Rent Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.5

5033 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Very fun and addicting but not quite a cod killer

posted by carcrazer9 (LITTLETON, CO) Jun 12, 2009

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game and started playing it and instantly i was HOOKED! The gun customization is very wide and the game features a soldier customization which is very good. I played this game for almost 5 hours straight with a friend in Terrorist Hunt which is a new game type similar to Horde on Gears of war 2. I then bought it and continue to play it every day. The only downside to this game is that its environment graphics in the campaign are a little fuzzy. i do however strongly concider any shooter fan to experience such a wonderfully crafted and well made game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tom Clancy's series rocks!

posted by Evileyes (BELMONT, NC) May 29, 2008

Member since May 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Just as good as the first one. I like the weapons and you advance in rank a lot quicker. Haven't played it online yet but probably the same. The maps are good, but you are not really in Vegas. The first had more "Vegas" to it than this one. All in all great game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Rainbow Six Vegas 2 is Money

posted by bioresistt (NECEDAH, WI) Oct 15, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Rainbow Six Vegas 2 is very similar to the first game. The story is pretty much the same as the first one. Terrorists are attacking Vegas. The graphics are a little better than the first one but not much. The gameplay is what is really quite good. The cover system is very fluid between first person and third person. The shooting is very spot on and their is usually no framerate problems, but there are some texture issues every now and again. The coop is crazy fun. Playing the campaign is very short but playing with a friend brings major replay ability. Overall it is a very good shooter worth maybe 30.00$ but not sixty so definitely rent it or if you can get it on sale do that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BEST GAME EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by thekid4lif (POTTSTOWN, PA) Jun 21, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This is a very good game. I like the way you get to customize your clothes, guns,face,and make your face look exactly like you. The graphics are very good. The maps are very realistic.

1.good graphics
2.customization
3.partnership
4.A.I brainz

Best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun and challenging

posted by critic63 (TUCSON, AZ) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This RB6 game is as good as the first. The graphics are good and the environment is interactive and interesting. This is one game that I think I will buy and play over and over again. Could there be a RB6#3 in the future? I hope so!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Tactical Shooter

posted by Tibberman (CEREDO, WV) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Nov 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

If you enjoyed the rainbow six series, then this game is as exciting and entertaining as the others. If you're new to the series then this is a great game to try if you've never played a tactical shooter. The campaign was very well thought out and the ranking system how you can gain rank on and off-line is a decent system that Ubisoft have added. This game is a must-try for any first person shooter fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

From a non-Rainbow Six player...

posted by LoneOne29 (HOPEWELL, VA) Mar 24, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes when I purchased this game and I must say that I was somewhat satisfied with the game. The graphics are good, the gameplay is pretty fluid (I especially enjoy the ease of control and addition of running using L2). The NPC's will follow commands pretty well but occasionally, they do get a case of the stupids. But hey... can't have everything.

I like how the XP is earned either offline or on and with each level increased in Marksmanship, CQB, and Assault will unlock weapons and gear. I love the customizations for your character, including using the Playstation Eye to create a distinct face for your character, although you can't put certain helments on a custom head.

My only gripes with this game are first the AI. there's no real challenge. If you've been getting beaten pretty bad on a level, you can pretty much memorize every location the bad guys will spawn up. Not too bad, but I would expect a little bit more.

And my next gripe, which is definitely the most important gripe, is the online gameplay. Now, when I've been able to get a game going, I've had a lot of fun. Each level is designed for CQC with a few decent sniping positions. The problem is getting into a game. I've had a lot of lag issues and losing connection with the servers. I was expecting better from Ubisoft but right now I'm very disappointed. For right now, I'm chalking this up to a new game and will have the online gameplay fixed in 2 weeks or so. But for now, I still have the single player, which should keep me occupied for a while.

Overall, it's a decent game. If you're looking just for the online play, I would hold off for a little bit. It's worth at least a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but not GREAT!

posted by VNDKTR (EDINBURG, TX) Mar 22, 2008

Member since Oct 2007

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

I must say that upon getting this game, my expectations were high. All the comercials and videos of this game prior to its release showed what could have been a great game.

However, after starting to play it, it took me a while to actually get into the gameplay. I guess, one thing that dissapointed me from the getgo was the graphics. They are good, but they can definitely use a lot of improvement. Specially in the era of games like COD 4:MW, HALO and even GRAW 2(which has been out for a while by now).

Like I said above, the game takes a little while to get into. To begin with, the story is a little bit confusing at the beginning. The jump from the past to the present time do not seem to have any relationship with one another. It seems that it is there for the sake of tutorials.

After that, the gameplay improves. Everything you would expect from a R6V game is there. I would say that, if you don't mind graphics a bit behind for their time, then you will not be dissapointed with this game.

Now, the multiplayer...well, I have not played it enough to be able to review it...

Overall, this is a good game... It IS definitely better than the 1st. You will not be dissapointed. My only recomendation is that you lower your expectations at the time of playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Could be my Favorite Ever!

posted by UncleBiff (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Feb 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I really liked the first rainbow six for ps3, but it lacked a good playable online game. Rainbow Six Vegas 2 is probably the perfect game. It is the second half of the story form Vegas 1. Graphics are 500% better. More weapons to choose from, but have to earn. AI is incredible. I never got hooked on online gaming until Vegas 2. You get to choose a room to be in. What a concept! There are many game options to choose from without earning them like in SOCOM or Call Of Duty. Very well rounded game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost Perfect, Still not Quite at COD 4's level

posted by BmwFreak (HACKETT, AR) Mar 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

14 out of 20 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I have been waiting several months for the sequel to RB6V. It was more than worth the wait. One of the problems I didn't like about the original vegas was substandard graphics and the lack of destructible enviroments that are common in Nex-Gen systems. Vegas 2 delivers on all acounts. The graphics aren't quite as good as say COD 4, but are diffently Nex-Gen. The Controls are identical to the first Vegas with all the same squad commands plus the addition of being able to select multiple targets before entering through a window or repel rope. One of the big differences in this game is how you upgrade your character by earning various skill points.

Every kill or tatical command executed earn you standard Experince Points. Using explosives, the enviroment, or head shots earn you bonus Experince Points (EXP). EXP is use to upgrade you rank from Recruit all the way to General. Each new rank earns you upgrades such as new camo, armor, weapons, and such.

A great addition to this game is Skill Points, which are earned in three different areas: Marksman, Close Quarters Combat, and Assault.
Marksman is just what is sounds like, you get points for Head Shots, Long distance kills, kills while your repeling and killing enemies who are repeling, killing a sprinting opponent, and by shooting through thin cover to kill an opponent. Rewards are gained after a min. amount of points are achieved and usually range from new Assault to Sniper Rifles.
Close Quarters Combat, refered as CQC in the game, is just as it sounds as well. Points are awarded for kills with blind fire when using cover, kills from sneaking up behind, and kills at less than 10 meters, and such. Awards are usually new shoot guns, armor, and light machine guns.
Assault Points are awarded by using exposives to kill and oppenent or to dissable an opponent ei; Flash Bangs and Smoke Grenades, and using explosives in the enviroment to kill opponents.

If you like Vegas 1 you'll love Vegas 2, its just better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rainbow Six Vegas 2

posted by Rickeny71 (PORT CHARLOTTE, FL) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is by far one of the most exciting shooter/realistic games I've played in a long time. So what's next from the Rainbow clan huh?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Who Needs Graphics

posted by hazefan08 (SLIDELL, LA) Jun 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is a pefect example of a game that has terrible graphics but is so much fun. From guns to gameplay, everything is perfect. But, what makes it even better is co-op. Playing it with two people definitely more fun. Plus, the online is awesome. Get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Best Mulitplayer has to offer!!!

posted by JNLBravo (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Mar 19, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The story line is good. The graphics arent the best but still good. I do have to stay that the multiplayer gaming experience is the BEST I have seen. There is plenty of players online and a great variety of game modes. This is one of the BEST games PS3 has come out with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

An ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC experience for FPS fans!!!

posted by kslim1 (SACRAMENTO, CA) Dec 12, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is very intense and beautifully rendered.Wow is what I think every single time I pop this into my black shining beauty with the blue wink.(PS3) oh by the way I can hardly stand viewing this on the XBOX 360 as it trully sucks visually and ruins the experience. Going back to the far more superior system, I can only say this game is a treat. You must use sneak skills, and thought to how to approach each room and if you are playing alone, your computer squad will not let you down. If you breach and clear they enter like savages and destroy the enemy spot on every time, and realistically. The environments look colorful and exciting and the game play and control response is fantastic. Oh also to all the rainbow Six vets. out there try flipping upside down while on a repell rope by pressing either L3 or R3 (analog sticks) it is awesome as just your head shows at the top of a window looking in, then pull a pistol and pop the bad guys without them ever seeing you. It is quite rewarding. The only reason I dont give it a ten is because I feel the story could be more realistic and dramatic so that it would match the very dramatic game play and graphics. other than that it is what a close quarter FPS game should be. Very intense and breath taking in almost all aspects. Not a renter. A piece to own and frame. Oh you must own Part 1 as well as it is almost as well done. Enjoy and cherish your PS3 because it really gets no better. Let the XBOX 360 wither away!! Play on!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rainbow Six Vegas 2...A++

posted by listen2me (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Nov 30, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Rainbow Six Vegas 2 is awesome, the story mode is a lot better than the first part and the online is really good too, especially if you download the extra maps for it. I'm sure i'll purchase the game soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

TRY IT ON A GOOD TV

posted by SPSBROLY (HONOLULU, HI) Oct 22, 2008

Member since Jun 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I READ A LOT OF REVIEW FOR THIS GAME COMPLANNING ABOUT THE GRAPHICS, NOT THE GREATEST BUT THEY ARE DECENT, GAMEPLAY WAS GOOD AND EXCITING. I RECOMEND THIS GAME TO EVERY ONE GIVE IT A TRY...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

possibly the best shooter iv' e ever played.

posted by MoffettMAN (CENTENNIAL, CO) Sep 26, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this is acualy my first RB6 game and i fell in love right away. and i like the way u control your team mates much better then SOCOM, it is much simpler. and i love the fact that you can do co-op story or terrorist hunt online or offline. it realy lets u change things up alot so the game never gets boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

great game

posted by jnbsnow (VACAVILLE, CA) Apr 22, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I love it. It is so intense that I find myself getting lost in it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME GAME!

posted by gmoney7380 (BRANDON, MS) Mar 20, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

In some ways this game is better than the original Vegas! Gameplay is smooth and crisp and the graphics are terrific! Co-op mode is a nice addition and as always the online multiplayer option is a fun way to go!! This game is definitely worth checking out!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

rainbow six vegas 2 is so playstation 2

posted by bigjesse19 (NEW BEDFORD, MA) Dec 31, 2010

Member since May 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the graphics on this game are so playstation 2 and this franchise has had its fun around the years, but they dont keep up with the competition. how many times do i have to snake cam every f#$king room before i can get my socks on, geeesse. this game lets me down because I am a big fan of Tom clancy and his books but the game is not as good as the book. keep reading ubisoft

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

crazy game

posted by CALLMEDUTY (GLENDALE, CA) Dec 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

just too much fun has small problems but its som much fun action shooting ,i just finished on normal and now im gone playing on hard to fun little bit graphic problems but its no problem cz too much fun for one game love i

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Essentially the same w/ mostly cosmetic changes

posted by GFR013 (MERRIFIELD, VA) Mar 26, 2008

Member since Jul 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me begin by saying this is another great addition to the R6 series. All the usual aspects are here; simple squad control, decent graphics/sound (although IMHO the smoke still looks rather weak [one of my criticisms of the original]) and fairly straight forward level design (there's usually multiple ways around any given situation but still very linear). The two main new features are customization and experience points (XP). Both have minor impact on the game but make it stand out a bit, if you're into such things (which I'm not).

From gender, face, facial features to camo pattern/color, almost everything is customizable. Supposedly you can even upload your own face if you have one of the PS3 cameras. I'm sure this will help in online gaming but frankly I didn't see much point to it. Fortunately it doesn't seem to have any direct impact on the game and it is easily ignored.

The second major addition is the XP system. By doing certain things you earn XPs in one of three categories (marksman, CQB, assault). Each of these has their own "level" and then all the XPs pool together to give you an overall rank. As you work through all these a variety of weapons, armor, camo patterns are unlocked. This has a little more direct impact on the game, compared to the customization, since there are certain items that are locked out at the beginning of the game. Fortunately there is still a good variety of things available from the start. In addition to the above unlockables, there are also ribbons for completing levels and doing certain things in online/multiplayer gaming. Personally I'm not much into unlockables either but I'm sure some people will enjoy it.

Bottom line, if you liked R6 before I suspect you'll like this. I don't see this game winning many converts though. The main changes are nice if you like them, but mostly ignorable if you don't. It's still a fun shooter and who knows maybe with the unlockables maybe I'll play it longer ;)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as the first one

posted by Operator7 (LONG BEACH, CA) Mar 22, 2008

Member since May 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful


Ok I'm only halfway thru, and I haven't played the online stuff, so this is just a review of the single player mode....

The action is good, but flawed still.

Many times, the hostages or your team, do not go where you tell them, and so you have to start the scene over.

Many times, you will get shot out of nowhere, meaning that a bad guy isn't even there, the computer just thinks you're standing in the wrong place, so BAAM, you're half-dead, and if you don't move, you're fully dead.

The graphics are so-so. I mean they are good, but definitely not great.

With a city like Vegas, the possibilities are endless, but the graphics in this one aren't even as good as the first Vegas Six.

Overall I feel that there is a LOT of ground for improvement, and there could be MUCH more creativity and inspiration, into the gameplay action, as well as the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Vegas a great place to visit over and over

posted by ebook32 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I wish all rainbow six games were this good. So far the vegas series are the best. Every FPS should be this good. I won't spoil the fun by giving any details, but be sure to buy or rent this game. Don't pass this game up it's that good. Also be sure to play the first vegas game before starting vegas 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak is fair

posted by MO1978 (TROY, MI) Mar 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I know that rating this game as weak is not fair, but actually it's if we put it in the contest!
what's the contest?
we were expecting a game RBSV2 which should be better than RBVS1, meaning, it should be better in gameplay, graphics and some technical issues.
and what did we get?!!
graphics: a little bit better.
gameplay: almost the same (taking out the sprint thing)..
the technical issue: well, this is the biggest problem. I can't believe that we still hearing the shooting sound in the background! we were told that there will be a patch to fix this problem in RB6V1. But we got the same problem even in the second edition. Ignoring this problem by UbiSoft is really bad.
another issue is the frame rate. this game is so so slow, so slow!
Online playing: bad as much as you can imagine. The same bad online connection in RB6V1 is in the second edition.. the same!

The other thing about the contest is that this game came after COD4. I don't know how the UbiSoft people think that their game is as good as COD4?!
I can't believe that they both have the same price. RB6V2 should be at least $10 less.

Over all, RB6V2 is really the second edition, it has the same problems as the first one and doesn't worth more than the Weak rating if it's put in the contest..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse