Rent Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.2

3692 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Almost A Masterpiece

posted by REVJR1 (ROANOKE, VA) Aug 25, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

14 out of 15 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

GRAW is superb. Glorious graphics captured me from the first scene and propelled me along: the facial detailing, the blend of light and shadow, the swirling dust and clouds of battle smoke. The scenery is beautifully textured, whether you're machine-gunning a convoy from a helicopter above the mountains, or ducking behind a charred car on a shattered city block. The explosions are loud enough to startle and visually terrific, the weaponry crisp and varied right down to the handguns, and the pace hectic. Particular attention was paid to capturing the fluid movement of combatants dashing for cover or scampering to take up positions--you really get a sense of impending chaos as you watch your own figure take off from a crouch into a run. The AI was solid throughout.

The game is so rich that at times the controls seem a little busy--there are a lot of options and it can be difficult to direct your team, call in an airstrike, return fire, and follow a video feed simultaneously. Some of the voiceovers are silly and pretentious. Your squadmates can certainly save you from grief, but at times you almost wish every mission were a lone wolf scenario.

My main complaint--it's too short after having to wait so long for a great tactical shooter on PS3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great, for it's time.

posted by nMedzy (POMPTON LAKES, NJ) Apr 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was great back when it came out in 2007. I originally owned it for the 360 then, and the graphics and gameplay blew me away. It was one of the best games that year, and the game itself was revolutionary.

However, when you go back and play this game almost 4 years after it debuted, it's nearly impossible. If you're accustomed to playing games in HD on the PS3 such as Uncharted, God of War, Mass Effect & etc., then you're going to have a difficult time adjusting to the graphics of this time period, and the controls are a little funky as well.

Overall, it's a great game for it's time - but over the years, it's been overshadowed by some of the best. If you played it when it first came out, it could be fun to run through it again like I did, but don't expect anything long lasting out of it anymore.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun game, but lacking

posted by 3rdPersonShootr (NEW ORLEANS, LA) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think the issue is with the team commands and I couldn't handle the aiming mechanism

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

A Good Attempt But Falls Short

posted by chimptor (SHREVEPORT, LA) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ghost Recon: Advanced Warfighter 2 hereto know as GRAW2. Is a funky game. My first impressions were good, although the graphics were old school PS2 with decent shading and animation. 
The Good: I always love a military shooter cause it has Intrigue, stealth, firefights and comrade! The weapons are cool, especially the sniper rifle, my weapon of choice. Also being able to take control of tanks, choppers etc. is loads of fun as well as blowing the stuffing out of vehicles with the helo's mini gun. GRAW2 has a pretty good story with Mexican soldiers yelling at you in spanish, I really wish I'd stayed awake in Spanish class.
Now the Bad: where do I start, trying to take cover is a real pain cause when you want to take cover you can't and when you don't you do leaving yourself open to enemy fire and getting stuck. Also always having to point and click your team to where you want them gets old really fast.The weapons interface is clumsy and retro. I hate it when you shoot an enemy 50 times and he doesn't die and he shoots me 3 times and I'm dead, annoying!! Also the biggest flaw in GRAW2 is this need to make the player get through a level almost to the end and then through a mistake, BANG!! You're dead and back at the beginning of the stinking level!! Have they not heard of the "Checkpoint" system?!?!? Really made me angry as well as when you're on the mini gun on the helo  and you're supposed to shoot a tank or another helo or whatever and the pilot flys in such a way as to deny you a clear shot and, wham, start over again!!!! Very, VERY ANNOYING!!!!! Now, I did stick to it and finished the game but I was disappointed by this lackluster attempt. GRFW was an improvement but not by much. If you want me coming back to the GW series then ya better improve the gameplay. I give this one an, ENH?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

R we talking about the same game?

posted by mmeadow (VAN NUYS, CA) May 4, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Compared to COD the graphics aren't any great shakes. And the controls are cumbersome and unresponsive. Couldn't find a sensitivity adjustment. Sent it back the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not up to par

posted by rjmac (NEW HAVEN, CT) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This was one of the worst shooter games I've ever played. Instead of feeling like you were the character, you felt like you were simply playing a video game.

The first-person setting was just awful. It was just a cursor on the screen. The 3rd person wasn't a whole lot better although you could see what your character was doing so it made movement a bit easier. With just having a cursor on the screen in 1st person mode, you had no reference to where you were or what was around you.

For a "shooter" game, firing just sucked. It didn't even look real. I've played Clancy games before like the Vegas series and it was awesome. This was just the opposite.

I sent this back before I even finished it. It was just horrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesomely Excellent Title

posted by Daistaar (NEW ROCHELLE, NY) Nov 10, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

GRAW2 is easily the BEST PS3 game available. While COD4 may be the only title to give GRAW2 a run for its money, GRAW2 retains it's highly addictive gameplay, action, sound and atmosphere.

A few notes of advice:
If using the motion sensing ablities, make sure to sit straight up as slouching or laying down will throw off the SixAxis. I've going into plenty sniper situations laying on the sofa armrest only to veer the scope way off after having what would have been a perfect shot.

Also, this game is best played in 1080p with 5.1 Surround Sound. You'll get every drop of goodness out of the game this way.

Lastly, there is no wall-hugging in multiplayer which really threw me off initially.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

It's the MotherLovin Anti-Christ of War Games

posted by October30 (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Sep 2, 2007

Member since Jun 2006

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game rocks hard. Like finding out your Dad paid for a certain little arranged evening date in Las Vegas hard. I wasn't afraid to fight a war before I played the campaign mode. Now I'm horrified at the idea of war. I want out of Iraq, peace in the middle and I voted republican, that's how realistic this version of GRAW2 is on the PS3. I own both 360 and PS3, and have played both editions of GRAW2, but it was the PS3 version that had me loading up my underwear with digested pizza and Red Bull. You gotta have guts to play this version of GRAW2 .Do your self a favor kid, don't play this game if you think your a man. You gotta know it from the moment you slide in GRAW2. You've got to feel it in you deepest manly regions, or I'm afraid you will just find yourself paying a little to much money to tell your therapist about the time Father McGrady took you camping.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the best shooters on PS3

posted by x3o5sFx (CUTLER BAY, FL) Oct 3, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

The graphics are amazing. Even for me who has a Small Definition Television and I can see the graphics as being so detailed. The game is alot of fun and very challenging. As you play, everything looks so detailed like the explosions, cars, clothes, smoke, etc. The game's story line is not that good but it's still fun to play. The online gameplay is tremendous and even more fun. I've seen people complaining about lag and voice problems with the game but probably because you don't have your Router ports opened or it's just your connection. I recommend renting it because it's the best shooter right now on Ps3. Overall, I give this game a rating of of 9 because it's still lacking some qualities.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best game ever

posted by Elementzz (EAST PATCHOGUE, NY) Aug 11, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Another great game in the clancy series. This is the most realistic FPS game I have played. There are lot of great extras in here that aren't in previous games such as direct control over surveillance drones to scope out the territory ahead and support units such as additional troops beyond your team and stryker units. The game plays as though you are actually there and great graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Ghost Recon Advance Warfighter 2

posted by sbent5 (ROYERSFORD, PA) Aug 6, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I like the futuristic weapons, and some of the graphics, but the storyline and movements of the soldiers needs some rethinking.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GRAW is excellent

posted by guanako (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 22, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

8 out of 13 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game is a very good game the campaing is realistic I would buy this game it is a must rent of course huge weapon selection in multiplayer and the only negative thing when you reload you dont get the ammo it stays there forever besides it is my favorite game so far besides bioshock

1.graphics are crisp +
2.gameplay is awsome +
3.enviroment is so realistic+
4.sound is very good +
5.Ammo pack dosnt move and you still reload -

9.87 = A+

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2 Thumbs Way Up!!!!!

posted by BlueJayo7 (STUDIO CITY, CA) Aug 27, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

GRAW 2 is AMAZING altough there is 1 problem on the online if u join a game u cant play right away u have to sit and wait for the game to end

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

RE: Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced

posted by sulli804 (CHESTERFIELD, VA) Jan 22, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I would rate this as just above average. Some of the cool elements are the multi unit controls, however by the time I got used to them, I beat the game. Granted, it was in the easy mode, but I would have expected more. The multiplayer local mode was less then desirable, and the one kill took the fun out of it for me and my son. Thank you GameFly for allowing me to demo without committing my $$ to this average game. I have greater expectations for my money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Co-op was a huge letdown!

posted by jonbyrt (IRVINE, CA) Jun 4, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I rented this game for my gf and I to play co-op, thinking that it would be like Rainbow 6 Vegas 2. To my disappoinment, the co-op gameplay was much, much worse.

First, there is no option to play through the campaign story mode in split-screen co-op. You have to create a skirmish-like multiplayer game and choose "Campaign" for one of the modes. You can apparently play through 6 story missions (in any order, mind you) but there is no story associated with it as it assumes you've played through single player already. What's worse is that in split-screen mode, it goes into a first-person mode where you can't even see your own gun! All you get is a crosshair that you can move around the screen. The gunshots don't have any kick at all, the sound effects are thin, the AI is pretty dumb (one guy got stuck trying to climb a platform) and you basically die in 1-2 hits. The graphics are NOT great compared to today's PS3 games, and I'd give them a 5/10.

I didn't even play through the single-player mode because the sound didn't work for it! Sound worked fine for multiplayer and the main menu, but for some reason it was completely off for single.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Much better than Ghost Recon 2

posted by Liquidswar (BROOMFIELD, CO) Aug 24, 2007

Member since Feb 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Ghost Recon 1 was a good game, but the biggest downfall was the Team A.I. I left my crew behind once they started sticking guns in each others naughty places.

The good news is that A.I. in games like RB6 and now Ghost Recon 2 have become better -- acceptable. The games does have some cross-platform issues that weren't seen in the Xbox 360, but compared to other titles, they are so minimal that it is almost an exact replica.

Pros: A.I. works. Shading, texture, and lighting very good (color and contrast may require some fixing on your tv for optimal picture). You also get a new military rover that carries your weapons for you, and in some missions, you can control military vehicles (helicopter, tank, AA vehicle) like an on-site general.

Cons: Team A.I. better, but enemy A.I. needs more attention in future versions. Multiplayer is average. Cross-platform issues -- minimal.

Finally some good games for PS3 -- let's all breathe a sigh of relief :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Decent FPS

posted by Droops (SPENCER, MA) Aug 28, 2007

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is fun! The single player is excellent, graphics are good, game plays fun. Online isn't so great... for these reasons. In some maps the game play gets sluggish and starts to lag, there are lots of microphone problems, sometimes when a person talks all you can hear is one word looping over and over again, also sometimes some people can't hear some people. All in all i gave this game a 7, a generous 7 only because of the single player. I was really disappointed at the multi player because of the lag and communication problems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2

posted by Samster (TUCKER, GA) Sep 22, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Very nice game play and interface,the game is too short tho ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

I HATED this one

posted by Operator7 (LONG BEACH, CA) Nov 17, 2007

Member since May 2007

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

Maybe it's just me, or maybe it's just too many kids out there who are rating this one, but the graphics were far too cartoonish/juvenile looking, and the game play was SO boring.

I don't know why everybody seems to like this one, but I returned it the next day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Average Game-- Too easy not hard enoug is my Gripe

posted by Duhhhhhhh (SAN RAMON, CA) Nov 29, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

Average Game-- Too easy not hard enoug is my Gripe

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

For its time it was awesome.

posted by playstationfan0 (BRADFORD, AR) May 7, 2014

Member since Jul 2013

The graphics are as good as high end ps2 graphics lol but this game is a good reason why i cant wait for 5 years after this gen of consoles because its gonna look epic and this game shows how only half a decade could look so bad compared to now lol But this is about the game the voice acting does not match what the video looks like there is some choppy frames when it looks like things are teleporting in cut scenes. The game is fun just really outdated worth a rent tho oh and no trophy support ): for all you trophy hunters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ghost recon 2

posted by prettydre (COLUMBUS, OH) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

fun

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Shouldn't have been a sequel, this game is so weak

posted by BURZUM (TROY, AL) May 14, 2013

Member since Nov 2010

Unbelievable, I expected this game would be awesome considering how great I thought the original was; sadly, I was deceived. The graphics, missions, game play, team, voice acting and just about everything else was nowhere near as good as the 1st Ghost Recon.
Team doesn't back you up well, and the method of dispatching them to take on enemies doesn't work. I ended up killing most enemies myself, and the only thing my team helped to do was draw fire away from myself.

No gun customization, the team talks way too loud at you-whereas there was a sense of realism in the 1st G.R. it is lost here, the team doesn't line up shots on separate enemies to be taken out simultaneously on your command. I completed like 5 missions and sent it back. I was not going to attempt to play through and deal with the annoyance & frustration of this weak title, as I constantly compare it mentally to the original. How this game got over a 7 overall rating is beyond me. I give it a generous 4.
I can sum up by quoting the illustrious Blaine Edwards & Anton Merryweather: "Hated It!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

what happened?!

posted by cmartin_85 (WINDSOR, CA) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

It's always bad when you play a newer release of a game from the same series. Well, I made that mistake here and played Future Soldier before playing this and the difference between the games is so much that not I just can't get into GWAR2. Hopefully that will go away because I like to get the backstory in games like this, but the game is just not the fun either. It's much too arcade like for me, especially with the targeting reticle, which is extremely slow in my opinion, and it's hard to actually see where you're shooting once your pointed at a bad guy because the site goes from yellow with a red dot in the middle, to all red with no dot. I like being able to tell the squad whether to attack, but the interface between the squad and UAV is way too cluttered and difficult to operate back and forth. The other is this whole hold down a button then picks a direction key to cycle through weapons and fire modes takes forever. You run out of ammo and forget it, you’re done. Even if you do it in time, it takes forever to switch weapons. There's also no real aim for grenades of any kind either. There's no melee for close up kills and yea. All in all, we'll see if the game gets any better, but if I had wanted an arcade style shooter, I'd have rented one. I guess the bar was just set to high for me with Future Soldier. Oh well. I will say that I think the graphics in this game are better than FS. The explosions are better, more realistic, you can see where the rounds are going and the environment just looks all around better. Not sure why that is, maybe the engine they used to make the games so that’s a plus. You can’t normally say the older game looks better. Too bad it doesn’t play better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game but dated

posted by NickBauer (FLORENCE, OR) Mar 13, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

Cool gameplay but the graphics at times are a major drawback. At the time of release this would have been a solid game but today it's a very dated game in comparison to what's available nowadays. Still, worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse