Rent Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon for Wii
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.9

348 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprising!

posted by PandaCow64 (CANNON FALLS, MN) Aug 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After hearing that a Ghost Recon game was coming out exclusively for the Wii, being an avid Tom Clancy fan, I was extremely excited. After seeing the first trailer, (you know, the one with the two guys with Wii Motes running and gunning) I was even more excited, thinking it would be a sprawling epic with excellent motion controls and the usual "Tom Clancy Feel". However, when I actually bought it, I was initially hugely disappointed. After playing it for a while, though, I realized that this game is no Call of Duty. Heck, it's not even a standard Tom Clancy game. What it is, though, is an on-rails arcade game, and an excellent one at that. Has Tom Clancy let us down? Far from it. He has simply widened our horizons a little. Though the game is not perfect, if you, like me, pumped countless quarters into games at the arcade like Time Crisis, L.A. Machine Guns, or Big Buck Hunter when you were a kid, then you will love this game. Although it is not the norm for Tom Clancy titles, you will notice that technologically it is rock solid, glitches are very rare and usually don't affect gameplay, and the graphics are still very impressive for the Wii. It frustrates me when reading reviews for this game. People seem to be rating it by what THEY think it should be, not what it really is. Anyway, my point is, don't listen to those graphics junkies and fanboys out there. If you love a good arcade-style shooter, you should definitely get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME!

posted by HILEALY (COCONUT CREEK, FL) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love this game, its amazing! Graphics are great, storyline is fun, and interesting, guns are cool, interactivity is amazing, Multiplayer and arcade mode ARE AWESOME and gameplay over all is the best! (Dont listen to IGN reviews btw!) Great advanced modern warefare and spec ops Wii shooter class game of all time! You should buy it and you MUST rent it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

people under estimate this game!

posted by DarthCJ (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is really fun if you have motion sickness like my dad all the games i used to get are first person and he can't even stand watching me every time he came i was happy and when he left i almost burst into tears and i know he did too. so when i first got this game i told him it wasn't a first person so i popped it in and we played a while we both loved it and still love it me and him play all the time. but the game has multiplayer and campaign mode you can play 2 players in both. this a really good game and people under estimate it. so just rent it don't buy it unless you want to buy it. so please kids! don't under estimate it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Interesting Twist

posted by MasterJET717 (WEST HARTFORD, CT) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

When I got this, I expected a FPS. That's not what I got. However, what it lacks in not being a FPS, it makes up for in gameplay. With campaign able for 2 person co-op, and arcade, the game is action filled with real weapons. Perfect if you want a shooter, but not FPS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

brownrob27

posted by brownrob27 (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Jan 10, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It was a clean game but some of the graphics were a little glitchy. and the response times of some of the actions were a bit slow

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ghost recon

posted by mojo4300 (PRESCOTT, AZ) May 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

At first look this game looks pretty epic, but the game is horrible. It's the worst arcade shooter i have ever played. The graphics in this game are something that look like a game cube game, plus the way you play it is just dumb. You basically just take cover under something and then shot the all the enemies, then it moves you the the next area with something that provides good cover. It would be better if it was a third-person shooter. The game play is so repetitive, I found it to be a choir to turn on my WII and play this abomination. Ghost Recon lacks game play by far, but what was actual at times kinda fun, and a complete frustration was the stealth missions you had to kill the enemies using silenced pistols and if you got caught they would light a flare and you lose. At times it was just pure luck i manged to kill them all without getting caught. It does add some re playability by going back into the levels to collect achievements and unlock characters. You will most likely finish the game in 14 hours tops. I recommended if you see this at the store just keep looking for something else and avoid this disaster as much as possible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring

posted by tmqa7joe (DAYTON, OH) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game sucks, the grafics are dull and the action is slow, not interesting at all, returned and please remove from my list..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty nice

posted by 4248 (GREENSBURG, PA) Jun 4, 2013

Member since May 2013

its pretty good i just wish yo could go where ever u want instead of only having 1 place to go. please have real multiplayer and tom clancy come out with another t rated ghost recon 4 wii!!!!! :-)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i really love this game whhhhhhhhhhooooooooo!!!!!!

posted by reidakiriana (RIVERDALE, GA) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii lllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllloooooooooooooooooooovvvvvvvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeeeeee tttttttttttttthhhhhhhhhiiiiiiiiiiiisssssssss ggggggggggggggaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaammmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good

posted by fern666 (DEL REY, CA) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

Tcgr was a good game but what I was expecting a none rail shooter. As far as the game itself it wasn't all that bad just the fact it was on rails.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

high how games should be played

posted by BakedBrak (HAMILTON, OH) Oct 2, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

graphics suck limited gun options

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Nice Rail Shooter

posted by Silverman9 (TEMPLE, TX) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

Not to be critical, but ghost recon isn't that bad. If you love Republic Commando or Cybertron adventures or Time Crysis, this is a game for you. Though its probably best to rent it. It's cool and don't listen to IGN's review, They're to critical.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

OS Trouble

posted by Ryimus (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

This was strictly a problem of the system used. I have the WII sure-shot riffle and that should have made my day. When I fired it was one of the soldiers on the screen that shot instead of me, and the graphics weren't realistic. Try it on XBOX instead

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

It's too tough to be a Ghost

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Nov 23, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

Being a member of Ghost Squad isn’t easy. Sure, you can go out and kill a bunch of enemies, but you are expected to pull off some stealth maneuvers to avoid enemy detection.
In Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon, you play as a soldier in Ghost Squad and it’s up to you and a second player (human or AI) to blast enemies with several types of weapons (most likely a machine gun). But you can hide from enemy fire.
If you’ve played Time Crisis or Transformers: Cybertron Adventures, then you know what to expect from this game. Except this game also tosses in several Stealth Missions - which is where I find major headaches.
In the Stealth Missions, you and your partner have to eliminate all of the soldiers before one of them fires up a flare. It starts off easy enough with three soldiers, but when you get to the later stages and have to take out five or six of them, then the game gets really tough (at least for me; I’m stuck on the fourth mission)
Otherwise, this game would be a basic shoot ‘em up that will delight fans of rail shooters. There is even an arcade mode where you can play to see who gets the most points in a certain level - but you have to get past that level in story mode before you can play it in arcade mode.
If you are a big fan of this type of game, then I say it’s worth a rent, but the annoying Stealth Missions makes Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon a must not play game for me. SKIP IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »