Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12: The Masters for PS3
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12: The Masters

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.2

1868 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

masters

posted by prettydre (COLUMBUS, OH) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could be better

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2004

This game is Good but could have been better. I am guessing that Game companies arent making enough money at 60 dollars a Game so they put in things that if you want to finish the game you have to Buy, In this game you have to buy courses so you can play the whole game i guess 1000%+ Profit isnt enough for game makers they are looking to make 10000% profit. The Better you get the more the game is programmed to cheat you,other then that it is an ok game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tiger woods Masters 2012

posted by DJBlackice (DETROIT, MI) Feb 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

big change in this game it use to be fun! caddy mode suckz!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible TW Game

posted by bbake516 (YORK, PA) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

The game loaded once for me and after that....nothing. Disc was perfectly clean. I guess it works as hard as he did at his marriage which was NOT AT ALL!!! The game sucks because you cannot even play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Does Not Work Very well with Move.

posted by thinkage (LA CENTER, WA) Dec 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This game had the Move controller as an afterthought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

$3.99?

posted by pasty241 (OMAHA, NE) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

Was really enjoying this game until the next course on the pga curcuit. I couldn't play it unless I downloaded it for $3.99. The option to skip that particular tourniment exists but the other golfers don't (npc) so they continue to gain points towards the championship... no good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing in a couple of ways

posted by mrjawbones (THOMASVILLE, NC) Dec 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

I like the gameplay and the caddie concept, but there were a couple of issues that were annoying to the point that it caused me to return the game instead of keeping it. First, there is no way to toggle to the 3-click swing. I wouldn't want to use it all the time, but sometimes it is necessary when you want to be as precise as possible on your power percentage. Secondly, when you get to the PGA Tour level, half the events on the schedule are not playable until you purchase the courses (for $4 each, mind you). This is unacceptable not to mention just plain greedy. So you pay $60 for the game and then on top of that you have to buy some of the courses? 100% ridiculous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addictive Game

posted by Bouda32 (MANCHESTER, NH) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

When I first received this game in the mail, I thought I would be bored with it...hardly! It sucked me in. At first the putting was tough, but once I got the hang of it and eagled on the 18th to win I couldn't put it down, The different challenges from the different courses was intriguing--especially for someone that will never be able to play (for real) in Greece or Wales or, certainly not, in Augusta at the Masters. To be able to create a character that so closely resembles you is alot of fun. I play this more than "MLB: The Show". That's says alot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hard

posted by mieklblade (PORTAGE, IN) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I thing his game was alittle to hard for me. I played other golf games but this one was the hardis.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

pfsh

posted by phantomtbird (LAWLER, IA) Oct 21, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

this game stinks its the worst tiger woods game ive ever played it had pretty graphics but the game play stinks id rather go back and play hot shots golf the ever play this game again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Masters done right

posted by tygor (HAVERHILL, FL) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Tiger woods Masters is a very hard game at first. But after you master the spin of the ball you can get dead on accuracy. Playing the masters was a very fun and challenging tournement. You do not get to use all of the spin controll, which makes you have to learn how to play all over again. in all i rate this game to be a above average do to the game play aand the graphics.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Underrated, this game kicks butt!

posted by Dj_Broke (LIVERMORE, CA) Oct 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I've read other reviews and many of the negative ones are simply due to people not knowing the full control scheme. One review says you cant change your shot type, try pushing square, duh!

This game has everything, tons of courses, customizable character, awesome graphics, fun gameplay, online community, lots of DLC. I'd seriously rate it 10/10. My little boy destroyed my first copy and I bought it again. (I have an extra online pass for someone). Only negative is that sometimes online it takes a few min to get a game going, need more players! Also I have the move and it is really accurate.

Lastly, people complain about the putting? Yes it is very hard but once you get the feel for it its very realistic. In fact after missing so many putts and finally starting to hit a few is very rewarding. Once you get good the putting is almost too easy, trust me.

Buy or Rent this and see for yourself!!! Great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

boring

posted by jdowney03 (RALEIGH, NC) Sep 29, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I like golf games but this game is very boring in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Mediocore at best

posted by AndrewLe (RONKONKOMA, NY) Sep 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

I decided to try a golf game for a change since i never play golf nor do i watch golf or even like it but i figured it would be a change of pace. THe game is pretty fun in certain ways and offers a lot of options. But thats where the good stops. Putting in this game is atrocious. Tutorials on how to really play are non existent and the load times make u wonder if EA's goal was to make that $60 really burn(well i rented so idc). Graphics for PS3 are well below wut they should be. This game approaches fun but lands in disaster. By the time you get to pro (if you dont break the game) you realize your stats and clubs have been the same for almost every tournament. Now what seemed like win-able tournaments become slaughters. Dont even bother with this. Go mini golf or something.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, BUT...

posted by jimbobdog (EXCELSIOR SPRINGS, MO) Sep 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Did not like the fact that you have to purchase some of the courses, and not through PS Network, but through EA Sports...
Excellent game otherwise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Could have been an outstanding game

posted by moonpiedave (FORT SMITH, AR) Sep 8, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

First I'd like to thank Gamefly for saving me $144. That's how much it would cost to buy TW PGA Tour 12: The Masters and be able to finish it. The graphics are very good, the overall game play is easy and intuitive, and the deep story mode offers hours of gaming. The putting system is the worst feature of any game I've ever played. If you put the aiming marker where the caddy tells you to aim, you'll make about 2 out of 20 putts. Another thing I didn't like is that the game puts you in the Masters Tournament at Augusta when your skills are at approximately 50%. Not only did I not win the Masters, by the 3rd round I was so frustrated and tired of missing putts that I didn't care anymore. Finally, the biggest negative about this game, and the reason I rated it a 2, is because after you buy the game (new price is $59.99), then you have to buy courses in order to finish the game. If you skip a tournament because you don't want to buy the course, it will affect your ranking and mark you as DNP (Did Not Play). I have always been a lukewarm EA fan at best but this game has caused me to decide never to buy another EA game until they fix some of these issues, mainly the one forcing you to buy in-game content in order to finish the game.

It's really sad because this could have been an outstanding game but EA ruined it with their greed. They should be ashamed of themselves.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOING... GOING... HOLE IN ONE GAME!

posted by jmcdaniels365 (LOS ANGELES, CA) Aug 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

This is a totally awesome game! I love that they finally include Augusta. The caddie tips are really useful especially if wind is throwing you off. The graphics are incredible and gameplay can be very fun if you get on a streak of birdies. Use caddie tips on putts and putt preview for easier levels to guarantee a make or at least get it close. If you wait a while the game will become better. You can get upset at first, but once you figure out tricks, your skills get boosted, and your caddie becomes more knowledgable, you'll say this is the best Tiger Woods game yet! The courses are also somewhat easy to play, but you don't get it easy if you end up in rough or bunkers. Just stay in regulation and the shots will work like magic.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Full single player should be included in a game

posted by tallyn88 (BEAVERTON, OR) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, this is a Tiger Woods game, if you've played them before, not much has changed. The addition of the Move is a lot of fun.

Thats not why I'm making this review. I'm making this review because I almost threw this game out the window when trying to play the single player "road to the masters" feature, and found out I couldn't compete in 1/4 to 1/3 of the tournaments in the season without BUYING the course. 3.99 to buy a golf course for a video game. Why do you include courses BUILT INTO a single player game that you have to buy? That is just ridiculous. There are over 20 purchasable courses to add to the game. all are 3.99 so we're talking 60 dollars for the game, then 80 dollars to get all the courses they've made for it...EA please stop trying to rob us. Madden better not make me buy the patriots to play as them or I might be sent to jail come august 30th.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same ol same ol...

posted by azkylebro (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2010

Game isn't very good in my opinion. I mean aside from the fact that it's the exact same thing every year, theres a few other flaws. First off, in "road to the masters" theres many course that you have to purchase separately to play? what a rip off and not a very good way to treat the series loyal customers. 60 bucks for a game and they still try to lure every penny from you possible. It's like Madden or a sports game making you buy different stadiums separately just to play them. Much less the graphics haven't seemed to improve, at all, and actually have become worse in certain aspects (such as the ultra glossy skin that makes the character look plastic). Also, the game fails to make a balanced approach between fun and competitive. One level is easy enough to dominate the field, even when your ratings are almost as low as possible. The next level up is more competitive but your forbidden from using power or ball spin which makes the game seem a bit to realistic. Maybe I'm critiquing it too much but a bit of a disappointment in my opinion.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

On Par Review

posted by Lord_Aizen (DENTON, GA) Jul 20, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12 is a very challenging game. From the Pull-n-Push swing system, to the reliving of Masters Moments Challenges, this game provides challenges for beginners to pros.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Tiger woods has no MOVE

posted by SgtBeetle (ROXANA, IL) Jul 12, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

was all excited about playing Tiger Woods golf 12 the masters with the move and to my surprise the move was discontinued controller only what a drag. As far as the game good graphics and game play a typical TW golf game. would have been better if the Move would have been available.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as past TW games?

posted by chemical36 (WHITMAN, MA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to be honest, I got this from GF Saturday and I was sadly disappointed right out of the gate. First there is the online pass issues. I mean, with all of the game rental places out there, EA should release online passes for free. They can certainly charge for game content such as courses or items or whatever, but just to play online I have to buy a pass? No thanks.

Then there is career mode. Right off the bat, I was sadly unimpressed. The edit golfer options are thing and really uninspiring. I know they have the photo option but what if we don't feel like taking a picture of ourselves?

Caddy.... Ugh! I know, I know, "just ignore him" people will say, and I did see the disable option but still, if he is there, make him useable. Every put he calls is way off and you only get one putt preview?

Tiger Woods '08 was soo much better than this and that should not be the case. The franchise should be moving forward, not backwards and that is how I feel when in game... That it has gone backwards.

I will certainly give it more of a chance but I really feel like EA just through something together, put the Masters on the cover, bragged about how much detail Augusta National has and kicked it out the door.

Just when you thought EA was starting to see the error in their ways, they give us this?

I gave it a 7 simply because it is golf and a new Tiger Woods gold game, the crown jewel of all gold games.

But I would definitely say this is a rent only. Do NOT buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage!!!!

posted by FACE_O11 (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

In my opinion 2012 Tiger golf is not as good as 2007. The graphic's are better on 2012, but i cant stand the new putting help, the training is not like 07, I feel I've learned more on 07. And can't stand the caddy on 2012!!! 07 you control your clubs, distance of your tee hit's ect. THIS GAME IS HOT GARBAGE!!!!!!!!!!! AND I LOVE GAMFLY FOR SAVING ME $65 DOLLAR'S!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THANKS GAMEFLY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

almost there

posted by laidback (TUCSON, AZ) May 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the changes from 2010 are perfect. however... the AI is still dumb during matchplay and there isn't a matchplay tournament. Also, the graphics need a new brush.

MATCHPLAY.... PUT IN ACCENTURE MATCHPLAY... <located in sunny Marana, AZ> :o)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse