Rent Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Conviction for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Conviction

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

Used: $14.99

GF Rating
8.1

20934 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Splinter Cell Conviction is worth your time

posted by cernunnos (GAINESVILLE, FL) Apr 15, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2009

92 out of 107 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

While it was apparent from the demo that many long time SC fans would not be impressed by Conviction, for the rest of us this game is pretty close to amazing. Since the single player campaign is somewhat short, it is totally feasible to complete the entire thing in one sitting, and trust me, you will probably end up doing just that without even planning on it. The story is engaging and the gameplay is fun and varied. You can choose to tackle Conviction from the shadows by shooting out light sources, memorizing enemy movement patterns and taking them out before they even know what is hitting them. Conversely, while you can't necessarily run-n-gun you can play Conviction as less tactical third-person-cover-system-shooter. I prefer to use pistols, in fact, I rarely use anything else. If you ramp up the difficulty to Realistic you are better off using a more stealthy approach but either way tactics are a must.

Coop is where Conviction really earns its keep. I feel like this game was meant to be coop'd. I wish they would come out with a patch so we could play the single player campaign in coop (yes, it's that much fun when you bring a friend along). At any difficulty level it helps to coordinate efforts and have a plan of action. The game won't let you get too far away from your partner so you should always be able to get back to him to revive him or offer other forms of support. The coop campaign is also rather short but fortunately Conviction offers more than one coop game mode. Ultimately, if you add up all of Conviction's game modes nobody should really be faulting Ubi for making this game too short.
In all, I do not blame long time SC fans for feeling let down by the direction Conviction has gone, but do not believe everything the naysayers claim. The graphics are really nice and the black & white effect does not affect the picture quality. I have noticed a few frame rate issues but nothing major.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Splinter cell conviction

posted by Adabunki (OVIEDO, FL) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

11 out of 12 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

As the splinter cells have gotten better and better after each release (with the exception of DA), this one is no different. It brings a whole new set of ability's and gadgets to the table. The enemy AI are much smarter than the previous titles and will not give up a search after they find a body. Splinter cell conviction also brings the 'mark and execute' game-play (also found in Red Dead redemption). With this tool, players can mark up to six targets (you get more markers from upgrading weapons), and completely blast them away like a real rouge agent should. Weapons play a large role in Conviction. After you pick up an enemy weapon, you can equip it at weapon stations (found throughout the game). Then, using points from achieving challenges, you can upgrade weapons with scopes, extra mags and silencers. the selection and possibilities and huge.

Although Splinter Cell Conviction has all of these great qualities, it also has some bad ones. I always thought that splinter cell was a language free game. Yes there were the occasional swears, but no heavy ones. That began to change in Chaos theory... and it is far worse in Conviction. Enemies will throw many Fs out there when angered. There are some quite bloody and brutal interrogation scenes (although I like them) Many parents would not. There are a few drug and sexual references, but there are very few and usually only show in conversation. The campaign is very action packed and the story is far by the best in any SC, but it is incredibly short (I beat it in 5 hours) but this was on the easiest difficulty, and the others would take up to 10-15 hours to complete.

One more mode made up for all of these drawbacks, the co-op. This mode has all the same qualities as the first list, and goes beyond. I won't tell you anything else, you'll have to explore it for yourself :)

I hope this review was helpful. Out of ten, this game gets a 9.0

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What's Different About This Game...

posted by TheFacts82 (CALERA, AL) Feb 16, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

10 out of 11 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Here are the key differences in the new Splinter Cell:

- When hiding in the dark, everything becomes black & white. I prefer
color myself, but some may find this new mechanic interesting.
Enemies and interactable objects remain in color making them easy
to spot.

- Many of the old gadgets we all have come to love are gone or
modified. Gone are the sticky shockers, airfoil rounds, wall mines,
gas grenades, the ability to whistle (my fav), smoke bombs, etc.
The only gadgets you have to work with this time around are frag
grenades, EMP grenades, remote mines, flashbangs, sticky cameras,
and a personal emp device that stuns enemies and blacks out lights
for a few seconds in your personal vincinity.

- No longer can you pick up a body and move it to a location of your
choice. Although you can take an enemy hostage then knock him out
in a dark area basically hiding the body. And yes, contrary to other
reviews the other enemies do freak out when they see a fallen
comrade and will begin to look for you.

- In the single player campaign you will not even get the iconic night
vision goggles until late in the game. Thermal vision is also gone.

- No longer will you use a PDA to check mission objectives as they are
now plastered on the walls. It makes the game a little less realistic
but you will never be left wondering what to do.

- Some have said stealth is dead in this game, but not so. It is simply
harder. There are times in the story mode where you are expected
to get in a firefight but most of the game can be completed stealthily.

- Execution is a new mechanic added and is very fun in my opinion.
You mark targets and hit Y, then killshot each one.

- After finishing the story, there is a co-op story with different maps,
also you can play the co-op maps by yourself with bad guys randomly placed, with several different game modes. I decided to buy, and having been playing every night :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Can't think of a way to improve it

posted by nooomoto (MIAMI, FL) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

62 out of 79 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

After being left with a bitter taste in my mouth from Double Agent, I was eagerly awaiting this title hoping it would fix the damage that Double Agent had done. I must say I am thoroughly happy with this game, and couldn't ask for more.

I can't really pick out what was wrong with Double Agent, I just didn't enjoy it as much as the previous two titles in the series. It felt lacking in many ways. Conviction fixes whatever was wrong with Double Agent, and then some. It gets to the core of stealth gameplay. Hiding in the shadows, being rewarded for stealth kills and headshots. A new cover-to-cover movement system makes it a lot of fun, and easily accessible for those not used to the gameplay style (like me...as I've been playing FPS' for the last few months.)

The story thus far in the portion of the game that I've completed is confusing and compelling. It doesn't let you know too much about what is going on, and doesn't bore you or make you mad with a lack information. No complaints with the voice acting.

In addition to getting back to the core values of stealth, this game goes a step further and allows you to just kill everyone if you're finding yourself getting caught in a certain part. Thats right. Wanna kill everyone? Go for it. You don't have to hide bodies any more. You get rewarded with points for killing in certain ways, which you can spend on upgrading your weapons, which is another nice addition. Not only can you upgrade your weapons to your liking, but there is a plethora of unlockable weapons to wreak international havoc with.

Sam is stripped down to himself and his weapon(s). No fancy gadgets, no fancy dynamic camo. The game sucks you in and makes you want to be Sam getting back at everyone for messing with his family.

It gets a 10 from me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gamefly Rocks

posted by OuTLaWxNYx (CEDARHURST, NY) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

13 out of 19 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Gamefly was made for games like this. dont get me wrong is was a good game and it was fun while it lasted but there is no way this game is worth buying.

Like
-Side of Splinter Cell We havent seen yet
-Co-op Mode
-Cool looking/Flashy

Dislikes
-Not much of a challenge to beat even on realistic
-Semi-Short Game Length
-Co-op is extremely short and not much of a story to it.
-Very predictable

Like a said good game but thanks to Gamefly you dont have to waste $60 on this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Solid Action

posted by Brique (MISSOULA, MT) May 12, 2010

Member since May 2010

9 out of 13 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

It's an entire season of 24. This line of stealth-action games from Ubisoft has now completely turned into the TV series. The single-player experience fetishizes torture and highlights the hightech wetwork of spooks, and it does it as seamlessly as possible. The objectives and paths through the level are 100% set in stone, there's no way around it, and the only freedom I got is in how I cleared out rooms full of mercenaries and thugs, and that's really the only draw I found to the game. The story lost me pretty early with the only way to progress is through torturing various higher-up thugs. I had to hit a woman pretty early in the game, and that's the point where I just said, "This game just isn't going to interest me too much, is it?" So I pushed the "Hit" button after looking around the room for alternatives for about five minutes. The game really prides itself on these torture scenes. I ended up doing at least one every two chapters. I hate having to think they're necessary to progress the story.

I played through it trying to find different ways to play, thinking the glaringly obvious one was to go through it stealthy. I played through trying to abuse the Mark and Execute feature, and as soon as I acquired the FiveseveN, a pistol with the maximum number of marks, the game played itself. I tried desperately to find alternatives, but once I had that weapon, I didn't need another for the whole game. The game is so context sensitive I found it annoying. If I wanted to slide into cover, I'd have to point the screen at the exact point, and I'd often do something obscenely stupid. I set off a car alarm when trying to slide to another car. A guard came to investigate, but only looked in a predetermined spot and then ignored it. It's pretty easy to abuse this sort of thing, so I constantly did. I like button mashing, and the controls aren't exactly sharp enough to register it. The game doesn't like rewarding good play and that really kept me from fully enjoying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent, but I wouldn't buy it.

posted by Captiosus (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I had a massive review here but apparently it was over 2000 chars, so I'll just summarize.

Solo Story: Short, predictable, gimmicky. I love how silenced weapons alert everyone in the neighborhood. Kind of defeats the purpose of having a silencer if a single silenced shot up in the air will put every enemy in the vicinity into a patrol, now doesn't it? Lousy control scheme - A button does TOO much and causes problems.

Multiplayer Coop Story: Short, laggy and glitchy. Severe video lag abounds and I've tested it on multiple systems of various generations of the xbox and they all suffer the same issues which means it's a game problem. Melee hit detection suffers from a lot of problems. It's really fun to be in the middle of a hand-to-hand kill only to suddenly be on the receiving end of a choke hold. Allow me to clarify that the enemy NPC isn't countering the hand-to-hand melee attack at all, rather he's already taken one or two hits and then boom - you're in a choke hold from the same NPC.

Multiplayer (Deniable Ops): Frustrating and boring. The same tired levels as multiplayer coop story plus two more and three game modes, two of which require lots of stealth. Yet the multiplayer is so buggy that, you can be down to one enemy who is across the map and, somehow, he "sees" you even though you're not near him nor does he have any special gear. The game also loves to randomly disconnect which makes playing these modes oh so fun as you have to start completely over if either person DC's.

Solo Deniable Ops: The exact same game modes and types as multiplayer deniable Ops.

uPlay: The writing is on the wall with this. Expect to have to buy content directly from Ubisoft in the future, including things already on disk but "locked". No thanks, Ubi.

Solid rental, decent distraction for about 10 hours combined story modes. Not worth the price to own because multiplayer will be forgotten in weeks and single player deniable ops would just be mind-numbingly repetitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Conviction Falls Short

posted by CPTChaos (STAFFORD, VA) May 28, 2010

Member since May 2010

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

I am a long time SC fan, and I was really looking forward to this game.
When I first loaded it up, I was impressed by the sound quality, the stunning visuals, and the customization options available for weapons.

The combat system is impressive, but the button layout is not intuitive at all. For instance, most games have settled upon the "X" button for reloading. Well, hit the "X" button in conviction, and you are chucking a grenade. It can be a little distracting.

After making my first kill, I realized that there was something missing... I couldn't pick up and stash a body in a dark corner. I survived many hours of playing previous SC games by disposing that annoying guard in a drainage ditch or an air dutch. On the flip side, I became much more picky about where I might drop an unsuspecting foe. But really, this isn't a reason to dismiss the game.

Another interesting addition to the game is the ability to pick up enemy weapons. This is helpful in a pinch, but typically, you lose the ability to fire a silenced weapon. SC Conviction also adds weapon stashes through out the game, and they usually appear when you've run out of explosives and you're heading into an area where you're going to need alot more of them.

With all of the changes, upgrades and additions, one there is one glaring problem with the game. It takes the average gamer about 8 to 10 hours to play through. Up to this point, the game really rates a 9, but the short game play is incredibly disappointing.

I highly recommend renting this game over buying it. At least that way you won't throw away $60.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth it

posted by Irenemp (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 12, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

26 out of 43 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Ive Played every single Splinter cell since the very first always loved the series.
This game has a very good story line one of the best campaigns ive played.
The multiplayer is a bit disappointing
But i still love this game new features are outstanding and very refreshing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i'm torn

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

While I like the new ability to just shoot everyone you encounter, I really miss the ability to move bodies so not to be discovered and I really hated the elimination of the in-game saves. Going to a checkpoint save system really annoyed me since one of my fav things about the SC titles was the ability to save and try things a few different ways and see how you can improve. This version could really frustrate you doing everything right and one bad move can send you all the way back. Being way too short and loss of night vision really took away from the overall experience. While I did enjoy it, and SC has been in my top titles throughout, this one really fell a little short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

reply to "biggest let down of the decade"

posted by bowcaster7 (WEST LEBANON, NH) Apr 17, 2010

Member since Oct 2007

12 out of 20 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Hi, I would like to make sure it is stated that in Conviction stealth is not dead like ltdan676 says it is in his review named "biggest let down of the decade" in which he gave Conviction a 1 out of 10

He states that you don't have to worry about making noise. It is true that the AI's only detect you by seeing you, but if you are around the corner from them running the WILL hear you, and check out the area, though they will not become aware of your location or start shooting you until they have established eye contact.

ltdan676 also states that you can't hide bodies, and this is true, but it was done as a decision to make the game flow faster and more smoothly. Conviction may be less stealthy than the prior games, but stealth is not dead in it. Also, enemies will notice bodies and will start searching for you.

He says there are no cool stealth moves, but all of the stealth takedowns are pretty sweet, and of course the new mark and execute is awesome (and even more awesome in co-op)

Lastly, you have many types of gadgets to choose from including the sticky cam (which if used correctly is more useful than ltdan676 says it is), and there are many other gadgets that are useful to stealthy players.

Stealth is definitely not dead in the game like ltdan676 says it is, it is just more streamlined to make the game more action-y, but that does not mean that Splinter Cell is the new Gears of War.

Note: all of my observations were made playing on realistic difficulty, and I have not played on the lower difficulties. For the best experience I would recommend playing on realistic difficulty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Disappointing

posted by jwoodzx7r (WOODINVILLE, WA) Apr 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

11 out of 19 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I was always a huge fan of Splinter Cell because it was "different." Prior games were much more difficult and a huge part of the game was about stealth and not being detected. In some cases you even fail a mission if you are detected or kill someone. In Conviction this is hardly the case... you can just run through a level killing everyone with no penalties or challenge or even the need to be sneaky. Really?? a splinter cell game where you do NOT have to be stealthy? Terrible

You dont even have a need to use your gadgets. There really isnt anywhere to hide or sneak other than ledges, a couple pipes, or boxes in a room. The levels are extremely linear and dont give you many options like the prior games.

The graphics are great and all but really I feel let down by Ubisoft as they succumbed to the pressures of creating a game like many others... just run and gun. Dont even get me started on the MP, it is god awful. The Merc vs Spy is completely gone. All in all, I'm angry I spent $65 on this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Worst in the series

posted by Seizure (POWELL, OH) Jul 6, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Not a horrible game, just not a fun one. I suppose it is worth a rental... if there aren't any other games out you want. I give this game a solid C.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not Chaos Theory

posted by gr3yasp (MCKINNEY, TX) May 6, 2010

Member since May 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

If you've played from the start of the series and felt Chaos Theory was the best then you will probably not like this installment. The game basically did away with any type of stealth requirements for the missions as you can just kill everyone you come by without any penalty. The ability to kill/knockout enemies and then move them has been removed as well.

I wouldn't even classify this game as stealth but an fps with stealth elements. Since it is basically an fps its not done very well and I would suggest renting Bad Company 2 or Modern Warfare 2 depending on your preference. Using any weapon other than the pistols is pointless since they have infinite ammo and are upgradeable.

All in all this game seems stuck between two genres not doing either correctly. If you want a stealth game look for something else. If you want an fps look for something else with better mechanics and weapons.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Solid game

posted by Nashawn (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I will write a more extensive review later (when I beat the game).

+ Nice graphics
+ Wonderful presentation
+ Controls are solid
+ Storyline isn't so great but its ok (other reviewer said its very good, and I disagree...so far)

- Gameplay feels repetitive (takedown, execute, repeat)
- Multiplayer is pretty lame
- Can feel boring at times.

All in all, solid game. It's far from a 10 (I believe people toss 10s around too much), but its worth the money. Buy the game if you have the money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Terrible Trend in Gaming

posted by Lownotes (HATTIESBURG, MS) May 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Splinter Cell: Conviction would be a great game if you actually controlled Sam Fisher.

Instead of controlling him, you just move him to the location you want him to do cool stuff, press a button, and he does it.

Want to kill someone? Stand next to them and press B. Want to kill more than one person? Mark them with one button, kill them all in one swoop with the other button.

It looks good, and the cover system is nice, but running around and leaping over objects is messy and often glitches. All that could be overlooked if the game let you actually used Sam Fisher to do cool stuff instead of leading him to places where one button activated a cool animation.

I hope this Dragon's Lair-ish trend doesn't continue. I want to play my games, not follow a set path in which I just activate animations.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good, not great

posted by Jealousman (TROUT, LA) Apr 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

First of all, to those complaining about it changing things up, stop whining. Yes it is a different game but the series truly needed a reboot. Now, that said, I LOVED the original Splinter Cell. This one was a good game. A lot of work went into it, and it shows. Sam Fisher is a more interesting character this time through. The story works well, and the white/dark style for the stealthy parts is unique and looks great. Like most are saying, the game is short. However, it's ending is very solid. The main issue I have with the game is the difficulty. Playing through it on realistic was mostly a breeze. It's way to easy to just hide in a corner and headshot an entire room. Also, the AI just seem dumb through-out the game. Overall its a fun ride, but I wouldnt buy it. Great rent though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

SCC: JUST DONT PLAY IT AROUND YOUR KIDS!!!

posted by yurishan (EDISON, NJ) Apr 19, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Great great game overall. Im not an avid avid gamer myself, kind of learning as I go. Coming from someone that normally plays RE5, L4D2, and most sports games, it took me awhile to get used to. Just the fact of how the game flowed..(you need a hand to hand kill before a mark and execute, level up your weapons to be able to mark and execute more.) Fantastic job with the story. I am a former gamestop manager and I remember this game was supposed to come out since 07, the wait was worth it. Visuals are great, story definitely keeps you interested..a must play for everyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not the Splinter Cell we came to love

posted by BeniDaKidd (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Apr 20, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I was excited to get my hands on a copy of Conviction. The hype was TOO huge to not notice, and being a espionage fan, I wasn't going to leave this title unplayed. But having said that, I think that is where the game failed me. The overly hyped game community brought this game to a God-like status, where in fact, it's just another installment in an already solid franchise. The game once again give you the control of Sam Fisher, former super spy, now a derailed father. The story weaves in and out of fresh new clichés about betrayal, revenge, and sprinkle in some classic Tom Clancy political conspiracies we all learned to love. But that is about all that is original about this title. To my disappointment, the game play felt like it was being held together by Play-Doh. My first impression was that the it plays like an extremely polished "Bourne Conspiracy", slap together with a broken "Gears of Wars" cover mechanic, and little of "Assassin's Creed" aerobic displays. What frustrated me the most was the control layout, not the control itself. In an age where CoD reigns supreme, why is the X button the throwing grenade, and the left stick is to reload instead of crouch/ uncrouch? This would've easily been mended if the developers give us an option to map out our own preferred control. The combat mechanic is good enough to keep you interested, but like I said, leaves you feeling more like Bourne than Fisher. Graphic is up to par, but don't expect anything to wow you, especially with the new shadow engine, where everything turn black and white once you're hidden, which is about the whole game, seeing how this is a spy game and all. Voice acting is mediocre at best. But I must admit the game has its charms and did let me fall in love with the series all over again. My expectation of this game to be a "bar-raiser" was demolished, but it's still an extremely solid game. A must for long time fans.

PS: I ONLY played the Single Player, not Co-op or Multiplayers.

~BDK~

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its not Splinter Cell

posted by abagofun (WINTER PARK, FL) May 13, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you are looking to play a Splinter Cell game I would stay away from this one, its more on the lines of what the Bourne Conspiracy should have been. The game starts off great with the ability to use stealth while throwing in lots of combat but after that it just hits a part where it throws waves of guys at you like its the first Uncharted game. While the story itself is entertaining the biggest highlights I found with the game were the mark and execute commands and the interrogations which just make you feel like a badass. Other than that i found the way the gun combat was handled frustrating because it wants you to use the mark and execute commands but instead puts you into situations where you use it and have to get the ability to again, only to then die in the process since you can only have the ability to mark and execute after you melee kill. Another problem i had was with the game turning grey when you were in the shadows and unseen, as opposed to just pitch black like in the previous games, which in this game the grey helps create a style for the game but ends up just irratating my eyes. The game is not a bad but it could have been better if they fixed the combat and made it less of an annoyance everytime you entered an area.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Cool but short

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Jan 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I played the single player mission...and I'm not embarrassed to say on Easy difficulty! This game makes great use of all the previous S.C.'s and may have made them better! I remember the first S.C., where one bullet hit got you killed!! I love the use of the environment, creating shadows and diversions. Cool game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Wither the stealth?

posted by CPXBRex (MIAMI, FL) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

As a long time fan of Splinter Cell games, I was deeply disappointed because this isn't a stealth game but a tactical shooter with stealth elements. For several games now I've hoped for an improvement in the shooting interface but also feared it because I was worried that they'd . . . well, put more shooting in. Which is precisely what happens. By the end, the game is a rail shooter. The interface is smooth and the STEALTH elements that they add are interesting, but they recede to a merely part of the tactical shooter interface and while that interface is quite good . . . it's not Splinter Cell.

Much of the level design is also of the modern, lazy "endlessly falling into traps" format. Why bother with making a game interesting when you can just have foes pop out, jack-in-the-box style, all around the character! Does anyone really think that forever falling into traps is what players want? And, indeed, if you liked the other games where you were the person SETTING the traps . . . well, you're liable to be disappointed. The game is about shooting out of traps, not avoiding enemies and setting your own traps.

The game is also short. Not much of a problem when you rent it on GF, but there you have it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

very upsetting

posted by dr7744 (NEW YORK, NY) Jun 15, 2010

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i waited so long for this game. i feel like this francise has been running away from what made it good since day one. now its just born supremacy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sorely disappointed

posted by waltelopez (HOUSTON, TX) May 7, 2010

Member since May 2010

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I was a big fan of the Tom Clancy Splinter Cell series. I love them. They were all so unique in their stealth engine and engaging storyline.

Then comes the reinvention. Why would you reinvent a game that already plays near flawless?

Ah, Ubisoft Montreal, you have broken my heart and made me not want to continue the Splinter Cell venture. In the first thirty minutes of this game, with it's (at best) mediocre graphics (I had just finished playing COD:MW2, maybe I'm judging by comparison) and it's boring cutscenes (bad mofo agent's humility portrayed by throwing in a little girl, come on).

Where's the real Sam Fisher? The whole bullet time execution engine is ridiculous, the stealth mode turns your surroundings black and white and there seems to be a million and one items I'm allowed to 'jump' on, even though I don't want to.

Ubisoft Montreal should've taken their last SC games, pushed the envelope with the 360 in terms of graphics and sound, left gameplay alone and put Sam into some more bad mofo mischief. A rougue agent storyline to some daughter I don't care what the heck is going on crybaby bs.

I'm usually not a big graphics buff if the other elements come together, but these graphics are bad. I mean bad. There are times where it looks like PS1 gaming. Come on 360, push those polygons!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Change IS Good And Bad

posted by Rob015 (NEW GLOUCESTER, ME) Apr 14, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

let me start first off by saying, if you are a hardcore ghoster (meaning you like to bypass every single enemy in the game without them hearing a sound) this is not your game, now if your someone who enjoyed all the other splinter cells and is willing to stay open minded about where the series is going then i think you would like this game, im gonna start by listing the pros and cons of the game based on my opinion.

Pro's
-the campaign is long and thrilling (average 8-9 hours on realistic, taking my time mind you not just run and gunning)

-Nice upgrade system, offers many different features to add on like gun parts and camo for your uniform (multiplayer only)

-Amazing co-op, i would go as far to say that this co-op is right up there with re5 and gears enjoyment as far as co-op

-Feels extremely polished as far as the cover to cover system and the mark and execute

-Mark and Execute makes you FEEL like a beast the entire game but doesnt make you feel like an invincible god

-better than average voice acting

- is overall fun and VERY addicting

Con's

- the controls are great when you get used to them but are quite clunky when first starting out, its like a fine wine you gotta get used to it

-the graphics i have to say are sub-par, not terrible but not mass effect 2 either,

-the black and white during shadows, i mean from a gameplay perspective this makes sense and works wonderfully but it almost makes you mad because your like ok these environments look good and all except im in black and white alot of the game

-FACE OFF MODE, ok so the vs doesnt really make for a very competitive action title i mean it would have been cool except the other spy can be seen regardless of in a shadow or not and is visible on sonar...lame

-Mark and Execute, i know this was in the pros but SOMETIMES you can execute an enemy through a wall if they walk behind it last second, not very good

overall, try it and judge for yourself but those are the best and the worst things :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse