Rent Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Shadow Wars for 3DS
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Shadow Wars

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
6.6

410 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Decent SRPG but nothing special

posted by Exchrystal (PITTSBURG, CA) May 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm going to keep this review short. This game is actually an average SRPG. You have a set class of units (sniper, assault, heavy gunner) and go turn by turn against your opponent.

To be completely honest after all the good reviews I've been seeing for this game I thought it would be more special. However after putting about 3 hours into it was just another SRPG. I think it got really good reviews compared to the other 3DS games out there. My recommendation is to rent this game first.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, Addicting Game!

posted by Ellisker (CLEARWATER, FL) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've never played a tactical RPG before, and when I saw some gameplay footage of this game online, I decided it wasn't for me. I wanted to try out some 3DS games and since there weren't many available I decided to go ahead and rent this one to see what all the hype was about. Well I'm glad I did!

This game gently introduces you to the genre and ramps up the difficulty as you play. It was very easy to get into and once you understand how to play, it can be very addicting too!

Even if you think this genre isn't for you, give this game a try!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better than Street Fighter IV!!

posted by Kutner (NIPOMO, CA) Apr 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I could not wrap my mind around this mind blowing game. The graphics and game play were awesome and it has a multi-player option where you can pass around a single 3ds and play with your friends. I expected street fighter IV to be waay better but no. this blows that game to pieces.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One Word... Mindblowing

posted by xVaultBoyx (TECUMSEH, MI) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

My personal opinion at first glance when I seen this previewed at GameStop, I didn't really like it. Once I got my hands on a copy, I fell in love with the game. It is the best turn-based strategy I have played on something other than PC (except for Halo Wars, but that was made to be played on 360 only) The graphics were superb for a 3DS game. I have never seen something like these games from a handheld like this. I am surprised that Nintendo could pull it off and live up to the hype. The gameplay is a regular Turn-Based Strategy, with some story elements thrown in (which I didn't pay attention to) There is a bonus Multiplayer mode where you pass the 3DS back and forth with each turn. I wish there were some kind of online, which is the only flaw with this game. The fact is that it could of pulled it off, because the wireless play has been put into perfection, shown in Super Street Fighter IV, but I digress. If you like Turn-Based games, or a 3DS owner, this game is worth buying or at least trying if you are not sure (like I was at first.) The game teaches you how to play fairly quickly (which isn't hard to remember due to the fact that this game has easy controls.) The main buttons are A, B, and the Right trigger. The touch screen is used for the map and status screen for friendlies/enemies. Overall... A very perfect (barely short due to no Infrastructure play.) game with lots to do. I started off on Elite for all of the levels, and it helped me get really acquainted with the selection of characters you have at your disposal, with each level gaining a new unit and have more troops to order for each turn. As you play through the story missions, you will gain skill points that you can put into the skills and health of key Ghost members, and eventually get a better weapon or better support device (love the healing gun for the medic, reminds me of Killzone with reviving teammates :D)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Bang for You're Buck!

posted by LordDen (FRESNO, CA) Apr 7, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

In the line up of games that launched with the Nintendo 3DS I've noticed something. Since there was little time to make these games developers had to chose one thing. Either make a game that utilizes as many of the 3DS' bells and whistles or make a game that is fun and plays well.

This game chose the latter. X-Com is a series of video games which began in 1994. These games are beloved by all whom are fans of the genre, which is Turn Based Strategy. This is relevant because this game is a spiritual successor to those games. If you're like me and have never played any X-Com games you'll need a better comparison. So let's say it's a mixture of... oh I don't know Fire Emblem and the Advance Wars series.

I've logged in about 5 hours of game time and I'm about 20% through it. This game is very well balanced, well designed, beautiful looking, and probably the most lengthy of the games out right now. You get about 6 characters and each of these characters have a different specialties. Sniper, Assault, Stealth, Heavy Machine Guns, Melee, Drones, Anti-Tank and it's all in 3D-- It's like looking into a diorama of little soldiers!

As I stated earlier it doesn't really use much more of the 3DS' capabilities other than 3D. In fact it uses none at all. The multiplayer is a "pass the system around" type of multiplayer leaving much to be desired on that front. All those other features are great and all and should have been implemented in this game however, you will get much more value out of this game than most of the others out right now.

My final word: If you're into TURN BASED STRATEGY games at all, and even if you're not but are mildly interested. Do yourself a favor and just try this out. You owe it to yourself to play this gem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

GOOD

posted by ggtggt (WEST PITTSTON, PA) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

it was a pretty fun game, but i was expecting first person. It is a turn based game that you can level you characters up in. its not really that short, and the story is pretty good. The graphics are amazing with the 3D. I would rent this game.!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME GAME !

posted by bodiewimer (ARCOLA, MO) Apr 6, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

i just got a 3ds for my bday and ghost recon is awesome ! Its the funnest milatary game you can buy for ur 3ds.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not as what I expected

posted by bigherm (FREMONT, CA) Apr 18, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It's more like a RPG, top view and one move at a time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not a Shooter

posted by doctorw (ATHENS, TX) Apr 28, 2011

Member since Feb 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

The gamefly page says it is a shooter, but this is a lie. It is actualy a "comand your troops" game, but with 2 majar drawbacks.You move them one at a time, and, get this, IT'S TURN BASED!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A nice and addicting game.

posted by Da12thKind (LAKE JACKSON, TX) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

Story=4.5 out of 5 Reason: The story was nice, but not gripping.
Mechanics= 5 out of 5 Reason: Turn-based strategy battles are a nice twist.
Controls= 5 out of 5 Reason: The controls are easy to get use to.
Overall score= 4.8 out of 5 Reason: Blame the averages.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game, but mainly due to desperation

posted by 3DSee (KENOSHA, WI) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

This is a solid Strategy game (it has no RPG aspects and little actual Tactics. Perhaps it's better qualified as a turn-based shooter?). Quite the surprise, actually. Why they had to use the Ghost Recon name is beyond me. It sells this game short since people who don't like Ghost Recon will ignore it and those that do will be confused once they get a Strategy game that's under Gamefly's shooter category, inexplicably.

It's your standard tactic game that's really good for beginners. It's not heavy, much more casual. Which is fine for a portable game that you can pickup at any time without having to invest too much per session. If you're expecting something more satisfying for veterans of the genre, you better check yourself. This is definitely an entry-level title.

You can save at any time and the 3D effect is well done after the first level. Unlike pilotwings and a few other questionable titles, turning the 3D effect to max won't cross your eyes. It's well done.

Considering how few titles there are for the 3DS worth playing, let alone new titles (not glorified ports), this is a pleasant surprise.

But, let's be honest, this game could have easily been done on the DS and the 3D effect doesn't really add anything. So, if this game were on the DS it would be average at best.

Since it's not, rent it and enjoy it. It won't let you down as a rental for the game starved 3DS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worse game Ever

posted by Faye453 (OMAHA, NE) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

after i played this i wanted to kill myself... but i just cried 4 20 mins and then put it back in the mail box. if ur looking 4 a real shooting game this ain't it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not a fun game!

posted by pwatts (SPANISH FORT, AL) Jun 12, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

have to be VERY patient. Way to much waiting. gameplay is not fun. I played this game for 5 minutes and decided to send it back right away. This is not a game I would buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Game if you can muster through the Crashing!

posted by Swave770 (CHESAPEAKE, VA) May 28, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

Great Game I love strategy Games!! Really fun in my opinion but
it crashed on me like 9 times!! Unfortunately i couldn't get off The Striking Back Mission due the constant crashing. What sucks it doesn't save so you have to start over each time that happened. You had to blow up some vehicles and save some cops. At that time you have like 2 missile launcher dudes, the 3 op guys, and some lady russian soldier i beleive. It was a good game though you could level up your skills for each character, and each character had there unique skils. I would buy it if i was assured that it wouldn't crash every time i tried to play!!! SO i give it a 7 good game love the concept just hated the crashing.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »