Rent Tom Clancy's End War for PS3
view large frontback

Tom Clancy's End War

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
5.0

1896 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Clean

posted by Damack (NORTH PORT, FL) Jun 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2005

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Clean easy game play... View controls kinda stink and are hard to get a good view of the screen unless your in command mode, but then your missing out on all the views... Give it a try and come to your own conclusions...

Damack

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dissapointing

posted by kINGSFAN13 (ROSEVILLE, CA) Oct 7, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I found the game to be most dissapointing. Although giving commands was fun, the WW3 campaign was dull and got boring and there was never anyone playing it online. My suggestion... dont waist ur time with it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

i like it

posted by crypt1 (PLEASANT PRAIRIE, WI) Oct 5, 2009

Member since Aug 2008

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

but it is kind of hard to direct your players with the headset,speck 2 softly it rejects you and you killed kind of quick.but it is pretty fun like playing it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

EndWar? How about EndWOW!

posted by MKulka31 (GREENSBURG, PA) Nov 7, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

34 out of 47 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

I watched the videos. I played the demo. I bought the game.

Not a single second was I ever disappointed. This game is exactly what all strategy games now need to step up to. By far the best strategy game I've ever played, and finally a Tom Clancy game that has gotten away from the FPS mode.

The "control everything with your headset" feature is by far the coolest feature of the game. You literally can play the entire game by using the sticks, R2, and the occasional X button. They really do mean that you can react and move your troops anywhere by the "speed of thought."

Brilliant game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Was not worth the time

posted by kempoboy (COMANCHE, TX) Nov 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This happen to be the first game I rented on gamefly. I was really pleased on how quick I received the game. Although The game started out really slow and never seem to pick up speed. I spent about two hours of game play on it, and it was like every mission was the same. I just couldnt get into the game. This game was not for me but it maybe for some other gammers!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

a well made rts

posted by kodylyo (SEABROOK, TX) Apr 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

this rts was very fufilling, the battles are not too long, so it is easy to do one and carry on with life, the interface worked well, even without a headset (i suggest a headset because it would add to the experience) the only thing i did not like about the game is that the campaign was short, and you cannot re-use the same battalion you beat the game with if you want to do it again, it is impossible to keep your upgrades. also online play is going to be somewhat dificult because the other players i saw were all high level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

very,very,very,very,very good game

posted by ctcooldude (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 25, 2008

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I rented End War for my PS3 but I have for my Xbox 360 PS3 won me back by the incredible graffics and sound.End War for the PS3 won hands down over the 360

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

I wanted this to be great

posted by Mikerra (Grand Rapids, MI) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Oct 2008

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

This game could have been so much more to put it simple.

If 6 more months were spent working on this game it could have been a 9. Its as though Ubisoft thought to themselves well we perfected the voice command system so this game should be an instant hit. well they were wrong.

While yes when I played, the games voice command worked flawlessly but the game did not.

I guess ill start from the beggining it starts you out when ure put right into the action and teaches you the game while fighting unknown terrorists, thsi itself is a good concept but the fact that it feels like nothing is going on is not.

You accomplish goals and everything but it just feels boring and I could not get over that. The acting is sub par graphicly its ok this game is just very average and had alot of potential but just not enough options and good gameplay.

Gameplay - 6.5 (voice commaned is great but cant be the whole game)
Graphics - 7.5 (has its moments)
Sound - 6.5 (cant say much about this its all over the place)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by Rozgryz (DOWNEY, CA) Dec 16, 2008

Member since Sep 2006

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

one of the best games for PS3 its strategy and lvling up your units. good stuff. although having a headset is highly recommended for communicating with other people and giving fast orders to your units. it saves some time. it gets a little lame though when waiting for a match for online play but other than that its good stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

could be fun. (make sure you own a microphone)

posted by choperdave (SEYMOUR, CT) Aug 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game seems like it would be fun. The only problem is you NEED a microphone to play it. Somthing that would have been nice to know when I decided to rent the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game, not for morons...

posted by Bradman (TOLEDO, OH) Feb 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

You have to have "at least 2 brain cells to rub together" (bioshock reference) in order to play this game. It is a great strategy game and great controls. Great new, fresh taste from Tom Clancy games. I highly recommend this game to anyone who enjoys to not only shoot things in a first person view, but also enjoys stepping back and controlling the action themselves. Great, great, great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is NOT worth an average of 5.6...

posted by PATRICK2M (RENSSELAER, IN) Apr 29, 2009

Member since Jun 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

...This game is worth an 8 or a 9 at LEAST! The command structure is simplistic and Fire-Emblem-esque and the graphics (on PS3 at least) are astonishing for a game so large. You other reviewers should be ashamed of yourselves for giving a game with no serious flaws such low scores simply because of your own ignorance. There are few things wrong with the game itself, however.
I find that sometimes the voice command doesn't respond well and that sometimes during engagements with large amounts of troops it tends to freeze up. Also, the WMD effect really doesn't seem fair to either side to use, but I guess all is fair in love and war (sorry for the cliché there).
The positives are numerous. To name a few, the voice command system does an amazing job (most of the time) and the overall feel of End War makes you feel responsible for every single soldier on the battlefield. Another great thing about the voice command is that it makes this game accessible, and the tutorials do a great job of taking something that at first is daunting, and then giving it to you in simple, yet challenging and entertaining missions. The updates to the troops are interesting and online may take forever but I personally find it fun, when it works.
So please, fellow reviewers and gamers, I know that you are very upset that the game doesn't seem playable without a headset, but to me it hardly seems fair to count that in your review, especially when in trailers and articles the main idea was to make the game mainly voice commanded. This game deserves better than what you people are giving it, so that is why I'm giving End War its due.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game sucks!!!!

posted by CoD4AW (GOLDEN, CO) Feb 1, 2010

Member since May 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This by far the worst and most boring game I have ever played. The graphics were terrible, the gameplay was extemely boring, and the voice command sucks and it would not work!I got this game in the mail today, I played it for literally 10 minutes, and then I wrapped it back up and threw it back in the mailbox to be taken away. I was almost ashamed to be seen playing this game by my friends who were also online playing some awesome games such as Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2. Now that is a good game. Ubisoft's worst game they have ever made! I would rather play Hannah Montana than this game.They must have spent like a week making this game because the graphics are about the worst you can go on PS3, besides the Family Guy video game, but that game is actually fun! So those of you who are thinking about renting this game, let alone buying it, if I havent made my point already, it is a complete waste of time, and it really really really sucks!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not what i expected from a Tom Clancy's game

posted by NMoss1 (Selkirk, NY) Nov 7, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game is seriously not good and if you do not have a bluetooth headset don't even bother i put it in and put it back in the mail box in like 5 min. wast of 5 mailing days you don't even get to do the killing in the game you just kind of tell the others to do it for you and when your flying above in the copter you can't even see them doing the killing anyhow so what the fun in that lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

good+boring

posted by josh91210 (CLAREMORE, OK) Jun 1, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game Rocks with the indepth story line. it is a awsome strategy game my faverite strategy so far! now you probly wonderring "then why did you only give it a 6?"well i'll tell you why. ITS REPETETIVE!
ALL YOU DO IS THE same thing over and over!!!! But i rate it a six still

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Stripped down C&C type game w/ Voice command

posted by MecanizM (MILWAUKEE, WI) Apr 23, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i don't know why some of you are complaining about the game not being a FPS. It is a strategy game NOT A SHOOTER!
The Command & Conquer series were the best strategy games based on war scenerios. End of War falls WAY short of what is expected when you play these types of games.

Graphics: Just ok. Nothing stunning.

Controls: You DON'T NEED TO USE VOICE COMMAND. It takes a bit longer because you have to use a drop menu to chose your actions. As far as using your headset, sometimes your commands do not go through. Which sucks because your units just sit there.

Sound: Its ok.

Overall the game is just dated except for the fact that you can give your units commands through the headset. You can't customize your army. I beat the game without fully upgrading my army (you don't get many upgrade options). So whats the point of being able to upgrade? The AI is either very good or just stupid. So sometimes you blow them out or you just get destroyed. Playing Online takes a long time to find a game.

I feel like they are just Slaping the "Tom Clancy" name on any below average game just to sell games. The story is old, game is glitchy and the controls are bad. It seemed more like a beta then a finished game. Don't buy and don't rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I'm glad I didn't buy this game

posted by SideKick (FLUSHING, NY) Feb 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Just started playing (without headset) and the type of gamaplay is really different than other strategy games I've played. The game is pretty entertaining because of the graphics but really hard to control the entire game unless you get used to listening to the messages and viewing the map. I guess I'm too used to the map style gameplay where you see your units all at once. It will take some getting used to viewing the game from the point of view of each combat unit. The problem here is that you always have to be on the watch when you decide to attack multiple units with multiple units. I bet if someone is watching me play, they will not understand what is going on.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

No Headset? No fun!!! Renters Beware!!

posted by jetsfan (MIAMI, FL) Nov 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

21 out of 53 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I love anything Tom Clancy makes.
But nobody tells you that you can't play this game correctly without a headset. and Gamefly doesn't state it.nor do they send it with the game.
it look good but its unplayable without the headset.
You can't command your foot soldiers without it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game on PS3 yet

posted by yerdadDB (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Aug 22, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game was in a word horrible, I don't think Tom Clancy had anything to do with this game aside from letting them put his name on it so he could cash in a few bucks while sitting around doing nothing. The voice input system was full of holes and the AI of your troops was horrible. Once you got your command vehicle the interface got a little more usable but then you lose a spot in your troop number which puts you at a serious disadvantage. If you really like playing rock, paper, scissors while yelling at your TV set this game may entertain you, if however you are actually into strategy games just get Warcraft III and you may actually enjoy yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

End war

posted by BISENN (TUCSON, AZ) Dec 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this is a fair game. It stinks you have to do all this junk and tutorials before you can have barrackas and fight world war3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You Call This a Game?!?

posted by Zademan22 (MILFORD, MI) Sep 29, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game was a complete waste of my time. It's boring, pointless, and just overall not fun!
The game requires a headest to fully play the game, which I do not have.
I returned this game after just one hour of play , that is how pointless it is. DO NOT RENT/ BUY!

Zademan22

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dont even bother

posted by Mark22036 (WILLIAMSON, NY) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Seriously, its good to see the potential in voice recognition for future games, however, the game isnt challenging and all it has going for it is the voice commands. Dont even bother renting. Trust me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dee dee dee

posted by killurself (SALINAS, CA) Dec 3, 2008

Member since Feb 2004

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game isnt great at all. The voice command is like teaching spanish to an apple. You get nothing but idiotic results. Im so close to snapping the disc. Im gettin my money back for this stupid game. DO NOT RENT THIS GAME. Unless your willing to be frustrated, and angry.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring

posted by MrOizo (SAN LORENZO, CA) Nov 17, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Can i say more this game is soooooo boring way to much going on i thought it might be a bit like starcraft or something but nope is just boring in all lvls, they did a good job advertising it tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fair and Fun

posted by WWErules09 (HAMPTON, GA) Nov 6, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

this game is fun! you need to at least rent this game you will love it. the graphics are good but of course its a commanding kind of game who cares about the graphics but this game is awesome you can talk command the fun you have with this game is fun. go out there and rent it its not that good enough to buy but play it you'll w\love it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse