Rent Tom Clancy's HAWX 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's HAWX 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
5.4

1528 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
3

Bad

Diet Soda of Air Combat

posted by LastRonin (TACOMA, WA) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Lemme start by saying that I have been starving for a half-way decent Air Combat game for the PS3 for a loooong time. I don't have an Xbox 360 and Microsoft had hijacked my all time favorite franchise(You know which one) so I have been forced to slum it with such games as Heroes Over Europe, Blazing Angels and now HAWX. Lets begin with some of the positive elements: The terrain looks cool, the method to unlock new aircraft is kinda nifty and there is a interesting array of weapon systems to use.

Now let me address the negatives: The campaign story had potential but was marred by a lack of character development, almost no freedom in terms of mission aircraft or weapon load-out and a general lack of realism in terms of dogfighting. I really cannot stand the whole ERS angle either, it is ridiculous and awkward. The missions mostly rely on protecting assets on the ground or in the air which does not allow the player to enjoy the different scenarios. Dammit if I want to fly an A-10 in a Dogfight I should have the freedom to do so!

Regardless of what weapon load out you do have, you always end up in a close quarters gunfight doing stupid loop-de-loops chasing after the bad guy. Speaking of the weapons, what really irks me is the fact you cannot ripple fire things like free-fall bombs. Most require that you fly straight and level so that is a negative on dive-bombing(which I love!). In short, wait for THE GOOD ONE to come out and stick to Bad Company 2 in the meantime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Eh, its alright

posted by SurfFreak (LAGUNA BEACH, CA) Oct 10, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Figher games are few and far between and i don't know why it's so hard to make a good one. Take this one for example. Its not bad but it could have been alot better. The flying mechanics aren't bad at all but theyre dragged down by a lame story and cut scenes. I don't think its as bad as alot of the reviewers say it it. Its worth renting anyway.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Conflicted Feelings

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Sep 21, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overview
====================
There are things I like better about Hawx 2 than Hawx 1. However, many of the new additions are just not fun. Overall it is a decent game, but a rent at best in my opinion.

Pros
====================
1) Controls are pretty good
2) Graphics are okay

Cons
====================
1) Cut Scenes are Weak
2) New features like take off, landing, and in-air refueling are not fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Change of scenery

posted by EmldKnight (LAWRENCE, KS) Nov 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Same planes, different maps, fewer choices. That is what I walked away with from this sequel. Gameplay and graphics were on par, if not slightly improved, over the first. The heartbreak for me came in the lack of selection involving the planes. And I mean actual selection. You fly what they give you and that's it. Now... I don't multiplay so my opinion doesn't include that, but I'm glad I decided to rent this one instead of purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointed.

posted by Syzner (FRIENDSWOOD, TX) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

19 out of 22 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I thought H.A.W.X. was an exceptional game and looked forward to a sequel, but this addition to the series needs major polishing.

Graphics are worse than the original, and while other reviews speak of cool new cut-scenes, they don't mention that they are horribly wrought with chop and lag. The most recent PS3 update improved this somewhat, but it still persist in cut-scenes and throughout gameplay.

Sound is mediocre and it's not a serious issue. However, many of the Russians sound more like people doing they're best Swarchenegger impression.

Biggest issue for me was definitely the new UI interface and flight physics. UI was lacking detail and slow in response, and the flight mechanics were bad. The new system would have been acceptable if on an even playing field. You stall on empty payload at 160 mph, while the AI can perform impossible maneuvers that would make E.T.s blush.

I'm a huge fan of the flight and space simulation genre, but they managed something I thought not possible... Had me return the game before finishing it.
Definitely keep this a low priority game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

HAWX Degenerate

posted by ChiefShott (KANSAS CITY, MO) Sep 22, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Alright! Im a big Hawx 1 guy and i love the new take on flight games to the console. To all those fans who think bout getting 2....DON"T where should i start.
What's Good:
-Graphics slight improvement
-Story Line and missions are typical Tom Clancy
-Physics are different but i like the simulator feel
-You now have the option to customize your loadout, Eat MY 4 GUNPODS
-AI is more challenging if not cheap in some stages but not impossible

What's Bad:
-Game frame rate a bit sluggish and choppy(more noticable online)
-Not a big fan of the online COD style perks (really martyrdom, when you kill them they blow up so nice you die with them, almost impossible to avoid if your in close with short range missiles or guns basically- it's cheap, among others aswell)
-Although you can customize your loadout, it does not stack up when you are online such as if you are playing realistic you get limited missiles cool but, switch to normal you still get your limited custom loadout while others with the preset loadouts will have a 100 missiles to your 6- NOT COOL! On single player it adjust though..Wierd
-Guns are a little hard to aim but those who like the guns in 1st hawx will be disappointed by the lead assist piper being missing, imagine flying your latest tech aircraft firing missiles but using your guns like its ww2-pray and spray

What' UGLY:
-you know it's really cool having to pause the game, go into options, and change your camera view there rather than just clicking the thumbstick, don't think about switching views in an online battle(i like switching,1st per=vomit)
-controls are the same however, everytime you start up you have to reset you assist off control mode--very annoying if you fly expert

Bottom Line:
You know this is one of those game sequels that take a step forward and yet a step back at the same time. Hawx has lost a bit of it's roots while not bringing worthwhile goods to the table.
Hawx 1>Hawx 2
Hawx 2 is not worth buying, renting ok

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

SHAMEFUL

posted by STR78974 (ANAHEIM, CA) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Graphic is slow and detail is flimsy. Enemy is flying in circles all the time and you think they have about a 100 flairs. Witch means you can‘t lock on with missiles, you have to gun them down and then you have to watch their U-turns in mid air witch you can‘t perform anymore.The end mission has a bug the object is supposed to disappear, it doesn’t unless you shoot from very far away and hope for the best. Trust me you don’t want to spend money on a game what gives you 3-4 hours game time. Hawx 1 was good but this one is shameful. Don’t Rent it or you will be disappointed. I sure was

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Tom Clancy should be ashamed

posted by WildCardZ (AYNOR, SC) Sep 23, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

The first HAWX game was a home run hit. But this one doesn't even make it out of the locker room.

Graphics are severely last-gen, complete with muppet-style characters and a terrible out-of-sync voice over. The plot is a hodge-podge of Clancy ideas that were left on the cutting board and glued together. The UAV missions act like sleep medicine, bogging down the action more than the time consuming landings and mid-air refueling. Even the back-ground music is comical and too overly dramatic. The lack of cockpit views (and the fact that you must pause the game and go into the options menu to change from cockpit to first person view) shows that the developers cut too many corners to crank this game out fast.

Everything from the lack of advertising on it's release to the actual gameplay blares "We rushed this out as fast as we could, so it could die in the shadows of the Halo:Reach release events."

Let's hope that this is not a sample of what's to come with other Tom Clancy games like GRAW 3 or the next Rainbow 6.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Angry...

posted by laidback (TUCSON, AZ) Sep 19, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Not even gonna bother.... BRING BACK ACE COMBAT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

what happened

posted by vandal (MODESTO, CA) Sep 10, 2010

Member since Jun 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

hawx 1 was awesome .this game blew.what happened? you just dodge none stop missels coming at you so you cant complete your missions witch are timed or you start over and they took out the coolest thing abouy hawx 1 the dog fight view were you can switch to a far off view while dog fighting. i love flight sims but this one sux..to bad too all they had to do is make it just like the first hawx and it would have been good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing Sequel

posted by Tarquin (DANVILLE, VA) Sep 13, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

HAWX 2 is not as good as the first game. This sequel adds game play elements such as take-off/landings, drone recon and mid-air refueling. These additions are shallow and add nothing to the core gameplay. A weird omission of inverted Y axis controls bombing runs and drone recon missions. The switch from flight controls to non-inverted controls is jarring.
The first HAWX was an arcade style air combat game. It did not stray from its central idea. It was fun and straight forward. The sequel seems to have a bad case of A.D.D.
The graphics are lower quality than the first HAWX. They are not bad. Just less than what the first game had.
The story is typical Tom Clancy fair. The world is on the brink of international disaster. The main character from the last game is kidnapped. It is up to three new pilots from different countries to save the day from Russian extremists. It works for the purpose of moving the story forward.
Not sure why Ubisoft decided to mess with a winning formula. Fans of the first HAWX may want to avoid this game. Definitely rent before you buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not worth the time!

posted by JBlanton (LONDON, KY) Sep 9, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was a real let down to me. It was not as good as the first. Graphics were not as real and controls were not very responsive. I found myself at times constantly over steering because the controls seemed sluggish. The dogfight aspect was lacking as well. Every plane you try and shoot down will have unlimited flares and it is nothing but a turning battle. All you do is get behind them and turn until you can get a few cannon bursts on them, not to mention it takes forever just to get one in your sights to use the cannon. Missiles dont help because you cant get the angle to shoot one, all they do is go a stray even with a good lock. All in all the game was a bad follow up and it took me about two days to finish it, that was just playing about two hours a day. It is short and multiplayer just dont have much to offer either. I am sending this back right away.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

play is looking ok BUT

posted by Philphoto (MEDFORD, MA) Sep 8, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

This game sound is awful bad not enough to sound at all oneffect sound But heard loud on speech or music not effect! I was so disppoint with this game. Since I play with Air War. None of this best one I play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Hawx2 disappointed .

posted by nuni2014 (NEWINGTON, CT) Aug 17, 2014

Member since Jul 2014

This game was not what I expected, and it was to easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

tedious

posted by Furthermore1 (BLOOMSBURG, PA) Nov 15, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I found this game overall tiresome, repetitive, and frustrating. There were a few missions that were fun, but they were few and short compared to the needlessly long and repetitive recon drone missions. Even some of the more fun maps were ruined by missions that made you repeat the same actions over and over again, for no real reason. It's like they decided to make the missions harder by making you repeat your actions over and over, hoping you'd crash out of shear boredom. Maybe I'm being overly critical, but this game was a very big let down for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Watered down arcade style flight sim.

posted by Snakes200 (Salt Lake City, UT) Oct 22, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

This game was not nearly as good as the first one in the series by far. It reminded me of what namco tried to do with the ace combat assault horizon and dumb it down to get new players into the series. Im glad i rented this through gamefly and didn't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Second only to Ace Combat

posted by jstolli (PORT ORANGE, FL) May 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

This gane is fun . the graphics and sound are top notch. the story is indepth and even at parts multi-game related even hinting at points to the Ghost Recon advanced war fighter series that was out at the same time i would recomend this game to ppl who havent played Ace Combat because the planes handle much more differntly and clunbsy than in its competitor

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

hawx 2

posted by xXipwnall21Xx (POWELL, TN) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

im a big flight simulator guy and this game was nothing short of amazing. i rele liked the campaign and the multiplayer keeps it going. sure its not cod or battlefield but its the one of the best game ive played. the use of geoeye satellites for real terrain in this game also made it awsome. the graphics and the gameplay made this game perfect for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not playable

posted by DrJess (ESTACADA, OR) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Jul 2006

Unfortunately, the update that had to be installed for the game to run blocked at 17% (went up to 19% once out of 4 attempts which were all more than an hour of waiting on high-speed ethernet connection). A disclaimer should be put in bold on the overview for this title in GF. I read that problem on several forums and I don't like to find that after receiving a game when we all know we don't get our games very fast with GF (faster than before but it is not the equivalent company that sends DVDs by mail... which will have games soon... we cannot write the name of the company here!). I don't have to research issues to play a PS3 game, if I wanted that I would still be playing games on PCs!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Don't know why everyone hates this game.

posted by chrisjl182 (MADISON HEIGHTS, MI) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Yeah the graphics and sound could be better but it's a very fun game and I think the gameplay is good. very fun game i give it a 7.5 to 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not THAT bad

posted by DeeZ54 (REDLANDS, CA) Aug 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

After reading all of these reviews I was very skeptical about this game but I wanted to play something different and I enjoyed the original Hawk so I decided to give it a shot and try it out for myself.

I'm glad I did because these reviews simply don't give the game credit. I'm not saying this is a GREAT game, or one of the best but it definitely is better than what most users have made it out to be on here. It's worth a rent regardless. If you liked the first one, you'll like this one.

If I could I'd give it a good 6.5. The only reason I don't give it a higher score is because the AI really isn't that great. You constantly find yourself fighting the battle by yourself dodging missiles constantly. Overall though it's an above average game with decent graphics and gameplay. I liked the aspect of having to land to refuel and rearm yourself.

Give it a shot and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Decent Game

posted by gamereviewer20 (CLAYTON, IN) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

This game was actually pretty good. The controls can get confusing but flying is fairly easy. The missions are very fun and exciting. The missions are not complex and clearly state what you need to do. The game can last pretty long depending on how you do with the controls. The graphics are pretty decent. I would recommend this for anyone who likes flying or airplane games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Severely lacking

posted by anchorman11 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jun 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

HAWX 2 would have been a good game if it was released it 1999. The graphics are terrible (the plane models do look ok), the missions are boring, and worst of all, there is NO sense of speed. When taking off, the game looked no different while I was increasing speed, and when I got in the air, the afterburners felt useless.
You fly along from one tedious mission to the next, hoping that the game gets better. Unfortunately, it doesn't.
The first HAWX game was pretty good, a surprise really. This game was an embarrassment to good Tom Clancy games like Ghost Recon and Splinter Cell. If you're REALLY in the mood for a flying game, try HAWX 1 and save yourself the shipping time to and from your house.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Neither good or bad

posted by P_esko0 (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 26, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I use to have ace combat back in the day and that was better than H.A.W.X. But I like fighter jet games. Campaign mode was good but didn't like online that much. Would never rent again or buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could be worse coulda been better

posted by zr1kris (COLUMBUS, IN) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

If you liked HAWX you will probably like this sequel. It is so so in it's game play it just feels like they rushed the release on this game.

Things I liked

Graphics were ok slightly better than HAWX1
Controls felt good
Had a decent fun factor

Things I didnt like

Can't change views in game have to go to options menu
Cant choose which plane to fly in single player or change load out

I would recommend renting it if you like flight sims just don't expect the best game in the world feeling from this title.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse