Rent Tom Clancy's HAWX 2 for Wii
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's HAWX 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
4.9

114 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
3

Bad

Bad Controls and Graphics Ruin HAWX 2 on Wii

posted by gamedude57 (ALBION, NY) Dec 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

...which is too bad, because it had potential to be perfect.

I've owned a Wii since 2008, an Xbox 360 since 2009, and in that time period I've never actually had a problem with games being ported to the Wii... until now. HAWX was an extremely fun and skillfully crafted fight simulator on the Xbox 360. Hours of fun were had in the single player campaign and free flight modes.

It would only make sense to bring a sense of flight control to the Wii. Since my 360 sorta went out on me over the summer, I was actually very, very excited to play this game... until I finally did. About thirty minutes in, I was regretting placing this on my Game Q.

This game is the perfect example of what you do NOT wanna do when it comes to bringing a game to Wii. The character animations in this game (including the static stills) brought down the sense of realism and gave this game an essence that we should not take it seriously.

There's absolutely nothing redeeming at all about this version of HAWX 2. The graphics are very sub-par of course, but I was expecting it. However, I wasn't expecting the frame rate to suddenly go unstable and stutter once in a while.

Long story short, if you have absolutely no other way to play this game, then you won't be missing anything. Go rent Kirby's Epic Yarn or GoldenEye 007 instead, those are way better Wii choices than this waste of optical disc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

ok but not blown away

posted by norwaybob (SEYMOUR, MO) Jul 19, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

poor a.i. ( for instance i flow through a plane without any damage) it's story line was poorly written but easy controls and constant dog fighting over all a ok game i don't sugest buying it but not bad for a rental

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tom Clancy's Hawx 2

posted by Yamcharotto (SOUTH BEND, IN) May 19, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is a dissatisfactory edition to Tom Clancy's roster of games. The characters are iritating. The engagement/targeting controls are poorly placed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Blah-city

posted by MaDPimP (BARABOO, WI) Dec 21, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

Wow, where to begin. The graphics are just awful. I could not take the story line seriously at all mostly because it was nothing but a series of stills andf voices. There are two basic missions, either rail boming runs or air combat and occasionally a combination of the two. Despite their claims of having a large variety of planes available they all fly exactly the same. The only difference being between the air combat and the rail levels. Flying in the rail levels in impossibly stupid as you are locked into a predetermined course with which you have little control and are randomly dropped up or down in elivation.

Overall, fun for a bit, but monotonous overall could have def been a good game with some tweeks, but unfortunately they fell short.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Stupid game

posted by BUck2626 (WOODSTOCK, GA) Dec 8, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

The wii version of this game is horrible! The graphics are pathetic and the controls go back to top gun on nentindo when it first came out. The worst game I have played to date !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A good flying fighter ruined by bad graphics

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 17, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

It’s time to take to the skies - and blow stuff up in Tom Clancy’s HAWX 2.
Okay, I may be oversimplifying the game, but for the most part, you task is to fly your plane and destroy several objects on the ground and in the air. The experience is much different on the type of targets you have to destroy.
When you take on air targets, it is the classic dogfight where you get behind the target and lock on with missiles. If you really want to show off, you can close in and only use guns to take down your enemies.
When you go after the ground targets, you fly low over the ground and use unguided missiles and machine guns to destroy buildings, tanks, and other ground vehicles.
What about the game play? The controls take a while to get used to, but when I did, I had little trouble with them.
But the view from the cockpit is okay at best - I liked the explosions, but the planes and the scenery look really bland and drab.
The main mode is Campaign Mode. Here, there’s some sort of story about a pilot who has to deal with an ongoing conflict between two mighty air forces, and which side he has to take. But the cut scenes are comprised of blurry oil paintings with average voiceovers, and the story does go at a much too slow pace.
If you are not into the story mode, you can go for the Top Down Shooter with up to three other players - but that’s just an average arcade shooter that got boring very quickly.
Or you can go to Survival Mode where you have to shoot down four waves of enemies
Or you can go head to head against one or two other characters in Arena Mode.
There’s a lot of packaging for the last two modes, but it boils down to you dog fighting against one or more planes piloted by the AI, and I find there’s a bit too much fluff and not enough substance on display here.
Still, if you’re looking for an air combat game, then you should check out Tom Clancy’s HAWX 2. If only it had better presentation and graphics. RENT IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tom Clancy's HAWX 2

posted by oppanoia (COSTA MESA, CA) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

When I saw the trailer for this game I was excited to play a flight simulator for the wii. The game has decent game control, but the cartoon figures pertty much ruined the game for me. Also the story goes no where. Rent it for an OK gaming experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »