Rent Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent for Wii
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent

Not Rentable
Also on:Xbox 360, PS3, GC, PS2, Xbox
GF Rating
6.0

730 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

rent it and give it a chance, please... its fun

posted by wiirock (BRISTOL, RI) May 9, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

17 out of 17 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The only reason (at first) I rented this game was after I saw the "bob & steve" skits on X-PLAY. I actually had never played a stealth game before, and thought I should at least try one, so I got this. After about 2 hours of playing this game, I was frikkin' obssed with it. The missions all have awsome stealth and platforming design, and its fun playing around with how stupid the guards are. The story I understood perfectly even though I had never played the past games, and the controls work perfectly all the time, no matter what anyone else says (althogh co-op dosent work so well at points). Anyway this is probally my favorite game for the Wii, as it NEVER gets boring. please, at least rent it, you wont regret it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Wii seemingly makes sense, but doesn't really work

posted by TuxBobble (EDISON, NJ) Apr 7, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

The game itself is great. The story is well told, the stealth gameplay works excellently, and the graphics are satisfying, even though they could be better.

The only real problem with this game is that the Wii controls don't really make too much sense, and in the cases where they do make sense, they don't work properly. Switching hands (left/right handed shooting) helps at peaking around courners or into doorways, but from time to time it doesn't work properly, so while you're being shot at by enemies, you're trying and failing to focus and get them in your sights. In addition, the aim has to be extremely precise to take out cameras and trip lasers, and does not handle perfectly using the Wiimote. With further calibration this would not be a problem, but the game seems to have been rushed a bit for release, much like the other available Ubisoft titles for the Wii.

Additionally, the camera controls for a third person game like this were difficult to handle. Pointing at the screen will rotate, raise, or lower the camera angle. This works alright, as long as you're holding your Wiimote perfectly centered. This becomes increasingly difficult, for example, when playing split-screen cooperative play.

With control scheme changes, this game would be fantastic. If you intend to play single player, the game will be very fun, as the control problems can be overcome with a little practice. But playing split screen cooperatively limits where you point the Wiimote to such a small area that is is inconvenient and irritating to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Give it a chance at least

posted by xbox1080 (El Paso, TX) Dec 20, 2006

Member since Sep 2005

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

It's so hard to give this game a complete since i didn't really play the game all the way through...
but it's for the following reasons...

I'm ot even gonna compare this games graphics to it's next gen brotheren as that would not be fair...but comparing it to current gen is fair and let me say it does look pretty bad...the colors are just washed out and so gritty it makes you almost feel like your tv is caked with mud...

The controls aren't horrible...but they just aren't quite there...at first i thought wow this controls pretty neat..but the camera control is mapped to the wii mote pointing functionality...which works at first but then just gets out of hand very quickly...i honestly yearn for the Zelda functionality where you only use the wii mote to attack or when shooting the sling shot...even with the auto centering once the wii mote leaves the screen instead of goin all wild like red steel it goes behind sam...but you'll find yourself occasionally drifting off and aiming your gun isn't really that hard but it does make steady headshots a wii bit harder...

all in all it's a game that i feel you should at least try and see what you think about it... it's definately worth a try...

as for me i decide to continue my quest of hyrule and maybe come back to this at a later time...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Camera

posted by dfahler (FORT COLLINS, CO) Jan 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I don't really know how the game itself was, I couldn't play it long enough to find out because the camera system made trying to learn the game play excruciating. The slightest tilt of the wii remote sent the camera spinning around the character and then trying to turn the other way to correct sent it spiraling in over correct.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Terrible Port

posted by BigTung (Austin, TX) Oct 27, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pros
- Umm, not much, it's a Tom Clancy game?

Cons
- Everything:
- Bad Graphics
- Bad control system
- Many glitches

This game was just thrown together to make a quick buck, don't even rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Look beyond Graphics and Controls

posted by MCMarine (KATY, TX) Feb 20, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

OK so Double Agent for the wii is lacking in gaphics and the controls are kinda wack. But once you get the hang of them Double Agent is a great game. I would go into teh story and stuff, but since u can get the game for free on gamefly. So the levels are fun. Stressful, but fun.

Yada, yada, yada. You've mastered the controls and are deep into the game. You then will maybe buy this after seeing how fun it can get.

So baisicly, DO NOT, i repeat, DO NOT try this game for an hour and throw it away. Play it for at least a week. If your a fan of Splinter Cell games you will get passed the controls like me!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good but better

posted by Moesn2gbs (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Dec 6, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 18 gamers (28%) found this review helpful

This game is good, but why get it when it is better suited for an xbox or playstation controller. It makes it hard to navigate and feels clunky at times. Plus the graphics are better on next gen systems

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad controls

posted by master444 (BUFFALO, NY) Dec 14, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 21 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

the controls suck. It has a lowsy theme too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

splinter cell double angent

posted by marcus123456 (CARRIZO SPRINGS, TX) Apr 6, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

It is awsome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved this!!

posted by Anna29 (STEVINSON, CA) Jun 29, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

I got this game on a total whim! Little did I know that I would LOVE it! I beat it and now I am trying to find one that is like this so I can have new stuff!

Sure the graphics may not be the best, but I honestly didnt have any issue with that at all! And I had no problem with the controls, I thought they were great and pretty real! It was the perfect amount of challenging, yet fun!

Would recommend this to anyone who is thinking of renting it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by PM12345 (BAYONNE, NJ) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

This game has a great coop, a great storyline in solo,it has a great everything!Although the aiming was kind of hard I got used to it.I totally recommend this game to all splinter cell lovers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Very disappointed

posted by crumbaugh (BENTON, AR) Jun 30, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

We have been playing this game in coop mode, and it is so freaking frustrating. This is a very difficult game to understand. I am not satisfied at all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fisher, why can't you aim a Wiimote?

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) May 28, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

I must confess, I love Splinter Cell. Each incarnation of the franchise has been better and richer than the last. And I love Sam Fisher... in a completely platonic way of course. I even loved Splinter Cell: Double Agent... on the Xbox. On the Wii, however, this series sinks quick.
On the surface, the Wii version of this game is basically the same as it's PS2 and Xbox counterparts (note that it's not the very different version from other next-gen consoles Xbox360 and PS3). And it basically is, although the level design has been changed around somewhat.
The biggest difference is the most discouraging: controls. The Wii control scheme sinks this game fast. You never feel comfortable with the layout, constantly searching for the right button. Motion controls are misused, such as the nunchuk twist used for hugging a wall or shaking it to jump. And aiming is a joke. Although you would assume the light-sensor in the Wiimote would make this easy, it is made overly-complicated by leading the reticule instead of taking control of it directly. Why? I have no &%$#ing idea. But it makes the need for quick precision a near impossibility. Because of all these control issues, a stealth game like Double Agent loses much of it's detailed sneakiness. And that's why we play these games.
If you have an old console, you'll want to play the Double Agent on that system instead. And if you want a completely different game, pick up the version for another next-gen system. As for the Wii, it's the last version you want. Sorry Fisher, this is one mission you failed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Fist time playing

posted by Talon787 (HAMILTON, AL) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

wow controls are bad what can I say played it for 2days because its the first time playing a stealth shooter so I thought it was me but this game controls like a bike with one wheel and half a handle bar. I think I would have liked the game if I could have seen where I was going most of the time. But you will rent it any way and you will see

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

controls are bad

posted by magnafux (CHICAGO, IL) Mar 8, 2009

Member since Mar 2008

The controls kept me from finding anything out about how good or bad this game might be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Ending a little lame!!

posted by sharks416 (HAMILTON, NJ) May 19, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

I thought the game was pretty good except for the ending. I thought the final part would be a little harder to beat. All it took as 1 grenade to the boss to kill him.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

go where I tell you dang it!

posted by Rachel (READING, PA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

the one most critical flaw with this game is the controls. plain and simple.

in the beginning you are told to wait, but of course they want you to leave or nothing will happen. you try to move around and the game will give you tips here or there but what is really lacking are the controls.were the controls after thoughts to a great series? not only are they complicated but they don't work all the time. you have to move your nunchuck to jump, shooting is tricky and it takes a couple minutes just to figure out what you are doing. I bought the game because it was on clearance for $15 and I always loved the series. I feel disappointed. of course why listen to us, go ahead and rent it, don't buy it. everyone has different opinions so you may like it but as a rundown, game play and graphics are great but the only con is the controls. maybe the next will be better?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love It

posted by Doakley (CAMERON, NC) Apr 12, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

I've always loved the Splinter Cell games from the very first one, normally I'm not big on sneaking around games, but this series is great fun for me. ITS NOT A SHOOTER, as some reviewers thought when renting, you sneaking around and knock people out or kill them your choice.

The controls work good, the only problem is if you scratch your head you'll make Sam jump, but thats a necessary evil with motion control games. I think if you're a fan of the series you will enjoy this one. I look forward to the new one coming out, I just hope it comes out for Wii, but so far it doesn't look like it is :-(.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

splinter cell double agent

posted by johnny586 (FAIRFAX, VA) Mar 5, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

this is the kind of game i would totally buy. it has a riveting storyline. there is a very high replay ability in this game. it never gets boring. i would recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game is just a little messed up!

posted by superfreak (GLEN ROSE, TX) Jan 6, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

The game has a really good story line and just reading about it really makes you want to play it but once Gamefly ships it to you then you are greatly disappointed. The enemy's in the game, even on the lowest difficulty, are extremely difficult to defeat stealthily. And OMG the camera view is the worst thing I have ever seen in a game. Other then those two key parts in a game it was okay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a fun game, but a very subdued one

posted by camacho217 (AUSTIN, TX) Oct 15, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I thought this was a 1st person SHOOTER, not a 1st person sneak around. Granted, some people like this kind of game, but if you're looking for a fun shoot-em up type of game this isnt it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dont Even Bother Renting This!

posted by miko25 (LARGO, FL) Oct 2, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2004

The series needs to get realy better or just go away. The controls are not better for next gen and there are no upgrades. I rented this on the Gamecube and also gave it the same score.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by reviewer12 (FOLSOM, CA) Sep 9, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

this is the worst game ever i didnt even spend an hour on this game i put it in my wii,took it out and sent it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great but some problems..

posted by robbie (CITRUS HEIGHTS, CA) Sep 4, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

It's a fun and addictive game. Once, you get past the bad camera controls you will enjoy yourself with this game. Overall if you are looking for a fun game for the wii this is you game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent

posted by rpgadam07 (GREENVILLE, SC) Aug 15, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This game was a decent port from the PS2. The graphics were not as good as they could have been, but graphics aren't the only thing you need to have in a game. The controls in this game are a little wacky at first, but they get easier as you practice. Now for a rundown of this game:

Story: 7
This game had a decent story line and all the stealth action that has been in every Splinter Cell since the beginning. I liked the fact that you could choose to be good or evil. I picked good because that is usually the way I go. Either way, you will probably have fun with this game.

Graphics: 6
This game had very nice cut scenes and okay game play graphics. They were very smooth considering that this was a port. But, like I said before "Graphics aren't the only things you need to have in a game."

Controls: 7
The controls in this game took some time getting used to, but they were fine after that point. I had a little problem with the camera at first, but I myself never having to reposition the camera because it went crazy. Like I said "They take some getting used to."

Audio: 9
The audio in this game was very clear, and I never had any problem trying to strain myself to hear what they were saying.

Replay Value: Low
This game was fun to play one time, but after that it gets boring.

Conclusion:
This game is a solid rent, and a decent buy. Have fun playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse