Rent Tom Clancy's HAWX 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's HAWX 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3
GF Rating
5.6

2826 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun game

posted by rockstarz1 (COLLINSVILLE, CT) Feb 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a really fun game. story has variety, and it's overall a really nice fix for jet junkies. i think it's easily worth a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Game!!!

posted by Jrasko1011 (WINDBER, PA) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is one of the best flight simulators i have played in a very long time. I dont know why people give it a bad review. It has its parts that make you wanna pull out your hair but that is the point of video games. To make you work through challenges. The last level is just ridiculous but it was fun when i finally got through it. I like the features such as landing and taking off and controlling UAVs and AC-130s. This is definitely a buy for me but if your not sure just rent it first. What do u have to lose?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Dont bother get the first

posted by FenixQns (PORT WASHINGTON, NY) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

If you rent this game you will be bored senseless. There is no sense of excitement or urgency like there was with the first game. Remember the first mission in HAWX? When the marines were getting through the town? How great was that. Now imagine none of that excitement in this game.

The list of cons far outweighs the pros. Suspending the fact that your fighter carries 80 missles here is a short list of what I didnt like.

Cons:
- Friendly Fighter AI is buffoonish and weak. It takes up to 10 missles for them to take down one enemy.
- Friendly AI in general is moronic. During one mission I was escorting DESTROYERS, they were being fired upon by gun placements on hills. They turned to me to destroy them, somehow forgetting that they have MASSIVE CANNONS onboard that could wipe out Rhode Island with one shot.
- Story line is LAME, I honestly have no idea what happened.
- Cut scenes cant be skipped
- Enemy fighters have nearly an unlimited amount of flares and can change directions on a dime.
- SPOILER ALERT - I think we've all had enough with the flying into a tunnel to destroy the crazy badguy.
- Lasers, seriously! Freaking Laser Beams! DoubleU Tee Ef!

Pros:
- Its fun to break the sound barrier
- Vapor trails are nicely done

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

H.A.W.X. 2 falls Below Altitude

posted by biggyDx (DOVER, DE) Sep 7, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

29 out of 35 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I will admit I had high hopes for this sequel. I enjoyed the first since it introduced newer elements (such as Enhanced Reality System and Over-the -Shoulder flying), which really made combat more visceral, trilling, and accessible. In the sequel, however, things have changed and not for the better.

Much of the original game is still intact, with improvements in AI and graphics. New additions include piloting a UAV and AC130 gunship, use of precision guided bombs, and takeoff/landing and air refueling. Players can level up by completing missions and challenges which will allow you to purchase skills(perks) and planes for multiplayer, as well as earn side missions. Multiplayer includes 4-player coop and the standard 8-player deathmatch.

The story is pretty cliche. Players battle Insurgents and Separatists with nuclear weapon capabilities and its up to the player to fight them from either the US, Russian, or British point of view. Characters are now fully modeled into cutscenes although their detail is somewhat blocky. They also are bad at lip-syncing. Some portions of the game are done at night, while some missions require the use of UAV's, which brings me to the bad part of this game.

The first game prided itself on fun, fast, hard-hitting action but with new additions and removal of certain elements, the game loses some of that flair. The ERS system has been taken out of dogfighting and is only utilized in landing and refueling. Missions involving UAVs and the AC-130 also; while fun at first, slow down the action to a crawl and only distract you from being involved in real aerial battles. Unfortunately, these portions are mandatory as both standalone and midplay during missions. Intense moments that made the first game are mostly sparse and in half the missions you are required to keep a certain target alive, hampering the enjoyment.

While I was hoping for this game to blow me away once more, I found myself taken aback. This is a rental, but not so much a buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Where to begin

posted by PoaTriv (PORT WASHINGTON, WI) Dec 13, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game was a mediocre flight sim.
- The controls were so so. It was very glitchy and felt really hard to bank planes
-Ur not able to pick the plane you want to fly the campagin missions.
-Why is a anti-tank plane trying to shoot down fighter jets?

(SPOILER) The worst part was the final mission. Yeah lets try shooting down ICBMs while a satelite shoots lazers at me. YEah that sounds like fun. (died 20 times) Then lets fly through a cave and blow up another one. (died 15 times)

I didn't even give the online play a chance because i was so fed up with the game

If your into flight sim games, there is another one out there that is TONS better. ANd no its not the first HAWX game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst sequal ever!

posted by slapaho15 (CLEARLAKE, CA) Jan 8, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Let me first state that this review is based on only the first few levels as I got so bored and irritated I sent the game back without finishing it. I loved the first HAWX so I was very excited when I got my hands on the second installment of my favorite air combat game. Right from the start something was off. The feeling of speed and excitment is gone and has been replaced by irritation. The cannons are now useless as you will never get a bead on an airborn target, missles take what seems like forever to lock on and then when you fire they barely move faster than the plane your flying. I fired on a stationary target 6000 feet away and it took almost eight seconds to hit. There is no clear objective to follow so I found myself guessing most of the time. And forget your wingmen as you would be better off without them. The only thing they seemed to do was target the person you were in pursuit of and shoot them down first. So not only do you get your butt handed to you since your whole squad only attacks one target at a time, you don't even gain any experiance becuase they get credit for the kill. In my opinion this game is vastly inferior to it's predecessor in every aspect. Do yourself a favor and just go play the first one again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Waste of Time

posted by RastaShoes (NEWPORT BEACH, CA) Oct 20, 2010

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I love jet fighting games, but HAWX 2 has to be the worst flying game i have ever played. You dont get the chance for tactical manuvers nor a shot at really fun and exciting dog fights because the whole time you are playing any mission, there are at least 2 enemies on your 6 and its missle after missle. Instead of stealth bombing, or testing your skills against another fighter jet, you are just spinning in circles the whole time avoiding what seems like an endless barrage of enemy fire. If you like flying circles for 4 hours straight and not knowing which way is up, then this game is for you. It's much worse than HAWX 1 and that game wasnt even great. (Ace Combat 4 (ps2) is a much better game, and that came out many years ago)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Booooring

posted by MikeF73 (NORWALK, CT) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

17 out of 24 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This is a case where the original is better than the sequel. They tried to liven things up by giving you a variety of different mission types to perform, but all they did was add some mini-games. Move your crosshairs over a target, press "A", repeat. To switch things up, sometimes you have to move your crosshairs over a target and NOT hit a button. Thrilling.

Takeoffs and landings were a welcome addition to the game too when they were announced, but sadly they add nothing other than tedium. The same can be said for aerial refueling. There is no challenge whatsoever to any of it, so again it's just aim at something and hit a button. Even manual carrier landings are not challenging - just aim at the deck, slow down, make sure you're somewhat level at the last instant, and presto - landing cutscene.

They could have done a lot more with this. Sadly they didn't. The voice acting and writing are as bad as ever. The physics and flight dynamics are non-existent. This time even the gameplay can't rescue it. Save your time and re-rent the first one instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Glad It Is Over

posted by Aronsky (SAN MARCOS, CA) Dec 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Barely liked the game enough to play through the campaign but sent it back after that. Last level, infuriating.
Final note, stop putting in so many multiplayer achievements. Especially when so few people actually play multiplayer in some games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Disappointing after HAWX 1

posted by DK1102 (REDDING, CT) Nov 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately all of the reviews about this game are correct. Its not as good as the first HAWX and the new features they have added are boring. After you land and take off once you have had enough. The amount of work you have to do to accomplish the landing is ridiculous. Im not actually a fighter pilot, I dont actually want to fly 5 passes of the airport because the game cant give me enough information as to which way to approach. Or if they do, I havent figured it out yet. A simple arrow would do. The assisted landing is boring too. I think I spent 4 minutes flying around and following the triangles when I already had a great angle of approach. I am no longer using the assisted approach. Just lining up my own line and following that. Its that useless.

The AI is overly cheap. Someone explain to me why my plane is only allowed to carry 5 flares, but the AI in the exact same plane is allowed unlimited flares? There is no strategy to that. You can waste all your missiles chasing 1 plane. Where is the strategy? Switch to guns?

The drone missions. Oh please dont get me started on the drone missions. I didnt get a game that involves jet fighters to fly a drone and "mark" buildings for destruction in the next mission. You dont actually fly the drone either. You get a big flat image of the area below you and you can zoom in and out. Its more like a satellite. Yes I understand the logic behind the mission, but its painfully boring. Im not even sure what the story is about. There seem to be 3 different ones going on at the same time.

The bottom line is this. If you are expecting an exciting game with arcade style dogfights, you will be disappointed. You never have any time to go to the stylized flight mode(not sure whats it called, but you get there by double clicking RT on the 360) and when you do, its useless since you are supposed to be protecting something at the same time and its very difficult to judge where things are in that view. But it is the most fun view IMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tom Clancy's SUWX 2

posted by hpalmer (MOAB, UT) Sep 20, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I was very disappointed with this game the first one was alot better level wise, this one had better graphics with the jets and the custom weapon load outs was cool, but by the time you have enough xp points to unlock the coolest jets you are already so sick of playing the game that you cannot enjoy the rest of it, I think Ubisoft needs to try again with this one it was more like Tom Clancy's SUWX 2.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

After years they should do better

posted by Huppydog (PORTLAND, OR) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I haven't completed the game but a big boast of the game was landing. I looked forward to landing. There's no button to drop the landing gear until they pop it up. Hey Tom...take a look at the fighter sims from the 80's on PC. They were fun. Of course you're limited to the buttons on a controller but once you hit X for landing sequence, the wheels should drop or there should be a button to hit at anytime, if we hit the button at mach speed then there prolly should be damage done. Mr. Clancy...have you ever owned Flight Simulator? Have you ever owned ATF for PC? Have you ever played Ace Combat for XBox?
What we want is to shoot down planes first and foremost. We don't buy this game for story lines like Call Of Duty. We want to get up in the air, we want to take off, we want to land just like real planes do. We don't want to hover over areas firing cannons at barely visible targets on the ground.
All we want is a plane at our disposal to fly how we want. There's unlimited combinations of button on an xbox controller. When I greased my plane on the runway don't tell me I crashed just because the option to drop my wheels never came up.
This was more of a gripe to the developer than a review but it was also a review to those who know how to fly and appreciate flying.
I don't wanna shoot things from a camera. I want to take off, shoot enemy planes, maybe some ground targets if I have to, land my plane.
And if I want to put my landing gear down hit this button....I don't crash. For some reason Tom won't give us the option to drop the wheels and land our plane where ever we need to.
I'll give it a 5 for graphics and all around it's ok. I've played PC fighter games back in the 80's on a 386 processor that were better.

I'm hoping for the day xbox throws a decent controller and game our way. ILS would be a good start.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Hawx 2

posted by ArchAngel7 (SPRINGFIELD, OR) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

If you like to watch rather than play, then this game is for you. Half the time your watching cut scenes and the other half your controlling drones to spy on the enemy. WOW, super fun eh?? Once in a while they let you out to fly a Real jet and shoot some missles off. Oh ya, don't forget your midair refueling, ohhhh so fun...NOT!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Game, but could have been better.

posted by djcyclone (MIAMI SPRINGS, FL) Jan 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game, by far, has the best plot line of a fighter pilot game. Its a plot line that is complex but is good enough that you actually want to pay attention to follow it. My only complaint about this game is that in the campaign, you can't choose your plane and you can't choose your weapon. That's like having a racing game that you can't choose your car. BIG NO NO!!!! This is the only flaw in this game that is worth adressing. Other than that, the controls are good and the AI is pretty smart. Its worth a rent, but I'd pass on buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Themagicgamer (DYERSBURG, TN) Jun 6, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game didn't even make it a day at my house, it was back in my mailbox and on it's way to gamefly tehe next morning. You can't choose which plane to fly and you have virtually no control over the game. The first hawx was better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

For the love of God and all that's holy

posted by fbsword (LANSING, IL) May 14, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

if you're looking for a good Jetsim, play Ace Combat 6. Seriously. The game would be good if the controls were more all-around intuitive.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Over all a good game I would recommend it

posted by Jermanyt (ADEL, GA) Apr 19, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Pros: good realism, wide variety of aircraft in the story mode, co-op story mode, good story mode
Cons: non story mode multiplayer only has two aircraft and the DLC aircraft however cool and many of them there are are not free so unless you plan on owning this game its kinda pointless to play anything other than co-op story mode in the multiplayer
Notes: I feel like this game is meant to be played with a flightstick as yaw is a crucial aspect of the game
Over all I was disappointed of the lack of free multiplayer aircraft in the game I feel like other air combat games are far better at multiplayer but the story mode cant be beat I would definatly recommend renting this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average

posted by gmen219 (OCALA, FL) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This was similar to hawx 1 different story line but same gameplay. graphics are pretty good, worth playing but not a must have. i still think ace combat has the edge to this point.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

hawx 2

posted by killgo (CORNELIA, GA) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

as a huge fan of the first one i was very excited to here there was a sequel but after playing it i am very dissappointed in the end result in an effort to make the game reallistic they have made it very annoying your ai seem to do even less in this one than they did in the original you don't get to pick your plane on any mission and theres scarely new weapon packs as others have said the enemy planes are way better than they were in the first one cause they seem to have everything better than you reguardless of there plane a lot of the time you fight su-37s there a mission where you fly a su-37 and it blows you away at how much better they are in computer hands these are not fast planes yet i've seen time and time again then outrun your missles which even as the sr-71 blackbird on the first you couldn't always do and its more than twice as fast they outmanuver the missles easily and you feels like the computer flips a coin whether or not you can dodge the missle and flares which the computer can drop 3 at a time for 1 missle you have to drop a flare for every missle even if the missles are very close together

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BORING!!!

posted by Corruption (LA PORTE, IN) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I really dont feel like typing a review but take my word for it and others that you see.....this game is an epic fail.....so boring once your halfway into it....do not rent unless you are truly a hawx fan or really LOVE aircraft games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst ever

posted by jayson81 (WINTER HAVEN, FL) Oct 28, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

do not rent or buy this game they destroyed the game from the 1st hawx i loved the 1st one so thought i wud love this one they may have added take offs and landings but absolulty destroyed plane controlls, weapons, wingmen, even display very very horrible

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing

posted by G5Xeon (WOODLAND, CA) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2004

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Was initially excited to play but soon after was definitely let down by what could of been a really great game. Tedious chasing and mushy control, some entertaining moments but far too few.

Seems rushed to production and not polished.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

eh..

posted by soccer7 (LAKELAND, FL) Jan 30, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

its ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Aviator game...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 9, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

To say the least Tom Clancy's Hawx2 is a outstanding addition to the Hawx series. This time the biggest difference that you will notice is the ability to take off, land the aircraft, and a neat refuelling in mid air exercise. The games graphics have also been tweaked to have a vivid realism to it while taking off or in close proximity. The title would be awesome for anyone who is into aircrafts simulations, the game has mild violence and hardly any profanity in the title.

You play as multiple pilots of who are the best of the best in dog-fighting aviations. You will fly in f-16s, f-22s, J-23, A-10, Migs, and many other aircrafts, both foreign and American.
You assume the role of an aviation pilot in many countries, not playing one stand alone role, but as numerous pilots you are to do many classified operations, both air-to-ground and Air-to-air objectives. Sometimes leading attacks on foreign invaders and other times defending grounds from invaders.

The graphics have also been tweaked quite beautifully, as you take off you can look around and watch military life performing duties, in pristine graphics. The Geomap that is used in Hawx2 has been tweaked and looks a lot better. Geomap is satellite imagery that has been pre rendered and detailed from actual locations. So when you are flying around in Hawx2 you are actually flying in actual locations -- Well locations that were photographed via satellite.

Control configurations are still the same in Hawx2, with compatibility for the joystick and thruster controller. The ability to land and take off, enables extra set of controls during landing, taking off, and refuelling .

The only things that could have been better was landing and taking off, there is no use of flaps -- Flaps are used to take off and land, also contributes aircraft pitching.
It would be cool if I could do emergency landings, not only landing in fixed areas. I should be able to land anywhere - I work for Hawx.. Yea! .. A free roam would be nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

alright

posted by MrStyles (FIFE LAKE, MI) Oct 24, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

its a pretty cool game just not what I expected. The flying is a little weird. but overall its alright.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse