Rent Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, PSP Games

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.8

8234 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Better than expected

posted by Spydiggity (BOALSBURG, PA) Mar 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

16 out of 16 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When i rented this i thought i would play it for 2 or 3 days and send it back. I've kept it for 12 and can't get enough. I should have purchased it. The graphics are top notch. and i don't just mean shiny which is what so many people seem to think makes a game look good. this game has DETAIL! The explosions look great, the characters look almost real and their animations are almost creepy.

The choice of weapons and squad mates is back and better than ever. And having the ariel view on the fly and being able to change weapons with your mule during a mission are such great ideas (aside from making the game a little too easy).

My only real complaint is that the AI still seems to be lacking. It's nice to hear your squad mates calling out the number of enemies around you and the first time i hear one of them call out the color of a car the enemies were hiding behind i was pretty shocked. BUT, why the last enemy standing still peaks his head out long enough to get shot several times is beyond me. And the team mates will still stand right in the open sometimes when there is a perfectly good stop to crouch behind right next to them.

So i'm giving this game an 8 for being jaw dropping, innovative, and creative. If the AI were higher, so would the score.

MUST PLAY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Definitely Worth Investing In

posted by darkspaz37 (CONROE, TX) Apr 20, 2007

Member since Jan 2007

25 out of 26 gamers (96%) found this review helpful

Now, I never played GRAW, so give me a break if I find this game completely amazing. This is by far one of my favorite games for any console. If you aren't familiar with the storyline, well, look at the game description. It can tell you all you need to know. Mexican rebels, US involvement, nukes, you know, that whole deal. Now, I'm not a big fan of squad-based shooters, but GRAW2 has definitely put this type of game on my radar. Here are the pros and cons

Pros:
-fairly good team AI, they take cover when shot at and go into recon mode until you tell them to fire
-awesome multiplayer. online customization is WAAAY over the top, and that's how we like it!
-great action in the game overall. you always have some kind of explosion or bullets whizzing by at any given moment in the game
-cool weapon choices and the ability to pick up whatever weapon is laying around, which I know is not new, but I like it
-great graphics
-mission innovativeness. I never felt like I was playing the same mission over and over again, unless I really WAS playing it again
-command view, see what your ally sees. love it

Cons:
-lacking a good enemy AI. they run from safe cover to get closer. maybe it's just my skill (pshh!), but they seem to just wind up dead quicker that way
-graphics can get a bit glitchy at times, especially when there's a bunch of action onscreen
-every once in a while you have that enemy you have to kill to advance the story, but you just can't find him!
-voicover is iffy at best. cmon, things like "Now if you two are done with your little love fest, we can move on to more pressing matters" eesh
-sometimes your squad just stands there looking dumb while you fight

All in all I loved this game, and it is one of the few games I've played that makes me want to do it all over again after I've beaten it. Loved it, bought it, been playing it ever since. I know I probably have more convincing cons than pros, but everyone should definitely pick up this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Put it in your Q right now

posted by cflagg (CONGERS, NY) Apr 16, 2009

Member since Oct 2008

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

im not writing a whole novel here so ill give it to you guys short and sweet. honestly graphics, game play, story line, are all sick. go ahead and put it in. you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GRAW 2

posted by dustman (WEST JORDAN, UT) May 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

GRAW 2 is an awesome game, it has great graphics and superb gameplay, which has made this one of my favorite games!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

HOW CAN YOU REALLY IMPROVE A GAME THATS GOOD?

posted by hskrdupooh (DE SOTO, MO) May 9, 2007

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

It's like this...my mom always said if it aint broke dont fix it...and that's what ubisoft did...but the improvements they did was fantastic(especially the cross-con display)...and the release of extra maps as of today(7 of them to be exact) the multiplayer is where its at

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Shooter for the 360

posted by QuiGonLube (LAMBERTVILLE, NJ) May 6, 2007

Member since May 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is a vast improvement over GRAW I. You can control many assets at once. Helo, M1 Tank, & Ghosts. Shooting a minigun out the door of moving helo, that's all I need to say.
Graphics=10
Gameplay=10
Controls=10
Multiplayer=10

Eat your heart out GOW.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by DeezNootZ (FORT CAMPBELL, KY) Apr 19, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Simply awesome. Only drawback is the getting Clan matches. :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Déjá vu single player, but BEST multiplayer so far

posted by Twizlex (DAUPHIN, PA) Mar 7, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

68 out of 79 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Yeah, it feels like I just played this game like a month ago, but that can be seen as a good thing. Fans of GRAW will be right at home, and this time your A.I. teammates aren't quite so stupid. The story starts you off the day after the last game ended. You run through some training exercises in the desert, which was really a downer if you ask me. A lot of people picking up this game will feel like Ubisoft thinks you're retárded or something because the tutorial is too drawn out and treats you like you don't even know what a controller is. Maybe it was just me, but it seemed like it was unnecessary. There's not that much new in this game that needs explained and the old controls are still fresh in my mind. I think veterans should be given the option to skip it, but... this is my biggest gripe about the game so I guess I can forgive them for providing an overall great experience.

Anyways, you start off in the desert as I said before, and it looks like cráp. Everything is so plain that I was worried what the rest of the game would be like. Well, worry not. Once you get out of the desert you'll be plenty happy with the visuals. They are significantly improved over GRAW, which was a good-looking game already. Story is the same old Clancy: terrorists get bomb and threaten to use it. Whatever. Most shooter fans don't really care about story anyways so I can't subtract points here.

The real selling point to GRAW 2 is the multiplayer. Wow. I think this has a chance to be more popular than GoW and Halo 2. There's oodles of game types, 18 different maps, and customization out the wazoo. You can customize your look, the weapon types allowed in the games, number of respawns, and even combine elements from the different game types (like CTF and Team Elimination, etc.). No more spawn-camping since respawns are now random, and players can be revived like in Gears of War if they're downed but not dead. Plus there's co-op mode and clan support for up to 100 friends! Good stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

ABSOLUTELY SUPREME SHOOTER

posted by linusinCA (TORRANCE, CA) Mar 25, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The versatility of this game allows one to take extreme joy of taking on the experience of being an elite ghost soldier in the comfort and safety of your room. I can safely write this because the graphics and sounds are next generation. The shadows of leaves respond to gusts of wind and the distant gun fire from a neighboring rifle fade in and out as you move around. Online gaming is an absolute unique experience. The controls respond in the signature slightly delayed Ghost Recon way which creates a feeling of tactics. The newly added grunts and painful hollars of your characters completes the experience of playing a targeted soldier, and the new ability to heal those that are wounded is a definite welcomed addition. I wish more of the environment would be interactive with your soldier besides being able to blow up cars and windows, but occasionally, this new game allows you to destroy boxes providing cover. There are new vehicles under your command. In addition to the supply vehicle called the MULE, you have tactical command over an APACHE helicopter and a tank. The tactical command over these vehicles and over your platoon is greatly improved by being able to see through them. What's the result? you can not only command them to go to a destination you see, but you can tell them to go far beyond by allowing the to go to an area they see. GRAW and GRAW2 is unique from other shooters. TIME AND LOTS AND LOTS OF THOUGHT WENT INTO THIS GAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Keep the Good games coming

posted by martin (MACON, GA) Mar 20, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

graw has doon it again this gas pulls out out the stops. i love the music is just right and the sound effects are great as well.. if you played part one and loved it. let's just say this game is at the top of the shotting game table right know. basicaly put you will want to buy this game...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAALLLLLLL!

posted by grnman82 (HARTFORD, CT) Mar 19, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Incredible. this is what fans wanted when they bought the 360. Real graphics, real gameplay and amazing replay time. Awesome.

Gameplay:
Can't say enough. You can play over and over and never get bored. The game is hard but not impossible. The tactics are almost limitless and the controls are so easy to figure out and use you will never get frustrated.
Graphics:
The TV videos were astounding. Real-life TV!!! THe characters were finely detailed and the flow of the game itself was spectacular.
Plot:
Story is awesome, thanks to Tom Clancy's geniusness. Story just unfolds and the fact that you have a deciding factor in it, plus the fact the story reacts to your actions....remarkable.

OVerall:
If the 360 keeps putting out games like this, PS3 will be left in the dust. This is what it's all about for gamers everywhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awesome

posted by daafies (FREMONT, CA) Jan 11, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i actually own this game and its awesome. graphics are good, gameplay is good, and it has a big online community. there's tons of downloadable content (DLC) to keep you playing for ages. rent it and you'll probably end up buying it. you can pick this up for cheap, its awesome value for the money. did i mention its awesome?

just awesome

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best game ever

posted by LordShawn (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 21, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I've played just about every game out there but I always come back to graw2. Do not rent this game, buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Military Tactic Fun

posted by lee1029 (SAINT GEORGE, UT) Apr 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

If you like Military Tactics and not just run and gun. this game is for you! flanking, out gunning and sneaking up on opponents is fun. Multi-player gaming is out of this world. The SIngle player is short but worth the rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome Campaign, Better Online!

posted by coop8643 (GLENSHAW, PA) Mar 31, 2007

Member since Jul 2005

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I was so excited when this game arrived at my home. I ran to my 360 through it in and found myself taking down the rebels of Mexico into the late hours of the night. If you liked the original GRAW you will love this title.

What really sets this game apart from others is the control over your own squad and how you all need to work together to succeed.

After I finished the campaign I went online not expecting much, but when I got there I found myself customizing my player, and searching through a ton of weapons that are just right for the the 16 maps to choose from, which in my opinion are all gorgeous.

I would have given it a 10 but sometimes your squad just stands there and wait for your command while you are trying to take on 10 rebels by yourself.

Other than that enjoy the game, and I'm sure you'll be popping this game in months after you finish it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best shooter

posted by LPLPLP (SILVER SPRING, MD) Mar 30, 2007

Member since Apr 2006

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

this game is great n super realistic, movement and gun action flows well not to mention the networking on the battle field. 10/10 , add it to the super list, gears of war, tom clancy-vegas,

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well done!

posted by justdcg2 (ORLAND, FL) May 24, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Another hit from the Clancy inspired series. Got an itchy trigger finger and feel like throwing thousands and thousands of rounds at some poor stupid Latin American socialist rebel? This is your game. This game, like so many I have had to stomach lately, definitely does not suck. It is the antithesis of "suck."

The integrated combat system is bang on with the Army's plans for the future war fighter. GRAW2 gives the gamer a taste of the dangerous, multitasking, and stressful environment of a combat command without, of course, real bullets or explosions.

The slowed game action, in regards to things like exiting cover and reloading simultaneously, could be improved. I found Mitchel sticking out and exposed, one too many times, when I wanted him back under cover. Nevertheless, Clancy is a futurist for the US military and his games are a blast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cool Game

posted by xCaRnAgEx (NORTH BERGEN, NJ) May 16, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

This game offers great gameplay great sound great effects great everything. Online for this game cant be any more fun then it is and its fun going for the achievements.very good game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tom Clancy's Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2

posted by DaveCaulki (RIVERSIDE, CA) Mar 20, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

It's as if the fellas at Ubisoft had one large game and then split it right in two. The latter being better than the first. With control of not only infantry and multiple units, including air strike, "Ghost Recon 2" exceeds the original with a playability that seems easier than the first. Along with Rainbow Six, the series looks to become more than just a shooter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

amazing

posted by MichaelD (HASBROUCK HEIGHTS, NJ) Apr 19, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

it feels almost exacly like there was a real war going on.very realistic.the multiplayer is great also.so to keep it short,its a must buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fantastic!

posted by maximus1 (WINNETKA, IL) Apr 1, 2007

Member since Nov 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

i am not an avid gamer, but this was the best game i have ever played. it was easy to get used to the controls and move faster. visually, a lot of improvements.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game. however

posted by WigTehNig (CHATSWORTH, CA) Mar 21, 2007

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The campaign always seemed to amaze me. they added a
lot to the campaign. however. the multiplayer was great also. but it just seems like they don't put the great things from the campaign into multiplayer.
i loved how you can see the path of the bullet in the campaign, but you never see it in the multiplayer. I loved how you could take cover in single player, but you didn't see that in multiplayer. I'm just wondering why are they holding some of the coolest things in single player from going into multi player

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better Online, Lacking Campaign.

posted by Sleezebag (DELAWARE, OH) Mar 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

10 out of 16 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

GRAW was the first great hit on the 360. ANd a year later the sequal is already made? Now isnt that just a little to short for a game. Is the game any good or is it just another plain tactical shooter. Well, i have the answer to the questions. GRAW2 picks up RIGHT where the first one ended. You have just stopped the mexican rebels from doing somthing to the United States (who really cares..)and now theres a new threat. 2 Nukes have been takin by mexican rebels and its your job to destroy teh nukes before they launch them on teh US. Everything is great about teh campaign, more weapons, better weapons, more gadgets and cooler gadgets except that alot of those "Surprise" moments from the first GRAW are missing. teher are few times when somthing will happen that is just surprising and makes you jump in astonishment, though these points are better than thay where in the first but there arent as many. The campaign is shorter also and the ending is really wierd and WAAy to easy. Now, the better part about this game is the Online. Theres character costomization, clans, leader boards, tons and tons of weapons, lots of maps that are all fun to play on and its all very easy and user friendly to understand. Theres ranking systems, 4 differnt classes of characters each with their own unique weapons and overall the Online is solid and is much much better than GRAW1 online. The graphics are also very good. The lighting is what really surprises me. The light rays coming through smoke, debris, broken buildings and all the environments looks VERY realistic and amazing. Its even just fun to take in all the glory of the various environments.
GAMPLAY(Not including online): 8.7/10
GRAPHICS:9.8/10
STORY:7/10
DESIGN/CONTROLS: 8.5/10
ONLINE:9.9/10
OVERALL: 9.3/10. GRAW 2 is a stellar sequal to a great game that is sure to keep giving your fingers a workout for months.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GRAW2 OWNED

posted by C1337C (Oakdale, CA) Mar 17, 2007

Member since Mar 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Great Game.
The AI in this game is great. Each difficulty you can choose from is actually different they range from easy to extremely hard, the ability to move your men and support was awesome. Weapons in the game were awesome 50cal sniper to m4's. One down fall is the short campaign because once you get into the story line you want to finish it took me a day and half to beat. Graphics were amazing and the additional online play was a plus. An A in my book you should rent it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Fun

posted by Anderson78 (NATIONAL CITY, CA) Mar 13, 2007

Member since Oct 2005

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

After only a few minutes of playing this game, I knew it was a great. It definitely is a game worth buying. Its alot like the first game, but with enough tweaks to make it even better. I can't wait to play more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse