Rent Timeshift for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Timeshift

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
6.2

9863 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not the Worst Game I've Played

posted by DaMikeSC (COLUMBIA, SC) Dec 7, 2007

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2007

77 out of 88 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

For a game that was in development for, roughly, 5 years (whose original demo did come out for the ORIGINAL X-Box), you'd expect a lot more out of this game than you get. It's not BAD, per se, it's just --- well, brutally average. Viciously mediocre, even. But, rather than me sitting here and griping, let's look at it.

In Timeshift, you are the wearer of the Beta Suit which allows you to control time for everything around you, but which leaves you untouched and unbothered. Time manipulation, I fully believe, will end up becoming a massive game play element in the future, but right now, it tends to be gimmicky as can be and, well, Timeshift hits the gimmick with gusto. You can pause, slow down, and reverse time.

And the game does have some pretty nifty tricks. It is always fun to pause time, run up, steal an opponent's gun and stick a grenade on him. Thankfully it is fun because you do it A LOT. The problem, though, is that the gimmick is so barely explored. The puzzles are so similar --- either pause time to allow to cross a see saw or reverse time to ride a crate across a warehouse. There are nearly infinite cool puzzles one could develop with this gimmick and the developers, sadly, decided to go with some of the easiest ones.

The weaponry is standard, but enjoyable. You get shotguns, machine guns, rocket launchers, and sniper rifles. You also get clutch grenades, which are a lot of fun. Plus EMF cannons, thunderbolt crossbows (which become your sniper rifles of choice before long) and pulse rifles as you get deeper into the game. The aim never seems to really hit the sweet spot and, too often, you feel as if you are fighting the aim rather than playing with it.

The story is the usual dystopian future one where some megalomaniac manages to gain total power and you're part of a small underground force seeking to topple him. A little bit of a cliche, to be honest.

The game won't blow you away, but there are worse ways to spend some time than playing this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good "Filler" Game

posted by therealmcc (RAYMOND, MS) Oct 31, 2007

Member since May 2007

58 out of 70 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This is a good filler game for anyone that is bored, because its just good for a rental. The time freezing/slow down/etc is pretty neat, but it gets kinda old kinda fast. If you like FPS this will be a game you will enjoy until you beat it, once you beat it, it is over, no replay value at all...

But its a good game to rent! :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game but, could be better

posted by McOwned (RENO, NV) Nov 3, 2007

Member since Nov 2007

38 out of 47 gamers (81%) found this review helpful

Let me start of by saying this is a great game. The concepts are great and the ideas were their but it needed to be polished just a bit more.

Goods: The graphics were fantastic and seeing the rain stop or slow down was just a trip on its own. Another great thing about this game is the whole idea about controlling time and just having a great time messing with such a cool skill. The online play is fun and the whole idea that the aspect of time is at your control in multiplayer is cool and enjoying.

Bads: The things I found a little annoying in the game was that it really had no in depth story line. I never got to really meet the character and who he was or why hes traveling back in time. Another thing about the game that I thought need more work was the fact that after getting the cross bow the game became way to easy even while playing on the max difficulty. One thing that I thought needed more work was that the A.I. just wasn't smart enough. Now what I mean by this is the A.I. liked to charge out in the middle of the battle field and this usually ended with me blowing them into small pieces. What was also a downside was that the suit has a special system in it were it automatically selected your time skills for you. This became very annoying later in the game when I wanted to do something a certain way but the suit prevented me from doing it.

But over all I found this game very enjoying but short (8-9 hours)

I would surely give this game a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Underrated in my opinion

posted by Glitch78 (INDIO, CA) May 10, 2009

Member since Jul 2007

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Hey guys, Glitch here. Now I know what your thinking, "Oh my god! Who likes this game, it sucks!" Let me reply by saying this, I love it.

First the bad:

The game is pretty short.

Story is really bad, and only serves only as a method of pushing you forward through a few levels.

Character modles could use real work.

The call you "the Suite guy," What!

Wepons are pretty standard.

Controls are REALLY weird (Left trigger= Primary fire)
(Right trigger= Alt-Fire) (Right trigger= Iron sights)

Super steryotipical.

You have no name, none. (All you get is when Krome calls you "doctor")

Now for the good

The graphics are awsome, truly Next-Gen.

Your suite looks really cool.

All wepons have an Alt-Fire. (from grenade attachments, to zooming in on scopes)

The time shifting powers are really cool. (Time slow, Time stop, Time rewind)

When time stopping on certain levels, you can see individual raindrops freeze, awsome.

It is actually very challenging, you will need to take cover, or die. But it's the fun kind of hard.

AI is suprisingly better than I thought it would be. They'll take cover, jump through windows to flank you, and throw clutch grenades at you with deadly efficiancy. (The game says there are like 3 grenade types but I only threw like 3 clutch grenades because I was using Time slow for most of the game)

The battles are mostly on a gigantic scale. Especially the last boss battle.

And for a final good thing, the game is just to fun!

On a final note, the game is underrated, in my opinion.

Brief, yes. But I hope you can at least rent it, you won't regret it. (If your like me.)

From fellow gamer,
Glich78

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

All in all just average

posted by Papadop (STAFFORD, VA) Nov 2, 2007

Member since Oct 2007

11 out of 14 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

Pretty visuals with some choppy moments of play. Plenty of explosions, but repetitive fighting. Not much variety, just a gimmicky time control suit. This game only sets itself apart with the time control system, and some pretty cool weapons. Other than that its a decent, but standard first person shooter. Rental only, but I guess that's why you got gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Cool

posted by darkstrike (BRISTOL, RI) Jan 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was really awsome. I dont know what the other people are thinking. The time powers are awsome and fun to use. The only thing that kinda sucks is when you are using a time power you move slightly slower too. But the rest of the game is awsome. There are a wide variaty of levles and a few different guns. I would deffinitly rent this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

I wish i could rewind and stop this game.

posted by Zman008 (AVELLA, PA) Mar 7, 2008

Member since May 2004

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Vivendi Studios could of had a masterpeice wtih this game but didn't take a nice hold of the opporotunity. For some reason as i played the game it felt liek a game that would of been good for the original xbox console. The menus were old school and it just felt like an old 1st person shooter. The cut scene graphics were good but in game was not so good. This game could of been much better than what it put it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So much hypre, for this?

posted by SuperSmurf (Galt, CA) Mar 3, 2008

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game had a massive media campaign and a lot of hype, unfortunately it was massively dissappointing. While the game was fun for a while, eventually slowing down time to absorb the dozens of enemies they throw at you gets old. The achievements are shallow and mostly based on the multiplayer game, only 520 Gamerscore points are available from the single player game on the hardest difficulty.

This is a rental game, perfect for gamefly, but don't waste your buyer's dollars. Do yourself a favor, save some time, start on elite difficulty. If you have any shooter experience at all, you'll find this difficulty pretty easy once you get the hang of slowing down time in small bursts. Thats pretty much the key to the harder encounters, slowing down time for a moment to get a kill, then speeding it back up to allow your enemies to inch forwards, then slowing it back down again.

The crossbow is your single best weapon, a hit anywhere on a normal enemy kills them, and 2 hits take down the only real boss-type enemies, the blue-lightning shooting teleporters. A grenade stick also eliminates any enemy except for vehicles, which require the rocket launcher, once you have one, make sure you keep it and use the numerous ammunintion boxes throughout the game. Overall, shallow and needing some serious depth. Giving us some more achievements would have at least made it feel more satisfying, (say, for killing the nearly unstoppable tanks and sentry robots).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game

posted by keanan21 (SAN LEANDRO, CA) Nov 17, 2007

Member since Apr 2007

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This was a wonderful fps. It wasn't halo or anything like that but a great game at that. Everyone should play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Better Than I Expected

posted by konnetix (BELLEVIEW, FL) Jan 1, 2008

Member since Sep 2007

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Here we go again, reviews bagging on another shoot em up game. I for one enjoyed playing this game from start to finish, was very entertained and enjoyed the battles and there were plenty of them. Many different enemies to battle against and loved the weapons you use. Graphics were awesome. I don't understand why reviews for such games as this are terrible, I wonder if they even played this game at all, makes me wonder?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Its not halo, Rainbow Six, or COD 4. Its Unique.

posted by izryell (CHICAGO, IL) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Jan 2006

9 out of 19 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

Finally a game that feels Unique. Yes its a first person shooter, but it has an element of time control that makes it feel different almost 16-bit era Good. Every one knows that the 16- bit era was the best because it was risky and exploratory. Time Shift is not as realistic as Rainbow six nor as frantic as Halo, it is however, very fun and the time control give you options to solve problems/kill people in a new way. I have not played it enough to say the story is very intriguing or not. But heck, Play it and find out for your self the joy of something a little different.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

one of the best games EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by timeshift1 (CEDARVILLE, OH) Apr 18, 2009

Member since Feb 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

TIME SHIFT IS SO COOL THAT I WANT TO HAVE THE POWER OF HIM. I RATE 10! THE GUNS RULE IT IS THE BEST GAME EVER! I EVEN HEARD THEY ARE MAKEING A 2 ONE BUT I COULD BE WONG.THE SUPER COOL GAME!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Timeshift

posted by Inthatcase (NORFOLK, VA) Apr 12, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Time shift is a fun game to play. With the innovative time slow, reverse, and stop abilities it is pretty cool to watch the enemies get blown away in slow mo with rag doll physics. The only down side i can come up with is the lack of a variety of weapons. Other then that, it is a good game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Its ok....

posted by fireangel3 (AUSTIN, TX) Feb 11, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game isnt the best, it was ok to me.

Graphics - 8.0 - good graphics, not the best.

Sound - 3.5 - Horrible sound, sounds like the first quake, except worse.

Gameplay - 6 - The story line is hard to read, controls take getting used to.

Multiplayer - 4 - No one plays multiplayer, but guessing from the, time soloing it, it looks good, you need a strategy to do it though.

Co-op - 0 - The reason I got it, it would of been alot better if there was such thing as co-op in this game, having a friend to help, would have helped.

Average - I would suggest renting this game from here but if your going far enough to buy it, dont >.< horrible game, The best thing about this game is its graphics, if your in to shoot - em - ups, this is the game for you. If you like taking on giant masses of enemys go ahead, thats all this game is.

- MY OPINION!!!! DO NOT CRITIZISE ME FOR IT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Might Have Been a Good Game

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Mar 31, 2008

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

But it cant even be an Ok Game because of the IDIOT's that think they are Programers.This could have been a Good Game But has to many Bad things in it because Programers dont have any Brains. You cant see the enemy but they seem to Know exactly where You are at all times taking cover does On Good The Enemy will just Shoot you through it be it a Brick wall a Tank or whatever it might be.
And the fact that You can Shoot them in the head 20 times and they dont die but all they have to do is Hit you more then once and your dead which is nothing but Programers thinking which they shouldnt do because they dont have any Brains. That And the fact that when you Need to be able to run you move like your in quicksand But only if Your getting shot. you move so slow that the time shiffting feature is pretty much useless.
Maybe one of these days the Idiots that All game Companies for programers will Quit and the Game companies will start Making some good games for the 360 but right now there are only Maybe 4 or 5 games out there for the 360 that are wqorth the trouble to buy them and this game is a Prime example of a game ruined by Idiot Programers.
This is a dont rent and dont buy and if you find someone that looks like they want to Buy or rent this Game you should beat them up so they wont.
If I worked for Sierra I wouldnt claim I did because of this game being that Bad! Try Playing a Game before you Publish it then you would know that games like this are not worth the time it would take to Put it in your 360. There is absolutly nothing good about this piece of Junk.
everyone that worked on this game Should be forced to try and Play it but they have to Play it and win it to get Paid. I bet the next Game they make is Playable not like this one. Love the way the Enemy can see you through cover not to meantion that they can also shoot you through it. Stupid Programers They All Must Have went to school, if they went to school at all, at DeVry

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Halo's third cousin twice removed

posted by GTA647 (BELL CITY, LA) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

Timeshift may not seem like much at first, but once you get into it its a lot of fun. what makes this game unique is your time control powers, slow, stop and reverse. slow motion is useful for taking on enemies with heavy weapondry, because the weapons already have a slow rate of fire, you can slow them down even more. slo. mo.is also good for taking on a group of enemies.plus, slow motion is just plain awesome. pause is EXTREMELY useful. if you get ambushed by enemies, just use pause to get yourself situated and continue fighting. any damage done to an enemy during pause accumulates so when pause stops, the enemy takes the damage of seven shotgun shells all at once! now THAT is some satisfying gore. finally, we have reverse. this is great for when anything goes terribly wrong. getting ambushed by 30 dudes can be reversed to stop you from getting 1,000,000,000 led sanwiches. if one of your teammates dies, bring em' on back with reverse. Also, this is good for if you just want to see that awesome explosion again. they could use improvement, but they're still awesome. i mean come on! they're FREAKIN' TIME POWERS!!!!!!! anyway, if you want an awesome game to play or if you want a cool Christmas gift for the first person shooter fan in your family, you definately need to check out Timeshift

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good & Bad

posted by Sk8PuNk (COLLINSVILLE, IL) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

This game has a very good story mode you have to pay attention to it though or you could get lost or something like that,you can manipulate time to your advantage wether its stopping time to take your enemy's gun or just shootin everything in your path,like i said the story mode is great,but personally i dont care for multiplayer its really fast pace and can get you very irritated,you cant really use your time powers in multiplayer...you can but its really dumb,multiplayer will just get stupid and repetitive,at least in story mode you have objectives,if you are planning on renting this game i would suggest just keeping it at that its just not good enough to buy,youll beat it then it will just collect dust.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Time Shifty Rental

posted by xDrACULAx (MIAMI, FL) Dec 13, 2007

Member since Dec 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

I am not a fan of Time Shift. In a new era of innovative games such as Halo 3, Call of Duty: Modern Warfare and BioShock, next-gen first person shooters are held to a high standard. This game fails to meet that standard. Within the first 30 minutes of gameplay, it is clear that the controls are awkward, the AI are generic, and the maps are unnavigatable. The game offers little reward for exploring the limited terrain with an absence of secrets or "easter eggs". Speaking of eggs, the developer places of all them in one basket with its "timeshifting" feature. While the concept of freezing, rewinding, and slowing time is a cool new feature, it gets lost the fog of sub-par gameplay and a disappointing overall product. The bottom line is that Time Shift fails to keep up with the next-gen games we come to expect from the PS3 or XBOX 360.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fear

posted by defected (GREENVILLE, NC) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Aug 2007

5 out of 14 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

It feels like fear big time with a little twist of half life 2 .? mabey its just me I dont know but truly it feels like that to me.
as for the graphics ill give it 9.5
sound ill give that a 10 .very clean and easy on the ears!
story line 8.5
fun factor 10 .
I would rent this game and try it for yourself !

Warning massive action and gore ~""Sweet""

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Rental FO SHO!!!!

posted by Pioneer10 (CLARE, MI) Oct 31, 2007

Member since Jul 2007

5 out of 16 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

I would personally never buy it and ill tell ya why two words "NO REPLAY!!!" i mean its good to me until i beat the game becuz its a great FPS and anyone else who likes those rent it but dont buy it cuz if you do it will be another wasted game sitting on your stack of games. The slow down and freeze is pretty cool but they get old because if ya played F.E.A.R ya know what i mean. but i tried it and it was good game but plz

Rent it!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Big Disappointment

posted by N1TZER (MIAMI, FL) Dec 20, 2007

Member since Sep 2007

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

After all the FPS out there. this has to be one of the worst. the story time line has no beginning . its put you in the middle of a story. with no way knowing who is who. the attempt to make it the feel like a Movie was a failure. I've played better multiplayer games that are free.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Timeshift

posted by zenubio (FARMINGTON, MN) Nov 23, 2007

Member since Aug 2003

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

Too many games are doing this stop time thing now. It started with Max Payne which was revolutionary for it's time but still had flaws. In my opinion F.E.A.R. has been the only game to really successfully do this right and even that game has some issues with aiming while in slow motion. This game really didn't involve me in the story at all and it's really just a game built around a gimmick.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ONE WORD

posted by Spencer137 (OLD WESTBURY, NY) Nov 4, 2007

Member since Dec 2006

1 out of 23 gamers (4%) found this review helpful

TERRIBLE!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Decidedly Average But Still Fun

posted by pir8pat (DELMAR, DE) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

Blurb: A decent shooter with a fun twist brought down by lack of imagination, short campaign, and a dead MP component.

Gameplay: The gameplay for timeshift is fairly tight with no major problems encountered during my playthrough. If you have played any FPS games you should feel comfortable with the controls in this game. Key to the game is the ability to control time which was really fun for the first portion of the game but become stale as I progressed into the game using the same stop time, snipe, cover to regen time powers routine. The game was not very challenging after getting time powers but was a fun change of pace from regular FPS games.

Immersion: The story in this game was almost non-existent. Your character is a nameless voiceless character and the story is told through disjointed cutscenes that made little sense and were sometimes short and pointless. With your time powers you do feel like a super being but there is little that will make you feel invested in the game.

Graphics: Graphics were ok for its age but tended to be fairly bland and non-descript and the game reused one level. At times it was difficult to see key things such as ladders or enemies in the environment but nothing was enough to bring down the game too much.

Playtime: On skilled (Normal) difficulty the game will not last long. It took me six hours to fly through the campaign. The multiplayer side is dead and I was unable to find any matches to play. The MP will not let you explore maps solo either as a minimum of two players is required to start a MP game. Outside of achievement hunting their is little reason to replay the game as it becomes very repetitive towards the end.

Achievements: The single player achievements are not too difficult too acquire and will come through normal gameplay. Due to no
MP those achievements must be boosted and one will require a minimum of 48 hours of in game time.

Bottom Line: If you got nothing else on your que then go ahead.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

nope

posted by stealdeathrain (FORT WORTH, TX) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

no depth...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse