Rent Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, PS2
GF Rating
7.8

7078 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Getting old

posted by IamtheStig (PORT RICHEY, FL) Dec 31, 2006

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought the original xbox for GR. I have since owned everyone of them and have been in a "clan" which played these games. While I love this series, It is getting so old. Same thing every time. They just improve the graphics. The crosscom concept is useless and they are banking GRAW2 on the crosscom. Guys, time to up the ante like RS vegas did. It's about the gameplay not the gadgets. Sadly I will not be buying GRAW2 right off the bat like I have for everyone of the other ones. I am going to rent it first.

If you have not played any of the other GR titles you will love this. If you have played the others it gets real old real fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

May have been great in 2006. Not so great in 2008.

posted by SirAlec (RICHMOND, VA) May 28, 2008

Member since Oct 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Note: This is for the campaign only. I haven't played online.

I rented this because of the high ratings and praise it continues to recieve from gamers 2 years since it's release.

While this may have been quite the game when it came out in 2006 on the Xbox 360 as a "next-gen" title, it seems tired and worn today (2008).

The cover system was probably innovative at the time but it's clunky and doesn't function well. The team AI is what frustrated me the most though.

Having to give a team specific orders to the point where I had to move them out of the line of fire because they have no built-in self-preservation is rediculous.

What's more, it turns out I'm the only one of four on the team with any kind of medical training. I spent more time giving orders and patching up stupid, downed soldiers than killing the enemy -- and that's not my kind of fun.

I quit playing before the end of the third mission. Not worth my time.

If you're looking for a tactical shooter, don't bother with this unless you want to check it out for historical purposes. There are much better games on the market today.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best shooter for Xbox 360?

posted by sNakel337 (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

58 out of 74 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I'm sure most people are debating whether GRAW or Call of Duty is the better game - personally, I would prefer this one over it. GRAW presents a wonderful interface, extremely detailed environments, mind blowing visuals, responsive controls, and an almost perfect Xbox Live experience.

The Good: So far I've been playing through the game on Normal and Hard back to back, and I have to say there is no complaints about that. The AI presents a good challenge, and the game looks and feels great. The action almost never stays the same. Online mode plays really well, and it just feels the same way it does when you play locally.

The bad: The Xbox live setup is not too perfect. The ranking is great, it plays well, but how often you play is something else. I've waited sometimes around 10 to 20 minutes before we get a decent amount of people to start a game. What makes this worse is if your playing a ranked game, it kicks everyone off and you have to find a new room to play another game. Basically one ranked game per session. That is something that needs to fixed.

Score: 9.0 out of 10. Even though the game presents one single problem, it is still very fun to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

"In order to survive war, you must become war."

posted by Stabby (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Jul 20, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

16 out of 20 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I'm not really a vet of the series, but I've really enjoyed this game. The single player really immerses you in it's intense firefights on the streets of Mexico.
You're AI controlled squad tends to be a bit dimwitted sometimes, often jumping in front of your gunfire or facing the wrong way in a firefight, but for the most part they don't bring the game down too much.
Multiplayer is pretty fun, although in the main modes it feels to me like the gameplay is too much inbetween trying to be run & gun and trying to be more tactical. Still it's pretty fun, and there are lots of options including adversarial and co-op modes.
My only major gripe is that I'd like to be able to play the single player mode in multiplayer mode. This game would just kill all if you could play the single player campaign with 3 friends, instead you can play several co-op "missions", but these feel too much like the other multiplayer modes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The First Next-Gen Title

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Sep 28, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

The initial batch of 360 titles were OK, but few of them seemed to really show a need for a new, powerful machine. Sure, Kameo having lots of enemies on screen was a nice effect, but it's not like them being there really helped the game. They were there to justify it being next-gen.

GRAW, though, was the first title to really make you appreciate next-gen gaming.

This was the best action title on the market for ANYBODY. No platform, including the PC, had a game better than this when it launched. It has been passed since then, but this title was a huge slap across the face of developers, challenging them to produce something of equal quality.

Visually, it is stellar. A beautiful game top-to-bottom. The visual effects are some of the best aspects of this game.

It is a phenomenal title. I was never a huge fan of the Ghost Recon titles before this. But this game is perfect. Absolutely perfect. It is so much fun.

The online portion of the game is the best of any title I've ever seen. No lag and the game is just MEANT for on-line play. You can play as a team or a race to see who can kill the most enemies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

could it be any harder?

posted by vinceb (POINT PLEASANT BEACH, NJ) Dec 30, 2006

Member since Dec 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game kinda blows. The graphics are very good and once you get a hang of it, it can be fun but way to hard. You get killed with one good shot, in later missions you can't even find where the enemy is shooting from. You can't really do any sneak attacks, the enemy always knows where you are. Getting a hang of the controls is a job. Plus your team sucks. Most of the time you have to do all of the killing. So don't worry if one of your teammates dies, he probably wouldn't help out anyways. The game passes the time but don't be too excited to play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This 360 Game . . . raises the bar.

posted by FatNeck (PHOENIX, AZ) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

15 out of 22 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Great game period. The best that xbox has put out so far. Tricky, but realistic game play. Detailed environments add to great overall game. This is one game I'm gonna own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

G.R.A.W stepping it up a notch on the 360

posted by TheGameGuy (STOCKTON, CA) Jul 7, 2006

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game just looks amazing, in my opinion the best looking 360 game to date. If you have played any of the previous Xbox versions of Ghost Recon you will fall in love with this one. The environments are outstanding full of detail and the game play is top notch, when you shoot them in the head they go down. The story mode has great variety from shooting down helicopters to shooting from them and the voice acting makes you fill like you are in the thick of the battle.

I only noticed a few issues that might have made this game a perfect 10. The first thing I found weird about the game was the lack of citizens in all of Mexico City. Wouldn’t it be nice to be in the middle of a crowded city with people running everywhere while the enemy is shooting at you? The campaign mode can be short, I finished it in 9 ½ hours and the multiplayer campaign mode is missing all the bells and whistles that makes the single player such a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

GR-eeeeew! Not GRAW

posted by BusyBadger (JOHNSON CITY, TN) Oct 18, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Some background first - I served 6 years in the Army jumping out of perfectly good airplanes and blowing stuff up, I was in West Germany (you know - before the wall came down) and was involved in our excursion to Panama in 1989, additionally I've been playing GR since its first iteration on the PC, so I think I've got plenty of experience with both the franchise and its associated subject matter. That being said, I think GR has been moving farther and farther away from its roots. Sometimes that's not a bad thing - stagnation can be fatal in the gaming world but in this instance its a tragic mistake. What was once an elegant, simple to learn and control game (GR, Desert Siege, Island Thunder)has been turned into great lumbering beast of a game.

Control is much slower than previous versions as well as most other FPS's. I've heard some players and reviewers say this is realism, I beg to differ - you can move swiftly and still maintain a semi-accurate sight picture.

AI on both sides (and the missions difficulties) is pretty inconsistent. Enemies "forget" about you after you've capped a few of their comrades if you you leave them alone for a while. Other times they can tag you at long distance, in the dark, while both you and they are behind moderate cover - when you can barely see them with your NVG's on. Meanwhile, your allies will often stand in the open in lieu of taking cover.

The realism that I've heard all about from players somehow escaped me. I can patch up a teammate I send into the fray an unlimited number of times but none of them can even put an band-aid on me if I get hit? I guess Special Forces training just isn't what it used to be. The "life meter" when you observe an enemy is pretty far from realistic too - maybe in Star Trek, not GR in the near future.

The crosscom with control of the UAV, Bradley, Stryker & Apache is a nice addition but in my opinion it slows down the game too much.

But it sure looks pretty. I was hoping for more Ubi.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Overrated

posted by BradLee (SOUTH ELGIN, IL) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

15 out of 25 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Perhaps the most disappointing aspect of GRAW is the co-op. I was expecting full-fledged co-op action, and in the end I recieved multiplayer with stripped abilities (most of those cool new gadgets and things are only in single player). As for the single player, it is fun, but very frustrating. Your enemies are always amazing shots no matter from where, and they always seem to see me first, even if it is pitch black and I have night vision and they don't. I was expecting more realistic AI in the next-gen Ghost Recon, but it is the same AI with pretty graphics and a few cool gadgets. It is a good game but not great, and certainly not the 'system seller' all the reviewers are making it out to be.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the Year Material

posted by ReviewGod (FLOYDS KNOBS, IN) Jun 7, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The best next gen shooter, BAR NONE. Perfect is really the only word to describe the single player aspect, perfect. The way you take cover is unique and awesome. The whole style of fighting is awesome. The realism is the best there is. The tracers flying over your head, to the explosive environment. IF you have a big TV and surround sound, your going to think your there. The graphics are breath taking. The realistic names and skins of guns are impressive. If you enjoy strategy over sheer skill you love this. If your good at strategy, this game is great. The range of difficulty is great from difficult to really difficult. The achievements in this game are no walk in the park. If you earn an achievement in this game you really earned it.
Multiplayer can't be summed up so easily. Its good but not as good. The graphics are like an 8 compared to the single players 10. Game play is different. I like the single player's better. The xbox live format is still good though. I'm looking forward to the downloadable content. The co op is fun. I love the customizable characters.
The story line is very compelling in single player. overall a must buy for the 360. I'd give it a 9.5 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Ghost Recon Review

posted by gamerater (KATY, TX) May 20, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Story Is Not Available.

Graphics- Decent Graphics. Especially For A Ghost Recon Game. (Rating 9.0)

Gameplay- Ghost Recon Gives You The Ultamate Soldier Experience. (Rating 10.0)

Overall Rating- 10.0
"Ghost Recon Gets A Future Look"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced War fighter

posted by GamerGOD (LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 12, 2006

Member since May 2005

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

GRAW exceeds my expectations on so many levels. This is what every previous 360 game should have been like. The AI is NOT good, and its scripted but solid game play and beautiful graphics makes that not even matter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good Idea Bad Execution

posted by VaporX96 (ARROYO GRANDE, CA) Aug 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game uses technology and squad tactics, all are a good idea but handles really slow and sluggish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING

posted by MadMax (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

This game is extremely well-made, and is one of the best games i have ever played. This game has an amazing campaign mode, with an even better online mode. Have fun playing it!!:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Beautiful Graphics Hide Boring Gameplay

posted by jtatfsu (WEST LINN, OR) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

I judge games based on how fun they are to play. I find this game to be incredibly boring. The graphics are beautiful, but graphics are only as important as their ability to improve the detail of gameplay. The functional elements of this game could have been implemented on a 16 bit console. In fact, some of the gameplay reminds me of the "Strike" series of games for the genesis and super nintendo, particularly the parts where you control the various devices. While this may seem somewhat obtuse, I also think that the utter lack of blood and gore severely limit the enjoyment of the game. I say this not because I love blood, but rather because I find that any obvious lack of realism makes a game less engaging, and for this title the result was ultimately to make it no fun at all. It is just ridiculous to shoot somebody and watch the "life percentage" drop. Perhaps Ubisoft should have taken a page out of EA Chicago's book, the makers of Fight Night round 3, and reduced the digital feedback to the player instead of increasing it. All the "life percentages" and targeting mechanisms made the whole experience seem like simulation of a simulation, instead of a simulation of real combat. The best game of this ilk, IMO, is still America's Army, because it attempted to simulate, as closely as possible, the mental aspects of soldiering. That game doesn't have blood either, but it was somehow managed to accent the intensity of combat more than GRAW.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Greatest War Game?

posted by champion (SAINT CLAIR SHORES, MI) Apr 26, 2006

Member since Aug 2004

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Some war games are just WWII shooters but Ubi soft they made their own story and it came out great this is my review. If you are tired of playing the same war games well this is for you the graphics are amazing but their are some minor flaws like the controls may take a hard time getting used to and the AI is a little bit on the stupid side by if you tell them orders it may take a while for them to respond to it and the online play is a little bit messed up. If you want the real playability out of it then play story mode that's where the real fun comes along where you get this sweet gun that can shoot through walls and you can use cover on the walls now if you don't have a 360 and see the other on the regular xbox and you want to buy it then you gotta know that the whole xbox version is in first person mode and no over the shoulder view so that can cause problems and the graphics is not the same but it's your choice i give Ghost Recon Advance Warfighter a 9 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

G.R.A.W. : Impressive title, average game.

posted by skitzo222 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ghost Recon:Advanced Warfighter had the hype and expectations going for it. It was to be the truly "next-gen" title that all Xbox 360 owners had been asking for. Although the graphics are impressive at times, a truly next-gen experience should, In my opinion, next-gen gameplay.
Unfortunately, there is nothing next-gen here as far as gameplay goes.
If you have played the previous Ghost Recon titles, Pc and/or console versions, there is nothing new. That could be good for some. Not myself.
I hated the way Ghost Recon titles claimed to be "realistic" and actually proved to be confusing at times and downright frustrating. The tactical gameplay is a great idea, but the player control and inventory system is a pain. Again, this is just my opinion. If you enjoyed the other Ghost Recon games, you will probably love this title. The graphics are very nice in spots and hideous in others. But the general feel of the game is pure Ghost Recon.
Graphics:
Pretty? sometimes. Next-Gen? no. period.
Sometimes the graphics do impress. With huge draw distances, lots of geometry, characters abound and action going on. Other times it looks like old PS2 textures on items/models and just plain unfinished.
Multiplayer:
Probably the best reason to get the game if you are a fan of the series. Graphics in multiplayer, however, are toned-down and ,IMHO, ugly.
wasn't impressed with multiplayer at all. more frustrating than fun.
Audio:
O.k. I guess. nothing blew me away. average or better.
Presentation:
Horrible. If you have seen the commercials for this game, that is what you are expecting. Unfortunately, it seems they took models and characters from the old series and re-used them. the cut-scenes are laughable compared to the detal in the actual game.
Verdict:
Like I mentioned, if you love the Ghost recon series, you will probably love it. others should rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

wow 5 seconds

posted by gflyer2 (HEBRON, IN) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Okay so i get the game and i was like oh b-a but then i play it and within the first 5 seconds major disappointment i hate the game play so i'm now sending this back ten minutes after getting it and taking the 2nd one off my list as well i suggest if you are a call of duty person or more on your own type of thing i suggest you don't even attempt to play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Best shooter ever.....really?

posted by Plantman (PORTLAND, OR) May 18, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I originally rented this game because everyone was gassing on about the amazing graphics and game play and the whole "realism" aspect. I have to say the graphics are fine, but nothing amazing, especially for the 360. Although everything in the levels is well defined, animation of the enemies is repetitive. For example when you shoot a baddy, they slump over in the same position every time. Also the controls are horrifying, in a game that is based on the idea that you get shot and die after three shots (one if you your playing the game on hard), it sure is difficult to get cover and switch your weapons easily, not to mention command your troops to a covered area and not into the fray. Maybe this is the "realism" aspect, but I still think it's lame. I mean these are games, not real life, where is the originality, the imagination. I mean this game is like any other war mimicking shooter. Boo I say, Boo!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

An army of morons

posted by Intercaust (RAINIER, OR) May 26, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have to spend so much time and attention trying to command AI so they won't run around like monkeys mating with a football. Even then they are almost useless. The game would have been a lot better if there was an option to carry more than one main weapon. The shooting around corners feature doesn't work right. The control of your character is awkward. Add the fact that the game is the shortest game ever and you end up with a game that isn't worthy of being a Frisbee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome multiplayer, decent campaign

posted by wigglyduck (VALENCIA, CA) Jul 21, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

If your a person that likes shooters or action in general, this would probably be your favorite game on Live. The Campaign is fun and changes up so that you'll never get bored doing the same thing. One thing I didn't like was that the soldiers in your command don't put the "smart" in smart-AI. your squad will get annoying at least one point of the game. The real reason to play this game is for the multiplayer.If you've played any of the ghost recons, then you know what im talking bout. top ten in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Must Own Next Gen Game

posted by DudeAbides (LIVONIA, MI) Jun 8, 2006

Member since Feb 2005

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have played the other ghost recon games and have disliked all of them. I got this one and it instantly became the game that defined the 360's first wave of releases. You are able to choose between a first person without seeing the gun and a first person where you see the soldier. This allows you to see more of the game as well as hide/manuever better. Each level built on the previous as far as the skill needed to pass and level of AI. The graphics were stunning and truly impressive. You can either lead the team by going first or give them orders to do recon, then once battle starts-you jump right in. At the end of the game, I gave orders to take out snipers and maneuvered myself to take out enemies hiding around the corner. I also enjoyed having control of tanks, while playing sniper from a roof.
The missions were great and it culminated in a good epic battle. This is by far the must own for the 360. Lots of replay value and the online has different maps, so it feels like bonus gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad Platform

posted by VVickedone (CHARLOTTE, NC) May 26, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately for me, this game fell WAY below standards for it's advertised play. the 3rd person format that drives the game was clumsy and frustrating giving terrain a single pixel bullet stopping advantage. The grab cover and peek addition was great but the common sense of not raising your weapon and firing into the wall part of it kills any usefulness it would give. another key common sense item that ruins the game is the lack of weapon diversity. relying on game AI while being stuck with a rocket launcher and pistol is not a good tactic, especially when the AI needs lot of work.
Really I could go on with little nitpicking problems the game has that I saw but will just leave it at face value and leave the game in a box somewhere. there are much better games for sure and thankfully there is gamefly where you get to try the game without having to be stuck buying it and trading it in for pennies like some places making more money off of you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

GREAT GAME !!!!!!

posted by lemonboy (SALADO, TX) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jun 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is very good game. its ausome. the Stuff you do in the game is so real.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse