Rent Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, Wii, Xbox, GC, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

7963 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Splinter Cell Double Agent

posted by Edreviews (UNION CITY, CA) Jan 29, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have never played any of the other splinter cell games so I don't know if this one is any different from the others, besides the graphics. Speaking of graphics, this game looks great. The environments have a glistening texture to them and the character models are lifelike. The story is engrossing and plays out differently depending on if you decide to help the bad guys or good guys. The online is a nice touch and being a spy is too much fun, but I hate controlling the MURCS. Finishing this game makes want to play the first three, so that's what I'll do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very good

posted by AMilanoSr (CRESTVIEW, FL) Jan 27, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game mechanics, graphics, concept and gameplay are awesome. Game is a little too short for my taste. Completed it in no time using all the different choices.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My first Splinter Cell game that kept me playing

posted by Dwoop33 (RIVERVIEW, FL) Jan 21, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has a great storyline driven single player experience but rhe mutliplayer still leaves you wanting more than just 4-6 people online at a time. It's a great change from the fast action "run and gun" action style of most games today but the fact that you can pass any stage even after being "detected" takes away from some fo the important steath-type game play. Overall, a good played experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent!

posted by Cyberkeys (MIAMI, FL) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ive been a big fan of the Splinter cell series since it first came out. I've got many a memory of it being 5 in the morning and i have to work in two hours. This game does not let you down at all. The controls are easy and extremely simple. The learning curve is cake. The graphics are great with little to no pop-up. The story is another Tom clancy master piece. What can i say?, im a huge fan. Buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An Excellent Game

posted by Sulley425 (SMITHFIELD, RI) Dec 8, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let me first start off by saying this is the first Splinter Cell game I have ever played past the first mission. I was not expecting much when I decided to add it to my GameQ, but when I first played it I was instantly pulled into the game. The graphics are absolutely stunning, even on my small and very old TV. The game play in Double Agent is extremely well and as a new person to the series was easy to pick up through the use of the two tutorials missions which i recommend to any one to do, they also give you 40 gamer points. Splinter Cell Double Agent has made me a huge fan of the series and I hope the future Splinter Cell games are just as good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Double Agent is a Double Thumb's Up!

posted by Pen4711 (IDAHO FALLS, ID) Oct 19, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

58 out of 70 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The graphics of Double Agent are quite nice. There are a few glitches where you can get hung up and have to restart, but overall it is a beautiful looking game.

The sound effects in the game are very realistic, and give you the feel of actually being there. From the rushing wind to the muffled voices while underwater, everything fit into place.

The game play is by far the most intense installment of Splinter Cell's history. While in other installments the focus was on Stealth missions, Double Agent is so much more. Trying to balance the agenda of both sides leaves you scrambling to decide which objectives you can complete in the given time.

Overall, Splinter Cell Double Agent, is by far the best in the series, and has raised the bar for stealth shooters far above anything on the market. Well worth the time and money spent on it.

Graphics - 8
Sound - 9
Game play - 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Why Splinter cell Doube Agent(DA)?

posted by PhalBob (SPENCER, MA) Sep 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game has reset the bar for the Splinter Cell seires. Yes it still has the Sneaking concept of the ones before. But this one takes ot to a new level, working for the enemey while working for the agency makes this game diffulcultly fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Yet (Spoilers)

posted by Epsilon (Arlington, VA) Oct 20, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

26 out of 34 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

The whole premise of Double Agent revolves around choices. Instead of being given a few objectives that you must complete, with a few secondary objectives thrown in to get a better rating, Double Agent will literally make you flip back and forth between objectives, weighing the change of trust that they provide. In the inside of the John Brown Army (JBA), they will send you out on missions (the first two, so far, are the only NSA missions) in which you are expected to complete tasks for their cause. At the same time, the NSA is sending objectives to you to complete, some of these being counter to what the JBA wants. Throughout the game, certain events will take place that force you to make a tough decision, be it executing someone or setting off a bomb, you will need to think long and hard before you make a final choice.

On the gameplay side, it is mostly unchanged although the overall focus has shifted from night time levels to more brightly lit ones as well as tossing more enemies out for you to have to avoid. While you can still run around with your knife like in Chaos Theory, the game will be much more enjoyable, and difficult, if you try and stay in the shadows and steathily eliminate any enemy forces.

Graphically, it is one of the better looking 360 games I have played. Is it Gears of War? No, but the shadowing looks great, character models are spooky real, and the effects are all the much better. There are some framerate issues, but they don't typically seem to be too much of a hassle.

Multi-play has recieved an overhaul, no supporting 3v3. One of the biggest changes are the objectives, which no longer focus around stealing data or being right up next to something. With the remote hackers, the spies can now stay safely in the shadows. But now, they no longer have their weapon and can no longer assault the spies (but can break their necks) making stealth all the more important as well as serving as a balancing for the spies from Chaos Theory and Pandora.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not for newbs.

posted by Biggesmat (COLUMBUS JUNCTION, IA) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I'm currently renting this game, and finding it a bit difficult. It doesn't really give much love to gamers new to Splinter Cell, it just drops you right in and expects you already know how to play. This made it very frustrating during the first couple levels. The 3D map is also difficult to use as it rarely shows how to get to your objective. And even at the easy difficulties, consequences can be a bit on the extreme side. But I'm finding the challenge quite refreshing from the normal easy games on the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game.

posted by lotw01 (PALMDALE, CA) Oct 21, 2006

Member since Nov 2003

38 out of 61 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Although I haven't played to much of the game it is one of the best Splinter Cells they have released. The graphics are just amazing and the online play is just to fun, been playing mostly that. That being said the main fault with the game is the online problems that it has. 1st off you cannot create a match, sort of randomly looks for a room that matches what you are looking to play, then of none exist you will host one, lame idea. Second the searching and actually getting into games can be hit/miss. Sometimes requiring you to drop to the dashboard and reloading the game.

The trust meter is a neat idea, but doesn't play too much of a part unless you do a lot of things wrong or against the peoples wants. The hard choices will amaze and haunt some players and is a refreshing idea.

This game is a great addition to anyones collection who like stealth games or loves playing online (when you get into a room without problems).

This game would have gotten a higher score from me if the online would have been working a little better and the ability to create your own room, other than a private one (getting friends is a major hit/miss for a public room that you find).

This game gets a 8.5, 9 if the live problems were not there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

New to Splinter...Wish I wasn't.

posted by Acpope (WELLINGTON, OH) Oct 23, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

12 out of 19 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

I'm new to the splinter cell series but this game was absolutely amazing.

Positives
+Graphics
+Sound
+Action, Stealth
+Single Player
+Multiplayer
+SQUADS
+Everything

Negatives
-None

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!

posted by sikorade (LAKE ORION, MI) Oct 8, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I'm solely basing this game on the single-player campaign

GRAPHICS - 9.0/10
The graphics in this game are outstanding. The details look sharp and all the environments look fantastic (ice/snow rock!). Even the view from the 75th story window is breathtaking.

SOUND - 10/10
Like with any other Tom Clancy game, the sounds in this game are dead on. The guns all sound realistic(although you don't use guns that much). The explosions are superb Even the voice acting is believable. A lot of work went into this department.

GAMEPLAY - 7/10
The controls take a little getting used to, but work well. I did find the camera to be bothersome at times and swimming underwater left a lot to be desired.

REPLAY VALUE - 8/10
The game took about three days to beat. Since the game play isn't linear, there's more than one way to beat each level.

OVERALL - 9.0/10
This was surprisingly a very good game. I enjoy all of the Tom Clancy games and this one is right behind Rainbow Six.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Splinter Cell:Double Agent

posted by Rayokovich (CLEVELAND, OH) Jan 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Double Agent is above par with what many gamers have come to expect from this amazing franchise. The graphics show how beautiful games are becoming. The stealth system has been altered. You no longer have a box in the corner telling you if you can be seen or heard. The plot gets you involved in the game by letting you make choices of what to do during your missions. There are a few glitches that will get you frustrated. The load times a a little long and there are many of them. Overall this game is a solid experience that any gamer will love.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I Usually Dont Like Splinter Cell

posted by gamemonkey (CORONA, CA) Oct 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

11 out of 19 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing,for short. This game is the perfect balance of stealth and action, and suspense. The environments in this game are welcome changes because the environment is not all darkish. One level puts you into a snow place, which I liked. This game is very suspenseful, when choosing bad or good.

(SPOILER)

The 1st choice between Good and Bad is taken place in a terrorist building; they have a guy tied to a pipe, and they want you to kill him, so they give you a luger (I think it is) and now the screen is in first person. You have the choice of killing him or not, you hear Sam's heart beating and the screen is all staggery. The guy is begging for his life, and the guy who talks to you via radio is cut off, what would you do? That's what i love about this game. I mean that's enough to give a game a high rating for me. Quadruple thumbs up with my hands and feet for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

wow.

posted by stock76 (HALF MOON BAY, CA) Aug 7, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

terrible. I gave this game a solid hour and am just going to send it back. I remember really enjoying the original on PC... this one was frustrating and eye straining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Did I mention Excellent???

posted by Silentcell (CORINTH, MS) Dec 7, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Sam Fisher is back, and stealthy as ever. This is the next and best in a series that this critic loves. The Graphics and gameplay are as awesome as ever. It was all I hoped for and more. I loved the smoothness and realism, the views were jaw dropping at times. This is one you just have to stop and look around to enjoy, after all you are reaching retirement age, Sam. Loved it, wished it hadn't ended so soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

One of my annoyances - being timed

posted by Malta01 (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 17, 2006

Member since Jan 2005

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My game choices are based on negatives -- that is what annoys me. I have always found Splinter Cell difficult but not imposable and fun in the past One thing I really hate is time dead lines. Takes all the fun out of it for me. This games starts out with limited time to finish so I didn't bother to continue playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Un-flippin-Believable

posted by phil1776 (DEVILS LAKE, ND) Oct 18, 2006

Member since Dec 2004

23 out of 48 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

This game flat out rocks. Granted all of the other SC games were sweet, this one is cool because you are both a mole and still work for a gov. agency. Great game...you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointed

posted by DocDosman (ATLANTA, GA) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

9 out of 19 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

I can sum up this game with two points:
1. They ruined the multiplayer
2. Single player gameplay is the same

Yes the graphics are great in the single player, but the gameplay has gotten so stale. Turn off lights, sneak up and grab people, trial and error tasks, don't set off alarms, same old, same old, same old. And the enemy AI is glitchy. Sometimes I stand right next an enemy, and they don't see me, even in what appears to be a bright area, sometimes standing across the room in the dark, and they see me. It's not consistent. Now I wouldn't mind this so much, if they hadn't ruined the best tactical multiplayer game. What used to be tactical is now a run and gun, dumbed down version of a great concept. If I had never played pandora tomorrow or chaos theory, I would think this multiple player is alright. But having played those and knowing what the multiplayer is capable of, this effort just falls short. I mean come on, no shock gun, no optic camo, no spy bullets, no sticky cams, no proxy/laser mines, no gas mask, no backpack. a lame intro to every multiplayer match. I played online for the first time, I think I played about 7 or 8 rounds, both spy and merc, and I think I lost 1 time. Me and my partner were playing it for the first time really, and we only lost once. We didn't even know the maps, and this was against various opponents. They've taken the skill out of the multiplayer game, it used to be challenging.

Adding mini games and choices to a game does not make it fresh, when the core gameplay is exactly the same, and almost worse since the gadgets are just frill, never necessary, but just there if you want to use them. The vision modes, pointless in the 1 player game, I never really used them. I hope they return to the multiplayer roots, and pull a resident evil 4 on the single player and revamp the gameplay. The single player isn't all bad, but I feel like I'm playing a dressed up version of a 5 year old game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dull, dull, dull, snoozefest!

posted by Cuchulane (REVERE, MA) Aug 1, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have never been more mind numbingly bored by a game as this one.

Oh, I already know what the reaction to this statement will be by fan's of the game... "you must just like mindless action", or "grow up and play a thinking man's game". Hogwash. This game uses the same formula as any other type of action game - you will only learn how to advance by multiple deaths through a scenario, remembering what happened, and repeating from the checkpoint and avoiding the same mistake. Except in this game, you repeat slow sneaking, waiting, sneaking, waiting, dying, sneaking, waiting, sneaking, waiting, stealth kill, sneaking, waiting, dying, sneaking, waiting, sneaking, waiting, sneaking, stealth kill, sneaking, waiting, dying, sneaking, waiting, sneaking, waiting, sneaking, waiting, stealth kill, sneaking, dying... lather rinse repeat ad nauseam.

Zzzzzzzzzzzz...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best graphics on 360 (so far)

posted by Daggre (KELLER, TX) Oct 20, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm suspicious that Gears of War will look even better when it comes out next month, and I'm not saying that games like GRAW don't look amazing already, but when you see Shanghai in this game (from the side of a skyscraper no less) it's just JAW-DROPPING. If you don't have a HD-TV setup, the game still plays beautifully with solid controls and perfect sounds, but you'll really miss out if you can't see this in its hi-res glory. Ubisoft Shanghai did an amazing job and I can't wait to see what they put out next!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

SAMMY DOES IT AGAIN

posted by weav74 (WEST MONROE, LA) Nov 14, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

One word, AWESOME!!!! This game just keeps getting better. Awesome graphics and storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The game is hot but short.

posted by TAMIKA (WEST CHESTER, PA) Jul 13, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is a very good game but if you play it to much then you will beat the game with E's but i liked it alot and want to get the new one that is coming out soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the best splinter cell game ever

posted by dkadklfajd (WARRENTON, VA) Jul 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Double agent is a perfect 10 on my scale because. It has great graphichs when it comes to snow and rain. you can even see the sweat on sams forehead.

and the story line of the game is very good with all of the daylight missions and locations.

one of the best things about the game is that the choices you make affect what happens at the end of the game.

I would reccomend this game to anybody who likes steath action games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

solid game play but nothing new for splinter cell

posted by spearce (WASHINGTON, DC) Apr 12, 2007

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is everything you would expect of the splinter cell franchise, but there really easy nothing new in terms of game play. the game is, by all accounts, a good time and worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse