Rent Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent for Xbox
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:GC, PS2, Wii, Xbox 360, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.2

621 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Poor poor Sam...

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Nov 5, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Oct 2006

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This is the one title I anxiously awaited more than any other, unfortunately it didn't live up to what I built it up to be in my head. Don't get me wrong, if it was a stand alone title, it would have been great, but as a 'Splinter Cell' sequel I think it fell short. The Splinter Cells have been my favorites by far since the XBOX came out, and while Double Agent continued on with many of the great aspects of the game, it did little improve on any of it, and actually took some of the best parts away for portions of the game. While the branching storyline was nice, the inability to get the correct gear, or properly functioning gear just didn't make any sense and actually became annoying (when you see the flickering night-vision you'll understand). You have no control of your load out (equipment) as in the past, and you're hampered by a "trust meter" throughout the game. Again, if you're the regular player its a fun game, packed with everything the genre has to offer, but if you're a 'Splinter Cell' fan, don't be in a rush to pay full price.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rebel with a Cause

posted by TheBauc1 (MOBILE, AL) Nov 2, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is excellent in many ways. Like the other SC games before it, there's awesome multiplayer. You can pull off even more spy moves will Sam. The story was interesting (someone very close to Sam dies). You end up doing missions for both sides of the fight. That's right, super cool loyal spy Sam Fisher helps the terrorists. The level design is okay, some areas are great but others are uninteresting. The controls worked well for me and the AI was challenging and smart. Now back to the multiplayer. There's some new games including deathmatch and team deathmatch, YEAH BOY!!! This game is great especially if you already love Splinter Cell. I give it a 8, out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good...IF you like other Splinter Cell games!

posted by Greydawg (GREENVILLE, SC) Oct 27, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have seen both the 360 and regular XBOX versions versions, and to be honest, I think they look very similar on an HDTV with the correct connections. I'm not saying the 360 version doesn't look better than the XBOX version, but the differences are negligible enough that it's difficult to be excited enough about the 360 version to pay $12 more for it over the XBOX version. I have always loved the series, but I definitely spend more time in the single player parts of the game (I always have). With that said, I think the regular XBOX version is simply a better deal----the 360 version doesn't make me say, "wow, this is why it's a next-gen console," especially when you compare it to how great it looks on the regular XBOX (and yes, it does look great), even if it is missing one of the levels from the 360 version. Thankfully though, all of the best missions and options are still intact. By now I think everyone interested in reviews of the XBOX version have already read the reviews for the 360 version, which for whatever reason was released a week beforehand (hmmm, make note of the higher price tag and hype from a week of release before all other versions), but with that said it's still a good game, IF you like the Splinter Cell series so far.

My point? I like the Splinter Cell franchise---I always have. I like Tony Hawk games the same way------I like them so much, all it really takes to spark my interest (or $, in other words) is new levels and goals, and that's pretty much what Splinter Cell Double Agent delivers. The series as a whole is progressing more like Tony Hawk and the Burnout games rather than, say, Halo----the differences between the games aren't enough to call them sequels like Splinter Cell 1, 2, 3, 4, etc. and they are so similar to every other game in the franchise that they can run on cross-generation platforms well enough to merit their development for all these systems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good, but the 360 version is better.

posted by inkablot (MORTON, PA) Feb 18, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game absolutely stands up to the standards set by the previous games in the series, so if you are a Splinter Cell fan, you should play it. However, if you own an Xbox 360, the 360 version of Double Agent is the definitive version and the one you should play. I completed both single-player modes, and rate the Xbox a "6" and the 360 a "9"...here's why:

While the basic Double Agent story is the same, the two games were actually developed by two different Ubisoft branches. The games end up having completely different levels and level design, different plot lines and choices to make along the way, and different gameplay mechanics.

The last-gen version (Xbox/PS2) is built on the Chaos Theory engine, and has all the weapons/traps/moves/and indoor spaces that you have come to expect from Splinter Cell. The 360 version has a lot more open spaces, daytime missions, interactive cinematics, and slightly tweaked (but familiar) interfaces to the controls. The 360 version is not without it's minor bugs, but it feels fresher and more exciting, which matches the new direction of the storyline.

The storyline is a big departure from the previous Splinter Cell titles. In both versions of the game, Sam is undercover in a terrorist organization and has to make choices that will gain trust with either the NSA or the terrorists. The Xbox version has a single trust meter, meaning that every choice you make for one side automatically decreases your trust with the other. There are two separate sliders in the 360 version, so the terrorist and NSA are more realistically unaware of your actions for the other side.

The Xbox version of the game gives most of it's story and exposition in cut scenes, while the 360 version has you interact with characters in the terrorist HQ, record conversations, and generally feel sneakier and more involved.

Lastly, it's not true that you can't snipe in the 360 version. You can press the analog stick and snipe with ANY weapon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by mastergeek (TOOELE, UT) Oct 27, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

7 out of 15 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

4 words
THIS GAME IS SICK

dont rent it BUY it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

good all around game

posted by Zeeblstien (GREENVILLE, SC) Nov 9, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this is an awesome game, of course cause its from the tom clancy line up, all those games are great. but the only thing is, it is pretty much just like the old games, some new twists, and devices, like the sniper and shotgun add on which make it awesome, but the game play and stuff, all the same, same moves same take downs and all that kind of stuff, they couldve made sam a little more cooler when it comes to wall climbing, taking people down, and all that stuff. same as the old games but new devices, thats my point of view on this game, but... its addictive and so much fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Xbox 360 compatible

posted by JDHarris47 (RALEIGH, NC) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I just got my game today and its not loading or even acknowledging its in the system. So i'm just going to send it back

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fisher is at it again!

posted by 4815162342 (PEKIN, IN) Jan 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

Splinter Cell: Double Agent, for the most part, utilizes the same gameplay formula as the previous games which isn't a bad thing. It feels more like a continuation of Chaos Theory in gameplay style and combat movements. There are your typical covert ops moves like the split jump and utilizing the pipes for a number of lethal and non-lethal attack moves. One addition I thought was pretty cool was the ability to pull your enemies into water and drown them and also if you're enemy is standing on a thin part of the ice you can grab him, break the ice and fall through, then drown him. The graphics were as good as the previous games but not much better. It seemed to me to be a lot darker in certain areas. One area was so dark I almost didn't spot a hidden enemy even with my night vision. All in all it is a great addition to the Splinter Cell series. If you're into multiplayer then you'll have a blast, but if you're a single player type you will only get a taste of co-op action in the very few scenes where you co-op with the AI partner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Splinter Cell DA (a blah game)

posted by Warrior138 (DAVIE, FL) May 20, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

This was a pretty fun game but I found it too difficult to locate your next objective. I had a hard time getting past the second or third mission. I wouldn't recommend this game but I won't give it a terrible score, but I won't give it a good one either!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Average

posted by Autumn (Columbia, SC) Apr 21, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

decently average game, seeing the 360 version played makes it look worse though. Good for followers of the franchise

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by BronxNY (WARWICK, NY) Nov 15, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

everything about this game was perfect except for the fact that the multi player system was downgraded from chaos theory

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Doesn' tget enough attention.

posted by Broadus (SIERRA VISTA, AZ) Sep 30, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

Both Double Agent versions- the XBOX 360 version and the XBOX/PS2 version- are COMPLETLEY different, yet both are extremely good. The PS2/XBOX versions don't get nearly enough of the attention they deserve. Double Agent is a really good game on the XBOX, just as good as the XBOX 360 version, though a few comparisons disappointed me.
For starters, I don't remember if the XBOX even explains how the player's friend in the first level ceases to exist in any other levels. In the XBOX 360, he's found and killed, but in the XBOX, he's never seen again. The last thing I remember him saying is "If you're staying, I'm staying" to Sam.
The prison level was especially disappointing. There's a few interesting parts, but it mostly comes off as really weird and empty. Unlike the XBOX 360 version, which had the prison full of prisoners fighting guards, the XBOX version just has guards patrolling around for no reason as if nothing was happening. The level still has guns firing with people shouting in the background, and the prison is utterly destroyed as if a bunch of bombs went off inside (even though it's a riot and it's a mystery where anyone could get explosives), there's otherwise no on-screen action, and hardly any prisoners at all anywhere. It's just a normal stealth level like any other, with an embattled prison theme thrown over it, and is definitely trumped by the XBOX 360's version. The player's friend certainly comes off as a lot nicer and more appreciative of the player's help on the XBOX.
The terrorist base is also pretty uninteresting, in that it's, like the prison, just another stealth level. On the XBOX 360, you have to sneak around in the base, going between places you're allowed to players you aren't, and you have to do objectives in the time limit, varying between what the terrorists want you to do in the base and what your anti-terrorist bosses want.
The trust level is more off-balance on the XBOX, in that it actually requires unrealistic "balance".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Splinter Cell 4 Review

posted by zman2231 (KATY, TX) Aug 26, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2005

The xbox version of splinter cell maybe diffrent from the 360 version but it still worth your time. This time Sam goes undercover at the JBA. After someone Sam Knew dies Sam's world falls apart. He sent to Jail to befreind someone who is in the JBA. On each mission Sam will have diffrent objectves and it will affect the trust meter. The graphics may not be good as Chaos Theory's but there good. The multiplayer may be spies vs spies instead Spies vs Mercs but it is still fun. Like I said at the beginning of this review the game is worth your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very Good, But Not The Best SC!

posted by Sensewu (VISALIA, CA) Jun 28, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

Its kind of hard to say, but I think this game has the most out of any other SC in the series, but then again it falls short in some areas. In this game, Sam takes place with the NSA and JSA (i'll let you find more about them), you play as a Double Agent. I think the game was great, and had a lot of twists to what would happen depending on the choices you made, but then again the story just seemed way to short. I wish they could have made the game a lot longer.

The graphics in the game are or course good. With the 360 engine, they made the graphics way better than the previous installments and you'll notice if you have played the previous SC games.

The sound in this game is just like the others, not bad.

The controls are great.

This game has a pretty good multi-player set up. Its easy to get into a game, and not too hard to learn. There is multi-player tutorials so you can learn both the Spy force, and the Upsilon force. Pretty fun, but doesn't have much of a high replay value with me.

Overall, if you enjoy any other Splinter Cell game, there is no reason you should pass this game up. Achievement wise, you could get 500 points just from the single player alone I think.. and the rest are mainly multi-player achievements. But I recommend this to any fan, and of course SC fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, but the 360's version is better.

posted by Roehr26 (CRYSTAL LAKE, IL) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I'm a big fan for Splinter Cell games. I have played every single one (counting Essentials for the PSP) and really liked every single one. The online multiplayer is really different from Chaos Theory's. I don't know about it though. Sometimes it can be lame. The 360's online is a lot better. I give the online multiplayer a 7 out of 10. One thing that is better about the Xbox version compared to the 360 is the split screen co-op. The co-op is fun but short, like the Chaos Theory co-op. I give the split screen co-op a 8 out of 10. Now for the single player missions. This is the hard part. The 360's single player was excellent, so was Chaos Theory's. The undercover missions suck compared to the 360's. But it did have a interesting storyline, similar to the 360's. I give the single player a 8 out of 10. I bought the game and I was pretty happy with it. It is your choice to rent or buy. I recommend renting the Xbox's version and buying the 360's version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by dizzdik (MEMPHIS, TN) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

This game was great. It was so great that I wish that there were more levels. The weapons were very fun. The enemy takedown maneuvers are fun. The stealthy moves are really fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fisher walks the fine line

posted by Nixelad (PONTE VEDRA, FL) Jan 23, 2007

Member since Oct 2006

One of the reasons I gravitate toward this franchise is because of the near reality scenarios and tech gear. This latest edition is no different. I enjoyed the plot and how your actions influenced it.
Tipping the scales to the "light/dark" side added a greater sense of urgency to an already edge-of-your-seat experience. Co-Op is fun but sometimes you feel penned. Two people need a more open environment. Graphics of this series still showcase the best the Xbox has to offer and never lag. The sound and music are never overbearing but completely immerse you to the point that when you kick over that soda can while creeping up on your next victim it will make you jump. This game is well worth a few visits through. Add Xbox Live and you have a title worthy of a permanent place on the shelf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty Good

posted by ronacap (SAN MARCOS, CA) Jan 18, 2007

Member since Nov 2002

This game is pretty good. The graphics are excellent! Same goes for the sound and gameplay. Having to work for both sides does add a new level of difficulty to this Splinter Cell series. You have to make decisions that will effect the story as well as your equipment load, or lack there of, in the following mission. The CO-OP Mission is just amazing! In CO-OP Mission, you will not be playing the same missions that you played in single-player mode. You will definitely rely on each other heavily to succeed the mission objectives.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Splinter Cell ever!!!!!!

posted by coolkid (GLENDALE, NY) Jan 17, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

Well i like that the X-Box version has co-op mode. The story is different, and the levels look different from the 360's version. I think its cool you can use the sniper in this game....unlike the 360. The only thing making this one worse is that you can't upgrade gadgets because on the 360 you can get color night vision.And if you've played essentials have you noticed the similarities in the hacking stuff. The only reason i know about the 360 version is because i rented it. The cool thing is all the cool levels with teammates, and the differently created levels. If you've played the 1'st Splinter cell you've probably noticed the old White outfit. Anyway this game is the best BUY not RENT!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesomeness

posted by agent48 (ORO VALLEY, AZ) Jan 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

This game is pure awesome! it contains great graphics, and a new twist to the Splinter Cell series. it has a great storyline, and what makes this even cooler is the ragdoll physics. You start out in Iceland on a mission to kill a terrorist. at the end of the mission Lambert calls and tells Sam to abort the mission. He then finds out that that Sam's daughter was killed he then goes on a mission to destroy the JBA (A.K.A. John Browns Army.) In the prosses you get placed in situations. You either do something for the US or the JBA. each objective takes you closer to whatever side you did the work for
there are new fatalities, and a lot better AI's. But the only flaw was that the game seemed a bit short. Though each mission was long and exciting it left wanting a little bit more. well now ill go ahead and let you find out the rest for yourself. i rate this 10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I hope it's better on the 360

posted by redeemer (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Dec 29, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

Let's start out with something I really like about this game: The controls. The developers kept them the same as all the previous splinter cell games and they are still easy to learn. I also like that while playing this game on original xbox the graphics and detail were great. The only thing I didn't like about this game had to do with the story. I felt the missions were a little too easy to maneuver thru but were still very fun. I thought Sam was going to have to work harder to get out of prison. Overall, I love the splinter cell series. It's a really good game and I look forward to beating it again but on the 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Your mission... and your other mission

posted by JCDenton (FREEDOM, NH) Dec 19, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

Splinter Cell is one of my favorite video game series and the evolution from one game to another has continued to redefine stealth action. And while Double Agent is not as big a leap from Chaos Theory as previous games have been, it puts a new spin on Sam Fisher's story. Reeling from the untimely death of his daughter, Fisher goes undercover as a double agent, infiltrating a home-grown terrorist organization and preventing a nuclear threat. The twist here is that the actions you take over the course of the single player campaign will influence the trust both the government and terrorists have in you. Push your trust too far to one side and the other will become suspicious. It forces players to weigh their choices carefully as they walk this thin line. The game is intuitive, letting you pull off tricky maneuvers and cycle through weapons with ease. Graphics, sound and presentation are everything you would expect from Splinter Cell. The levels are just as open and dynamic as Chaos Theory, which has been a big step in the right direction. Double Agent brings back online play and the co-op mode introduced last year. While it has most of the same mechanics and gameplay as Chaos Theory, Double Agent is a new take on a great series and the number of possibilities in the solo game will keep interested gamers playing levels over and over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SPLINTER CELL DOUBLE AGENT

posted by blackops (RUNNING SPRINGS, CA) Dec 18, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

ThiS game is the best splinter cell ever the only reason i gave it a 9 instead of a 10 was because of the sound efects being a little off timing but dont let that stop you from renting this game because there is nothing like it or better than it even though the begining right after the first mission and the very ending make me sad this game is freaking aewsome. RENT IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Here's my problem.....

posted by Crash46 (BEAUMONT, TX) Dec 8, 2006

Member since Mar 2005

I own this game. Very good game. BUT, as I looked through some of the missions (xbox), it seems as though XBOX 360 has more levels. And the levels are more exciting. They could have made this (xbox) better and longer. I guess once you play ALL the SC. the rest of them are easy. Is it time for Sam to retire for good ? OR, maybe Sam needs to bring in a new protégé. We will see.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent

posted by mikeyd (NORWICH, CT) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

This game was in true classic splinter cell fashion. I liked the storyline and game play. The Added feature of being able to make choices was a nice touch, and made the replay value even better. I am a true splinter cell fan and I can't wait for the next installment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse