Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 14 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 14

Rent

Keep for: $17.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.4

349 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
4

Weak

Glitchy cash grab

posted by TimeRacer (YATESVILLE, GA) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Wish I could write a better review than this. But I can't. At the core is a good playing golf game, but EA strangles it to death with it's lazyness and greed. Both are on fine display in TW14. Same old glitches that have been around for years remain. That's not surprising and most of them can be worked around. But pathetic when a developer refuses to fix known glitches year after year.

Even worse when at the same time it's crystal clear they've spent many hours trying to figure out how to nickel and dime people. Day 1 DLC is everywhere and is expensive. Much of it courses that have been readily available in previous versions. If you enjoy online tournaments, you know you have to have all the DLC courses otherwise you're left out with nothing to play half the time. Just today, 2 days after release, well over half the Live tournaments were on DLC courses. Wasn't so bad last year when you could use in game coins to purchase the courses. But now it's either give EA even more cash, or just don't use the feature of the game that you've already spent money on.

Then there's the boost pins. Which if you play online you'll be forced to use unless you like getting destroyed. Calm the wind, shot previews, etc. You can still buy these with in game coins (shockingly) but they've lowered in game coin payouts by roughly 1/3 from last year while raising the cost of the pins. Which means they don't want you getting your pins by playing, they want you to continue to fork over $$$ to buy their silly coins so you can buy the even sillier boost pins.

Game could be a 8/9, but it's a 4. And that's generous. Games like this are why gamefly is so great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not bad...

posted by Brett83 (LIVONIA, MI) Apr 4, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I havent liked the past few years of the game, this years is probably the best its been within the past 3 years. In my opinion the last GOOD tiger woods game was 11. I do miss the power boost on this years. Controls are pretty similar to how it always is, graphics as well.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

It's alright

posted by prototype888 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Apr 20, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I mean if you want to get the most out of the game you know how EA games are your definitely going to have to get 800 Microsoft points or just buy the game. Main reason I wouldn't consider buying this game is you still have to purchase more courses. So basically yours still spending money. I forgot that spending 60bucks for a game today is not enough so if your willing to spend around 120 for everything well this is the one for you. Cool game play, graphics good other then that amount of money you will have to spend not a bad game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tiger's back in real life and on the consoles!

posted by DaFnMaN (CLEVELAND, OH) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Sep 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

Finally tiger has the feel and look its been lacking in recent years. The presentation is beautiful with the visuals of time of day being beautiful and accurate. Last year's Tiger seemed to be on the right track, but freezing issues, erased country clubs after lack of use, and fast putting strokes didn't give the game the feel it needed. Over 20 different swings to choose from. Every golfer has his or her own authentic swing style. This year the putting stroke is slower and feels consistent with real life. Freezing seems to be minimal if at all. And country club members have been raised to 100. Courses look amazing with 20 preloaded on the disc at the time of purchase. Augusta is portrayed perfectly! Connected tournaments as well as country club matches allow for simultaneous play eliminating the long process of waiting for others to line up their shot and swing. More courses for purchase as usual, but the EA money pit will always be in full swing...overall awesome game leaving golf lovers well satisfied!!!! Reasonable price on gamefly especially if your a long term member. $44.99 and it comes with the online pass worth $10!!!! Have fun and see you on the course!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dulled down for the kinect

posted by mchaye1735 (FORD CITY, PA) May 30, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have played tiger woods games for many years now and if you want the best tiger experience go back to year 12. The putting feels good in the game but lacks most everywhere else. Plays out of the rough and sand just seem way easier than they used too. You dont have to judge as many percents and whatnot to judge where your ball is going to go, the game does it for you. Also less action when placed on a hillside. Seems like they dulled down most of the factors to make it easier on the people thrashing their arms around. If your a controller tiger woods play dont go past tiger 12.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

EA is some GREEDY bastards

posted by Anton54 (MATTOON, IL) Apr 8, 2013

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

buy this buy that buy some more stuff. They obviously dont care about the consumer just their money

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

tigerwoods 2014

posted by tumbleweed1972 (MONTICELLO, AR) Jun 23, 2014

Member since Jun 2014

i was a little disapointed in this game. i am a big tigerwoods fan to way back when the tigerwoods game first came out in 1999, it was the best. this game seam to leave out a lot of the things i like most about tigerwoods, like the commentary, they took that out of this game. the graphis was great, i like the classicial music that was much better then some of the rap music that was in priveious tigerwoods games. in all it was ok but i still like the masters 2012 better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

One of the best TW to date.

posted by LakinisAssassin (KAYSVILLE, UT) Dec 27, 2013

Member since May 2013

I have always been a fan of the Tiger Woods series. Even in the years that felt stripped down or simply rehashed versions of prior years (which accounts for many of them), I was swinging away.

This year the Legends of the Majors provides a fun walk through history. The older games even have a grainy presentation to make it feel like you are watching old film.

The swing has been tweeked slightly. Good improvements like the accuracy being based more on the timing and rhythm of your shot rather than hitting a straight line (which is still important nonetheless). It's minor, but it adds more of a natural golf feeling, seeing as how real shots in the Scots game is the same.

Country Clubs are beefed way up this year. There is competition to be had here. And even within your own club there is a sense of friendly competition. During rounds you'll see your stats compared to those of the best of the best in your own club. It provides a little extra incentive without forcing your to go head to head.

Online tournaments are easy to set up and/or join. You even get to see "ghosts" of other golfers shots all around you on the course. Giving you the true feeling that others are a part of it. It seems gimmicky at first, but it keeps it feeling fresh.

Female golfers are more prominent this time around. Lots of LPGA stars are in the game, and that's a good thing. Women play golf too! And it's always seemed odd that the LPGA wasn't a bigger part of the game.

Unfortunately the list of improvements over last year mostly ends there. It doesn't seem enough to justify owning your own copy if you have TW13. But as a rental, and if you are a fan of the series, I highly recommend it. It will keep you occupied for some time and provide a nice dose of entertainment. I had fun swinging away.

SCALE:
Graphics 8/10
Sound 7/10
Playability 9/10
Entertainment 7/10
Re-playability 8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

tiger woods 14

posted by joeyace (Chicago, IL) Apr 9, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

was a good looking game but it was hard for me to play because of numbness in my hands due to ms. they really need to consider the people who have a hard time with the stick control in baseball and golf games , u have no choice in the golf game and the baseball online is ridiculousness u cant use the a button to swing and pitch

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »