Rent Timeshift for PS3
view large frontback

Timeshift

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.8

2018 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Once you get the hang of the time controls...

posted by GFR013 (MERRIFIELD, VA) Nov 26, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2004

37 out of 39 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

it's not a bad game. Although I guess really w/o those it would be just another generic FPS so if that mechanism doesn't have any attraction for you then you might want to give this one a pass.

The graphics at the beginning of the game (the outdoor rain effects) looked really good. Later in the game when you go inside I don't know if it was just me or if the textures changed but it took on a very "animeish" quality IMHO. It didn't effect the game at all, it was just a little distracting while trying to figure out what looked different. Even with that it was still a great looking game. It seems to make pretty decent use of the surround sound as well.

The controls, minus the time stuff, are pretty standard and therefore easy to pick up. As mentioned, I think the time abilities (slow, stop, reverse) take a little while to get used to, as far as figuring out which to use when and then timing it appropriately. For the most part though the game itself chooses which it thinks is best for the situation so all you have to do is hit the button. There are times however when you'll probably want to do your own thing so figuring out what the different effects are early on in the game seems to be a good idea.

It's a shame to hear some people are having problems w/ the game, but if you have the nice setup (HD tv & 5.1 surround), and don't mind a little learning curve, I think you wont be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

TIMESHIFT

posted by GAMCritic2 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Jan 19, 2009

Member since May 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I had played and beat the game TIMESHIFT. POSITIVE: this game is INCREDIBLE!! The graphics are excellent!! The controls are simple. The weapons are great. In this game you can pause, reverse or slow time! I have nothing negative to say about this game. This game is AMAZING!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but...

posted by SkinnyJr (DEERFIELD, IL) Jan 16, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game has a ton of potential, however by the time I made it to the 14th level or so, I found that a lack of interest prevented me from pursuing the rest of the game. The story line is poorly portrayed, even if they want it to be mysterious, and the levels seem a bit repetitive. My rating is due the games providing of challenges, and I'm not talking about what they consider "puzzles". Even though you are equipped with a special time shifting suit, you must fight an entire army. This makes the fight more than difficult sometimes, so get used to dying and trying countless times again, and blowing up enemies in slow motion is always cool. This game is definitely worth a play, even purchase, but I find myself disappointed at the end of each day I play. Some may love it while I see it as a way to pass the TIME...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Next Generation Game

posted by cuban100 (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

17 out of 21 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Never write a review here because my english is so bad that I prefer not to, even when I really want to. So , I'll try to do my best writing this one.

Was reading all the bad reviews here about the game and I found very funny someone complaining about this game that will not run if the output for you TV is not 720p or greater. Come on guys, this is A Next Generation Game. Besides, the main reason Playstation 3 is in the market is because Playstation 2 do not have the ability to output with High Definition (720p, 1080i or 1080p).

This game have a very terrific game play, very original, give you what a first person shooter supposed to, high adrenaline picks (not a happy trigger kind of game thought), challenging you enough so you can't beat the game easily like I did with Resistance: Fall of man and Call of Duty 4. Once you get to master your abilities to use the controller to change the time slow/stop/reverse, shoot and move at the same time and apply that to all the well thought tactics of the game the you should be fine, even better, very rewarding when you finally get it.

In other hands this is the only game that has the ability to freeze my system to the point that I had to turn it off with the power supply button that is in the back of the unit and I think that's a result of developers that don't know how to take a real advantage of the amazing hardware that Playstation 3 is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Sleeper Hit!

posted by goddog (MENTOR, OH) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

9 out of 11 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

If you're upset because you purchased a PS3 without getting a proper t.v. to match its capabilities, then go get one, or stop whining. Also, if you give this game a chance (stop being frontrunners), and play it through, you will be surprised over and over by its graphical wonders and variety of challenging gameplay. No bad camera angles. Just play it on a great setup, and you'll be able to truely appreciate all this game has to offer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

timeshift

posted by Alec12 (WEST HARRISON, IN) Dec 28, 2008

Member since Jun 2007

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

This video game is sweet. For all first person shooter people out there, this game rocks. Timeshift takes takes place in the future, and is played by a soldier in an all new time suit. All of the different weapons combining with the different levels, makes one great game. Trust me and take my word for it, this games kicks butt. As a personal game player myself, I find that playing a game with time moving fits well with the right standards. Good luck if you are playing this game, o and watch out for the mines in the fifth level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

timeshift

posted by mamasboy31 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Mar 14, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

time shift is the most awsom games out there for one the graphics are great the story line was good the game play was awsom. the only thing i have to say bad about this game is that the A.I (or artafical intelagence) is kind of dry. but other than that the game is the best

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Timeshift

posted by bigdaddy42 (INVER GROVE HEIGHTS, MN) Feb 9, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Good game all around. An ok story line, decent weapons, good graphics. Worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Somewhat lacking

posted by Nibbles92 (HAYWARD, CA) Nov 25, 2007

Member since Feb 2006

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Graphics=8
AI(artificial intelligence)-2
creativity-7
story-5
gameplay-3
controls-2

wrap up- just like a normal shooter with some cleaver moves added in but it seems to sacrifice the AI.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

It was just sad

posted by Saleen747 (Spanaway, WA) Oct 1, 2008

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The graphics in the game were great, which is what gave it the rating it has now, everything else was horrible. The single player story line was extremely unoriginal, almost the same exact as Half Life 2 and the episodes. The multiplayer barely had anyone playing and was not fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

cool idea, but ultimately boring and repetitive

posted by ZeroHero (FITCHBURG, MA) Sep 14, 2008

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i would definitely say this game is worth a rent at the most, but to say its worth a full fledged 60 or even 50 dollars is beyond the case. at the core of this game is the time mechanic. the ability to slow stop and reverse time to better suit your combat needs and surroundings is initially a cool idea, but the main fact remains that this game gets to repetitive too quickly.

and beyond that, an even greater annoyance is the fact that for some reason all the enemies seem to be made of kevlar, for the fact that it takes mounds of ammunition to put down one guy, unless of course you use your entire time stop bar to pinpoint one enemy forehead perfectly. but then you are left in the middle of a room full of baddies with no more time energy, which equals...you guessed it your frustrating and ultimate death, along with any hope of this game being more fun that a nuisance.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved It!!

posted by kricks (OREM, UT) Sep 8, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I really enjoyed this game. I enjoyed the story line... (it all makes sense at the end) I love the time shift abilities and overall game play. Good balance, not too hard, not too easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Meh...

posted by Maldev (LOS ANGELES, CA) Apr 15, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Not a bad game but I always had the feeling that I was travelling down a tunnel. No decision was really made by me, I was directed towards it. No real sprint option was alittle odd and painful in some battle situations. The time games were easiy enough, especially if you simply did what the suit suggested. Difficult to tell which direction you were being shot from at times. I also experienced frame rate issues, especially when crossing an auto-save point or when there were a lot of enemies on the screen.
Overall, not a bad play, but nothing original other than the time suit which starts to get boring afetr about an hour's worth of play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Rentable not buyable

posted by blazer8487 (JONESTOWN, PA) Jan 5, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2007

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

fun at first but becomes repetitive quickly, handles alittle clunky at times and feels alittle heavy. aiming system absolutly sucks, takes like 50 shots in the head to kill enemys

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Read before renting or buying!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by MWS329 (TONAWANDA, NY) Dec 14, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

OMG!!! This game looked really good in its commercials and advertisement, so i decided to rent it, BIG MISTAKE!!!! It was nothing like i thought it would have been. The graphics were not good at all and they did not live up to the PS3's ability. Also the game started off really slow and was boring. Also when you were firing a gun they had no aimers so you had to guess where you were shooting so basically you used two to three mags just to kill one enemy. So I give this game a 1-HORRIBLE rating only because they didn't have ZERO as an option.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lack of vital information!!!

posted by oldjam1 (PEARL RIVER, LA) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Mar 2006

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

For the last few months now, my grandson and I have been watching and listening to the advertisements of the up coming PS3 game TIMESHIFT. Not once did we hear or read on the TV or INTERNET that in order to be able to play the game your TV had to have 720p or better video output!!! I would say that is a VITAL INFORMATION that the consumer needed to know, or is that INFO. on a need to know bases and WE DONT need to know. Not only do we deserve an apology but also a refund!!! SMART MOVE to ALL who had anything to do with this game. Keep up the good work, you'll be out of business in notime. yours truely:
Oldjam1

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

So much Potential

posted by Cryoss (PITTSBURGH, PA) Dec 10, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game had SOOO much potential to be a GREAT game, but falls just short. The "story/plot" suffers from being vague and not fleshed out. In fact, it feels like it was thrown together to justify the time controls of the game, more than anything else.

This game also suffers from LONG load times. This, coupled with difficult sections that need repeated over and over, make for a very tedious gaming experience.

I can't comment to much on the online play. Everytime I tried to play I couldn't find a match. I don't know if that was because no one was on, or because of the poor menu set-up.

All said, this is an average shooter to hold you over until COD4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unplayable

posted by officeninj (GAINESVILLE, FL) Mar 9, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Could not get this game to work on any video output mode. This is basically a $50 paperweight. Do not buy or even rent this game under any circumstances.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sorry 2 rate a 1

posted by goodwrench (YUMA, AZ) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i wish i can tell u about this game but i cant.
for some reason my ps3 wont play the game...

right now i am bumbed
i really wish i could of played it.....

>:S

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Video output problems

posted by shelbyjbar (Rosalia, WA) Dec 5, 2008

Member since Apr 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have no idea how this game was, when I tried to play it I got a msg saying that it would not play at my current video output level. I tried various outputs that worked with my set up and one of them would work. You have to have a HDTV to play this game. So, if you do you'll probably enjoy it if not you might just want to skip it on your list.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Graphics ... what graphics?

posted by NeilkCA (YORBA LINDA, CA) Apr 28, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have a PS3, 80GB version ... and a 1080p 47" HDTV, Gran Turismo looks like a movie, almost real life even, so my PS3 and TV are properly set up and in sync with each other without question ... the graphics of Timeshift are extremely grainy, enough to make the game a horror to play. The controls are also bad. Aiming was way off, I had to aim to the left of characters to come close to hitting them. I checked all of the settings, didn't make a bit of difference. The game is in the return mail, 2 days after getting it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Nothing Special

posted by Maevid (ATLANTA, GA) Apr 27, 2008

Member since Jan 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Decent FPS, but the novelty of the time control mechanic wears off pretty quickly. Standard plot, flat characters, decent graphics. Good for a couple of days of casual play, not much else.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Boring Playtime

posted by PS3Syko (IONE, WA) Apr 23, 2008

Member since Mar 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The beginning is intriguing, once you get a little ways through, it starts to get boring. after you get most of the guns, everything is repetitive and boring. Time pause/stop is way to short. OK graphics, solid interactions. I wouldn't recommend, gets to monotonous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stop complaining!!!

posted by mann5939 (QUANTICO, VA) Nov 27, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Hey you guys have to stop complaining about this game. The PS3 and the blu-ray games are HD if you spent all that money on a PS3 spend a little more money and buy a freaking HD t.v and then leave feed back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Renters be Advised

posted by DIEaBOLIC (CLEVELAND, TX) Dec 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

hey if you can afford a PS3 then get the HDTV to go with, otherwise you are missing out on so much. Not just with this game but with the majority of PS3 games out so far. Man, if you cant't afford to buy a HDTV go to RAC or somewhere and rent a stinkin' HDTV so you can appreciate the beauty of the PS3. The game is actually fun, not too easy but just difficult enough to where you want to give up and then you finally get past a part and you're like...YEAH...not a game easily beaten in a day like i have found most others to be. The graphics are better than most and the sound is good even without surround sound. Controls a little difficult to get the hang off at first but once you do it is awesome to control time (pretty funny to see guys flying in slow motion while you zip right past them).. The game likes to pick which time mode to use for you only if you tap the L1 button, if you hold it down and press the time mode you want then you override it everytime. Once you master the time control technique and use it at just the right time you will really enjoy this FPS. Oh yeah the guns are pretty awesome too!! Online play was not that great though in my opinion but not everything is perfect you know. kinda like Rainbow Six Vegas...gameplay graphics really good but online play looks like PS2 graphics. Hope to see you guys who can actually utilize this great game online to challenge my skills....see ya there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse