Rent Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Chaos Theory for DS
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell Chaos Theory

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS2, GC, Xbox

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.5

268 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
5

Fair

Fun but not alot of fun

posted by smalowman (ACTON, MA) Aug 6, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

To keep this review short ill make a quick list of the pros and cons.

Pros:
-Graphics are descent
-Has some of the same plot as the console versions
-Stylus controls work well for camera movement and aiming
-Is not too short
-Keeps the splinter cell feel of stealth
-New throught slitting move
-Good music and sound effects
-Very cheap now that it is very old

Cons:
-Poor voice acting when there is some because most is just text
-AI is horrible
-Frame rate stinks when using special vision modes
-Level design is very odd most times like random passages holes and vents
-Game is very dull and sufffers because of lack of detail
-Button controls seem misplaced and confusing
-Started the idea that Ubisoft could port anything to any system. WRONG!

Overall- This game is fun but only if you can get over some downsides. I own it and I play it now and then but only in short bursts. Mainly if you want some violent stealth action for a cheap price buy it but if your not sure its worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

decent.

posted by drunkyb (FORT WORTH, TX) May 2, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a decent port of a major-console title onto the DS. The graphics are solid (of course they're not near on par with the xbox or ps2 but still, sam does look good on the ds), the gameplay itself is solid - what is not solid is the controls. I am a left handed person, and I really hate that the D-PAD is used to control/move sam, and the stylus is how you switch camera, while at the same time using the buttons (sometimes 2 or 3 at a time) to perform various actions - that is a bit much for a control scheme, and something a little bit on the simple side would have worked much better. But overall, this is a decent game. It is not for kids at all, in the sense that you perform espionage-type tactics, you have to think a lot more than you can run-and-gun, and for people who appreciate strategy-action-warfare will like this game a lot. Everyone else will probably consider it a failed effort. Decent, not bad, but not great either. C +

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good but not great

posted by VGguy1 (LEHI, UT) Sep 26, 2006

Member since Aug 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i rented this game because i love action-type strategy games, this game was good but i am still playing it as i write this review, i don't plan on keeping it or beating it but it wasn't a waste of a rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Its alright...

posted by Jimbo7988 (Thornton, CO) May 12, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

This game you would probably think "wow splinter cell for ds!?" then you try it out and chances are the first thing you do on it would be the training mode....thats what makes it bad...its a bad first impression...for some reason the training is what made me think this game sucks...so i decided to try the missions and they wernt so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

boo

posted by coolkid (GLENDALE, NY) Aug 13, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

ok it isn't long but don't u think the controls are horrible u don't even need your night or thermal goggles. the picture stinks. the ds didn't need splinter cell at all . Its good enough without it. so dont buy it STINKS!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Now dogs have a reason to bark.

posted by mjc02319 (NEWBURY PARK, CA) Aug 23, 2008

Member since Jun 2008

The worst game I ever rented. When you play it on xbox, Best game ever. on Nintendo DS, when you return it, tape a sign onto it that says "I'd return it now if I were you." for the next person to rent this piece of junk. If you want my respect, keep this away from my grave.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

sucks

posted by Reindog (BEAR, DE) Jun 13, 2007

Member since May 2007

this game sucks. it is dumb and is vary hard. it also cusses in the game to. I hated it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pick your nose [its better than playing this]

posted by darthl1378 (SAINT HELENS, OR) Mar 28, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

Have you picked your nose?
If not you have been wasting time playing this piece of GARBAGE.Alls ive got are cons for this title of garbage

CONS

- Horrable graphics

- AI is horrable

- Worst aiming

- Bad camera view

- Gun controlls

- controlls

- Level seting

Dont evem rent this dont even stare at the game case

1/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »