Rent Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Blacklist for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Blacklist

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $39.99

Also on:PS3, Wii U

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
8.3

1176 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Good And Fun, But Not The Best.

posted by Ageman (PHILLIPSBURG, NJ) Aug 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2012

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Let's start with all the good things of this game.

Good things:

Solid controls. In others words very good controls.

Awesome customization! You can get a lot of cool stuff with this, but you cannot edit the face or body, but everything else you can.

Good and fun gameplay.

Stealth is back and it's good. The playing of stealth is really good in this one, and you can even pick up bodies again unlike the last game.

A pretty good story. The story is pretty good to this one and hasn't really been done before, but I was happy with it.

Surprising plot points.

Co-Op is very fun.

The online play is great! The online was so very much good, just like the older games but with more of a twist. There are many modes, I like classic mode and classic mode is just like the older Splinter Cells.

The levels in online, co-op, and story was made really well and makes it fun to play again.

Good close up combat.

Now for the bad.

Bad things:

The game is just not long enough.

You can't put away your gun. It's not really a big deal to a lot of people but it is to me being an old player of Splinter Cell.

The armor guys are a pain to kill. Is Ubisoft trying to tell be that Iraq has a few 100 large armor guys with the instincts of Jack Carver?

No light and dark and sound meter.

Not the best gun selection, it has good guns but not a lot of good guns.

Charlie is annoying.

The Co-Op is not the same, it's fun but it lacks a new separate story from the main that somehow links up. I mean I wanted to play as new people like the older ones.

No missions where you break into a place to get info by going into a PC and looking into files or getting it out of someone.

The torture for info by using anything in a room from Conviction, and that was one of the few things I liked about Conviction.

Not a lot of online maps.

It's just not Sam without Ironside.

There is some points where it's too much action and not stealth.

I would say it's

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

splintered my resolve.....

posted by kmp (BORING, OR) Nov 25, 2013

Member since May 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game had the potential to be a great deal of fun, but when I spend more time dead and starting missions over, than actually playing though the game, it's not fun for me.

The game play was great. Weapons and equipment fantastic. Story line actually added to the play and didn't feel like a slap on after thought.

I do wish that the developers would realize that many of us play for fun, relaxation, and the story. We are not 16 years old, in our parents basement, covered with chip crumbs and game sweat :-). We want to play...not respawn continually.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best stealth-action games of 2013

posted by RcKDrUmm3R (WEST MILFORD, NJ) Sep 1, 2013

Member since Feb 2012

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Splinter cell blacklist is a perfect mixture of Batman Arkham Asylum and Metal Gear Solid, two GREAT games. The stealth is awesome, the cover system is great (a little annoying though) and there's a huge variety of customization. The gameplay is a nice challenge but I think there should be a scope/zoom fuction on the weapons, especially since you upgrade your weapons with scopes! LOL The thing that made me hooked on this game was the amount of gadgets, weapons and options for customizing them. This alone seems to warrant multiple play-throughs even though it seems pretty easy to unlock most of them pretty quickly. There's a huge variety of missions too. You have the campaign missions and you have the side missions you can play alone or with a friend. Blacklist's biggest downfall?? The graphics. They aren't bad but for how recent this game is, it most certainly cannot compete with games like the Last of Us. If you're into games that mix stealth and action together, I HIGHLY recommend you rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Quite the Same

posted by sgt077 (BRANDON, FL) Oct 12, 2013

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am an old Splinter Cell player back to the PC game days and it has always been one of my favorite series of all. The changes are subtle in SCBL with Sam looking and sounding different, the lack of detailed continuity from Conviction to Blacklist to the racking up money to purchase gear which turns Sam into a mercenary and not a patriot soldier.

The game play is excellent except for the side missions where you have to start at the beginning if you are killed or discovered and the inability to start a new game.

The one major problem with the game was killing or capturing Sadiq and the X button would not work during game play. This is a game problem that should be fixed before the game was released and it is a problem across all game platforms so be warned in you rent it,

All in all a good game in the series, but far below my expectations as a veteran of Sam Fisher's missions through the years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Welcome Back Splinter Cell !!!

posted by b540i Aug 24, 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I am a long term fan of the series, but disappointed over the last few releases until now. Blacklist has solid gameplay. Gadgets are back bigtime. AI deployments randomized, which means major re-play. AI on realistic and above are smart and notice everything in their environment. Take your time to enjoy this release, do not rush thru campaign. Look around and notice the ultra graphics beauty and sound. Enemies will snore, shocked bad guys will scream and you will laugh. To date, I have not tried the mulitplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The details are STUNNING!!!

posted by itschazz (WILMINGTON, DE) Aug 24, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I never played a splinter cell game before so i thought i would give this a try and the one second i popped the disk in, downloaded the texture pack, and saw the first cut-scene i truly fell in love with the shadows, the art, the face art, also something i really don't see which is face emotions. Getting into the game-play and story-line, both exceeded my expectations, the story is very simple but very deep and draws you closer and closer, while the game-play was awesome(even though I do get irritated when I meant to do one action but another action happens to cost me my progress in the mission. Voice work is pretty good, all of the characters really enhance each other and makes the reactions with each other very much realistic and well written. Overall a great game to BUY and definitely worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Superb Cell

posted by SoulStain (RESEDA, CA) Aug 23, 2013

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Great game. Great graphics. Great controls. Great story. Great acting. Great Great Great Great Great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cant Be Serious!!!!!!

posted by noangelbh (CAMPBELL, CA) Aug 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 14 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Those who give this game a 10 must be playing something else or blindly grading the game out of being a fan

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Splinter Cell : Blacklisted

posted by dwonser (MEMPHIS, TN) Aug 28, 2013

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This is an alright game. Up until you start to see that if your not perfect in Ghost ( trip over a rock on the ground at the end of the level), you will restart the level completely. And don't forget about assualt. There you play an arena style game in waves. Dont expect to reach level 15. There are these homeless guys that unleash endless dogs that grab you by your wrist and hold you in place to lose. And then there are these robot sending idiots that have a manufacturing line in there pocket, sending hundreds of exploding droids out that can kill you in one explosion. Combine both and you have a disaster waiting to happen. This game is just a total disaster. The best part was Panther with a friend. Not even worth a rent. How disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Worth a try

posted by nflhomeboy86 (POTOMAC, MD) Apr 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Gameplay 9/10: I like that this is like an old school Splinter Cell game. You can go in like a ninja and gain xp for that. The game is pretty difficult even on the easiest difficulty, which can be annoying if you are not well known with such games. You can also customize your character with weapons, clothing that help your character, and other cool features. The movements of the players are realistic, but also repetitive at times. That doesn't seem to be a problem though.

Graphics 6.5/10: There is no justice done with the graphics here. It is not up to par with the graphics of recent games, but it's still better than the last splinter cell.

Story 9.5/10: The story here is great and interesting. I couldn't wait until the end to find out what happens. Although there are no real twist or turns, you stay intrigued throughout the game.

Sound 7/10: The music in the game is good, not great. The shooting is somewhat lackluster of a real gun sound. And the new voice actor is a hit or a miss whether you like him or not. He is not in the same ballpark as the previous actor, but I thought he did a decent job.

Multiplayer 3/10: Don't expect to do much after beating the campaign. The online is not fun in any way. This is the main reason I am not keeping the game.

Overall 9/10: You should definitely rent the game, but buying it will be up to whether you like the multiplayer at all or not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Brings Back the Genre with a Bang

posted by xxChaosFactorx (UNION, MO) Mar 19, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

Splinter Cell Blacklist is a great game, but it does have some minor flaws that bring the experience down. First of all, the gameplay is amazingly satisfying but only at certain times. There was many a times that I found the controls to be clunky or non reliable. I would go to press one button to do one thing, but because there are multiple actions mapped to one button, he would do something I didn't want him to do. The level design was pretty good, but I feel like the "hidden" passages weren't so hidden. Then the story, it's nothing compared to conviction. It would of been nice to have a meaningful reason to be kill, kill, killing people all over the place. None of these things really kill the experience for me, they just got under my skin a little bit. Also they brought back the Spys vs. Mercs multiplayer mode which is absolutely excellent. Its a really fun mode, and can keep you invested for hours. If you love stealth games, this game is a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Strongest Splinter Cell To Date!

posted by doctorducky (NORTH HILLS, CA) Mar 1, 2014

Member since Jun 2012

I've been a Splinter Cell fan since day one, and in my opinion this is by far the best yet. The game is nearly perfect. Warning, the following may contain slight spoilers.

THE GOOD:
The storyline is terrific. Sam became head of the newly developed Fourth Echelon, which has a tightknit crew consisting of established characters and new additions. I love how great they work together, and there is an subtle tension between all characters, which you learn more about as you progress, and the serious tone fits the game perfectly. The SMI in Sam's HQ aboard the Paladin, is a fantastic user interface tool, that allows players to access any content within the game, whether it's the story missions, side missions (which there is a surprisingly good amount of), multiplayer, bonus content, etc. This makes the game easy to navigate and adds to the replayability. You can approach any mission in a variety of ways in terms of tactics and achieving mission objectives. You can go the signature stealth route or assault style. The option to kill or spare your enemies was thankfully added back into this game - which Conviction failed to include. Also, the knife is back :) I find it more challenging to subdue enemies rather than kill them, but that's the great thing about this game. It's the players choice, and the tools are laid out for you that suits your style. Graphics are solid, gameplay is addictive, and there is a ton of content to explore in the game. Longtime fans will be surprised at how this game makes an explosive comeback. Go buy/rent it now.

THE BAD:
The same button is used to swap weapons and to pick up bodies, and is singly the most frustrating thing in the game. There are a couple other minor hiccups in the controls. The Multiplayer deserves a review in itself, I'd give it a 6/10.

THE UGLY:
Michael Ironside is not voicing Sam. Once you mourn the loss though, the new voice actor is not half bad. Grim is also kind of strange looking now. Hard-freezes happen on oc

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

If you're into that stuff...

posted by Giraffey14 (MANASSAS, VA) Feb 12, 2014

Member since Sep 2013

I couldn't play the game for more than an hour at a time because I only play the hardest difficulty. And it was hard. However, this game was good. Nice to look at, good mapping...the only problem was that stealth vs. combat was unbalanced. This game is stealth, but everyone already knows that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Taking away the in-process saves ruins it

posted by morgan72 (STRATFORD, CT) Feb 12, 2014

Member since Oct 2006

Stealth games are a lot of fun and give a unique play style vs button mashing shooters. The best stealth titles let the player save at will to allow for some trial and error to get everything perfect. Since SC took away this feature the game has lost its luster, you're too often taking the easy route and for that i slid it back in its envelope and shipped it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

"I wonder if your friends can shoot around you."

posted by Deathletter (SPRINGDALE, AR) Feb 5, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Graphics: 10/10.
Gameplay: 8/10.
Story: 7/10
Customization: 8/10
Voice Acting: 9/10
Replay Value: 8/10

Notes: I'm a fan of the retro Splinter Cell games like Chaos Theory and Double Agent, so I was a bit hesitant to try this one out. You've might of heard it said that this game brings back the nostalgia but has mixed in some Conviction, and I'd have-to-half agree. It's lacking alot of things that really made Fisher feel like a Splinter Cell such as computer hacking, decryption deciphering, searching file cabinets, etc.. Blacklist does however have a modified version of computer hacking using a simple button press. A few moves are gone as well like the "split jump," but in their place Sam has a whole new arsenal of CQC takedowns at his disposal. Sam now moves quicker and smoother across the environment, and has a few cool toys to work with too. For all the old school Splinter Cell fans out there, I recommend picking this up because it is now again possible to "ghost" your way through a level, although some moments you're forced to engage.

Negatives: Sam Fisher is missing his "real" voice, plus he looks about 30.
The Heavily Armoured enemies are irritating if engaging.
The 360 version has two discs that you have to swap between.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Blacklist

posted by chief6272 (EL DORADO SPRINGS, MO) Feb 4, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

my wife and I look for the 2 player games mostly, and most of the new games aren't very good when it come to 2 player. but this is the best we've played in a long time.. the controls aren't very good but the game in split screen mode is awesome. highly recommend this game for the couples out there like us, kick back on cold winter nights and make a game of it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

A Step Backwards

posted by Try2PoopHarder (SAINT GEORGE, UT) Jan 30, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

After playing Splinter Cell Conviction, my expectations were really high for this game. However, the game design is all about nice graphics and as a result, it runs choppy, and the aiming controls are horrible. I only say this, because I feel that Splinter Cell Conviction was masterful in comparison. This latest instalment left me frustrated and annoyed as a gamer, because I feel the game was difficult to play as a result of bad physics and gameplay issues. It looks amazing, but that cannot compensate for sluggish controls.

Overall, I would not suggest renting this game, especially after playing Splinter Cell Conviction which I gave a 10/10 review.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing!!

posted by Slozer82 (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Jan 23, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Huge Splinter Cell Fan..This one topped the list of them all. Tough at some points but overall experience was great.

Now 2015 Splinter Cell Movie Release!! CAN'T WAIT

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Play on perfectionist

posted by lonnyp (OLIVEHURST, CA) Jan 23, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

If you play this game on the perfectionist difficulty, you will get a more of a chaos theory style of game play. otherwise, it is just like conviction. The story is interesting but kinda forgettable. Spies vs mercs is back and that is always fun. Sam isnt voiced by Ironside, but I think the new guy does a decent job.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

pretty good

posted by mechwarrior1 (CONCORD, NC) Jan 22, 2014

Member since May 2012

it was a very decent storyline pretty easy to follow, lots of the usual splinter cell talk 3rd echelon and what not lol..... had fun didnt finish it because i really wanted assassins creed on xbox one lol but good co op to definetly worth the rent but not 60$

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

the second disc didnt work

posted by nolson (TOLEDO, WA) Jan 22, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

the 2 disc didn't work

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

On the fence!

posted by Disipher (WESTLAND, MI) Jan 12, 2014

Member since Dec 2007

I was on the fence for awhile about if I wanted to buy this. I decided to pick it up. No regrets! The story is great, the feel of the game is better than conviction was. I absolutely love to multiplayer! It feels fresh, like nothing else out there. It's a must buy game! I don't buy many game either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Surprised to be so dissapointed

posted by Wraith2321 (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jan 6, 2014

Member since Nov 2007

I was ready to play this game, especially after how awesome Conviction was. Sadly though, even with all the extras, upgrades, gadets, stuff to buy, and so forth, the game falls short based on the gameplay and the look and feel of it.

It seems the developers decided to focus on making multiplayer and tons of extra stuff to do, yet a quick comparison against Conviction and this game doesn't have a hope of measuring up on sheer looks alone. I can't believe it's branded with being made via the Unreal engine!!! Then of course there's the gameplay, which simply isn't any fun. I gave it a few missions, but I just couldn't get past the sheer choppiness. I simply can't believe that this game was sent out with it being so unpolished. And then of course there is the HD pack. The game looks and feels terrible with it installed, I don't even want to consider how it must be without it.

Overall---
Pros: I rented it on Gamefly

Cons:
Serious lack of polish. You'd think Conviction was the newest release in the series.
Worst unreal engine game I've ever seen (and I don't recall seeing a bad one, ever!)
Choppy gameplay, and just an overall bad look.
Based on in game dialogue, it seems this game is supposed to take place after Conviction, but the characters look, and the main characters voice are simply terrible!!

I wouldn't call this a AAA title. Maybe a single A based on it's initial price point being so high? Other than that, this game is not worthy of being a Splinter Cell title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fair Nothing To Write Home About

posted by MrNutJob (VENICE, CA) Jan 5, 2014

Member since May 2013

A bit surprised at the over 8 point score from most here... The Main Solo Mission was fair but Sam Fisher sure could use an Enema! Talk about Stiff, in fact the whole 'crew' of this new Splinter Cell seemed more Officious than a Cabinet meeting at the White House. These folks operating outside of the law even disobey the President! Talk about Stars and Stripes.

I think too many liberties were taken here in the Story, I think we should start reviewing CONTENT more and not worry about the Gameplay so much.

All this 'Side Mission' stuff is just another way of saying: "I couldn't handle the Real Story, so let me give them all this as well..."

Essentially this one is good looking but not in keeping with the Splinter Cell from last time in Vegas.

I don't really need the Go USA thing and all...

I can catch that on CNN.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games ive ever played

posted by gunznbutta (MECHANICSBURG, PA) Jan 3, 2014

Member since Aug 2012

i honestly thought this was one of the best gamess ive ever played!controlles were perfect,graphics great. awsome game didnt wanna put it down after i started playing.i loved it so much i think i played for 12 hours at one point. theres so manny ways u can do the missions so u r never board.i recomend u buy this game!it has a very high replay value! GET THIS GAME!! you will b impressed!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse