Rent Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Blacklist for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Blacklist

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Also on:PS3, Wii U

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

1178 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth a try

posted by nflhomeboy86 (POTOMAC, MD) Apr 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Gameplay 9/10: I like that this is like an old school Splinter Cell game. You can go in like a ninja and gain xp for that. The game is pretty difficult even on the easiest difficulty, which can be annoying if you are not well known with such games. You can also customize your character with weapons, clothing that help your character, and other cool features. The movements of the players are realistic, but also repetitive at times. That doesn't seem to be a problem though.

Graphics 6.5/10: There is no justice done with the graphics here. It is not up to par with the graphics of recent games, but it's still better than the last splinter cell.

Story 9.5/10: The story here is great and interesting. I couldn't wait until the end to find out what happens. Although there are no real twist or turns, you stay intrigued throughout the game.

Sound 7/10: The music in the game is good, not great. The shooting is somewhat lackluster of a real gun sound. And the new voice actor is a hit or a miss whether you like him or not. He is not in the same ballpark as the previous actor, but I thought he did a decent job.

Multiplayer 3/10: Don't expect to do much after beating the campaign. The online is not fun in any way. This is the main reason I am not keeping the game.

Overall 9/10: You should definitely rent the game, but buying it will be up to whether you like the multiplayer at all or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Brings Back the Genre with a Bang

posted by xxChaosFactorx (UNION, MO) Mar 19, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Splinter Cell Blacklist is a great game, but it does have some minor flaws that bring the experience down. First of all, the gameplay is amazingly satisfying but only at certain times. There was many a times that I found the controls to be clunky or non reliable. I would go to press one button to do one thing, but because there are multiple actions mapped to one button, he would do something I didn't want him to do. The level design was pretty good, but I feel like the "hidden" passages weren't so hidden. Then the story, it's nothing compared to conviction. It would of been nice to have a meaningful reason to be kill, kill, killing people all over the place. None of these things really kill the experience for me, they just got under my skin a little bit. Also they brought back the Spys vs. Mercs multiplayer mode which is absolutely excellent. Its a really fun mode, and can keep you invested for hours. If you love stealth games, this game is a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Strongest Splinter Cell To Date!

posted by doctorducky (NORTH HILLS, CA) Mar 1, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

I've been a Splinter Cell fan since day one, and in my opinion this is by far the best yet. The game is nearly perfect. Warning, the following may contain slight spoilers.

THE GOOD:
The storyline is terrific. Sam became head of the newly developed Fourth Echelon, which has a tightknit crew consisting of established characters and new additions. I love how great they work together, and there is an subtle tension between all characters, which you learn more about as you progress, and the serious tone fits the game perfectly. The SMI in Sam's HQ aboard the Paladin, is a fantastic user interface tool, that allows players to access any content within the game, whether it's the story missions, side missions (which there is a surprisingly good amount of), multiplayer, bonus content, etc. This makes the game easy to navigate and adds to the replayability. You can approach any mission in a variety of ways in terms of tactics and achieving mission objectives. You can go the signature stealth route or assault style. The option to kill or spare your enemies was thankfully added back into this game - which Conviction failed to include. Also, the knife is back :) I find it more challenging to subdue enemies rather than kill them, but that's the great thing about this game. It's the players choice, and the tools are laid out for you that suits your style. Graphics are solid, gameplay is addictive, and there is a ton of content to explore in the game. Longtime fans will be surprised at how this game makes an explosive comeback. Go buy/rent it now.

THE BAD:
The same button is used to swap weapons and to pick up bodies, and is singly the most frustrating thing in the game. There are a couple other minor hiccups in the controls. The Multiplayer deserves a review in itself, I'd give it a 6/10.

THE UGLY:
Michael Ironside is not voicing Sam. Once you mourn the loss though, the new voice actor is not half bad. Grim is also kind of strange looking now. Hard-freezes happen on oc

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse