Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12: The Masters for Wii
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12: The Masters

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, PS3
GF Rating
7.0

337 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Makes the shot for Eagle

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Apr 7, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The most majestic golf tournament ever gets going as I’m writing this review - but I got a whole lot of fun playing that tournament on the Wii version of Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12: The Masters.
Everything that the previous version does right is included with this game (intuitive controls, large selection of golfers, large selection of courses, Disc Golf, Party Games, online play).
But it adds something that will make the game more accessible to the players who only dream of being great golfers: the caddy shot system and the putt preview.
You can use the caddy to set up where you next shot goes (sometimes you can select from one of two places where the shot can go). Once that’s done, all you have to do is swing away.
When you get onto the green, you can use the Putt Preview once per shot to see what path the ball is going to go. This makes reading greens a whole lot simpler, and making long putts a lot easier.
With these improvements, the Career Mode becomes more enjoyable; instead of going through many tournaments to get improvements on my character, I was able to do well in the tournaments and ramp up my avatar’s skill much sooner.
But just because there are handicaps available doesn’t mean you are forced to use them; more proficient golfers can turn off the extra help. But the biggest flaw I see in the game shows up here: there’s not much here for experts to sink their teen into that hasn’t been used in last year’s edition.
Tiger Woods may have taken a huge nose dive over the past year or so, but I find this game has become much more fun to play than ever before. I can really get used to going out on a Sunday drive (or any other day of the week drive) with Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12: The Masters on the Wii. BUY IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

tiger woods masterrs edition

posted by dudeman196 (CRESTWOOD, KY) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

wow ea hit the nail on the head!!!!!!!!! if you dont have a fit board , get one. ive played golf for twenty years and this is as close as you can get without actually going to the course.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12 The Masters

posted by TheMaises (ELKHORN, WI) Jul 27, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

If you like to play golf games on any console, or you like to golf and want a game that is realistic this is the game for you. When using both the Wii Motion Plus and the Wii Motion Board this is the closest thing to actually playing a round of 18. The progressive caddy feature is amazing. It's just like real life where you have to be a better golfer in order to have a better caddy. All in all I could play this game for months straight and never get bored. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty Good Game

posted by billywords (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Dec 25, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This is a good golf game with very smooth gameplay. The game offers several modes of play ranging from super easy to pretty realistic and difficult. The easiest mode eliminates the possibility of a mis-hit or an unwanted hook or slice. Essentially, if you hit the ball, it goes far and straight. As you increase the difficulty, the way you swing your controller has a greater and greater influence on how your ball flies. I was not able to find where the stats of a created golfer can be increased in a versus mode. I found this to be the greatest disadvantage of the game. My roommate and I wanted to play against each other with created golfers, which we were able to do. But during our head-to-head matches there were virtually no rewards for the low scores we posted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not for Wii

posted by zeke909 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Dec 1, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This seems like a great game, but I would love to be able to use a standard (x-box like) controller. Players should have the option of wii remote or standard controller. It would have made game play a lot more fun. Still a very good game, but could have been more fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

tiger scores a hole in one

posted by trex6504 (HAZLE TOWNSHIP, PA) Nov 4, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

I had recently played this game and was not disappointed. The graphics have been upgraded to look more beautiful then 2011. All of the courses are back with the addition of the Masters courses some more difficult then others but all beautiful rendered. The golfers in this game are all the current players on the pga and lpga tours. I liked the road to the masters game mode where you create a player and take him from amatuer tournaments to hopefully playing in the Masters. I also liked the disc golf and mini golf games as well a fun distraction when you are not looking to play real golf. This game is as close to being on the real golf course as you can get without actually being outside. I would highly recommend this game as a purchase for golfers and golf games enthusiats alike. Keep up the good work EA Sports. Looking forward to many more years of tiger woods pga tour golf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Boring

posted by Paintballerx7 (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Oct 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

Didn't like the lack of customizing of your player which all the other TW games have. Not worth getting. TW11 is better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not enough detail given

posted by chriscason (CHILDERSBURG, AL) Sep 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

The game was fine if I could have played it, but the description did include that a special adapter was needed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

best tiger woods game yet

posted by megaaustin (COSTA MESA, CA) Aug 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

pros

. Good motion plus control
. Master
. caddie

cons

. bad balance board mode
. no ryder cup

gameplay/feature= 9.5
game modes= 10
controls=10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12: The Masters

posted by Dinosusim (MESA, AZ) Jul 5, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Excellent game, loved it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

EA does it again

posted by Joeliboi (SEATTLE, WA) Jun 5, 2011

Member since May 2011

This game is just simply cool. the reenatinting of Agustsia is incredible. They said you need a Motion Plus to play this, but I ssemed to do fine without it. Been playing Tiger Woods games since 2003, and they never disappoint. golf fans will love this!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

BAD

posted by msvorinic (GILBERT, AZ) May 8, 2011

Member since May 2011

Not very good. Graphics suck, gameplay terrible, career mode bad. If you want to go with a Tiger Woods, go with Tiger Woods PGA Tour 11. Much better game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »