Rent Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter for PS2
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox, Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.0

811 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Advanced?

posted by pistolpete (PRESCOTT VALLEY, AZ) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

16 out of 19 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

I saw a trailer for this game on an XBox game when a friend of mine came over with his box to play. This game looked AMAZING! So as soon as it came out on PS2, i rented it....and was extremely disappointed. I have an HD ready wide LCD TV and this game does not cater to either the wide screen or the progressive scan capabilities. The game play is not very fluid at all. The animation seems very poor to me. You shoot your weapon at the enemy and when they die, it's like they instantly are on the ground, they don't actually do much falling. While using sniper rifles, I found that I wasn't always in control of my zooming in. I would go one level of the zoom and when then try to zoom closer and it would take me out of that view completely. As far as the idea behind the story and the game itself goes, they did well. The technology that this game uses with it's soldiers is pretty cool and it gives you all new tactics on how to approach the missions. This game would probably have gotten a 10 out of 10 on XBox 360 but sadly, on PS2, the graphics really disappointed me. I did not even bother trying to play online so i'm not sure how that aspect of the game goes.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

hope the 360 version is better

posted by gamez206 (WEBSTER, MA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2004

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

this game sucked....with a capital S. the online play was below standard...... it felt like it was ghost recon 2 in advance war fighter package....... i mean it was bad....it seems like the guyz were in a hurry to put this game on the shelf. overal the game needed a lot of adjustments. it did not represent the advanced war fighter right..... made the fighter look really bad.....i mean 2013 must suck..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Movements

posted by AAAAAAAAA (MONTE SERENO, CA) May 14, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I had tried the game, it was pretty fun. It was very realistic, excepted for one thing. The movement of the people was really bad. They move like really weird. If you killed someone, the would fall like if you were playing some junkie toy from McDonald's. So I really wouldn't recommend someone to rent or buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

puke!

posted by stevesuch (OMAHA, NE) Sep 20, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Worst. Game. Ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

This is definately a rental

posted by dav265 (BRONX, NY) Apr 29, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I was a huge fan of the Tom Clancy games but lately these guys have been heading down the wrong road. I guess it must be easier to create a run and gun game than it is to actually create a game that actually has a story line to it and takes some skill to complete.

The original Ghost recon and Rainbow Six games require a degree of stealth and skill in order to get through the levels unfortunately none of that was put in this game. The various ingame visual modes are totally useless and the enemy AI at times were a joke, not to mention the fact that your partner throughout the game had a tendency to run right into the line of fire whenever you were trying to aim at the enemy.

I guess if you are independently wealthy and have nothing else to do with your money then throwing your money away on this game is the way to go, but if that's not the case, buy something else, rent it only if you curiosity get the better of you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

WOW THIS IS JUST CRAPPY

posted by sopmpdout (OLYMPIA, WA) Apr 13, 2006

Member since Feb 2006

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Ok first off, this game has bad lighting effects on the ps2, the enemy movement is very slow and when they get shot they slowly go down. I returned this game the same day I got it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon :Advanced War fighter

posted by young7513 (BARSTOW, CA) May 11, 2006

Member since May 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I rate this as good would play again. Not as good as the other ones, but good. I hope they spend more time working on Tom Clancy splinter cell:Double Agent then they did on this one

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

garbage. no really, its garbage.

posted by ehuffman (STUARTS DRAFT, VA) Sep 22, 2006

Member since Sep 2006

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

how did this game get released for PS2? graphics suck, gameplay sucks, load times suck....wow, waste of time here. dont bother.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks!

posted by Nicolas (FORT MYERS, FL) Apr 19, 2006

Member since Jul 2005

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

If it were possible I would give this game a 0. It is by far the worst game I have ever played. Everything sucks! First of all why are we at war with Mexico?? Second When you kill an enemy They die as if in slow motion and lay on the ground as if they were going to do a push-up. I advise you to not even put the game in your Queue. The graphics are embarrassing. I was literally embarrassed When My brother who has the xbox 360 version saw me play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

ghost recon advanced warfighter

posted by tamitodd (REDDING, CA) Apr 17, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game was to much in the streets and hard for me . my age is over 72. i expected a game with a team to work with. the game is simple no challenge . the hard part was finding my way through the streets ,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I rate this game a solid 10.

posted by caphead09 (PROVIDENCE, RI) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

The controls are perfect, the graphics are amazing and the plot is unbelievable!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This Game Was Good

posted by crayola23 (ALAMEDA, CA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2005

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I actually have to disagree with you guys i think this game was pretty cool.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

IF YOU GET THIS GAME YOU WILL KILL YOURSELF.

posted by dan4071 (CHARLESTON, WV) May 4, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i got this game because my friend said that the online mode was pretty solid. NOT! the graphics were PS1 quality, the AI made me feel like i was fighting 3yr olds with guns! this has to be the worst game i ever got from gamefly. it wasn't even worth opening the mailer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

don't play it!

posted by kingdom8 (OAKLEY, CA) Apr 23, 2006

Member since Oct 2004

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

just don't play it at all!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

horrible

posted by esaias (SACRAMENTO, CA) Mar 15, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

dumb

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

why....[sad].. My $50 is gone noooooooo

posted by gameboy019 (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jun 26, 2006

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is a bad bad bad game do not play or look at this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

bad ps2

posted by NoExcape (SPANAWAY, WA) Apr 14, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

horrable game on the ps2 but the 360 version was great ps2 ver is a 1/10 while 360 ver is a 11/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ghost recon advanced warfighter

posted by kyletoth (MYSTIC, CT) Apr 18, 2006

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is the best in the ghost recon games. Some of the good things about this game are the new HUD which is more helpful, the enemies have diamonds around them so you can see them if they are hiding, the missions are fun and never the same, there is more than one way to get to the target, you can see how far away things are and there are health points around the level. One bad thing about this game is that you only get one person on your team in the beginning.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Horrible

posted by Slimdagrea (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Jun 21, 2006

Member since Apr 2004

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to playing this game. I heard such great things about the 360 and PC versions of it, but boy was I wrong. First of all there were only like 3 people playing online, and secondly the AI in the game is stupid, the levels are all pretty much lame and the voice overs are horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Very Poor Online Play

posted by CHUMPZILLA (PROVO, UT) May 18, 2006

Member since Nov 2005

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

The online play of this game was quite possibly the worst I have ever seen. Compared to other games such as Halo, Socom, and even straight up First person shooters like Battle Field 2, I can honestly say that it was the worst online game play I have ever experienced. The action was laggy and choppy like I was using dial up. The maps looked like they were designed by a group of college kids trying to fill their programming credit. You have to green up every round and each round lasts about 30-45 seconds The host must change and attend to the map every round or you will play the same one every time. The First person view had no peripheral vision at all. It may very well have been the worst online game I have ever played. Quite disappointing in many ways. Don't buy this game... Don't even rent it. Sorry Tom Clancey.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Worse game for PS2... ever..!!!

posted by penichet (SPRING, TX) May 11, 2006

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Simply put, do not waste your valuable game time with this title..!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst tom clancy game ever

posted by eternal (RED BLUFF, CA) Apr 30, 2006

Member since Apr 2006

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

this game was so horribly put together i couldn't stand to play it more than an hour. the enviorment and guns were designed nicely but the enemies were very poorly designed and very poorly animated. at times i felt i was looking at a pop up book than a video game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter

posted by killer7 (COLUMBIA, PA) Apr 12, 2006

Member since Dec 2005

4 out of 18 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

I'm going to sum this up in one sentence. THIS WAS THE WORST PS2 GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why are you bashing Ghost?

posted by TheWolf (FREDERICKSBURG, TX) Jun 16, 2006

Member since Jan 2006

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

I can't believe so many of ya'll didn't like this game! The only fault I found with it was that when the enemies died the death animation was a little choppy. It was a fun game and you felt like you were in a real combat zone. Happy Fathers Day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Hardcore Tom Clancy lovers only.

posted by Sinacide (CHICAGO, IL) May 28, 2006

Member since Oct 2005

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

What can't be said about this game? The ideas for it seemed to be in place, but were executed poorly on the finished product.

A bulky game with lame controls, lame premise, it's slow, it's ugly. Slow animations, the PC version is a much better bet, cleaner, faster animations.

I wouldn't rent or buy this unless I was a huge Tom Clancy fan, but I'm not. This is a poor excuse for a tactical FPS, I suggest picking up brothers in arms instead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse