Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 for PS3
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.1

555 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Greatly improved

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Apr 2, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is better than last years game, thank god they improved the putting. That was the thing i hated most about last years game. The graphics are great as usual and i love the new country club too. This game is alot of fun, the kind you can play for hours and not realize it. Isnt it funny how Tiger won the tournament the day before thi game was released, you know that will help this game sell better. To those that enjoyed last years game, your gonna love this one for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Move Frustration

posted by nerdkilla (SAN JOSE, CA) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Aug 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I loved tiger woods 09, hated 10 and 11, never played 12, and this year decided to give 13 a try now that the ps move has had some time to work out the kinks. Unfortunately, It's still not very good.

The game offers hints while playing the game on how to control the move, but no real tutorial. I'm still not sure if I'm supposed to be standing perpendicular or parallel to the ps eye, but trust me, I've tried every way I can stand in front of this thing and no technique has worked any better than the previous one. Furthermore, a lot of the time the screen tells me I'm not in view of the camera no matter where I stand and how bright the lights are in the room, yet I can still take a shot.

Another frustrating thing is the inconsistency of the shooting mechanics. For example, off the tee my shots are usually registered as under swung, slow shots, but when my player is on the fringe of the green and I've set my shot up to be a little chip, I pull back the move controller just a little bit past my back foot and give a little tap to the ball, and it goes flying 130yds, over the flag, over the grandstands, and out of bounds. Now I don't know if Tiger Woods can do it, but from my experience I know a ball is not gonna fly 130yds when my club never swings above my waist. If I try to compensate and hit even lighter, which is completely unrealistic by the way, the shot goes 2ft in front of my player.
After several frustrating hours of trying to figure this out, I've come to the conclusion that this is not a fun move game. It takes longer to set up a shot in this game than it does to finish a hole on one of these courses in real life. Not fun. Not a good simulation. If you prefer playing with a regular controller, it's not bad. Just boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tiger Woods PGA 13: overall pretty good

posted by Ncristella (MERIDIAN, ID) May 4, 2012

Member since May 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game itself is very accurate and enjoyable. I don't want to kill the game because of its small fee charges, but it does kill the game. Players now have to pay for small aesthetic enhancements such as shirts and clothing. Not to mention its 10 dollars to play online after you've already purchased the game.

A 2 day trial pass is given for the game and it doesn't equal much. Players I've played with, who likely no little of golf, and just like madden are able to "master" the game into oblivion to a -23 under par on a 18 hole course. I'm ok at games and hit -16 under, but it doesn't justify purchasing an online pass at that point. Sounds like EA is trying to boost Xbox back into play. Why? I wonder, as it has negated its own industry to pursue what was easily known at the time as faulty and low hardware consideration.

Continuing, the game itself is rather accurate and playing on your own is more enjoyable then not. When beginning such aspects of the game can be considered annoying as equipment and attributes are far lower then the needed accuracy of courses such as the Masters, Wind and conditions are often times far to strenuous on a routine basis, and the typical day shows plus 20 mile hour winds. The Selection of courses is excellent and the feed back and gameplay is quite good , though they could make certain aspects more exciting at time the game is a quality 8.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

tw13

posted by nickd54 (DANIA, FL) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 13 gamers (23%) found this review helpful

too hard no fun too much stuff

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tired of paying for a shell of a game...

posted by SteelCity (SAXONBURG, PA) Apr 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 12 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

EA is out of control with their online passes and DLC. Im sick of paying full price for a game that only gives you half the content. I also dont mind putting in the time to unlock it myself. Have done it on other titles but this game seems to want to frustrate you into submission.
EA will not stop pushing the envelope on draining customers out of every penny unless consumers stop buying their games. EA is like democrats, they wont stop finding ways of taxing every penny possible till you vote them out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Hit a hole in one

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Jun 7, 2013

Member since Jan 2011

I am curently playing this game and am enjoying it. The graphics on this game look really nice with every detail down to the blades of grass on the courses to the water and sand traps laid out as if you were actually playing the real courses. The game modes are fun from play now through career mode, create a golfer and even tiger woods career where you get to play tiger from an early age up to now. The game controls are tricky to learn at first but once you get to know them they become really easy, just pull back on the control stick and swing forward. The putting is alot better then last year with a simple pull the stick back till desired power then putt. I like the career mode because you compete in the amatuer tournaments and if you do good you get asked to compete in the nationwide tour or the masters. This game is the closest you will get to play on the pga tour courses. The only downfall I have with this game is that not all the courses are unlocked when the game starts. If you are a golf fan or just like golf games I would highly recommend this game. Keep up the good work ea sports and tiger woods.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A good walk spoiled

posted by texasvaquero (DALLAS, TX) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

Golf is not my cup of tea but I decieded to give this game a shot. All I can say is if you are a golfer or golf aficionado then this could the game for you. Positives are solid graphics, good gameplay and famous courses.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13

posted by irategames20 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Dec 29, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

I think in my perspective, this is the best Tiger Woods game yet. I hated 09 through 12, but 2013 is very good . The only thing that stinks about it is the Playstation Move with this game. Other than that, this game is awesome! They added a Tiger Woods Legacy mode. You get to relive his career and childhood as a golfer. It's the best one yet!!!!!!!! :D

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Fun Lacker

posted by jdavidtz (SAN DIEGO, CA) Oct 13, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 lacks a "WOW" factor and the long and frequent load times blow.
Good golf game with good/mediocre graphics.
If you like golf you will like this game, but it does get boring after some time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13

posted by Blazebuster7190 (AURORA, CO) Sep 19, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Not a whole lot different from other years. The putting mechanic is harder and the game seems to not be as fun as in past years. I sure wouldn't buy the game...just rent it if you think you might like it. There is a lot of DLC that could potentially cost you a lot of money if you were to buy it all. NOT WORTH IT in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Not that fun

posted by jeffeema (ALISO VIEJO, CA) Aug 26, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

SImple, boring game with okay only graphics and stinky gameplay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun for a while

posted by Avenir408 (NORTH HOLLYWOOD, CA) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

The game is fun when you're first getting into it and learning how to play but after a while it becomes the same courses, same holes, same challenges. I couldn't tell you how to make a golf game keep its entertainment factor but it didn't happen here.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great

posted by joshboff (PALM COAST, FL) Aug 7, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

very good graphics

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Always wantin extra money

posted by Reviewer3 (HANFORD, CA) May 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2009

Its been EA's signature for quite a few years now, always wanting you to pay more for a game after you buy it.
There is a coin system in this game that you are rewarded with every time you play but you would have to play this game non-stop in order to get enough to get the locked courses for free. But, in classic EA fashion, you can always buy the other courses for $40.00 but even that won't get you all of them. WHY put a game out if you aren't gonna put all the courses intended to play in the career mode on the game? It's complete BS and exactly why I'm so fed up with EA. This game would deserve a 10, but with only 19 or so locked courses, it only gets an 8 in my book

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A good game hampered by DLC and similarities

posted by spacedout33 (YUCAIPA, CA) Apr 7, 2012

Member since May 2011

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 13 is a good game don't get me wrong. There is always something about the Tiger Woods games that brings a sense of I just have to play it again and again.
As usual the character models are highly detailed and created characters still have the pleathora of customizable features to them. What is also nice is the application of the new swing mechanic, though hard to use at first once you get the hang of it it becomes useful in appling small teaks and changes to your swing to get just what you want. This is probably due to the recent applications of the Kinect and Move to swinging, which though I haven't used has been reviewed as being better than before. Multiplayer, though I haven't played I have heard is better than ever also.
However with these new applications TWPGA13 does have its problems. First and foremost being the new way in which the game has implemented DLC, you thought the last one was bad well this one has gotten worse. DLC instead of being avalable to buy and then play unlimited rounds of golf on the courses is not locked out until you pass the challenges that are presented at the courses. Though this is now avaliable through the acquiring of coins by normal gameplay the rate at which coins appear and the amount needed to buy a course, or in fact actually finish the course is very high, taking up to 12 hours just to beat the challenge to unlock 1 of the 16 avalable courses through DLC. Another problem is the new swing mechanic, though it is nice to use it is too easy on amateur and pro diffuculties while being too hard on the harder difficulties and thus definetly needs some polishing.
If you like TWPGA then of course get this next annual addition to a great series, however if you are unsure then it is probably best to just rent this game as the DLC format for TWPGA is still not the greatest and the implmentation of this new swing mechanic though nice still needs some fine polishing to prevent it from being too frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »