Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.0

878 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Should be a 8 or a 9 but its a 1!!!

posted by Brnhornet (ROSEVILLE, CA) Apr 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 5 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a 1 for the follow reason...DLC!!!! Not that it shouldn't or cant have DLC courses but playing the season mode I got to the 3rd week and bam I cant play a course in season mode because I don't have it...This is not how DLC should be...Its the season so it should have all the courses of that season any extra or classic/fantasy courses can be DLC but not season mode courses....Whats next EA I wont be able to play week 3 of Madden because I dont have the AFC Central DLC pack!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Get your wallet out!

posted by Grease_Monkey (RIVERSIDE, CA) Jun 13, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Online pass? REALLY? Don't I get that by paying for Xbox live? After you buy online pass you may then PURCHASE an ANNUAL subscription to EA sports SEASON TICKET. Oh, did I mention the coins? No? You'll need coins to buy pins. Hole pins, for a "bonus" at that particular hole. Boost pins, for your clubs, driver, power, accuracy, putting, there's even a pin for the WIND. $60.00 to buy the game new, more REAL $$$$ to buy "online pass", even more REAL $$$$ season ticket, more $$$$ for Microsoft points, More $$$$ for xbox live........ that's a must have! If I knew I was going to spend this much money to play Xbox golf I would have grabbed my clubs and played a round at Torrey Pines for real. This is EXTREMELY OUTRAGING! VERY DISAPPOINTING!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not Very Good

posted by R3C0NXD45 (CASTLE ROCK, CO) Oct 19, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I really liked the first tiger woods when it came out for the first time on XBOX 360. To be fair I haven't played one since, am not an avid golfer, and don't play many sports games.

That being said, I didn't find the controls to be very consistent. What I mean is I didn't apply any conscious changes but the shots varied WILDLY. Putting was absolutely the worst aspect of this.

All of this pales in comparison to the EA get rich quick scheme of paying for EVERYTHING in the game. I'm not a huge fan of DLC and yet I don't really hate it when it's justifiably valuable. Everything that "comes" with the game has to either be played for or paid for. That is the kind of greedy ridiculous thing that makes me sick. I don't mind paying for extra maps on COD too, too much when they are great maps. I don't like having to pay for what should have (and technically did I suppose) come on the disc. Cd's are $10-15, dvds are $5-20, blu rays are $5-40 (the steep end reserved for super new, super popular overpriced tv shows) and even the "junk"iest (thanks a lot parental censors) games come out for $60. That's not enough for you? well suck it developers, gamefly welcome to some consistent business for me. I'd much rather pay what I pay here for the chance to send "junk" (thanks again parental censors) like this right back than $60 bucks so I can deal with the hassle of ebay or the fact that gamestop doesn't ever give more than $30 and it's usually closer to $8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Lame!

posted by HeeHAW (ODENTON, MD) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There are obvious changes from The Masters, but aside from improving graphics, TW has taken a step backwards. The simplicity of the swing is a joke unless you play on the highest diff. so I regret buying this one. TW 13 has eliminated all percentages on the swing plane

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A worthy upgrade from TW 12

posted by CKsilver007 (CANOGA PARK, CA) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First, I have to say the IGN review is awful. That said, I also have to clear up what he said about the "rented DLC". When you play online you'll earn coins you can use to buy boost pins and to play rounds in the "Bonus courses" AKA the "DLC". Sure you can buy coins with real money and get ahead, but then you might as well be buying the courses outright. EA's giving us a chance to earn the ability to unlock unlimited rounds by playing the game. What's wrong with that? Loaded on the HDD the game loads twice as fast compared to TW 12 and the pace of the game is just right. If you're renting this at the moment like me, it's encouraged to get the online pass cause there's so much more to earn and enjoy. This includes the coins need to unlock the "DLC" courses. You can't earn the coins offline or use the coins to buy boost pins. Yeah the characters looks a little more Ken dool like but the environment is a huge improvement and overshadows the negative. Beautiful detail. Kinect is just a bonus and best played with friends, it shouldn't affect the rating of the game. Pretty much every sports game from now on is going to have Kinect support. Your not forced to use it. The new swing system has a small learning curve, play in Amateur to start off your career for a while and you'll master it. If you liked TW12, you'll love TW13. It's hard to find a negative that stands out so I'll give it a 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by jon057 (VIDOR, TX) Mar 26, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

What can i say but WOW what a beautiful detailed game, i loved 12 and so far this one is just as good if not better, i have played it for 5 hours now and it has not dissapointed. Im looking forward to upgrading my profile golfer's skills which there are alot of upgrades, but if the begining of this game is evidence to whats to come BUY IT OR RENT IT NOW.
The Swinging system is just as i would say "realistic"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tiger for dummies

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Apr 5, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

There are obvious changes from The Masters, but aside from improving graphics, TW has taken a step backwards. The simplicity of the swing is a joke unless you play on the highest diff. so I regret buying this one.

TW 13 has eliminated all percentages on the swing plane. EVERYTHING is based on how you pull the stick forward and back. The tempo and alignment is all it is. You no longer see percentages of your swing power, which is how TW has been played for a decade.

TW lines up the shot already for you, and as long as you just swing decently, the ball is going to go right by the hole (taking wind and slope into effect that is). You can over/underswing, have too fast/slow tempo, but it barely affects where your ball goes. FOR EX: instead of having to swing 75% of full power, you'll simply aim below the hole and swing 100% power. Even with my guy as an amateur with awful stats, I still dominated the Masters and won, on Pro difficulty.

You can now join/create a country club, something new to TW13. You can earn stats for your club, choose logos, add members, create tourneys, etc. all for bragging rights on the leaderboards for best club. The CC has almost zero in-game modes unless you play with a CC buddy online, so I never played in the club and found it an absolute waste of time.

In Tiger legacy mode you follow his life as a toddler, junior, rookie, amateur, pro, etc. and play certain parts of his life as Tiger. I loved this mode, and playing as baby Tiger/Ricky was hilarious. But once again most of my time was spent on the PGA tour as my created guy, trying to stay #1 in the world. It's the same as all the other games.

You also earn in game Coins to purchase plays of the other courses not included in the game. It only comes with 16 courses you have unlimited plays on. Instead of having to buy all the courses (you still can), you can use your earned coins to unlock plays to master them.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not worth the money - pay for rounds

posted by dabearsfan007 (PFLUGERVILLE, TX) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I have been an avid Tiger Woods fan in the past and this year's game didn't meet my expectations.

PROS - visuals, sound, customization of your create a golfer

CONS - paying for each round to unlock the course. The new mechanics of the swing do not give me a sense of control of power/accuracy...especially during putting. Tiger Woods childhood career is lacking with instructions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

wow haha

posted by prototype888 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

well been playing this game for so many years and i cant believe what there trying to do. all around just bad the graphics some or the worst ive seen on xbox 360. Now the game play is really choppy its all over the play.Game just seems to be more for Kinect then anything witch is cool but seems they took alot out of this game for that reason. Now i wouldnt been very upset if i would have bought this one so thanks to Gamefly there saving me money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Bit of the same, but thats alright.

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Mar 26, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Tiger Woods games have always been the best golfing game, but when games like Outlaw Golf or John Daly Prostroke Golf come to the scene, they never deliver on the controls or the feel of playing golf. This year Tiger 13 brings back 2 of my favorite things in the series: the Tiger Challenge and David Feherty. The Tiger challenge is back and better than ever, with even more insane shots from the man himself. Now since David's departure as an ingame announcer, the new announcers...well...sucked. So im really glad they brought him back. Now, here's my verdict:

The Good:
-Graphics, Every year EA seems to up the ante on the how great the courses look and this year is no exception.
-Announcers, David Feherty, nuff said.
-Depth, From your golfers journey to the Masters, to the MASS of game modes, to the Tiger Challenge, to online play. You get what you payed for.
-New stuff, I actually like the new badge system, they give you boosts during a round and you rank them up for doing certain tasks like hitting the long ball, or getting Greens In Regulation.

The Meh:
-The new swing system, I really miss the old 3 click system of the PC Tiger Woods games, now its a fancy swing arc around your golfer that is really tough to see at times and will punish you if you don't practice swing EVERY TIME. Its even worse while putting. BUT if you practice it and get used to it, you look like a pro.

The BAD
-Player Models, While the courses look amazing, some of the golfers, don't. I mean im really surprised EA didn't use Photo Game Face or a high tech facial scanner, because Tiger and Co. look terrible.
-Online Pass, As with any recent EA game, you need one. Sorry folks.

Overall, Its a great game, online (so far) is tolerable, ill have to wait till more people get it. Its a BUY, especially if you plan to play it ALOT.

Also, I did not try the Kinect features as i do not have one, but i've heard its pretty good.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

tw 13

posted by mark4207 (PEORIA, AZ) Apr 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

sucks with kinect doest work right so epic fail shouldnt have released a game that doesnt work right don't ever rent or buy to all worst golf game ever

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Waste of Possibilities

posted by WWDL07 (HARVARD, IL) Apr 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2009

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Could have been great with the Kinect, instead there is no variation when you change how hard you swing using Kinect. No feedback on how hard you swung or how hard to hit the ball when putting. Worst of all, the game reset after 14 holes into a tournament (i've never seen a game do that before, maybe freeze, but completely reset and loose all progress). TW '08 on Wii was better than this years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Whats happened to EA

posted by Remy21 (WARWICK, RI) Feb 11, 2013

Member since Aug 2012

Barely a game. Nothing like the old Tiger's.. Boarderline unplayable. EA used to put out quality games but they've fallen off, hard. Love sending back games the day they arrive...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

swinging sucks

posted by jwilford2013 (PORTLAND, OR) Jan 26, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

the game has its ups and downs...i like the career mode and the graphics but the contolling of it all sucks they should bring back the 07 style of swinging

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Handle

posted by yonzel (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

I was impressed with the graphics, very nice game overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

good game but..

posted by sdog1987 (VASS, NC) Aug 11, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

i liked the new driving, but the short distance was tough to measure and putting was near impossible. i was always over swinging or under swinging, never perfect, and last year that was my best technique

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not a bad game.

posted by BRB (BEAVERCREEK, OR) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

It is a petty good game, but you need to like to play golf in order to like it. if you don't like golf then don't get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

12 was better

posted by beamin (ABILENE, TX) Jun 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

13 blows 12 was better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good

posted by andy1990 (SAINT MARYS, GA) Jun 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

this game is great way to pass the time. i only wish that it came with the online pass for xbox live, you have to purchase seperatly. but all in all a great game thank you tiger and thanks gf

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best TWoods ever

posted by KingSyphax (GILBERT, AZ) May 23, 2012

Member since May 2012

This year, EA completely changed the swing mechanics and introduced the swing meter. Even though it is tough to adept to, once you figure it out the game plays perfectly. Every DLC course in the game can be obtained free of charge. TWoods 13 has replay value like no game before it. The only thing lacking with this title is the presentation in Tiger Challenge. This game is easily a 9.5+/10. Don't listen to IGN ever.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

tiger woods

posted by joeyace (Chicago, IL) Apr 9, 2012

Member since Apr 2010

good game,just wish there were a button options to swing cant swing with stick without hitting into the trees . my numb hands from ms dose not allow me to do so . otherwise graphics, game play are good ,they need to fix putting system too

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

monkey around

posted by racoonsurvivor (CHESTERFIELD, MO) Apr 8, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

This game is great, if you like Tiger games you will like this one, come join Monkey Around country club when you get it for casual gamers. get it monkey A Round ha ha ha

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

could of been great

posted by DBigBadWolf1 (MODESTO, CA) Mar 31, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

i just recievedthe tiger and had high hopes for the kinect play but was quickly disappointed. i try to putt the ball 10ft but it goes 100yrds instead. so i just stick to the controller. like i said very good game but not great....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun but not much of a change

posted by InToXiCaTeD (MODESTO, CA) Mar 30, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

Its a great game overall. I just don't see much of a change from 12 to 13 at all. The new hitting mechanics is alright but I prefer 12 a lot more. The graphics are the same as 12 & play style just a little change here and there but not much. I would recommend 12 over 13. But that's just me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

TW 13

posted by shar99tony (YELM, WA) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Great game. Haven't tried with Kinect but will. Graphics get better and better. Crowds look great and so does the golfer. Best of all the Tiger Woods Legacy is Awesome!. Tiger was such a cute kid and it is great playing him while in his younger years, GREAT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse