Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12: The Masters for PS3
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12: The Masters

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.2

1868 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

At Least Tiger is Back in the Virtual World

posted by CaTch22 (UTICA, NY) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

14 out of 14 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Like Madden, the Tiger franchise had become very stale and less innovating with every release. Unlike Madden, the new release, The Masters, improves vastly on previous titles.

What I like:
- The Road to the Masters. The new career mode is awesome. Just about everything is improved from past incarnations, with two features adding to realism: The Masters is the ultimate goal, and I like the ranking system that I don't remember being in previous titles.

- The gameplay. This year seems vastly improved and more realistic from past titles. It doesn't feel as arcade like. I don't know if it will change as I progress, but putt preview is something that I've noticed to be in very limited use. This makes reading the greens important since you don't get to preview the putt. The gameplay all around just seems much better and more real.

- The caddy. He can be annoying sometimes, but I welcome this addition. He gives good and bad advice, so you have to know when you can trust his advice and when it's a good idea to listen to your instincts.

- Jim Nantz and the commentary. Finally it feels like I'm playing a golf game with real commentators. SVP was fine for the game before, but he doesn't give commentary.

- The graphics. Not vastly improved, but definitely looks better. As I said, Augusta looks spectacular. Everything looks like it's gone up a notch from previous titles.

What I don't like:
- Lots of loading. I had to try and find something truly negative about the game, and there is quite a bit of loading. But the game looks, sounds, and plays so good that it's easy to look past it.

- Players enter events they normally wouldn't, like Tiger in the 'Hawaiian Open'.

Honestly, this game is a buy if you're a golf fan. This game is highly enjoyable to play, and the new career mode is full of tiger blood (win!). Definite rent for casual gamers, definite buy for sports fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Golf Game

posted by MPL1999 (FRANKLINVILLE, NJ) Apr 10, 2011

Member since Oct 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is great for Golf. Can use PS Move and play the Masters. What other games can do that? Gotta love the Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12. Jim Nantz is great in the game too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Golf Game Made

posted by RaYSKeE (POLLOCK PINES, CA) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have owned multiple installments of Tiger Woods golf and this one is by far the best. Even without Augusta National its still the best. Even though that course really ups the value. The Par ''3'' Course is a blast too. I will be buying this game from GameFly!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Full single player should be included in a game

posted by tallyn88 (BEAVERTON, OR) Aug 20, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off, this is a Tiger Woods game, if you've played them before, not much has changed. The addition of the Move is a lot of fun.

Thats not why I'm making this review. I'm making this review because I almost threw this game out the window when trying to play the single player "road to the masters" feature, and found out I couldn't compete in 1/4 to 1/3 of the tournaments in the season without BUYING the course. 3.99 to buy a golf course for a video game. Why do you include courses BUILT INTO a single player game that you have to buy? That is just ridiculous. There are over 20 purchasable courses to add to the game. all are 3.99 so we're talking 60 dollars for the game, then 80 dollars to get all the courses they've made for it...EA please stop trying to rob us. Madden better not make me buy the patriots to play as them or I might be sent to jail come august 30th.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not as good as past TW games?

posted by chemical36 (WHITMAN, MA) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to be honest, I got this from GF Saturday and I was sadly disappointed right out of the gate. First there is the online pass issues. I mean, with all of the game rental places out there, EA should release online passes for free. They can certainly charge for game content such as courses or items or whatever, but just to play online I have to buy a pass? No thanks.

Then there is career mode. Right off the bat, I was sadly unimpressed. The edit golfer options are thing and really uninspiring. I know they have the photo option but what if we don't feel like taking a picture of ourselves?

Caddy.... Ugh! I know, I know, "just ignore him" people will say, and I did see the disable option but still, if he is there, make him useable. Every put he calls is way off and you only get one putt preview?

Tiger Woods '08 was soo much better than this and that should not be the case. The franchise should be moving forward, not backwards and that is how I feel when in game... That it has gone backwards.

I will certainly give it more of a chance but I really feel like EA just through something together, put the Masters on the cover, bragged about how much detail Augusta National has and kicked it out the door.

Just when you thought EA was starting to see the error in their ways, they give us this?

I gave it a 7 simply because it is golf and a new Tiger Woods gold game, the crown jewel of all gold games.

But I would definitely say this is a rent only. Do NOT buy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

almost there

posted by laidback (TUCSON, AZ) May 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the changes from 2010 are perfect. however... the AI is still dumb during matchplay and there isn't a matchplay tournament. Also, the graphics need a new brush.

MATCHPLAY.... PUT IN ACCENTURE MATCHPLAY... <located in sunny Marana, AZ> :o)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

caddy was weak!

posted by mizike13 (SUWANEE, GA) Apr 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this game didnt seem as smooth as the past tiger's. the caddy was annoying and made the game slower to play. give it a shot, i did

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Most accurate golf simulator.

posted by Silentrich (FORT MYERS, FL) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2007

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Calling it a golfing simulator is probably the biggest compliment I can give to this game. I'm not a great golfer and I tend to hook the ball and my swing doesn't have a consistent rhythem. I've played the Wii version of Tiger Woods Golf and I was always shooting great scores. I was expecting pretty much the same with the Move.....ah not so fast. I played the first couple holes and I was hooking the ball and my swing speed was off. Instead of getting frustrated I had a huge smile on my face, because a video golfing game has finally accurately represented what it lacking in my real golf game. So what did I do to improve my swing? Went to the practice range and I have to do this everytime before I play a round in TW12. There are so many things in this game like real golf. Getting it out of the bunkers and landing it soft requires a real bunker swing. In other words you better open up your club face and swing from outside to in or it's going to come out hot or not come out at all. This is a must buy if you own a move and like or love golf. This coming from someone who wasn't a big fan of TW golf games or video golf games in general. Absolutely awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best Tiger yet

posted by djlowe1973 (SALEM, VA) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Well this is my first review so here goes. This si by far the best Tiger Woods game yet. I have owned several titles in the series and rented even more. Tiger 12 has something for every one. If you want to use unlimited putt previews and power shots just choose the easiest difficulty. If you want to use the focus system and precision putting nthen go higher on the difficulty scale and if you absolutely want the closest thing to real golf you're going to get without the striped pants use the move. I have done them all and either like the unlimited stuff of the easy mode or the all out sim of using the move. No middle ground here. Plus i really enjoy the new career mode. So here are my scores:

1. Graphics- 9- Really good considering it's golf and there ain't a whole lot going on.

2. Sound- 8- Commentary is good and ambient sounds are realistic. The only thing is the caddy chatter but you can just skip it.

3. Playability - 9- Very easy to play with the controler. A little more hard with the move due to the realism.

4. Control- 9- With controller. 10- with the move, for better or worse the most control you will have with a golf game.

5. Fun Factor - 9- This game is very fun to me but that is because I like golf. If this is your firstgolf game or it's not your cup of tea rent it. Otherwise this a solid purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

GOT TO HAVE MOVE!!!

posted by Stefan1313 (SAINT CHARLES, IL) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is the best Tiger Woods yet. For the fact that the MOVE controller is so Accurate!! I have been playing Tiger Woods since 2003. It used to be no problem hitting 25 under par! LOL! That was a joke. Who does that?
Now with the move you can actually see the learning curve which is what a game is all about. That is what hooks you. My first 18 I hit +15 LOL! I went on the in game range and practiced my swinging. You gotta really pretend you are hitting a real ball! Your swing must be precise or you will mess up. That is a good thing. Lots of fun when you start seeing yourself do better. I chipped in a eagle today and it felt GREAT! I really was happy because of how hard I practiced to get it. If you play golf this is a must have with the MOVE controller. I will never play Tiger Woods without the MOVE again. I kept my copy right away. Get out there and hit some BALLS!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

TW12 Masters

posted by JonnyVegas (OLATHE, KS) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

much better than TW11, Augusta Natl. makes it that much better...beautiful game and playability is great...I just want to disable the caddy altogether

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Garbage!!!!

posted by FACE_O11 (STATEN ISLAND, NY) Jun 27, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

In my opinion 2012 Tiger golf is not as good as 2007. The graphic's are better on 2012, but i cant stand the new putting help, the training is not like 07, I feel I've learned more on 07. And can't stand the caddy on 2012!!! 07 you control your clubs, distance of your tee hit's ect. THIS GAME IS HOT GARBAGE!!!!!!!!!!! AND I LOVE GAMFLY FOR SAVING ME $65 DOLLAR'S!!!!!!!!!!!!!! THANKS GAMEFLY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Not fun for casual gamers.

posted by ElGrumpo (BALTIMORE, MD) Apr 9, 2011

Member since Feb 2005

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Was hoping to have a golf game that looked good and played easy for when bro's came over to have fun with the PS3 Move and some brews.
The load times are deplorable. Three people could play through a real life course faster than on this game.
Just trying to get a game going is a tedious task with all the menu hopping you have to do.
Meh....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

absolute travesty of a title I used to love.

posted by SteelCity (SAXONBURG, PA) Apr 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

First off, just know I love this title and have playing it for years. that being said, Heres the bad and theres a plenty for everyone.

Gameplay: I dont know if it was laziness or just a bad idea to instill this caddie into the game. The caddie will advise you to use a full swing 3 iron but the aim will be wrong. Fine right? WRONG! More often then not when you use a custom shot your not able to access all your clubs and all your shot types. Horrible. As you progress it gets to the point were you just do what the caddie suggests. EA took away alot of the users control and own personal gameplay style out of the game.

The price: $60 for a game (another 4 and change for taxes) and they want you to purchase 21 courses for four dollars a piece! REALLY!!! oh and if you dont good luck with the consecutive weeks at #1 cause if you dont play a week because you didnt purchase the game you fall back to #2. You can also buy sponsor upgrades as apposed to earning them through gameplay. Whats the point. At least this one is a personal choice of being lazy, but the courses are just a fleecing of your hard earned money.

EA should be fell shame for this travesty. They wont, but they should. Do not buy. Do not give them the satisfaction of even renting this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dont really like

posted by ephil24 (LADSON, SC) Apr 3, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 12 gamers (8%) found this review helpful

the game is ok but i cant putt to save my life

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

masters

posted by prettydre (COLUMBUS, OH) May 24, 2013

Member since May 2013

hard

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Could be better

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Dec 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2004

This game is Good but could have been better. I am guessing that Game companies arent making enough money at 60 dollars a Game so they put in things that if you want to finish the game you have to Buy, In this game you have to buy courses so you can play the whole game i guess 1000%+ Profit isnt enough for game makers they are looking to make 10000% profit. The Better you get the more the game is programmed to cheat you,other then that it is an ok game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Tiger woods Masters 2012

posted by DJBlackice (DETROIT, MI) Feb 20, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

big change in this game it use to be fun! caddy mode suckz!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Terrible TW Game

posted by bbake516 (YORK, PA) Feb 11, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

The game loaded once for me and after that....nothing. Disc was perfectly clean. I guess it works as hard as he did at his marriage which was NOT AT ALL!!! The game sucks because you cannot even play it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Does Not Work Very well with Move.

posted by thinkage (LA CENTER, WA) Dec 31, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

This game had the Move controller as an afterthought.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

$3.99?

posted by pasty241 (OMAHA, NE) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

Was really enjoying this game until the next course on the pga curcuit. I couldn't play it unless I downloaded it for $3.99. The option to skip that particular tourniment exists but the other golfers don't (npc) so they continue to gain points towards the championship... no good

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Disappointing in a couple of ways

posted by mrjawbones (THOMASVILLE, NC) Dec 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

I like the gameplay and the caddie concept, but there were a couple of issues that were annoying to the point that it caused me to return the game instead of keeping it. First, there is no way to toggle to the 3-click swing. I wouldn't want to use it all the time, but sometimes it is necessary when you want to be as precise as possible on your power percentage. Secondly, when you get to the PGA Tour level, half the events on the schedule are not playable until you purchase the courses (for $4 each, mind you). This is unacceptable not to mention just plain greedy. So you pay $60 for the game and then on top of that you have to buy some of the courses? 100% ridiculous.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Addictive Game

posted by Bouda32 (MANCHESTER, NH) Nov 10, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

When I first received this game in the mail, I thought I would be bored with it...hardly! It sucked me in. At first the putting was tough, but once I got the hang of it and eagled on the 18th to win I couldn't put it down, The different challenges from the different courses was intriguing--especially for someone that will never be able to play (for real) in Greece or Wales or, certainly not, in Augusta at the Masters. To be able to create a character that so closely resembles you is alot of fun. I play this more than "MLB: The Show". That's says alot!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

hard

posted by mieklblade (PORTAGE, IN) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

I thing his game was alittle to hard for me. I played other golf games but this one was the hardis.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse