Rent Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent for PS2
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Double Agent

Not Rentable
Also on:GC, Xbox, Wii, Xbox 360, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.8

746 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

welcome to 2008 and how sweet it is

posted by sora199362 (BIG BEAR CITY, CA) Oct 30, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2006

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

When this game opens you start in iceland and when your towards the end of the mission something bad happens. you will see how great the graphics and physics are,like in iceland you get to throw a guy over a rail and he screams until he hits a bar and it kills him. In the second mission you where sent to jail and thats where it really gets going. When you escape out of prison you have a trust meter for the JBA (the enemy) and NSA the one sam has been working for the whole series. You get punishments and rewards for different things you do. Like if your farther on the JBA you get different weapons and equipment same for the NSA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best of the Series

posted by miaballer3 (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Oct 27, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

13 out of 16 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

WoW, I mean this game is great, this is worth your hard earned (or hard stolen) $40 buckz. This Game I'll Go Section by Section, little by little of how good it is...

Graphics - A+ For a PS2 game it really does push the system to the limit. The Weather effects and area graphics area absolutely breath taking. The only thing about the graphics is that Sam's face looks like its morphing or something in the flashback missions when he had his hair. But afer the buzzcut the face models start kicking in.

Sound - B++ Im not going to give sound an A because this possibly the only flaw in the game, some sounds dont correspond to their weapon or watever gadget. For example, when you shoot a silenced pistol sometimes it sounds like a Desert Eagle, all loud and uncontrollable, the guards barely notice unless your 5 ft away from dem.

Gameplay - A+ Some new gadgets and deciding which objective for which side u must do is crucial of how your game ends up. What you do in the game affects your trust for either the JBA or Third Echelon...lose trust for either one and GAME OVER. But its really tense and the game really offers much Replay Value.

The Really takes Twists and Turns most of the story and the gameplay, You'll love the story and teh end is fantastic, the ending is...........Yea Right. BUY THIS if you have a PS2 buy it, i got it cause i dont have any next-gen consoles yet..but if you have the 360 BUY IT, even though PS2 is cheaper. BUT IT FOR BOTH IF U WANT...JUST PLAY IT!!

- M.A.D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by connor121 (NASHVILLE, TN) Oct 29, 2006

Member since Apr 2003

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

one of the best splinter cell games this game is amazing. i could not stop playing. it gets hard and frustrating but it still is amazing. if u love splinter cell GET THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

INTEL For Ya!!!

posted by mkoch555 (Matawan, NJ) Nov 1, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Well, now I can finally say I'm glad I bought PS2.
I played Splinter Cell for 20 minutes, it felt like 10. It is SO MUCH FUN! I bought it, and I must say I'm so impressed. I thought it was kinda easy to begin and learn, not like
I read(you gotta watch the VIDEOS for INTEL(Tutorials));. Dude, Fisher is cool, and it makes Scarface and 24 look like jokes.

[BUY THIS GAME]
It's a Creation.
Finally, I found intelligence in The "Gaming" concept!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

it's all good acept one thing

posted by imortalfog (SAUGUS, MA) Oct 27, 2006

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

once again ubi has released another splintercell and this one i must say is even better than the last included with the usual sneakyness is a briliant story that changes based on your options. Like when they do let you have a choice it's kinda like RE4, in a cutscene they will give you 2 options like wether 2 kill a guy or not and your option with eather make you more suspicious (JBA) or more honorable(NSA)another thing this dose is affect what weapons and mission you get. i can't wate too play this a cople more times to see the different things to do. asside from the story is the online that has been with splintercell since pandora tomorow but sadly they have change it and in my opinion is for the worst instead of being sneaky you have to run, and in stead of getn behind someones back you have to engage in a attack and hit a random button before your ennemy, but on the brightside there's a buntch of difernent game matchs to choose from besides the classic deathmatch like sam vs. everyone. all in all this is a truly great adition too the splintercell series but i do hope they bring the online back too its former glory in the next game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Splinter Cell Double Agent

posted by 2011gamer (ROCK SPRING, GA) Jul 24, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

The fourth game in the highly successful Splinter Cell series has done it again. Bringing Sam Fisher back for another set of missions only this time he is working with the bad guys. So this game combines both stealth and non-discretional missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Well, that happened.

posted by Tarnished (DALLASTOWN, PA) Aug 31, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

You'd think after the success of Chaos Theory, the excellent gameplay, the stunning graphics, the involving story, they'd have just left it alone. Instead they decided it'd be much better laying this unplayable egg. Your excellent targeting? Gone. Hope you like hitting walls instead bad guys. Unless youre enemy is that little dutch boy who sells paint. The involving story? Replaced by something that sounds like it was written with the use of alot of prescription medication. The graphics? Yea they're gone to.
It was like they knew everything that was so good with CT, and decided that was what not to put in DA. Horrible game. I think beating my head into a wall would've been a better use of my time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!

posted by clone12TM (EASTON, PA) Oct 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

I completely finished the game and I have got to admit, that is the best thought out game in the history of forever.

As soon as Fisher popped up from the snow and killed the Splinter Cell, I was like WWWHHOOOAA! COOOOL! It was a ridiculous ending and BOY OH BOY would I play the rest of these games. I am DYING to see what happens to Fisher and Williams.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Amazing game

posted by shootemup (MACON, GA) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

At first, I wasn't sure about the whole sneaking around business, but the more I played the more I got used to it. I actually had a hard time bringing myself to put this game back in the mailbox. I kept it for nearly a month. This game is amazing in every aspect, the only negative is it was a little on the short side. I beat it in like three days but found myself playing it over and over again. If you are considering this game, you should rent it. I highly doubt you will be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

splinter cell

posted by armyofone (HARPSWELL, ME) Feb 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

I'd rather vomit.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ok well

posted by austingame (LOUISVILLE, KY) Oct 17, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

you know this game was okay but
it sucked that the one girl had to die and stuff i mean what is up with that i mean but anyway besides that it was a really good game and i really loved the game difficult it had like when you had to kill the people with the night vision Gogol's that was hard but i beat it so i think it was good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS AWSOME IS AMAZING FOR THOSE WHO LOVE

posted by gamerxxx (HIALEAH, FL) Aug 22, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

ACTION AND ADVENTURE GAMES IT EMBARKS YOU ON A JOURNY THAT LITERLY PUTS YOU IN THE GAME (NOTE: EAITHER PLAY THIS GAME WITH A REALLY HIGH VOLUMEN OR IN A SILENCE ROOM YOU COULD BEARLY HEAR THE CAMARAS OR OTHER THIGNS)I would consider this game as a perfect to game to play, and a real time killer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great game

posted by candipantz (CHULA VISTA, CA) Jul 8, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

a must buy/rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Splinter Cell Double Agent

posted by scarpenter (CHARLESTON, SC) Jul 2, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

This game is incredible in every way; however, you could get tired sneaking around like a ninja after awhile. Patience is the key word while playing this game. There are many cool gadgets available to play around with allowing your character to complete each level differently.
Different moral choices must be made throughout the game that will determine your standing with the criminals and the agency; allowing for a more interesting storyline. Enjoy the game, but it is definately a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

NICE!!!!!!!!

posted by gamedog (SAN JOSE, CA) Jun 2, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

I love this game!!
+It has good graphics
+sweet levels
+cool weapons and moves
-challenging/hard/fruster- ating
-low replay value

++ Overall, a very fun game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent Fun

posted by MicrotechM (CALIFORNIA CITY, CA) May 21, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

Great shooter game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

excellent game

posted by swiftaco (LAKE CITY, SC) Mar 6, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

After playing Double agent on ps2, i cant wait to see how its gonna turn out on the ps3. This game is insane. The stuff that you can do is almost limitless, and the graphics are superb. If you get into the stealth/shooter games, then i would really suggest renting or buying this game. It is worth the time to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Yeah, weak describes it.

posted by jaysonj (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 22, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

Oh Man did I want to jump off a cliff with this one. Ok, the game play was pretty good I'll give it that. But dang it I hate games that don't have some sort of checkpoint regularly. I played this game for maybe two hours, then sent that puppy back. Thanks Gamefly, I would have been REAL mad if I had bought this one instead of renting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fisher Is Back

posted by Lincon6ech (ALEDO, TX) Feb 11, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

Splinter Cell has done it again this is a great installment in the splinter cell saga. The characters are always well played and the cut scenes are just like watching an action movie.
This game had a great feature different from the previous versions where you got to decide to be a straight shooter or a rogue agent and your actions determined how the mission went. I had to play this game several times just to see the differences. I am waiting patiently to see how it looks on the PS3. The the equipment you take with you on you missions is always the best of best when it comes to moving in real stealth form. My favorite part was the actual feeling of disarming a bomb one wire at a time. you know its a game because you would not get a do over in life if you picked the wrong wire.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stealthy Goodness

posted by mullethawk (MOUNT LAUREL, NJ) Feb 5, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

I love this game every about it was perfect. The only reason i didnt give it a perfect 10 was because the On line wasnt great. They took out the best feature for the on line mode. Other than that the graphics is better, gameplay is better, and so are all the other factors, like the storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of The Best SC Games Ever!

posted by Paullorenc (PISCATAWAY, NJ) Feb 2, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

Although the PS2 version is obviously less superior graphically than the X-Box version, Double Agent overall, is without a doubt the best Splinter Cell game to date! The Story alone makes buying this game worth the cash. The Plot is extremely intriging and keeps you pinned to the controller, waiting to see how it progresses. And the Multiplayer, while now as great as Spy Vs. Merc's, is still a fun addition. If you are a huge Splinter Cell fan like I am, pick Double Agent up NOW! You won't be disappointed, I PROMISE!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Good

posted by menace2va (MANASSAS, VA) Dec 26, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

Well if your a fan of the series, your going to really enjoy this game as it blends the creeping in the shadows we've come to love with in your face action. While this game seemed kind of short and not really challenging, it is still very fun! Maintaining trust between the NSA and the JBA is very interesting and each choice you make has consequences which make the game even better. I highly recommend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

awesome but frustrating

posted by fcapps (NEW ROCHELLE, NY) Dec 16, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

The game is excellent though I could do without the lock picking..my rating a bit lower becuase of this feature...frustating beyond belief..not really a skill rather a monotonous activity..why can some locks be broken and others only picked? I HATE picking the locks..anyway great graphics and story line...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

first timer splinter cell player

posted by trauma1 (GLENARDEN, MD) Dec 13, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

This was my first time playing splinter cell and on a scale from 1to 10 i give it an 8.0 .I am not a big fan of the prior splinter cell's because they seem to be to complicated . Because at that time i was into syphon filter? But i was wrong about SPLINTER CELL DOUBLE AGENT .Alot of creeping and being real quiet. The weapons are good but the hand gun with the silencer does no damage.( close up that is ) but for head shot's pretty good if you are a good shot.Now the sniper mode good but loud and all the gadgets you must know how and when and a what time to use them.For example the shocker bullet? use it when you want to take out an hostile quick and quiet.And the air foil to stun an hostile then run up to the target and take them out with your hands or a knife.Also the sticky camera helps you look around corner's.Now the head gear with different image's help's you alot.Now for close up firing use the shot gun the gas bomb's are a litte weak because they alert your target in which your target might out run the gas.When you have to walk up behind your target take your time !! or else hand to hand or gun too hand now don't forget that you are an double agent so you will be ask to do two things in some mission's buy the good guy's or the bad guy's ( the agent's ) hint take the good guy Watch out for the red line's they are all trigger bombs , along with the small wall bomb's walk slowly. Now the green line's just building's alarm's. To hack the computer match the red line with the green ( not as easy as it sound's )alway's use the optic cable and the open door stealth mode. the bash mode is cool but loud.Now some hard point's of the game picking the lock don't ask because i just played with the left toggle switch and your health life packs not too many of them around along with your ammo and the load time after you get killed between mission's long But the graphic's are good and the cut scene's are good along with the music ( hint loud music hostile coming ) DOUBLE AGENT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

not very good i would say bad

posted by perfectcut (RIO RANCHO, NM) Dec 9, 2006

Member since Nov 2006

boring, not enough action. the point of the game is actually to produce as little action as possible. another words its is stealth based.zzzzzzzz.... strategy is one thing but im playing to be entertained. the controls are awkward, the graphics are decent but this games falls short. one word, black.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse