Rent Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell 3D for 3DS
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell 3D

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.5

349 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
6

Above Average

A little polish would have been nice...

posted by Senorsnoo (PALM COAST, FL) Apr 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a pretty big Splinter Cell fan, and Chaos Theory is one of my favorite titles in the franchise. This was mainly owed to the raditude of the co-op mode, which was unfortunately cut from this port for the 3DS. The single player campaign is still a good play, and the game is a solid rent.

The game misses in a few areas though, and it's a shame. It feels like this title was rushed, and, given a few more months, could have been a respectable remake of an awesome game.

Pros:
-Same fun stealth play as CT's single player campaign.
-3D effect is very cool in some areas (the focus effect when using guns is particularly nice.)
-Voice acting is on par with console Splinter Cell titles (however, there are more than a few discrepancies in the script and the voices. This gives more evidence to the "not quite polished" theory.)

Cons:
-The loading times will make you want throw your fancy new 3DS out of a window. If you die in this game, you might as well go grab a drink and maybe take a bathroom break, you're gonna be waiting a while. Often.
-Saving is a strange beast in this game. It would have been nice to incorporate a system where I could save anytime.
-The AI feels very dumbed down. These guys are morons. I played on Hard mode, but there really isn't much of a challenge to this game, at least compared to some of the other Splinter Cell titles.
-The graphics could have used a shine here and there. I understand that this is new (3D) technology, but really, the bad guys faces reminded me of the Goldeneye days. Just a big ol' smiling polygon face, being dragged into the darkness. Kind of weird.

All in all, if you're a Splinter Cell fan, definitely give this a rent. It'll be nostalgic, if nothing else. A co-op mode and some smarter bad guys could have bumped this game up to an 8 or 9.

What a Pity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Milking the Cow.

posted by indierocker774 (NAPLES, FL) Apr 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Ubi is milking the cow that is the 3DS launch by releasing (mostly) remakes and shoddy games. Splinter Cell 3D is a poor remake of 2005's Chaos Theory. SP:3D is laggy, has low quality textures, terrible lighting, akward controls and poorly reworked levels.

-Textures look their from a PS1 era game for the most part. It really can get that bad.
-The game suffers from random lag. It's obvious from the begining that the game is definitely not ever running at a full 30fps, even with 3D disabled.
-The light is tacked on. I've only come across two areas in the game so far that I've said to myself "Now that looks like the lighting the Splinter Cell franchise is known for!". For the most part of the game, the lighting is fixed. Meaning it can't be shot out or manipulated.
-Ubi reworked all of the levels, cutting out sections, adding sections and rearranging others. For 85% of the time, the level won't be the same for those that have played the original. And that's just a sad fact.

Verdict- If you've played the original, stay away. If you just can't resist, do yourself the favor of renting. And if you've never played Chaos Theory in any form, buy it for PC, PS2, XBOX or GameCube on an e-tailer and enjoy it to it's fullest. Even the PS2 version is vastly superior to this crud.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GR34T

posted by zachdude (FINKSBURG, MD) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

4 L0T B3TT3R TH4N GH0$T R3C0N

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

STRAIGHT TO THE POINT

posted by FatherDoom (MIAMI BEACH, FL) Apr 27, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

if your like me reading all the negative reviews
but you still want to give splinter cell a chance think again

i rented this game convinced that i would enjoy it
despite what others said i am a splinter cell fan
and have beat chaos theory multiple times
point is
this game is a cash in
it is terrible trash

graphics wise

it looks like a low budget psp game
3D does nothing in this game
it adds no depth it just does nothing

bad camera makes moving stealthy unenjoyable

short sloppy it just should not have been made its that bad

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

it was okay?

posted by christchex91 (COTTAGE GROVE, OR) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

i was a pretty fun game but some how not as good as it could have been based on the fact that it was for the 3ds i expected better from this one however the game stays true to its original but having to use the touch screen for so so much of the game play got a tad bit tiresome all and all worth a try if you have yet to play its original for the x-box

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

SP 3D

posted by dsiwilliam (SCHLATER, MS) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

I love the stealth experience of splinter cell, and this is a very good rendition of the Gamecube version of Chaos Theory. It has all of Sam's gadgets including the SC-20K, FN 5.7 pistol, combat knife and all of Sam's moves from the original version. It also has fusion goggles which is a one vision goggle set combining night, thermal, and electronic vision in one viewing mode. The touch screen controls work very well as you use them to select your gear and weaponry and to perform other actions. 3D seemed somewhat mild to me but certainly not terrible. Only one problem with this game. It has a large amount of cursing and there is no voice volume to cut it out. I would have bought it if it had only had a feature to knock out the language. If cursing bothers you then don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Might have promise, couldn't find it.

posted by Qender (SANTA MONICA, CA) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

This game might be good. It looks like there's plenty of good game to be had. To bad I couldn't get to it.

To start out. There's a video that was poorly converted into 3D. When will game designers learn how completely unacceptable bad 3d is to the human brain. It's painful to see and it's totally distracting. Distant buildings appearing closer than the parking lot in front of them and people who are flat against walls and bend along with the floor make me want to shut my eyes and rub my face until I forget what I just saw.

Then after that, the game starts. except I got to a part where it says to press the up button to jump. I pressed it and nothing happened. I pressed all the buttons and no one jumped. I checked the menus and the settings. I ran in circles and pushed against walls. Nothing would make me jump. So I quit.

I might have tried again if the controls didn't feel like guiding a blind man through a mirror-maze with sign language.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by bodiewimer (ARCOLA, MO) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

yeah its way better than ghost recon, its really fun but i cant reload my pistol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fairly good game, better than launch games

posted by VipSphinx (EL PASO, TX) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2008

I rented this game and it seems pretty fair game to start with. I am a huge Tom Clansy's fan but I had never been fan of the Splinter Cell series only Ghost Recon and Raimbow Six. Anyways, it has a good pace graphics are an improvement. I just don't have the patience of slow games. Still a good rent but not a good buy. Remember this is a remake from the the 2005 Splinter Cell.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »