Rent Tom Clancy's End War for PSP Games
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's End War

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, DS, Xbox 360
GF Rating
3.8

205 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

War sim? No! It's more like a puzzle...

posted by Neroon (FREMONT, CA) Dec 19, 2008

Member since Mar 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The claim-to-fame of this game is its 'non-random' combat outcomes, meaning, there is no randomized calculations to affect a battle. If that's taken out, what, exactly are we playing? Well, you're actually playing a puzzle game! Yep, that's it. All you have to do is find out where to move your pieces and the game is done. Move incorrectly, you'll never win. That's why the terrain of the maps is so critical, it has to be to make it harder to find the puzzle solution.

But what really makes this game weak is its usability. You can't 'undo' your last move while its your turn! It's not an oversight, this is deliberate. (This reenforces my view that this is a puzzle game and undoing moves would make it much easier.) There's only 1 save game at a time. You can quit without surrendering, which is a mark against your 'record'. They made it hard to re-start from a saved game. Why?

What's the purpose of the point system and rank? You don't use the points to buy/research better equipment or anything! It's totally useless. Maybe there is some meaning in multi-player?

Plus, the NPC narration prologues/epilogues are are insulting and mindless. I think this game story is quite a step backward in turn-based sim games. I expect these kinds games to be much more sophisticated than an average PSP game, but this is sadly not the case. Without a good story, it's hard to be slogging through map after map after map. Where's the pay off?

If you like turn-based games and looking for something new, you'll be disappointed in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So not what i was expecting...

posted by bjaockx (TUCSON, AZ) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When i listed this game in my Q i was thinking it would be more of a warhammer, or socom style game, but man did they REALLY dumb this game down for the PsP. The graphics are no better than a supernintendo, and the gameplay once figured out was very easy to master. I am a fan of turn based war games like this, but have not been a huge fan of this one. the story even feels tacked on. Definitely not worth buying, as it is hardly worth renting...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good strategy

posted by wingnut (NORCROSS, GA) Feb 16, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I thought this was a very good war strategy game. If you are looking for an action game then this might not be for you but if you like problem solving and strategy then I would give this one a try. I was hooked on it until I completed it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Could be a good game...

posted by tim4894 (APO, AE) Nov 18, 2008

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This could be a good game but... it's not. It seems that this was a last min after thought. I can't see how your troops that you don't loose come back in the next battle. So you are always starting over in every battle. Even on easy by the time you get to the end of a campaign the battles are not winnable. It looks to me that they spent too much time and money on their voice command for the bigger systems and didn't spend any time on this one. Not worth the rent!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Weak Game

posted by Mouldourn (Towson, MD) Nov 10, 2008

Member since Sep 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Total ripe off of "Field Commander"! Graphics are worse. Game engine overall is weak.
Might as well be playing stick man pong. Perhaps if you've never played "Field Commander" you might like this game, but then you are missing out on one of the better strategy-turn-based PSP games.
I'm so glad I got to rent this game, I can't tell you how peeved I would be if I bought it --might just be so upset I'd give away my PSP so I'd never experience that level of disappointment again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

so lame!!

posted by great2B (HOPEWELL JUNCTION, NY) Nov 11, 2008

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

this game is so horrible for the PSP. why? because:

1. the graphics look like they are from the game boy.

2. the enemy gets more people and better defense power than you

3. when you catch an area you can sometimes ( and when i mean sometimes, i mean never most of the time)get some armor and backup. but then the enemy can, for some reason, move quickly to your area and capture it, and get all your armor.

4. you can only move in small steps if its a car your driving, but you cant transport anyone on a car but the unarmored cars.

5. the enemy, for some reason, has better and more vehicles than you do in their headquarters, so when they're running out of people they can take some things out whenever they feel like it.

6. there isn't much you can do on the PSP than for the Xbox 360 and PS3 ( you aren't really free to roam around that much on the map your playing on for the PSP).

7. when you make a move, you can't move again until the next cycle to avoid the enemy, and once again, the enemy somehow advances to you quickly.

If I were you , i wouldnt rent this game unless you were the type of person who likes to get mad at games and wished that the game would improve anytime sooner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Pass it up

posted by Navarre (WEST SPRINGFIELD, MA) Feb 17, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

An outdated throw back to Command and Conquer that was never updated. If they had spent a little more time on this it would have been mediocre. I was unimpressed with the graphics and completely disappointed in the game play. Again this is a game they must have thrown together with little thought just to make a buck off of the namesake. This is definitely one to pass up; there are much better games out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

What the heck!

posted by tobtytamom (KATY, TX) Aug 8, 2009

Member since Oct 2006

It nothing like when I played it on the Xbox 360. You don`t even get make the army it makes it for you.I can`t even see the vehicles like on Xbox 360 version. It like playing on an 80`s arcade machine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Endwar

posted by TRuegi (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Oct 2007

i actualy work with gameinformer i started recently but i get to play alot of games and this is 1 of the worst but first the good parts. One of the only things i like is the story it is interesting. Another upside is the medel system best on any comand game. But of corse the bad. To start it has terrible gameplay, the game is almost inpossible to early. They always have more of the better soilders. It starts of ok but by the 5th level it is ridiculas. I played on the X-box and PSP and alredy bad grafics become worse. Overall it would be smarter to play my personal favorite game Rainbow Six: Vegas 2 wich i will review if u like my stuff tell me some how

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Like Advance Wars only sucks...

posted by Snowis (BUTTE, MT) May 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

Well they managed to take a classic gaming simulation concept and over load it with more boring play than I thought existed. Graphics are pretty good and its not a total loss when just killing time but overall its just isn't entertaining enough to get that 4 rating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

this game

posted by muddoo (CASTLETON, VT) Apr 13, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

this game sucks so bad that you cant understand the game give this game a rating a1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »