Rent Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent for PS3
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC, Xbox, PS2, Wii, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.9

2193 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you played the others you will like this one.

posted by Kinloch (HOCKESSIN, DE) Feb 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

34 out of 36 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

I had to give this game a 10, just to give it a boost for all the low ratings it got. I would not have gone lower than 8 for my rating. A lot of people complained about slow load times it was to dark and the graphics were not that good. I must have gotten a different game then they did.... i saw none of this. As i mentioned in my title if your a fan of the other splinter cell games then you won't be disappointed with this one. All the same moves and some new gadgets to play with. This game does however require you to have patience, after all you are trying to be stealthy. This is not a game where you run into a room and chuck a grenade and blast your way back out. This game requires you to sit still and wait for the perfect time to sneak up and strike silently. If you like that sort of thing then you will not be disappointed with this game and if you don't like that sort of thing then stick with "Rainbow Six". Hope this helped clear things up. Enjoy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

its nice looking

posted by BlooDleter (OCALA, FL) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Jul 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

i dont know what those other guys are saying but it looks great controls are great all around beautiful game o and yeah i did play the xbox360 version and it doesnt hold a candle to the ps3 version dont belive that bulls hit you here from game spy and gamspot there paid by micorsoft yeah i know its a screwed up world when we cant even get a honest review (l8ter)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not your typical splinter cell

posted by Liquidswar (BROOMFIELD, CO) Aug 21, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

It's very different from the previous splinter cell titles. There are fewer midnight, shadow missions, and the game centers around espionage vs. stealth.

Pros: Different -- wasn't expecting this from splinter cell. Shading and textures are ok, lighting is bad. Controls are good. Storyline is good.

Cons: The espionage sequences in between levels are frustrating, and I am not ashamed to admit it required that I study some walkthroughs so in order to cover everything within the short time they give you.

Overall, I can't think of many pros or cons and that is saying alot. The game is just --- blah. It's definitely worth playing if you don't have anything else to play until the new PS3 games come out. I hear "Conviction" will do the Splinter Cell series justice. Let's hope!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

BORING!!

posted by DiabloBl7 (LAUREL, DE) Sep 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was really excited for this game because of how much fun Pandora Tomorrow was, but this game was a HUGE let down. The graphics were terrible and nothing like screenshots I had seen, the gameplay was confusing and you had to guess most of the time where you had to go next, and it was just outright boring. The stealth wasn’t suspenseful and the action was minimalistic. I played the game for about 30 min. before I just said forget it and sent it back out. I've had some bad luck lately; hopefully the next game I get wont bore the holy poo out of me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

No good, sorry.

posted by Pathman (DURHAM, NC) Dec 15, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I used to be a fan of the splinter cell games. In fact, when I played the first one on the Xbox I was blown away by how fun it was. This is what a console game is supposed to be! I began to get tired of the same-old-thing with chaos theory, but at least that had a decent multiplayer that was its redemption

this version is just no good... the controls are clunky, not very responsive and the missions are extremely tedious and "unrealistic"

The in game triggers are sloppy and often don't sync up with the game AT ALL. The level design is nothing new, and the equipment + moves are nothing new either.

the graphics do look nice...but that's ruined by stinky voice acting, sound effects and level design.

I do think some of you need to adjust your contrast\brightness settings... i actually ended up turning the brightness DOWN from what they suggested b\c i was having a hard time telling if i was hidden or not...and i didn't want to use that little green dot.

bottom line - this one is a big disappointment. it is bogged down with bugs, lack of features and just feels like a step backwards from the first two.

what a pity...i wanted to like it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average

posted by Darkblade5 (SCOTTSBORO, AL) Mar 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

First of all I want to say this is a very on and off game. Some parts are absolutley brilliant, others are just pure pathetic and meaningless.

First I'll start with the graphics, there are pretty average, just as good as a PS2 game, with the characters the only thing that look like they should on a PS3. Sometimes you may see somethings -not often- that blur or look like they shouldn't be there but there so minimal it is easy to ignore.

The sound, well the sound... very bad. The guns, are in my opinion biast. Your guns, well they just go pew, and don't think I'm kidding. Handgun, machine gun both go pew. Then when you see other people fire at you, they sound -somewhat- real, they go bang. Explosions all right. Now the voices are spot on, in tune with the characters, effective accents, and it doesn't sound like one guy doing the lot.

Gameplay, now this is where it evens out. Some parts are very good. Not going to put any spoilers in here, your welcome. Like I said, some parts were very good, maybe a little hard if you think to much and over-think it, and some parts are just plain annoying, were you can see where to go, know how to get there but there is one tiny thing in your way that takes a few tries to get it. So my advice is save often.

So my overall is a six, purely because it was a fun game. A few flaws, but nontheless, a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Spare controller needed

posted by mikeypoo (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was so frustrating I nearly smashed my controller on the floor a dozen times. Enemies spot you when you can't see them, you get stuck on railings, and "green" doesn't always mean green. Occasionally you'll become invisible, just floating gun and watch, other times your weps go bye-bye. I rented this since I own and have played the entire series from the beginning, but this incarnation soured me to the franchise. I don't mind using my brain to solve problems, just give a fightiing chance. sheesh

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

What happened to this series?

posted by Demtor (BISMARCK, ND) Jun 27, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I just finished playing about 2 hours worth of Splinter Cell:Double Agent. After stumbling through a very unconvincingly random prison riot where prison guards walk gingerly along like nothing is happening, I got to mission 3 where I get to enjoy multiple objectives that are all on a timer. After completing the same objective for the third time and somehow managing to get caught again by yet another psychic guard that can see through walls apparently, I quit playing and decided that this was probably the worst PS3 game I've ever played.

Now, granted, its been a really long time since I played through the first two games on my PC, but I don't at all recall Splinter Cell being such a terrible experience. What happened?

Their is no freedom in SC:DA. Just look at the very first mission. Its basically a series of things that need to be done in a specific order or you pretty much get caught. And the only way to figure out what you have to do, is by trying things, failing, getting caught, restarting and trying again and again until you do what the level was designed for you to do. Fun. In fact, that is exactly what is missing from this game. Fun!

Mission 3 was even worse. You don't get any second chances to hide again or double back around a guard that spotted something and take him out while he's looking for you. Thats what was fun about the first two games. Being allowed to SNEAK! This game, if you get caught by some guard that can see through boxes, its pretty much game over. You start back at your checkpoint to do the same things you just did the previous 10 boring minutes. Trial and error gameplay = not cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good job Ubisoft!!!!!!!

posted by realplayer (ELK GROVE, CA) Aug 13, 2007

Member since May 2007

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

This is a bery good game the only things that take away from it are some frame rate issues also the fact that you play the same level more than once. Other than that the gameplay is solid and should keep you guessing there are some actual difficult choices to make in the game that can change the ending. Ubisoft has been doing good lately with R6V and splinter cell I hope GRAW2 is good too from what ive seen so far it will be hope this was helpful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I don't know what everyone is talking about?

posted by UserPete1 (SAGINAW, MI) Aug 16, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. I agree the graphics aren't outstanding and the frame rate isn't perfect, but this is the first Splinter Cell on the PS3. What's not to love about HD Splinter Cell? If you've never liked this series, this game is probably not for you. If you are a big fan of the Splinter Cell games, you will love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Play the Multi Player!!!!!!!!!

posted by jd1234 (ROCHESTER, NY) Dec 4, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is Great. Definitely play the 2 player mode. It is awesome as long as you have a good team mate. The story mode is good also but the multiplayer rocks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed!

posted by Ramaccount (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Big fan of the Splinter cell series since they came out and I was SO disappointed with this title!
The controls are anything but intuitive, the design is fickle and it is obvious this entire game was rushed!
They made a game that is the ultimate in stealth and strategy with an awesome atmosphere into a frustrating test of your patience and insult to your intelligence.

DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dont even bother.

posted by Jwill9677 (PLYMOUTH, MI) Aug 12, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible. I just got it in the mail today and already sent it back. The controls are extremely difficult to navigate and figure out. The videos lag and the loading takes forever. Don't waste your time with this one. It seems like they rushed the convert to PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Splinter Cell, Double Agent

posted by Strougall (BREA, CA) Aug 13, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

The game is much to tedious. As far as direction and playability its fine, However replying checkpoints 5+ times to insure stealth kills just plane sux. I believe that you should be able to competently finish any level in 1-2 attempts such as the layout of rainbow six.

In addition the game controls are weak, you should be able to run freely with your weapon's. In this game you must holster your guns to run and strafe with any speed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

The views are horrible

posted by LogKenosha (KENOSHA, WI) Oct 14, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The look of the game is just ok. Most of the game is very dark and u really cant see much unless u use ur night vision. The controls are horrible. The view move so fast that u are not able to focus on a player very easily. yes, u can get use to it but they should have redone this part. u shouldnt have to get use to it. it should have been done right the first time. in order to shoot ur weapon u have to hit a a bunch of buttons. not cool. not what i expected. not a fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tom Clancy Got Another chance and fell farther

posted by heatfan101 (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Aug 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Splinter Cell Double Agent on the PS3 has many flaws
1. the graphics kinda look like Counter strike because the frame rates are so slow it makes the game lag a lot
2. The AI is kinda stupid on some of the lower difficulty levels in the darkness you can walk around in tight circles around the enemy and they still won't see. The AI needs to be smartened up.
3. it would be nice if they would allow you to get shot more than 2 or 3 times without dying.
I think if these were improved it would make the game much more enjoyable and fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by ihatesms (SLOATSBURG, NY) Aug 13, 2008

Member since May 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Pros..
Great Story
Great Gameplay

Cons..
Low Framerate
Crummy Selection of Weapons
You Die Quickly When Shot at
No Ammo Refils hidden on levels

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Unplayable for a deaf person.

posted by Deafguy (MIAMI, FL) Mar 14, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Game (like so many others) rely heavily on Audio or spoken word, and provides NO option for "Closed Captions" of what is being spoken or said in game- Looks like a nice game, but it is totally useless for a deaf person like me. Unplayable. Wasn't able to play it enough to even get a feel for the game.

If you are a deaf person considering getting this game- don't bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

First splinter cell game played... not a fan.

posted by infinitigy (WALTHAM, MA) Dec 16, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

So, in having never played a splinter cell game, and reading some of the reviews online, I knew I was in for a slower paced, stealth game. That's fine. However, this game is going back in it's envelope after 2 hours. I just do not have the patience to creep around, and knock people out, or kill them in a stealth manner... that got irritating, real quick. I also didn't like the fact that I couldn't run with a gun drawn... it's fine if they limited that to say a rifle.. but something is wrong when you can't run with a pistol out.
Whilst the game had some innovative moves to it(in the beginning when I was able to break through the ice and rip out someone's heart, I thought that was cool...) but that was about it.
If you have patience, go for it, I'm sure it would've got better... but I wanted more action, as you'd get from Advanced warfare or Rainbow 6(different types of games... but more my style)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Some good visuals but the FPS is just bad

posted by GameDude99 (BURBANK, CA) Aug 10, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

This game is just barely playable. It's slow, laggy, and the load times will just want to make you put it back in its box and ship it back to where ever you got it from . Terible game , Would not rent ever again. I hope this helps who ever was thinking of renting this piece of junk.!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Snoozer

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game is just plain boring. If you like sneaking around very slowly, killing a guy here and there and basically playing a bad metal gear on tranquilizers, than this is for you. Rainbow six is better by leaps and bounds. I played transformers for longer than I played this if that tells you anything. DONT WAIST YOUR TIME, unless your a hardcore splinter cell fan who likes games slower than golf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

weak

posted by Metalhead3 (Pacific Grove, CA) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game isn't much fun. Dark, laggy , slow fps and just not that great. I expected more from this title, and I would suggest you don't rent it. I played it for 1 hour, got disgusted and sent it back the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible Frame Rate

posted by togtog (KEY LARGO, FL) Sep 22, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I'd review the gameplay, but I can't stand to play it. The entire game jerks along at well under 20 FPS on the PS3. This is just a poor port of this particular game, I don't know if the people who ported it didn't bother to try to actually play it or what. If this were my PC I'd turn the graphics options down until the game was actually playable.

There is some action in this game and some aiming to be done and it's just near impossible when everything is jerking around like you're playing Doom 3 on a GeForce2 GTS.

If you'd like to try to play this game and enjoy it, find a 360 to play it on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Horrid load times.

posted by Vertisce (TOOELE, UT) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I put the disk in and the load times were so bad I figured the game must have locked up. It didn't...just really bad load times. Graphics were nothing special. No innovation to control or gameplay as well. Story was ok but it was a struggle to play the game most of the time. I think the Splinter Cell franchise has about reached its limit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game

posted by Flyguy87 (GARDEN CITY, MI) May 16, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

I have played many Splinter cell games, but this is a great addition to the franchise i enjoyed Splinter cell, and Chaos theory but, this is a great stepping stone for Sam fisher.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse