have to have some patience.

But I highly recommend this game to the hardcore gamer, or just casual gamer. Awesome game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very good,but not as much as double agent

posted by bkdpatnode (LACEY, WA) May 25, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

it was a very good game and it had some pretty good,challenging,difficult,and fun stages that i had a good time with but i still got kinda frustrated with some parts. The really frustrating parts were having to get around the people to grab and interigate. Also putting #`s in the cube to unlock the code. the lock picks were not so frustrating but it sometimes gets in the way. the codes you put in that are just buttons are super frustrating,i mean i just COULD NOT get past those! Especially The cubed ones! If your not patient and you like to just play the game don`t get this. You have to be patient and wait for them to get around then interigate or just pass. You have to think smart and figure out stuff using brains. It`s a stealth game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The splinter cell series is the best

posted by KillaKali (ANTIOCH, CA) Jun 22, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

the only games better than this on xbox is splinter cell 2 and 3. and hopefully 4 which comes out in september. the series is the best unless you like the halo series. the series has maybe the best great graphics of all xbox games. the game play was also great. the moves were fun. you fell like you're in a movie. the character of Sam Fisher really makes you get into the game to. this game revolutionized stealth (shadows, sound, and killing. distract enemies, knock them out kill them in so many different ways. i thought it couldn't get better till part 2 and 3 came out. so if you're into action, killing, getting scared every once in a while, and a challenge. get all the splinter cell games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PLEASE READ BEFORE RENTING OR WRITING A REVIEW!!!

posted by Maverik707 (NEW BERLIN, WI) Feb 24, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

First of all, if you are someone who likes non stop action in a game, DO NOT RENT THIS GAME OR WRITE A BAD REVIEW ABOUT IT... This game takes patience, brains, and skill.

On the other hand, if you are a gamer who likes being stealthy and thinking your way through a game, I WOULD DEFINATELY RECOMMEND THIS GAME!! You can't just run through all the levels and shoot-em'-up, you have to sneak around without being seen, shoot out lights, use distractions to move guards from their posts, and stick to the shadows. The fact that you can sneak up behind enemies and grab them and force them to cooperate is pretty cool, too.

As if this wasn't enough, there are three more games in the series... So once you begin you'll be able to continue your stealthy gaming...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

PEICE OF GARBAGE!!!!!!!!!

posted by SHRIMP (CYPRESS, TX) Oct 11, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 16 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

No acceptions, this game is horribly horrible. How could you like this cheese? Come on people theirs way better games than this, 2 big FAT thumbs down, more like 60,000,000.

graphics: 6.2
gameplay: 2
recommend: no way

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game ever

posted by JTorigin (BLUE SPRINGS, MO) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

The best game ever, not just shoot everything that breaths halo
and the new one is exclusive to xbox 3600 no ps3

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Jan 18, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2003

This is a frustratingly hard game that requires patience and mastery of the controls. When you get it down though, it can be an amazing game. I tried playing this game several times and gave up due to frustration, but through some patience learned how to play it.

For it's time the graphics are amazing. Sound cues are great. There's some annoyances though that keep me from giving it a spectacular rating.

I realize the name of the game is stealth, but there were plenty of opportunities when even if the guard heard me, I could have bum rushed him before tripping an alarm.

I also felt like there was only one way to do many things. There were plenty of situations where I would have loved to try different scenarios, but the game had pre-programmed one successful route.

Again if you are patient and can deal with some of the glitches this can be a pretty amazing game. It's AWESOME when a guard is standing right next to you in the dark and doesn't see you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell review

posted by nonstop199 (SAMOA, CA) Jul 4, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

This is a fun game but i made the mistake of renting Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell : Double Agent and that just really made this game seem not as fun if i had gotten this before the newer one.If you want to play this , i recommend to play them in order and play this one first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Buy this game now!!!

posted by sephirothg (TWIN FALLS, ID) Jun 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

First of all I have to say I love this game and the entire splinter cell series dont rent buy it I will tell you why but caution if you like to shoot things too much this is not the game for you you have to memorize the gaurds routine patterns not be seen you can grab them from behind and force them to open a door for you that has a retinal lock on it the storyline is out standing if i had four thumbs they would all be up plus conviction is coming out they have more games of this so you can continue with sam fisher so buy it dont think about it buy it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Definite Tom Clancy Classic

posted by Daniel (HEMET, CA) Apr 23, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

What can one say about a stealth game? Some hate it because you actually have to think to outsmart the enemies, and apparently that's a very bad thing to do in games. I mean seriously, rating a game 1/10 because you don't want to think?

Anyway. The game was an instant classic when it was released. The graphics and sound were both revolutionary, and its sound was top-notch except for Lambert's voice. Sounds like he's trying to make everything cliche or something.

The only thing stopping me from giving Splinter Cell a 10 was the twitchy AI. Sometimes it could see you, sometimes it didn't, and "What was that noise? I'm going to check it out" system was flawed. It did it's job, but only too well. The AI would follow you wherever you went for about 10 seconds, then go back to his assigned duty. Happened in Pandora Tomorrow, too, though it wasn't as bad.

9/10 because it's a totally badass game that took things to the next level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Splinter Cell has a splinter

posted by Millmen (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 18, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

"Watch out for cameras, shoot out lights, stay hidden, be quiet..." BOOOO-RIIING! All you do is be cautious and disable alarms. DO NOT BUY, RENT, OR LOOK AT THIS RIP-OFF! IT STANK!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

IF YOU DON'T LIKE THIS GAME........

posted by twinkie (RENO, NV) Jul 6, 2006

Member since Jun 2005

THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST GAMES IN THE WORLD. IF YOU LIKE THIS GAME TRY splinter cell:chaos theory but DO NOT TRY PANDORA TOMARROW THEN TRY ANYTHING WITH TOM CLANCY ON IT . ESPEACILY HIS BOOKS TRY EXECUTIVE ORDERS I 'M 9 AND I READ IT IN 4 MONTHS AND ITS 1,358 pages. anyway that all I got ........ bye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »