Rent Titanfall for Xbox One
view large frontback

Titanfall

Rent

Keep for: $24.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Buy

New: $34.99

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.4

2118 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ultimate "your mileage may vary" type of game

posted by Spandrel (FAIRPORT, NY) Apr 3, 2014

Member since Feb 2006

8 out of 10 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Whether or not you will like this game really depends on what you expect out of it. If you are looking for a campaign, look elsewhere. This game is great if you are into the shoot, die, respawn, rinse, repeat type of shooter, but others will find it shallow and repetitive.

While there is some strategy involved in the game, it is, for the most part, a "run and gunner". Piloting the titans does add some value, but not nearly enough to make you want to keep on playing.

I'd hate to say it, but I wish they could've made a game mode of the initial training exercises. I actually had as much fun with those as I did with the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

My Kind of Game!

posted by FlickMobster (ORANGE PARK, FL) Apr 21, 2014

Member since Jun 2013

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Bought the Titanfall edition xbox one for my birthday back in march, yea thats right, my xbox came with the game! lol, anyways, definately my style of a run and gun style of a game and the parkour makes it even better! A campaign would have been nice to play, but that didn't happen, here's to hoping there is a round 2!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Titanfall

posted by OprahwindFury (BISMARCK, ND) Apr 4, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game is well made. In the game play most of the matches are fairly well balanced and the achievements give you something to shoot for. The only thing i don't like is the fact that every time you play one of the campaign matches it makes you watch a cinematic and of course the last level makes you watch and even longer one. I just wish there was an option to skip it once you had seen it already. Even if that means a longer waiting time staring at nothing. But over all the story is interesting the maps are fun to run around there are tons of different things to do so you could have a different match every time (different guns, titans, maps etc)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Disappointed, but beautiful.

posted by windholow (BELTON, TX) Jun 26, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Very beautiful game played like a dream up to a point.
This is nothing more than a narrated multiplayer. I would avoid this game since there are so many high level players already. The way the programming works on these games will give higher level players an advantage no matter your skill. This type of gaming is not very long lived and hopefully fails. That being said other than that unrealistic gaming aspect everything worked great. That is except the plot. I am a veteran and would not follow any of these charters to the store let alone a suicide mission.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Seriously come on!

posted by Shadowstacker7 (DUNDALK, MD) Apr 1, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

More than 5% complete the campaign more like 79% not everyone wants to spawn shoot kill die rage repeat all day long even a 4 hours sp story would be fine with a lot of people! Even worse this isn't even next gen it has 720p not next gen graphics or anything you shouldn't have to pay 50-60$ on this for only multiplayer! Your buying half a game! Their intentions were good game not so much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Half a game at best.

posted by MikeGRIZZlee (EDGERTON, MO) Apr 1, 2014

Member since Feb 2013

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game was fun, filled with epic FPS action. it just got stale after a while because there were a limited selection of guns and titans. The game "Campaign" is just more of the same multiplayer w/ dialog in between and during matches. GREAT RENTAL! Fell short in my book tho.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

give me a chance?

posted by georgiaboy2054 (MOULTRIE, GA) Apr 28, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I turned on titanfall full of excitement. went through the tutorial and was lowered into battle only to die about 30 sec later. no problem respawn.dead.respawn.dead.respawn.dead.your titan is ready.your on fire eject eject.respawn dead match over. i am matched up as a level 1 up against a team with an average level of 46. no fun when im not allowed to work my way up with players of my skill level. huge letdown. plus no single player mode? i did learn a valuable lesson tho. from now on i will check for online only.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Xbox One's coolest looking demo of a game

posted by Hawtsauce1983 (INDIANAPOLIS, IN) Apr 7, 2014

Member since Jan 2013

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

After getting home and popping it in being extra excited that I have the extra season pass for this extremely anticipated game I fell in love in the first twenty minutes or so. The controls were great, the feeling of immersion was really deep, and I was excited when those titan orders were called watching the huge hunk of flame come roaring out of the sky. All of a sudden as I am going through the menu's and upgrade sections I start to realize that this game is very limited and small. Then I decide to go back through the main menu and go into campaign and get some needed training before going back into the multiplayer mayhem so I didn't destroy my KD ratio among other stats. Little to my surprise I then discovered that both are the exact same thing except the campaign just has more noise in the background. All in all this game has some great things about it but like everything else on the Xbox One it is just a small piece of a game for a full piece price that does a poor job at hiding the fact it just wants you to keep throwing money at it for little content. I give this game a 9/10 for idea and combat feeling but because its the same exact thing over and over against only 6 other online players I give it a 3/10 in everything else. Therefore this game gets 6/10 in my book. At best you should rent this for a weekend. DO NOT BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

titanfall review

posted by accuduo_7 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 3, 2014

Member since Nov 2014

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I just couldn't get into this game. And i put it in the mail after it arrived.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Yawn

posted by nb8ct (HONOLULU, HI) Mar 16, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

After less than 24 hours with the game, already bored. A bit of a letdown after all of the hype. Fun concept and great to look at but finished the campaign in less than 3 hours while dealing with ping issues, making for lag and kicked games. I can't play for more than an hour or so, without just feeling like I am repeating the same over, and over, and over....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Same old Same old - with no single player campaign

posted by Heater777 (DANVILLE, CA) Mar 18, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

Just another boring run around and shoot a few baddies and then die. Yes the Titan is fun to get in wreak some havoc but it is short lived.

Had this game focused on an an in depth and lengthy single player campaign it could have been a winner.

Honestly I don't know why its getting such great ratings.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Addicting

posted by XxManicXx (OXNARD, CA) Apr 8, 2014

Member since May 2013

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Kinda of repetitive but still a lot of fun and awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

CoD rehash without a story

posted by tke144red (EAST PETERSBURG, PA) Apr 7, 2014

Member since Sep 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game has nothing special to offer. Just a CoD online rehash with robots. The FPS genre is overdone. It looks pretty, plays well, but its nothing really new. Not having an acual game to play besides the online option is a major downer for me. So glad I rented this, sent it back 2 days later.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great for just a multiplayer game.

posted by Kevin_G_Sanchez (ELMHURST, NY) Mar 28, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Very fast paced, great arsenal. This game is currently Xbox's best game to play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Get board too fast

posted by jerbear1113 (NESCOPECK, PA) Mar 24, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Great idea but with out a single player campaign it gets boaring fast.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AWESOME!!

posted by BLAZINLIVE (VAN NUYS, CA) Mar 22, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This game is amazing. I just wish there was a campaign. That's my ONE complaint.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great, Well Rounded Shooter.

posted by MrBearhug (ESSEX, MD) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Mar 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Next gen needed a shooter like this. One that took what we loved about certain games (Halo, COD) and mixed in some new ideas. I'm worried about what's to come next, but this was an amazing start. Fast, easy to learn, and if you don't have to be that good to score a lot of points. Season pass is cheap too!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

HALO + COD = THIS GAME

posted by KyCoDi25 (LAKELAND, FL) Apr 7, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game is like a mix between halo and COD, but better than COD, but also not better than halo. I like the concept of the game though with the titans and everything. it was a bit more creative

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

SO much fuN!

posted by Jtownhero (LAWRENCEVILLE, GA) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I can't get enough of this game. They really pushed the creativity with a FPS that is different from all of the others. The campaign is pretty much non-existent. If you love campaigns this may be a little of a let down for you. They announced they focused more on the multiplayer aspect of the game being that is what the consumers usually play. I don't disagree with that decision though I was slightly bummed because I do enjoy a good story in a campaign. No big deal though they make up for it with groundbreaking multiplayer creativity and action.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Such a Let Down!

posted by Crusader (VANCOUVER, WA) Apr 1, 2014

Member since Mar 2006

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I was stoked for this game knowing the minds behind the Modern Warfare series created it. While it does a good job of bridging the control between a person (Pilot) and a mech (Titan) unit, I think it leaves something lost in translation. Precision and strategy is lost to size and pace. Titanfall is hugely fun for a couple of hours, then you come to realize nothing changes and it has some annoying balance issues. The fun ends so very quickly and it's a shame. I was hoping for something to take me back to the MW days, but I guess I'm still waiting, because Ghosts sure as heck didn't meet that requirement either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Complete and utter let down.

posted by silvertreds13 (PFAFFTOWN, NC) Mar 29, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Why can't games get better...Games get worse and worse because stupid people are buying into it. This is CoD...just plain and simple even the titans are like a kill streak...There's nothing new and the fact they have no campaign is just plain insulting to the consumer. Don't buy this game rent it, because after the first two days i didn't play it again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucks

posted by Fitz2077 (ALUM BANK, PA) Apr 6, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Not what I expected at all!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not good

posted by schism223 (GARLAND, UT) Apr 3, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

It gets boring quickly. It was a total and complete let down considering all the hype Microsoft created. It had great potential, but didn't deliver in my opinion. It is NOT a next generation game. RUNNING AT 720p!!! 720p in 2014!?!? Really? I was on the edge of buying a ps4 or Xbox one. Well I now have a good reason to right my wrong and get an actual next generation GAMING console!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Decent Game

posted by Robm24 (VISALIA, CA) Dec 10, 2014

Member since Dec 2014

A bit too complicated to understand. I wasn't too big of a fan. It has some potential though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Like a shot of Red Bull to the shooter genre

posted by SkaVeNgeR (CHICAGO, IL) Dec 6, 2014

Member since Jan 2005

This game gives you 2 different games rolled into one. You get a CoD styled shooter as your mech prepares for TitanFall and once it's ready, it's a truly unique experience all its own. The Mech's aren't slow, dragging boring movable turrets. They are able to be fully loaded. One person with a good eye and sense of strategy can be a game changer if he gets his/her mech early.

The problems come in where the campaign is none existent, the story has about as much depth as "Where's Waldo", and the fact that they force you to play multiplayer thru the entire campaign is more of a downer than a perk. The one good thing is that there have been several updates to the game, adding modes, weapons, stages, and MATCHMAKING. In the end I believe this is only a game that will keep your interest for a period. I gave it a 7. I believe it's a solid game and one that EA has made several improvements to continue to increase the value. I'd recommend renting it first just in case you're like me and the lack of game modes will eventually bore you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse