Rent Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas for PS3
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.0

3783 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game with an ok story. RENT

posted by Chibisand (YOUNGSTOWN, NY) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Pros
-cover system
-teammate strategies
-customizable weopon sets and weapons
-open ended rooms and free flow of strategy
-online is very customizable with armor and weopons
-customizations online affect gameplay
-ok story
-realistic vegas atmosphere and recreations
-good co op mode

cons
-graphics are ok but could have been polished
-enemy ai is sometimes just plain stupid (staring at u on other side of window before you break the glass in)
-not all online customization affects gameplay
-some inexplained characters or characters just appear
-some levels failed without knowing why

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A Must Play

posted by db1980 (DAMASCUS, MD) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was excellent. I really loved the 3rd person view. I am now a lover of Rainbow six. As a first time player I recommend it to every one who loves combat.

Can't wait to play the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tom Clancy's RAINBOWSIX VEGAS

posted by GAMCritic2 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Mar 13, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I had played and beat the game Tom Clancy's RAINBOWSIX VEGAS. POSITIVE: the weapons are great. The controls are ok. The game play is great. You can use team tactics in this game. NEGATIVE: the graphics need improvement. This game is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great tactical shooter

posted by Trenton (STRATFORD, CT) Jul 20, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The game will not disappoint anyone. It' s realism makes a great experience for experts at tactical shooting games. Rookies may find the game challenging. The graphics look great from a distance. The enemies may look corny up close. It features many weapons and great physics. The on line play has just as much play value as single player. This game will keep you playing for months. It is fun for many people. Rainbow Six Vegas is not best for everyone and should be rented first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Rainbow Six Vegas Its Just Good

posted by Locs13 (MONTEBELLO, CA) Jun 3, 2008

Member since Dec 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas Is a good game but its nothing more than that. I think Tom Clancy forgot that this game is for the Ps3 because the graphics are like somthing from a Ps2 and the game play is good but it has a short story and its kind of an easy game to beat. And at times I found it hard to see and hear things but its still a fun game and once you get to actualy play online thats allways fun. Evin though it was hard for me to actualy join a game and play but once I did you get points and you get to unlock some stuff and thats always fun. If your a Tom Clancy's fan then you might be a little disapointed because Tom's games are usualy pretty good but for your "FPS" fans you might find this game to be just a fun one time game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A very good game

posted by Prime1cast (SILVER SPRING, MD) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Nevr played any Tom Clancy game but this is a very good game. The graphics are not that sharp but the game game is excelent. You control 2 other players and tell them where to go and they help a lot, they are not perfect but they are way better than what you would expect. The story is good not great but its a video game so what do you expect.
The game is also pretty challenging but not that it is imposible to master. Plus the game is so intriguing that you wan to finish it. Most games in this generation are short but this game has a good lenght to it. Plus the online gameplay is just fine, not great for the new batch of games. Maybe when it came out it was great but now it is just ok. A MUST rent and if you have a PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!!

posted by Mikey76 (SPARKS GLENCOE, MD) Apr 14, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Rainbow 6 Vegas is almost as good as it gets. Very similar gameplay to COD4 ... it's awesome! Definately a must play for any shooter fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Highly recommend!!

posted by Yoda8123 (NORTH VERSAILLES, PA) Mar 29, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome the single player missions are very realistic the AI is some of the best the PS3 has to offer. Some of the maps have very noticeable lighting issues you will find yourself wearing night vision in areas where lights are such as a hallway in a hotel or a restaurant. The multiplayer is insanely competitive and fun the pace of the entire game isn't extremely fast but enough to keep the action going their is rarely a dull moment in RS6V. The multiplayer does have some bugs like issues with connecting to a game host. Once started however you will not want to quit playing. A 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

enjoyed

posted by Dajisc (ARDMORE, OK) Feb 29, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed this game good enough for a shooter anyways . The squad ordering is easy to do . Pretty much they kept it simple. I feel myself the AI serves a pretty strong opponent. sometimes they can do some dumb stuff but the prove to be a challenge here and there.

I didn't like the constant darkness it forced me to have to use night vision the whole game almost . i couldn't enjoy the graphics . cause i stayed in green or heat seeking goggles. seldom could i go without them. corse my TV has a tendency to play to dark to so don't let that discourage you.

Overall i liked the game very tactical . and i love tactical . I'd buy it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST shooter game I have played in years!!!!

posted by hart316 (SAINT JOHN, IN) Nov 6, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've recently played and finished, Gears of War, Resistance: Fall of man, Splinter cell: Double Agent, and none compare to this game...as far as the game play is concerned. About 70% done with the game after a week of having it and playing the realistic mode (DARN..is it hard!!!), but at least I don't blow by the game, which some of the ones I mentioned are easy enough in the regular mode. DEFINATELY hard game, and FUN! I love the environments and scenarios and the enemies are tough and smart too, sometimes too overwhelming!

I'm glad I gave this game a chance and rented it, not knowing what I was in store for!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Alot of fun!

posted by Liquidswar (BROOMFIELD, CO) Jul 6, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

23 out of 27 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

This is another great cover and shoot game. I strongly recommend playing it on "Realistic" setting, because this game does a good job of briging that real life fire fight to the screen. Also, for once you'll be using that smoke screen and flash bangs effectively.

Pros: Well made cover and shoot. (If played on realistic setting) single player missions will take a while to beat. Multiplayer is one of the best!

Cons: Co-op single player just doesn't work well without your A.I. friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic!

posted by razgriz94 (FREDERICK, MD) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

11 out of 16 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

This game is AMAZING! Easily one of the best games out for the PlayStation 3 so far. Online multiplayer is the best I've ever played. I highly recommend this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good Game!

posted by Droops (SPENCER, MA) Jul 10, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The single player storyline is fun. The split screen is fun as well, but you cant face each other, you can only face computer. The online is great but it does have some bugs. It's a must rent/buy for anyone who likes shooter games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the few must buys!

posted by HerdJC (MILTON, WV) Jun 29, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Having never played the 360 version, I have nothing to compare this title to. However, I can't help but be very, very impressed with this game. Graphics seem a bit murky, but overall pretty good. Sound effects and music fit well and the AI is actually challenging.

Online is one of the best so far for a PS3 game. In-game access to your XMB friends list helps to send invites to your friends. The only thing to complain about online is open mics, but it's easy to find out who it is that's talking on their cell phone and mute them.

Well worth and rent and probably well worth the purchase as well!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This is the real deal.

posted by JMan1992 (SAN JOSE, CA) Jul 18, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Games like Vegas are the kind were you have to stick to cover all the time, you can't just run and gun. The graphics are amazing, the AI is pretty decent, and the storyline is a great aspect of the game. I would recomend it to you hardcore gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by jmtgsxr (TRACY, CA) Jul 18, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I am not big fan of first person view games but this one was fun and exciting. With that said here goes my negatives: I wish I had better control over my team, such as breach with smoke, what weapons to take, where to move via map view, and sniper overwatch.

Once again this is a great game and could easily get a 10 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great game but

posted by senorDHas (SPARKILL, NY) Jul 11, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Awesome game. I was dissapointed that it took so long to come out for the ps3. After being scheduled for release in February, and almost every 2 weeks being delayed for another 2 weeks till now I was guessing that they were eliminating all the big bugs, and expecting a couple of small ones. - When this game is played at 1080 the graphics are very blurry. This is a known problem that ubisoft does not have a solution for except to manually set the ps3 to 720p resolution or lower. Irritating that they could let all the games ship out with this major problem.

Overall, I still love the game and play it all the time, even after having played it on my friends 360's for 3/4 of a year... This game is addicting as heck, and it is def my favorite game for the ps3!

Hopefully ubisoft will make a patch to correct the resolution problem in the near future...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a great game to get the ps3 back on its feet

posted by redbullets (ATLANTA, GA) Jul 9, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Rainbow Six Vegas is an outstanding shooter that any PS3 owner should play through. Being one of the first "good" shooters since Resistance, it is definitely worth renting.
The gameplay fits very nicely, switching between 1st and 3rd person perspective smoothly. PS3 power renders nice graphics, though shading could be a little better. The AI in campaign reacts to your position in the game and will flank you and take effective cover, not just running out in the middle to be gunned down. Your squad also works together with you, calling out enemy positions and fending for themselves, not constantly having to be babysat by you.
Online multiplayer also achieves a up. With over a hundred different ways to customize your character, you can stand out on the battlefield unique. Ubisoft also included all of the map packs free for the PS3, instead of spending cash to buy them on the Xbox 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

What happens in vegas comes to PS3!

posted by 123321 (LERNA, IL) Aug 5, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Making a lot of mischief is what Rainbow Six does! Now this famous game is making it's way to Vegas, baby, and is still whooping terrorist butt! Since the graphics are less impressive than it's 360 counterpart, my rating drop's to a 9, but that's the only flaw in this game, so the game still deserves much respect. It' s also hands-down that the sound of guns firing and grenades exploding are incredibly satisfying. So, if you're a fan of tactical action, this is a must-play game for you!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game must buy!!!!

posted by vicecity21 (DEAL, NJ) Jun 28, 2007

Member since May 2005

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is great the cover feature is great its a great rent and a must buy =p

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good game but...

posted by hemidrums (ELMHURST, IL) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

once i loaded the game, the graphics were horrible. i had in on 1080p. i only played the game for 10 minutes or less, and got so mad due to the graphics i returned it. after reading some articles, about changing it to 720p, i didn't know at the time. the gameplay was great, it just looked worse than a ps2 on a 52 lcd...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but can and was better

posted by MD0814 (SPRINGFIELD, IL) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The First PS3 rainbow six was good. Terrific story, great gameplay, good graphics. However the close quarters combat could be improved. Unlike COD4, you have to shoot the target if he comes outta nowhere. And even on normal, one shot and your dead up close. But nevertheless a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

YIKES

posted by Powertaker (ORLAND, IN) Mar 7, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This is the kind of game that makes you happy that you have a subscription to Gamefly. I had this game less than 24 hours before it went back in the envelope and out in the mail.

I was very disapointed with just about everything in the game from the graphics (terrible) to the bad sound, unrealistic voices, and the controls. I really can't think of one single good thing to say about it. It makes me really consider not even trying Vegas 2 which comes out next week, and that is a shame since i really like Tom Clancy, his movies and the books that they are based on. C'mon Tom, you really should not endorse trash like this!!!

Please save yourself the heartache and don't even consider renting or buying this game, I am betting you will not like it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

For all the delays it wasent worth it.

posted by thdot44 (REVERE, MA) Jul 1, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

After how ever many months of delays this went through, this game was very disappointing. the graphics are ps2 quality, and that is with HDMI cable and a tv that supports 1080p. so the graphics do not have any excuses. there is nothing that we havent seen before with game play. the online play is good but again it doesnt bring anything new to the table. its a four level ranking system, private 2nd class, pfc, major, Sergeant major. online it has character customization, for anyone has played syphon filter omega strain online this is a much smaller model of custimaztion. this game is good to rent for the ps3 because the ps3 hasent put a good shooter out since resistance. rent it have fun return it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas

posted by cpstreets (SAN LUIS OBISPO, CA) Aug 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

I knew I was going to be let down when I saw the game's main menu. In 1080p on the top of the line Sharp 46" LCD, the interface was UGLY. The words were blurry, the colors were bland, and even the background image was poorly rendered. This game appears to be ported directly from the 360 and thus suffers immensely in the graphics department. Though the gameplay was fast-paced and exciting, it was hard to ignore the ugly landscapes I had to trek through. The 700 megabyte downloadable demo of GRAW2 looks infinitely better than this game. I was thoroughly disappointed after seeing the PC version and sent the game back the same day I received it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse