Rent Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Blacklist for PS3
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Blacklist

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $19.99

Used: $9.99

Also on:Wii U, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.0

961 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good story, decent gameplay

posted by StayFrsty7 (TERRE HAUTE, IN) Sep 3, 2013

Member since Aug 2008

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you enjoyed Splinter Cell: Conviction then this game is for you. Most of the previous games mechanics are present here from the executions to the "last known location silhouettes". Definitely worth a rent although it wont blow you away.

The good:
The story is actually very good. A terrorist organization tell the US government to withdraw all troops in foreign countries or it will continue with a series of attacks on US soil.

The new play style rating systems add a new incentive to how you approach each mission. Ghost (stealth), Panther (stalk & kill), and Assault (guns blazing).

The bad:
Some clunky menus and convoluted upgrade system make time not spent in missions a chore.

Some side missions cannot be completed without help from a coop partner.

The game difficulty is fairly easy on the normal setting.

Summary:
If you like Splinter Cell then this game is a no-brainer. Its got a cool story and the way that you can approach each mission however you want makes each mission feel different. It absolutely deserves a spot on your GameQ.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pretty freaking Sick

posted by ImZ3RO (ORANGE, CA) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Jul 2013

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you played the splinter cell games and was a fan of any one of those. This will be a great play, cause it brings the classic yet new elements to this game. Conviction with the black and white style of atmosphere is not present in this one. The difficulty is there and the map layouts are pretty well thought out especially in the story and the side missions are very cool as well. The online was great and added more fun to the game especially when doing waves. Like I said, If you like splinter cell in general, you'll definitely dig this one. Rent it. I'm renting it for a second time and I might just keep it. I replayed missions over and over cause they're fun to just take different approaches to and routes. I never write reviews but this game deserves one. Rent or Buy. Either is a excellent choice. But try at least :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by chargerbrett (DAYTON, OH) Mar 14, 2014

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just like all the other Splinter Cell games this one was very fun to play. The side missions are cool to give you something to do after you beat the game. Campaign was a little short but I do like the idea of being able to play the game with a friend online. However, I'm not a big fan of how some of the missions can only be done with a teammate. When I tried to play online there just aren't enough people playing the game to connect with. Huge selections of weapons and gear and customizing. I give the game a solid 8. Worth the rent and maybe the buy at only $14.99. Replay value is pretty low once you beat it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!

posted by Vero2075 (MIDLAND, TX) Sep 21, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

I freaking love this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game I recommend it!

posted by cptdustin (CULVER, OR) Sep 13, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Blacklist. I believe it to be one of the best splinter cells out there! I love the fact that you choose the play-style (Ghost, Panther, Assault) makes it more enjoyable by far, I'm more of a ghost/Panther style player. I yet to beat the game without being detected once but I plan on it buying it so I'll have a chance to do that. If you are thinking about buying this game, please don't just look at one review, do your research. 9/10 rated!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

blacklist by tom clancy

posted by arthurblount (SAN BERNARDINO, CA) Sep 3, 2014

Member since Mar 2013

It's hard but good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

can you say profanity?

posted by LegendinMyMind (WILLIAMSTOWN, WV) Aug 19, 2014

Member since Aug 2014

The only drawback to this game was the massive amount of memory that is required to install (8G). For me with my little 8G system, that was pretty rough.
The storyline was pretty standard splinter cell- terrorist group threatens world/US, Sam Fisher and his team have to step up their game to prevent calamity.
The side quests you can access in the plane are a nice touch, one sneaky sneak style, one sneaky kill style, one shootout style, and a co-op option. Also, the finding extra items and achieving different medals to earn cash for upgrades was cool.
The graphics are pretty excellent. Each map has its own character and feel compared to the other maps. There were even elements of free will involved, (kill this dude or let him live?).
Overall this game was pretty difficult on the Realistic difficulty level and brought me plenty of hours of entertainment and profanity-laced frustration.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

shockley2@elp.rr.com

posted by shockley (EL PASO, TX) Aug 3, 2014

Member since May 2012

when can i expect another splinter cell

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game but..

posted by CIAOperative (MENLO PARK, CA) Jun 20, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

Its a great game with awesome gameplay, but the graphics just a tiny bit lack. That is all. If your into the military, then you are into this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not my play style

posted by playstationfan0 (BRADFORD, AR) May 12, 2014

Member since Jul 2013

Has a great storyline almost should be a movie but reminds me of assassins creed just doesnt feel fun sneak up behind all the enemies and kill them you really cant use anything but a sniper for primary otherwise you wont be able to pull missions off without alerting guards and it just gets old after about 4 hours the story rocks just wish it had me wanting to get back on and play it but to be honest im more excited about watching tv over playing this which is not what i prefer i like video games more than tv programming so if you like assassins creed kind of play style you should enjoys this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Splinter Cell I grew up on...

posted by Mr_Freshmaker (TEMECULA, CA) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

I've been waiting for a Splinter Cell (SC) game that would have me hooked since the original Xbox SC trilogy. If you've been waiting for and SC game like the original this is the one you should pick up. If you're into stealth games, don't skip out on playing this game.

First off, this game looks amazing. I haven't been jaded by the Next Gen consoles yet. I have both the PS4 and XB1 and the graphics are more polished on these systems but the gameplay isn't caught up to the hardware capability, probably won't be for years. This game seems like it pushes the PS3's graphic capabilities, lighting and textures. There is a bit of screen tear but it doesn't affect the overall game.

The gameplay is what you expect from an SC game. It is more forgiving than SC Double Agent and SC Conviction. Both were good inductions to the current gen consoles. Blacklist makes you feel Sam Fisher is a more than capable spy, especially when you begin to unlock gadgets, spy suits, and weapons.

The enemy AI runs on predictable patterns when you haven't been spotted on easy and normal modes. I have yet to play on expert and realistic to see how their patrol patterns differ (due to wanting to complete the game and get my next rental). I enjoyed using the human shield component when I caught a guard slipping. Giving you two choices, you can simply knock him out or kill him. I can't recall the previous SC games if they included the human shield option.

Some people complained that there was no stealth meter. The goggles and suit light up when you're in the shadows. The enemy has a visual meter that fills up from white to red (you are seen). Noise is determined by your spy suit which you can purchase in game. Spy suits can be armored but not great on stealth or stealth but not great on armor. The goggle and suit flare is a pretty good in game mechanic to me rather than keeping and eye on the HUD for stealth.

My gripes would be being able to actually destroy ALL artificial light

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

game

posted by rub51 (ROWLESBURG, WV) Mar 19, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

we never did receive it and would like to get it again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Embrace the Change.

posted by SportsGuru12146 (DAVIDSON, NC) Mar 11, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

When you think about change you think bad because nothing that changes is good am I right? We get so caught up in what we've always done that we grow to hate change. In splinter cell: blacklist Change is a great thing. So much has changed. The voice, controls, visual, game play, characters, relationships, story but in reality nothing has changed. You can still play the game and be completely stealthy at all times or you can run around and shoot em up right in front of their eyes. It feel's fresh, you get rewarded for specific action's you do in the form of compensation which turns into bigger and better gear. The story feel's complete. Sam Fisher is as always awesome and I absolutely applaud ubisoft for the risk because it rewarded me....the gamer. I will admit that my only complaint is when you shoot some guy in the head 4 times he should die, but there's so much great about this game it's hardly an issue.

My Rating for this game is 9/10

P.S This was my first game I got from gamefly. I am EXTREMELY pleased with the excellent service so far. I live in N.C, the game got to me in 3 days, never froze, I enjoyed, and it is now on it's way back to Pittsburgh.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good clean fun

posted by drew1392 (PORTLAND, OR) Feb 6, 2014

Member since Mar 2012

Blowing up heads and cutting throats has never been more fun, oh and being sneaky.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very cool gameplay but a little too hard.

posted by Acanders (CENTERTON, AR) Jan 27, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

I truly enjoy the Splinter Cell franchises. Up until this one I have always found the game challenging, yet possible. I couldn't get used to the controls which made it less appealing but manageable. However by far the worst part about the game wasn't that it was too difficult or that the controls sucked, but that if you failed the mission there weren't any checkpoints you just had to start the ENTIRE mission all over again. Which is extremely frustrating if you keep failing the mission at the very end of completion. For example after completing 2 of the 3 waypoints I still had to start completely all over again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Excellent edition to the frashice

posted by Theohhdude (MURRIETA, CA) Jan 17, 2014

Member since Sep 2008

I am a big fan of the Splinter Cell franchise. Every game gets better and this one is the best by far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DOPE!!!

posted by TerrorOvDeath (JAMAICA, NY) Jan 8, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

I never played any Splinter Cell games, but I have seen a lot of them played. But as for this particular game it's so fun! And super stealthy "Well thats how I played the game." But Overall I enjoyed the game for it's Solo/Co op play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Consistant

posted by Arshus (GREENWOOD, IN) Dec 22, 2013

Member since Dec 2013

This is a solid title. Let me first say, this is the first Splinter Cell I have played and my experience was a solid one. I enjoyed playing with friends locally and online. The story was engaging and kept me wondering whats around the corner. Lastly, the game play was top notch.
We have Sam Fisher placed in some really bad situations, especially when he's poisoned (that sucks). Going up against these bad situations is his trusty crew. Who play more of a support role from afar than dealing with the up close action. Although, his partner does come face to face with one of the pivotal moments in the game and doesnt shy away for a second. Another character, whom I think, doesnt get enough credit is the B52 bomber, which acts as the mobile HQ for our heroes. Fully upgradable and complete with its own name dubbed Paladin. It plays an essential role in the game.
Choose your play style. Stealthy, a mix of stealth and aggression, or guns blazing. Your choice of gear helps in that aspect. Heavy armor that makes tons of noise wont get you far in a covert mission. However, laying wast to a bunch of mercs who stand little chance to a head shot friendly Sam Fisher is really enjoyable.
Co op play is where the fun is. Either goin head to head or running missions together is enjoyable and it feels rewarding. I liked taking out light sources to give my friend an edge in stealth was just highly enjoyable. If things got to hairy for em, I'd provide support, or rush in and save him from overwhelming odds. Online fighting is different. Your pitted against mercs who have the edge in a confrontation vs the spy class who are hard to spot and if they get the drop on a merc its over in one stealth kill move. Then when the match is over you switch sides. Taking on the heavy armored merc class where a gunfight is no problem and the best case for the merc. Getting to close to a one stealth move kill spy is not what a merc wants.
I cant go on. Enjoy and thanks for reading

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect

posted by TheDogTako (KANSAS CITY, MO) Dec 14, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

It's a great game, that has awesome gameplay and a good story that keeps you playing. It seems very realistic (other then the heavies) and taking down an enemy is satisfying. The plane feature seems like it was copied straight from mass effect, however. But it fits the game, so I guess it depends on how you look at it whether it's a good or bad thing. Other then a few frustrating gameplay moments "Splinter Cell: Blacklist" is nearly perfect.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sleeping gas, flashbang, or grenade?

posted by angryarmytony (FAIR OAKS, CA) Dec 1, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

It makes me beyond happy to find that Splinter Cell will do whatever is necessary to make itself better from its predecessors. This game immediately awed me with its choices in combat, will go non-lethal and silently knockout your foes? Will you be an assassin in the shadows taking out enemies one by one with no one to find you? Or will you simply take a machine gun and dispatch your enemies in open combat? You decide! Enemies tend to be a little too sensitive to the slightest of noises you'll make and may seem a little unfair at times, but, throughout my gameplay there was never a time where there was an unwinnable situation just my first plan going wrong. Though there are some missions where it seemed impossible to go non-lethal but I have been told it can be done. also for those that wish to go full assault may get caught on a few missions where you must remain in the shadows however you will be warned in the game. I do wish there was a coop campaign separate from the main campaign like in conviction and without it, the coop seemed lacking. The solo campaign and upgrade system completely make up for the lack in coop and not at all was I ever bored with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Loved it!!

posted by simdeer (EAST ELLIJAY, GA) Nov 30, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

Loved every second of this game! The only thing i didn't like about it was that the last time i played as Sam Fisher he was older and in this one he is young but still a great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Perfect doesnt exist but this one is pretty good

posted by gib_911 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 29, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

There is not a such thing as perfect, it is just foolish to believe that the greatest games of all time are just a perfect 10. But in a more realistic scale this one is pretty good
Graphics: well it could be 1080p instead is not; and it tends to be a little lazy on the graphics sometimes i dont know if the render is supposed to be that way or not.
gameplay: is very good realistic combat and equioment, and it merges the tendencies of combat, as we might me a little rusty on our stealth skills and could compensate with a more lethal approach
Gamecontrolls seem to feel natural at least the defauls

Final word
If you're into stealth i recccomend this tittle, not very much to any 1st person shooter fan and it feels a little easier than other Tom Clancy's tittles so this one might feel more welcoming even more than the conviction tittle and a lot more than Rainbow6

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Great game poorly executed

posted by Bucksrock (PATASKALA, OH) Nov 16, 2013

Member since Nov 2013

The gameplay (graphics, storyline, action) are all excellent...........when it works! Unfortunately I wanted to throw my ps3 through the window due to freezing (during play and loading/saving). Fortunately the ps3 gets to live because forums point to 360 and PC problems too! So sad as it should be 8-9 rating IMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

good replay value

posted by SOUR_11B (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Sep 15, 2013

Member since Sep 2013

this is the best splinter cell game yet.

wouldve been better with the old fisher though.

its later in the splinter cell universe, yet fisher is younger...intresting...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TOM CLANCY,S SPLINTER CELL BLACK LIST

posted by JFKKGYTGHJ (KILLEN, AL) Sep 11, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

THIS WAS THE BEST SPLINTER CELL GAME I EVER PLAY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse