Rent Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PSP Games, PS3
GF Rating
8.0

11272 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great for almost everyone

posted by eman14 (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 5, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

82 out of 91 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I really, really, really enjoy this game. I knew I would from the first video I saw of it. Also, Ubisoft (specifically the Montreal branch) is my favorite developer so I knew it was in the right hands. Well, lets get to the review then.

Graphics: Guns, characters, buildings, enemies, the Strip, shards of glass, and even knocked over poker chips look amazing. Xbox 360 games just keep getting better and better in this department. Despite popular conversations, I don't think the multiplayer graphics look bad at all. This game is full of delicious eye candy, but does it have good game play to back it up?

9/10

Gameplay: Probably the best part of the game. Issuing orders to your squad members via your headset works great and is almost always accurate. It is just that your vocabulary is limited and you will notice that you will be repeating yourself a lot. Doing all the interesting things like rappelling and fast roping is available with one press of the A button. Taking cover is also easy to access, because all that is required is pressing and holding the left trigger against a surface.

10/10

Design: I tend to favor gameplay the most, but just behind it is the way a game sets me up for the action by either a fantastic plot, or great design. Unfortunately, R6V has a paper-thin plot that is filled with many expected twists and turns. The main design is basically the opposite in that it takes tactical gaming and transforms it into an easy to learn, but at the same time challenging experience.

8/10

Value/Replayability: If you enjoy the single-player mode at all, then multiplayer will rock your world. Why not play the entire story mode co-op with up to 3 other people online? Or join 15 people in an intense terrorist hunt? Online is great fun and highly recommended. The single payer is also replayable in that there are multiple paths to take in all the levels.

10/10

Rent R6V no matter what. There's great fun to be had.

Total: 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Real GOTY for 2006

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Sep 28, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

29 out of 32 gamers (91%) found this review helpful

Historically, I've not been a big R6 fan. Seemed to have way more micro-management than I liked and my squad's AI seemed deficient as they seldom went where I wanted them to go. I'm also too lazy to plan out attacks in the depth needed for those games.

But then I tried the demo of this and adored it.

You start the game in Mexico, in an area that looks not too dissimilar to GRAW. But after that, you are sent to Las Vegas and the game REALLY comes into its own. Las Vegas is an inspired choice for this game, as a tactical shooter in a casino is a concept so brilliant I'm baffled nobody tried it before. Tons of hiding spots, tons of cover, and just some incredible visuals make this a great package.

In fact, I've seen online people saying the visuals weren't that hot. I'm not sure which game they were playing, but it could not have been this one. THIS title was stellar to look at and great to play. Controlling your squad is easy enough and they have enough sense to not get themselves killed quickly.

Co-op online gameplay is phenomenal. Me and my brother routinely play co-op terrorist hunt on the Calypso casino level and the amazing thing is that the enemies are not in the same spot twice and seldom take the same route or do the same thing. It makes every playthru both brutally difficult AND unique, which is all you can ask for.

You will not regret picking this game up. A true classic in every sense of the word. It is all you could want in a team-based shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Terrific shooter, still fun to play 3 1/2yrs later

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Jul 30, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Reviewing and playing this in 2010 for the first time, I actually had a lot of fun playing this game. I thought Rainbow Six Vegas 2 was awesome, so I tried this one.

This genre redefined the typical shooter, making strategy and teamwork absolutely essential. You cannot just run from place to place like it's Call of Duty or Gears of War or something. You must use cover, and work with your 2 squad members to clear enemies, rooms, and the surrounding area.

Using the team, you can give them various button commands. The game is based around using these commands to make your 2 mates do various moves. Examples would be commanding them to move to a door, and clear the room while you sit back and relax. They can also breach a door and clear the room. You can have them in front of you the whole time while you pick off guys from the back. Also, you can command them to throw smoke and grenades.

Once you get the hang of the controls for this game, it becomes a lot of fun. There is a good sized learning curve here if you don't play TC games, or if you are a COD player. Once you memorize the buttons and commands, it's very smooth and fun to play.

Though frustrating at times, because you can't take barely any bullet hits, it forces you to think your way across the levels. Online play is still fun, though Vegas2 is better and has a mini-game mode.

If you are a fan of shooters, this is a must to add to the mix. Even though the graphics are poor since the game is old, it's still a ton of fun.

Milt Drucker - gamertag

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Viva Rainbow Six Vegas!

posted by Funfactor (Cypress, CA) Feb 11, 2007

Member since Sep 2005

21 out of 30 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

played the demo a couple of months back and thought it was great, but I've been so busy I didn't get around to playing the full version until yesterday. Let me tell ya' this game is really hurting me right now with some of the best game play and entertainment I've gotten out of a game in a long time.
If you've played Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter you will be right at home with Rainbow Six: Vegas. Controls are very similar, layout and design, as well as level structure. The graphics are top notch and lots of weapons can be used and modified in almost every level. However, the best part of this game is the incredible story that pulls you in when the game starts and never lets go. This keeps you wanting to continue playing after hours of play even though it's super late and gun fire is waking up your wife and the next door neighbors at 2am. Hands down I would recommend this game not just to hardcore shooter fans but to all gamers. It's not too realistic and is pretty simple to pick up and play with tips to help at the beginning of the game that layout specific controls and strategies. Don't miss out, this is definitely one of the top 5 Xbox 360 games you should own!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Oh how Ive missed thee

posted by BruinsFan (BEVERLY, MA) Dec 15, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

29 out of 43 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

It was my first real experience on Xboxlive. It made your heart pump, it made your controller bounce off the wall (with a little help). Im talking of course of Rainbow Six 3. I loved that game.
Then UbiSoft came out with that debacle called Lockdown. I had lost faith in the Rainbow Six series.
One Nex-Gen console later, faith restored. Rainbow Six:Vegas brings back everything we loved about tactical FPS'ers. The great level design is there, the one good thing from lock down (P.E.C.) has been brought to the nex-gen as well.
P.E.C. (Persistent Elite Creation) means as you play you earn points to upgrade weapons, armor and rank, very addictive. Complete with face mapping using the Xbox vision cam.
The graphics are pretty good, not mind blowing, but the game play more than makes up for it.
Multiplayer is where the meat is at. Large fun well thought out maps. A variety of game modes as including adversarial and co-op.
If your looking for a great tactical shooter, look no further. Rainbow Six is back with a flash bank. Do not miss this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tighhhhhhht

posted by Lled89 (CROFTON, MD) Jan 4, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This game is the best!! i mean sure i am no good at the campaign cause i suck against AI but when i play Xbox live it throws out the Slowness of the Story and gives you the chance to make your own guy and Live the Rainbow life of your DREAMS!!!! Most of the Rainbow games have been bull cause of stupid AI now in Story your Team mates aren't stupid enough to throw a grenade at a closed doors or stand still when being shot. or saying Clear when dead.. If only i could be a rainbow :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Glitchy, repetative and mediocre

posted by DrChops (THE DALLES, OR) Feb 8, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game seemed like it was phonin' it in the whole time, I can't count how many times I died because of glitches...there was even a point where it glitched so bad I beat a level, but it respawned ALL of the enemies and wouldn't messed up my checkpoint record and saves...so I had to start completely over...I'm not bein' harsh...this is s a fun game with a GREAT concept and some awesome ideas and some cool equipment...but it just seemed half-baked and rushed...over all, it's worth playin', but there's a lot of things that are worth playin' a LOT more...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Too Challenging

posted by TwentyOne (ROSEBURG, OR) Dec 26, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I thought this might be a good game to play, especially after trying out the demo on Xbox Live Marketplace, but it was definitely WAY too hard for myself. You die very quickly, and the checkpoints seem to be too spaced apart. I grew tired of it too quickly. I didn't even bother trying to finish the first level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rainbow 6 done right

posted by Notaro (OCEAN CITY, NJ) Nov 22, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

14 out of 24 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Finally, Since the N64 game, this is the first rainbow 6 I've enjoyed. They finally got the team gameplay there for the online play. Cover system is similiar to g.r.a.w.'s but it carries over to xbox live. Graphics are very good, though not as amazing when you've been spending alot of time on GOW. Lots of guns/armor/other options. Plenty of casino close quarter fun, and definitely a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great FPS

posted by Texan22 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Nov 23, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game is great, plenty of customizations and solid graphics and gameplay. Theres great squad based gameplay, and plenty of cool features. If you want a good shooter i strongly recomend this game.

Single player-8
gameplay-9
multiplayer-9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pure gaming bliss!

posted by GeoDude (Salt Lake City, UT) Feb 3, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I have never really enjoyed the Rainbow Six games all that much until this one! Simply put, this game is phenomenal! I really can not find many flaws with this game other than the single player story is maybe a little weak. The achievements are fun and challenging. Xbox Live is where it is at though. The maps are huge and each one is distinct. I have never had more fun with an online game. There are always people online playing and there are plenty of game modes and options to choose from! Go out and play this game right away. If you do not have Xbox Live then at least give this game a rental because the single player is long, challenging and really fun other than the weak story (sort of weak)... not bad though. Oh and the guns and equipment are awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game but not enough saving

posted by SPE825 (KNOXVILLE, TN) Jan 30, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Overall, R6 Vegas is a great game that's very realistic in it's mechanics as well as in the graphics. The major downfall of the game is that there's a good amount of time between checkpoints in a lot of cases. What this means, is that you're going to be replaying a lot of the portions of the game. It would be great to be able to save progress at anytime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Frustrating to me

posted by SSG2WO (APO, AP) Dec 4, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I wish there was a game save feature so that if you didn't clear a room correctly, you wouldn't have to start from the beginning. To go through with stealth and then set up for a room takes me about 20-30 minutes. After all that if something goes wrong you have to start all over.
I gave it a shot. I had the same issue with Splinter Cell. Too much stealth and not enough gun play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A new and old turn for rainbow for the best

posted by schattz (JACKSON, WI) Dec 17, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Well first it is defintly a step up from rainbow six "letdown" they got the pec mode just right now and also took the old stuff of rainbow six 3 series where u can just run and gun which is how it should be. The single player is actally entertaining this time around too the old single player seemed tedious to me but with this new team new plot keeps u want to keep playing. Rainbow also took a huge step in graphics one of the best on the 360 right now. And if u are much in the mutiplayer this is definlty a rental or a buy for sure because the unlockables are pretty much endless so plz rent this game it is really a good one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

vegas doesnt sleep and if you play neither will U!

posted by DoktorNein (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 26, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

What they say about Vegas is that it's a city that never sleeps. Whether this is true or not is probably debatable,, but one thing that is true... Rainbow Six: Vegas is sure keeping me up at night. In fact, I'm having withdrawals while writing this.

It is not so much what they changed that makes Vegas a must have, it's what they went back to. Innovations are the heart and soul of what sells something, and makes it different. All your shampoos say “new and improved” or something like that. Why? Because you as a person say “Oh, that has to be better than this stuff, doesn't it?” This is true with almost anything. But then there is Rainbow Six. Change in this game is like trading in a Shelby for a Ford Escort. And in some wonderful puff of reasoning (and maybe because they played Lockdown) Ubi Montreal has finally figured this out.

Everyone can look different in this game. There are quite seriously THOUSANDS of custom options for clothing, armor, weapons attachments, gas masks. Anything but your combat boots. The only time you will see someone who looks just like you is if you are obsessed with black, or you are in a clan (and enforce a uniform code.) However, fear not, ye crybaby bastards saying “But Syber, you've played the game for twenty hours. You have an AK and I don't!” This changes absolutely nothing. My AK is a different gun, it does carry different stats than your gun, but it is in no way unfair. You still stand pretty much the same odds of killing me as if I had a Fammas G2 or one of the base guns. Balance is key in keeping this game interesting and palatable to the new, the old, and the people who worship a good squad game (people like me.)

The maps are giant, but they are constrictive also, which is strange to say, but play them and you will understand. For instance, while Dante's Casino is big and open, there are tiny side routes through it, that offer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Checkpoint saving ruins gameplay

posted by PorkTree (BELTON, MO) Nov 28, 2006

Member since Sep 2004

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Enough said. Once again, poor checkpointing breaks the game play. If I wanted to replay the last 30 minutes of game time over and over again I'd be stupid. And stupid is not letting the player save on an ad hoc basis. There is nothing more frustrating than carefully clearing an area for a half an hour, only to make one slip, and get to do it all over again. This game is pretty, has nice physics, but is horribly ruined from a fun standpoint by poorly implemented checkpoint saves. Bah, back to GoW for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Single Player - 9; Multiplayer - 4

posted by FargoUT (SALT LAKE CITY, UT) Dec 6, 2006

Member since Oct 2006

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Rainbow Six 3 was one of the most enjoyable games for the original XBox. With Halo lacking multiplayer, Rainbow Six 3 soon took over my console to the point of near obsession (at least until Halo 2 was released). The Rainbow Six series veered off course and I didn't bother following. Reviews claimed that Rainbow Six Vegas brings it right back. And it does ... to an extent.

The single player campaign is exciting, cinematic, representing all that is good about tactical shooters. The music, sound effects and graphics all work to create a very enjoyable and challenging game. The replay could be quite high considering all the different options for entering and clearing a room.

But not all is rosy in Rainbow Six land. Somewhere along the lines, Ubisoft forgot how to program their multiplayer code. What we have left is a glitchy, buggy, severely frustrating multiplayer that leaves a lot to be desired. The frame rate and other graphical inconsistencies aside, the biggest problem is simply the completely inconsistent aim. It seems absurd to be able to unload an entire 50-round clip into another online player only to have them turn around and kill you with one or two shots.

At first, I thought this was a case of user error, maybe my aim was not as good as it once was. That all changed with a selection of the sniper rifle. I sat patiently atop the Calypso Casino roof watching over the delivery point. A tango spotted, unmoving, probably a gamer who stepped away. I placed the bead of the reticle in the middle of this enemy's head and fired. He was unscathed. Mind you, neither he nor I were moving at the time. This single incident proved that the aiming consistency of this game is sporadic at best, downright awful at worst.

Bungie and Epic have proven that online multiplayer can be engaging, fast and consistent (lag issues aside which affect all online games). It is sad that Ubisoft has failed to live up to the standards set by Rainbow Six 3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun

posted by Teee55 (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Mar 11, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me start off by saying, this game is definetly not for everyone, it is more of a slow paced/camping type of shooter.

The graphics are pretty good, they won't blow you away, but there are very good. The sound effects are also extremely accurate, specifcally the guns.

The Single Player is O.K. at best. It's really not that fun but it doesn't suck. You die quickly even on the easier difficulty and the checkpoints are poorly placed, so you may wind up doing the same parts over and over again.

The multi-player is what makes this game good. You gain experience per match, whether you win or lose (alot more when you win) which in turn will rank you up, unlocking new weapons and accesories, giving you the option to completely customize you're online character. Basically this creates some diversity online instead of seeing the same models over and over.

The reason I say is it's only good is because, the main game mode is Attack and Defend where the Attackers must gain control of the suitcase and deliver back to there base. Once the Attackers gain control of the suitcase, they stand near the base along with the rest of the team, and just milk the clock out, which in turn gives the winning team more Exp. This makes for alot of long, drawn out, and simply put, boring matches.

Other then that, the online is awesome and definetly worth a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Story, Bad Multi-player

posted by edrich (BOLIVAR, OH) Jun 13, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I thought the single player campaign on this game was excellent. One of the few games where I could sit and play it for a few hours straight. It had a great tactical feel to it. I did not like the multi-player at all. I thought the graphics looked to cartoonish, especially some of the characters with the crazy outfits. The clothes you could wear did not go with the stealth feel of the game. Like I said, the story was awesome, top notch. However, I think the online experience brought this game down. For a good online game, get GRAW 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great solo game even better on line

posted by Ryan1019 (HOUSTON, TX) Mar 2, 2007

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is my favorite game to play on line, that's not to say it's a bad single player game. Of all the single player games I only play Crackdown more. If you like shooters at all I strongly recommend this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

multilayer not so hot

posted by niddpidd (RACINE, WI) Feb 12, 2007

Member since Dec 2003

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

With a few other titles lately there is no support for multiplayer in the following situation. You and a friend or in my case partner want to play multiplayer on the same box, you are ok. UNTIL you decide to try and get another person involved over live. Then instead of being like ghost recon etc... you have to make a choice between the live people and your local players.Split screen or local multi player and a live mix is not supported. As there is no method to allow three or more to play over live when two of you are on the same box. This as always is a deal breaker for us, and we will not be buying this game because of it. I write this review just in case there is anyone else out there hoping to play it in this manner, they can just skip the rental and move on to something else. ps. the other big let down in this fashion was MArvel Ultimate alliance.
PIDD

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by MagicNinja (THEODORE, AL) Jan 10, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is sweet!. The graphics are amazing, the AI of your comrades is great, the AI of the terrorists is amazing, and this game just kicks butt! It's even better than Gears of War. Which now sucks because of a new multiplayer patch. Rent it or buy it. This game is worth every penny. The game play take a little to get used too but once you've got it down you'll kick butt. Using your squad to flank enemies while you snipe them out is great. I'm glad R6 finally made a good game. I still remember the horrible one for the original Playstation. Play this game and have fun with it. I know you will.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than the second

posted by cjg113 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is great. The graphic are great and so is the cover system.On the second game they went overboard, they added to many objects to get stuck on and it made harder to navagate. The multi-player is great most people are friendly and very sporting. In all this game is a must buy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dumb ending

posted by thegamer08 (BATH, PA) Feb 15, 2008

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game wasn't bad but still very predictable. While I enjoyed the different scenes/maps to clear with my team, I found the team member controls to be very limited. Just while I was getting pumped for a new round of excitement, the darn game just ends stating "To be continued". Give me a break. I am so glad I didn't purchase this game myself. Thank god for rentals!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A call of Duty 4-wanna-be

posted by ANDYman (FENTON, MI) Dec 8, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The title pretty much says it all. I do like however you get to pick your own weapons which you cant do in any of the call of duty games. But overall i just dint like this game. THe game-play and the controls to this are weak, most of this game is very frustrating, and it seems like you can die very easily.

Rent this before you buy it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse