Rent Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon: Future Soldier

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.6

6102 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Disappointing and Good

posted by chuckied (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Jul 23, 2012

Member since May 2006

7 out of 7 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game is not for everyone. Too few modes, No deathmatch, no hardcore, although you customize your weapon, they still dont shoot accurately. Arguably the best campaign to date in any game! (I been playing since 1973) Multiplayer is consistently inconsistent with the same ol Ubisoft issue of lag and disconnect. When stealing ideas from other game companies leave the faults behind. ie guns dont kill em like designed to do. Spawn killing, choppiness in the play. Lose sight of target when aiming or running. Anyone with a better connection than you can win. This has always plague the Ghost Recon series.Great concepts in the game but disappointingly not the Ghost Recon expected! Add some more modes and and dedicated servers you got the best game ever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Cool.

posted by m0v3mental (OGLALA, SD) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I liked all Ghost Recon games, This one is another good one.
Although I got to admit I was expecting a whole lot more from this game, and I felt like it didn't deliver. It is cool, with all new gasdgets and such. but It felt like the same ghost recon AW with couple new gadgets, and moves you could do. Overall it is a pretty good game, and worth the time trying out. Feels like its more of a multilayer game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Futuristic mayhem

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) May 21, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

52 out of 67 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Been a fan of other Tom Clancy games, but never really Ghost Recon, was always a game that never was better than Rainbow 6 or Splinter Cell. But with Future Soldier, things are changing. Heres my verdict:

The Good:
-The Future may kill Call Of Duty: This game overall feels like call of duty in a third person perspective but thats not a bad thing(CoD has been king long enough). The cover mechanics are different than the likes of Gears Of War, you go from third to first person while aiming down the sight in cover, which is a great feature when taking out your foes.

-Gunsmith, Its official, Ghost Recon wins the best gun creation suite in any shooter to date. Everything is customizable from the barrel to the stock to the camo. Your choice of attachment is crucial when you're out there on the battlefield. You a ninja? Slap a silencer and go with a 3 round burst trigger for maximum accuracy from long range. You a berzerker? Go extended mag, with over gassed control for higher rate of fire.

-Multiplayer, (YES IT REQUIRES ONLINE PASS!) Yes it does, but i sucked it in, said some bad words and I did it anyway, and boy did it pay off. Multiplayer is the bread and butter of the experience, with traditional modes like TDM and CTF, with some new ones that i wont spoil. Balancing, like other shooters, is crucial, and so far it seems as though its balanced so far, but some of my friends say that armor piercing rounds are overpowered, but I don't believe it.

The MEH:
-Campaign, Its just your average everyday generic campaign that teaches you the basics of gameplay and gives you explosions. Some fun parts though, but its no Deus Ex or Gears.

The Bad: Online Pass, yes Ubisoft is on the same bandwagon as EA, but its only because people buy more Call of Dutys than Assassins Creeds and they need money, so to bring the end of future online passes, buy games you love.

Overall, Multiplayer is amazing, Gunsmith is a gamers dream, and online passes suck. BUY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Polished, but not competetive

posted by MadCat360 (WALNUT CREEK, CA) May 29, 2012

Member since Mar 2008

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

Ghost Recon Future Soldier's single player mode is entertaining and interesting enough to provide a good number of hours of fun. There aren't many faults on that front, and I was satisfied after about 12 hours of gameplay on the middle difficulty. Graphically speaking it is pretty good, but consoles are really starting to show their age as many textures, especially on the characters themselves, will be quite pixelated. The camerawork does a decent job of making every scene look as good as it can.

But Future Soldier has number of things keeping it from being great.

The largest issue, at least for us GameFly users, is the online pass. Ubisoft has decided to completely restrict online co-op play unless you have the $10 pass. A free code comes with every purchase (including "keeps" from GameFly), but if your goal is just to rent, know that you will not be able to play cooperatively. You will be able to play multiplayer head to head, but only until level 5 (of 50). If you want more, buy the game or buy the pass.

Cooperative can be played through the entire campaign, and the game features a horde survival mode called Guerrilla.

Multiplayer is fairly "meh". The base mechanics of a cover based third person shooter just don't lend themselves to competitive, skill based gameplay. You will frequently be killed, or get tremendous amounts of kills, thanks to the sticky cover system that gives you limited control of your character. It feels like luck, and it feels cheap and unrewarding to kill someone because they were stuck to a wall.

One of the biggest features touted by previews is the gunsmith feature. You can customize any gun inside and out. This sounds great until you realize there are only a few options for each section, with many guns missing entire categories of upgrades. This is not Forza Motorsport tuning for your battle rifle.

GR:FS is too "CoD" to make GR1 fans happy, and it's not competitive enough to make CoD fans happy. The single player is fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This game is great! But has seemed to loose values

posted by DigitalGodzilla (KANSAS CITY, MO) Aug 23, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing in it's form! Unfortunately, with super fast sprinting, and x-ray vision, and one-button melee kills, it's lost it's form of realism it had in the past. Don't get me wrong, it's still a very steathly and intelligence based game! It's open to multiple ways you can get past enemies and such, overall, it's a great game and I think if you love the stealth genere, give it a try! However, if you want an uber-realistic military shooter, try it, but don't get your hopes up...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty awesome

posted by dogfud81 (FRIONA, TX) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When i first bought an xbox the first game i bought with it was Ghost recon 1, i have since played every one of the series and i have to give this one a descent review. And in all honesty it really has only a few small details that remind me of the originals. such as the UAV, and the team work but past that it could have been a game that stood by itself. it was fun.

so lets see the pro's
great game play and easy to learn controls (unlike the originals which required a complex set of controlls to remember)
original story line that doesn't require you to know what happened in the previous games. which means you don't have to have played the originals to be in the loop.
great graphics much better than the originals.
The gun customization is awesome, you get to decide on gas systems, triggers, ammo, barrels, sights, camo, stocks, and if you have the uplay and can play the multiplayer to unlock the rest of the guns its pretty awesome. i spent a few hours customizing weapons, and that was a blast...
cons
its kinda easy, i had it set at the most difficult settings and i still walked thru it. i liked the first ones because they where so difficult.
the AI is very predictable, if you fail a level, you can just sit and watch and know when to strike takes the challenge out of it.
the multi player requires a Uplay pass, which will cost you 9.99 if you want to. and if your renting it, why ? its s waste if you don't buy the game and if you buy it then your getting one with it.

its a game worth playing at least twice, once to learn it and unlock the weapons, and then once with all your unlocks on a very difficult level of play, and play with all your unlocks, and knowledge of the levels. and watch yourself wreak havoc. so is it worth your time, yes its fun, is it worth 60 bucks not really, prolly 30 so i wouldn't buy it until it hits that price and have a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Glad I didn't purchase it.

posted by twizzley (THOMPSONVILLE, IL) Jun 18, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Story mode is slow and choppy, and they charge for multiplayer. As if we don't have enough invested in these games already now they want to start charging for onlone play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

unlockable

posted by mavirrick525 (UNIVERSITY PLACE, WA) Sep 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the only problem with the game is that some of the unlock able items are to hard to get because of the requirements

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

No online code included

posted by Two5lickBonez (NEWARK, NJ) Aug 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

campaign is amazing! simply beauiful but do becareful, this game requires a Multiplayer code to get full experience. You do get a little taste of Multiplayer. Highest level you can reach without code is lvl 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not the same

posted by oaklandRaider (TULSA, OK) Aug 8, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For me i look forward to the originality of the Tom Clancy series. This game loses the heart of why i loved ghost recon so much in the first place. It looks an imitation of spec ops and mw3... your are no longer able to control your team like the last ghost recons.. the graphics are also so so...to me it just lost a lot of the heart and tactic that the former Ghost games had

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Multiplayer problems galore

posted by Kahnvex (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Loved GRAW 1 and 2, and I was excited to play this entry in the franchise.

Somehow Ubi managed to completely bork the multiplayer. If I went online with friends, we got party dropped. If I played the campaign in co-op, the game froze, bugged out, or refused to load cut-scenes in addition to other strange occurrences

This is by far, one of the least polished AAA releases I've played in recent memory. I'm not totally upset that I paid the $10 for the online pass, but I can't recommend anybody else do it either.

Also shameful: Releasing DLC when your Multiplayer is busted. Shame on Ubisoft.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ghost Recon Future Soldier Real Review

posted by heavyhanded (WAUKEGAN, IL) May 22, 2012

Member since May 2012

11 out of 25 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

First off I'm going to tell you this game is almost NOTHING like GRAW 1 or 2. There is no 16 player firefight coop, only 4 player, 2 local, gorilla mode. Gorilla mode is not what it's worked up to be, in fact it's zone defense spec ops. You may be like I liked MW3 spec ops...not this! To put it into words bodies fade out after 1 second of them being shot. This game plays EXACTLY like splinter cell...just with a very dry taste. I did enjoy the customization...but I'll let you read every review that boast that single part so diligently, and then they end up reviewing the game for that single reason.
Details:
Ubisoft eliminated bullet shells that add to the realism. They added blood, NOT enormously.
Bodies no longer stay on the ground as soon as they are killed ON-SCREEN they fade out. So don't expect the overwhelming pile of bodies from GRAW 1&2.
Like i said above game play is very much like splinter cell. HOW? You might ask, well lets start with there only being a very select number of infantry within in one area and as soon as you kill them all, a little message appears on the screen saying area cleared. Do you remember splinter cell where you would kill all the military with that targeting system and sam would drop 'em all at the same time? Same thing here except with a squad and NO "AI" bullet holes (but no Graw game had bullet marked AI's so no biggie.) This game let me down in the campaign, Multiplayer was alright not worth $15 dollars and certainly not worth $60. This game falls into another repetitive copy and paste EA style bs category. Other reviews are just first look reviews. This game unforgivably failed 5 out of 10.
Don't believe me rent it or buy it see where that takes you. maybe 4 days of moderate happiness.
Also on another side note this is just a "over glorified-3rd person-Modern Warfare 3-sam fisher-style-shooter."

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Meh.

posted by BadLarry (DEER PARK, NY) Jun 3, 2012

Member since Jun 2005

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the first 2 GRAW's for their distinct mix of tact. and action, but this one did alot to blend itself into the mainstream shooter genre. It's standard 3rd person cover based shooting with some gimmicky gadgets and a story that is so cookie-cutter carbon-copy that I couldn't care less. How many times is a rogue Russian general/arms dealer/PMC group going to ignite war between Russia and America. I was hoping that a Tom Clancy game could come up with something more original than what has been done 30 times over the last 4 years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

HUGE disappointment...

posted by twitch15 (DOWNEY, CA) May 31, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I'm a big fan of the ghost recon series and this game is nothing like the previous games.

Tiny maps
no custom lobbies
constant detection, no stealth/sneaking in game

very happy I canceled my pre-order

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Do Yourself a Favor ....

posted by SupremeSoleNYC (BROOKLYN, NY) May 21, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

6 out of 16 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Just Make the purchase ... Don't compare this to call of duty or battlefield or gears of war, this game is in a league of its own ...

Campaign is fun, pretty challenging and tactical

Multiplayer is solid with a few different game types, you may need a headset if you want to succeed.

Guerilla mode is very entertaining it's similar to a horde/firefight mode just with ghost recon rules and enemies

Gunsmith is hands down THE BEST weapons customization for any type of war game out there, just over 50 weapons and countless customization down to the trigger , camo and scope

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tom Clancy Strikes Again

posted by CptnCommamdo (SAN FERNANDO, CA) May 21, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2011

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Ubisoft's Squad-Based Shooters returns with advanced prototype weapons & both a Single-Player Campaign & Multiplayer Modes in Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Future Soldier. With the latest look at Ubisoft's Third-Person Shooter, the Story was less about how to cloak yourself in Light-Bending Active Camo & more about good old-fashioned Human Interaction & by that I mean using Co-Op Teamwork to kill lots of People. Future Soldier's Campaign supports up to 4 players also you & your Squad have a variety of options to deal with the Enemy. As far as Combat goes, the basic gunplay & sense of movement didn't seem too out of the ordinary but at some points it can get intense when you get up close the enemy for instant kills. 
Art Design is Realistic & cool but can get blurry at times. Weapon Cuztomization & Tech Accesories are a big must for in game use if you've played past Tom Clancy Games. One feature added to Ghost Recon Future Soldier was the Gun Customization System. It's called "Gunsmith" it lets you dissasemble & configure your weapons with a fairly impressive number of attachments. You can use this feature via Controller or Kinect for Xbox 360. Ghost Recon Future Soldier's HUD is like a combination of Dead Space's Hologram Menus & Splinter Cell Conviction's wall-plastered mission objectives, Future Soldier takes information it wants to comminucate to the player & integrates it into the enviroment in a slick, sci-fi sort of way. Tom Clancy has come a long way from writing Novels, to producing Films based on his novels & making Video Games he truly is a work of art. If your a Tom Clancy Fan/Ghost Recon Veteran this game is for you as for the New Players all I can say is good luck. Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Future Soldier gets an 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

pretty darn good!

posted by jeffchicken (MABLETON, GA) May 21, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

7 out of 21 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

rent this game asap!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

code

posted by Apocalyps420 (SPRING HOPE, NC) May 30, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

have to have code play online

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Constant crashes

posted by S3MP312F1 (MARSHALLTOWN, IA) May 26, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

The game play is terrible and very laggy. Gunsmith is great but its impossible to play an hour straight without lagging out a few times. The maps are really good compared to COD. Campaign and co-op can only be played with friends which really sucks considering they all play COD!! I would never recommend buying it just rent on GF because you'll be over it in a couple of weeks. GAME FLY RULEZ!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Why not to buy Ghost Recon FS

posted by get2dachoppanow (DAYTON, OH) May 25, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 10 gamers (30%) found this review helpful

I've been a huge fan of Tom Clancy games but, They drop the ball. I mean really the campaign too short and you have to buy a stupid Online Pass just to play online. I would not want to buy this game nor rent it. Its just a JOKE

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible.

posted by Mjcwolf (HOPATCONG, NJ) Jul 19, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

The game featured horrid graphics and terrible gameplay. I hate it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

10 angry Tacos out of 10 angry Tacos

posted by bobaaganoosh (PLAQUEMINE, LA) May 22, 2012

Member since May 2011

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

First off, I'd like to say that this is the first Ghost Recon game I ever fully brought myself to buy and I must say its well worth it. Multiplayer is great but it's not fun if your not on team doing their job and participating in the objectives. This game online requires lots of teamwork. If you got 8 dudes on a team and only 4 are trying to get the objectives it's not gonna work. Very team based shooter, which is great. Lots of cool stuff online as well like hacking people who you stun and it reveals info and whereabouts on the opposing team, I like that! Some pretty cool game modes as well. You can even fully customize your weapon in almost ANY possible way you can think of. Literally lol. What's depressing though is immature people will probably down rate this game simply bc it has an online pass. It's seriously not even a big deal. Quit being a baby and by it. But yeah, the story is amazing! Lots great action and realistic futures. I find myself almost always trying to be a "Ghost" throughout the missions! There's 4 player co-op within the entire campaign as well! Much fun in my opinion.

So overall I gave this game a 10 angry tacos out of 10. The gameplay is super smooth, the graphics are just super sweet and the singleplayer actually brings home a realistic driven story. You should also check out the mini movie they did for the game that's like 22 minutes long. The game takes place right after it. But yeah, if you rent this game you'll just end up wanting to buy it and if you don't have the money you'll just end up complaining about an online pass like a baby. Stop whining and go buy it, it's worth it. Tons of fun getting the many achievements too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What a bunch of hype

posted by RAMBOSOTE (TAMPA, FL) May 30, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2010

4 out of 15 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

Wow this game is so plain and bland nothing in it makes me say OMG i cant wait to play the next level woohooo.

Same old same old wether you compare it to cod3 or bf3 its all the same stuff nothing new.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Ghost Team has finally returned!

posted by Sideshow (JACINTO CITY, TX) May 21, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2004

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I know a lot of old Ghost Recon vets were very upset when they saw the direction the series was going but in all honesty Ubisoft has done an outstanding job breathing life back into the Ghost Recon franchise.

Ghost Recon: Future Soldier is meant to give you that true "special forces" type of feel. Whereas old school Ghost Recon was all about engaging enemies from a distance, this game allows you to not only take the traditional route but also allows you to engage enemies with a fantastic hand-to-hand combat system.
You also get a whole lot of cool gadgets at your disposal which compliments the Spec Ops feel this game presents. One of the best new features has got to be the "Gun-Smith". You craft your weapon in anyway you see fit, right from the barrel down to the trigger and even the gas-system. That to me is just one of the coolest things ever to be put into shooter title.

Don't expect to much from campaign. It's not terrible but i definitely feel like more work could have been put towards it. You should definitely look into taking advantage of the 4 player co-op cause in my opinion the campaign just isn't as fun without a group of buddies to take out tangos with.

The multiplayer is where this game really shines. This is not a run-n-gun game. You can do it if you want to but you won't be helping your team at all. You really have to communicate with each other and pay attention to where your team-mates are at all times. If you get stunned somewhere far off away from your team and you get hacked, not only are you making yourself look like an idiot but you're really hurting your team's chances of winning. The multiplayer is all about coordination and working as unit to secure the objectives and get that victory.

Final verdict - Long time fans may be thrown off by the new look but the game is definitely worth a rent at least. This new title in the Ghost Recon series easily makes it a contender in the world of multiplayer gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Garbage

posted by nancyscout425 (DUNNELLON, FL) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I am a Ghost player have been since the first one, this is not worth the effort. It is yet another poor attempt at imitating the Modern Warfare series, poor idea.
Nothing like the other Ghost games and this pay to play muilt-player is a rip off.

Mistakenly bought and returned it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse