Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12: The Masters for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12: The Masters

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3
GF Rating
7.3

2288 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good Gameplay, very bad Greed

posted by Cody0r (RICHLAND HILLS, TX) Aug 1, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the first time I have played any of the games in the Tiger Woods series, and what is there is pretty good. The controls are nice, the graphics are awesome but there are some pretty big gaps.

1. The putting is flawed from a 3 ft and closer. If there is any slope these are some of the hardest putts to make which is completely inaccurate.
2. To have to download courses to play is extremely GREEDY by EA. If you are in a tight points race, you can lose by not participating in events because you haven't purchased the course. These are not cheap and cost as much as it would for me to buy this game from Gamefly. This is the only reason why this game will be going back.
3. The load screens take entirely too long. After you complete each hole the load times take about as long as it took me to finish the last hole. The graphics make this game but I would rather it be less polished in exchange for shorter loading times.
4. The caddie who suggests almost every shot will sometimes just not give you anything to aim for. I know this happens sometimes until your knowledge of the course gets better, but this should never happen during putts and it does.

With that said there are a lot of positives:
1. Gameplay, graphics, and sound are very good and the courses look amazing.
2. The Mid-round saving option is very nice because playing 18 holes is very time consuming.
3. The ability to advance without having to watch the entire shot is very nice, I like not having to watch every drive in its entirety.
4. Progression in skills and in sponsors makes you want to keep playing, the Pins are also a nice touch.

Overall: Enjoy this as a long term rental then send it back. Don't buy the courses because EA needs to learn that we will not tolerate this design. It is a good game minus a few over sites and glaring greed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Another Almost

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Sep 19, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well This started out with a chance but then the same old problems become evident,like the "Ball only flies about 2 thirds of the distance over water as it does over land,Then theres the "Your Caddie" doesnt have any Idea what most of the shots are then theres the Ball does not roll the way the green shows,ect,ect. This is Just more Sloppy programming which is getting to be a Normal thing anymore no one wants to have to do more then they need to get paid and nothing more

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Beter than ever!

posted by tjritter79 (READING, PA) Apr 5, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The graphics and presentation are the best ever seen in a TW golf game.While the create player options still have a lot to be desired and the menu system is tedious at best, the game is both challenging to experienced players as well as easy for 1st time players due to the caddie additions which give you multiple (in some cases) options for shots. The caddie learns as you learn so dont expect A-1 advice the 1st time through, you do better lining up your own shots early on rather than relying on the caddies recommendations. The drawings of the courses are nearly photo-quality and done really well, especially the Masters course itself! One annoying fact that seems to be the norm these days is certain courses & golfers are available as purchase (MS points) rather than being attainable as an award or progress through the game. Why this didn't get a 10? Certain holes on some courses the audio describes as a par-4 while the course is actually a par-5...this should have been corrected during development and may be rectified as a patch later.There is a hurry-up mode which can get you through a round in less than a half-hr in case your pushed for time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game and worth the price...

posted by Awil5 (CHAMPAIGN, IL) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is the first time I've ever done a review for a game, so bear with me. I haven't played a Tiger Woods game since the '07 game came out. That being said the title of this game made it a must buy for me. And to say the least I am extremely happy with the $60 price tag. The pros to this game are of course you finally being able to play at Agusta National. Without a doubt the most pretigious golf course in the entire world. But also the gameplay seems much more fluid than it did in '07. Yeah I know that was quite a few years back but, it truely does seem better. Also the graphics are AMAZING. The look of Agusta is truely remarkable and I can say that EA did a fantastic job with the layout of the course. Now for a few things that made me give this game a 9 instead of 10. The caddie system gets a little stale after a while. Yeah I know you can turn it off but still it doesnt seem needed. I suppose if you've never played golf or actually followed the sport, it might come in handy. Another thing that annoyed me was the way they make you pay for some of the extra courses in dlc. Why not put those courses in the game to begin with? I guess they couldn't have taken the time to add a few more courses but whatever. All in all I truely love playing this game and the fact that I can now play The Masters tournament is AWESOME. I really hope that they continue to keep Agusta in future games because the course draws me in every time I play it. 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really ea?

posted by rflagg905 (FLUSHING, NY) May 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Just when you thought ea could not get any more greedy they pull this!
How do you make a game and charge 60 for it then 2 tourney in you have to pay to dl corse to play offline in the single player? I felt like I had just wasted 2 hours(a big chunk of it being loading) just to find out that to keep going means dl the rest of the game.
Soon ea will be doing this in every game. if I get madden will I have to pay to dl the playoffs and then have to dl to play the SB?
Ea has really ripped us off on this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Release of TW to date!

posted by rockstarz1 (WINDERMERE, FL) Apr 2, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

The game is EPIC. Everything is vastly improved over previous years. Q6 courses in the game, along with Augusta National and the Masters (which is the first time ever in any console game). That course alone makes this game worthy of a rental or purchase.

Yes, there are 19 courses available for DLC. NO, you don't have to download any DLC to play and beat this game. Frankly, people complaining about this is ridiculous, as it's unrealistic to think that EA would include 35 courses in the game.

Trust me, if you like golf and/or you've liked playing Tiger Woods in the past, you HAVE to get this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Who needs Tiger?

posted by Vanhelm (PLEASANTVILLE, NY) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well... If it was'nt for the Masters and Augusta I probably would'nt have gone anywhere near this game. That being said it is awesome! Still love the photo player creator . Pro shop clothing and equipment upgrades are great. They have a new pin system for achievments which is pretty cool. The Graphics look absolutely beautiful , especially Augusta.One gripe would be the actual player movements are a bit chunky while he is walking ( looks like he has to take a deuce ) and putting is a bit challenging . Jim Nantz on the comentary is a huge upgrade as he is one of the best. I have only played a couple hours but I moved up pretty quickly gaining x points in order to upgrade my player attributes. ( Use points for putting. Trust me) I was able to move to the nationwide tour in a couple rounds.The gameplay and overall options of the game including the Masters moments are top knotch!I have not gone online yet so I can speek to it . If you are a golf fan I highly reccomend this game . I believe EA has made a very smart move keeping to the spotlight off Tiger a bit with his resent problems and making it more about The Masters and pro golf ! Love it...lets hit the links!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

I'm definitely glad I rented first.

posted by BuzzLiteYr (ESSEX JUNCTION, VT) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Sep 2006

9 out of 20 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

Lets get right to the bad aspects of this new game.

I play this game on TOUR PRO primarily just for a more realistic gameplay. So my comments are solely based on that gameplay option.

Playing this game is just NOT FUN.....shot's that SHOULD BE terrible due to your shotstick movement turn out great...shots that SHOULD BE perfect turn out terrible. There seems no rime or reason for it, but if you use even just one "focus" click then it's always fine.

The putting is ridiculous!!! I'd rather try to sink a 30 footer with 10' of break than try to sink a 2' put straight in in this game. I have a better chance of making it.

I've found ridiculous mistakes in the game like par 5's labeled, and commentated as par 4's. The graphics are improved in some areas like the menu's and all aspects that are NOT GAMEPLAY RELATED.

BUT THE WORST PART ABOUT THIS GAME..........

There are tournaments in this game that YOU CANNOT PLAY, because THEY LEFT OUT THE COURSES intentionally so that you HAVE TO BUY THEM AS DLC.

This is where they lost me as a purchaser of this game. When they exposed their true greedy colors to me...I packed it up and shipped it back. I would not recommend this game to anyone, and EA will have to step it up BIG TIME to ever gain me back as a Tiger Woods PGA Tour player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

XP bank

posted by amp53190 (PORT ORANGE, FL) Jun 13, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

How is it that new golfers can't adjust their golfing performance- for example, a 95 in power and 98 in accuracy? This is a ripoff..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Greed

posted by TaoLogos (ROCHESTER, NY) Apr 1, 2011

Member since Dec 2003

8 out of 18 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Really? I have to pay $60 for the game and another $40 in DLC to play this game? I don't think so. I can't wait until EA goes out of business.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

WOW

posted by thelycan1121 (YOUNGSTOWN, OH) Mar 29, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

it was a good game the graphics were good and gameplay was awsome overall score 9

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

OMG THE HORROR OF PUTTING

posted by Armysteele (WAGONER, OK) Dec 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

All in all, its your standard WOODS game. Graphics are amazing, and the Caddy does an amazing job of predicting shots.

BUT the putting system is way to sensitive for your standard gamer. I suppose if your one of those people who played tetris on lvl 10 then this game is for you, but putting is overly complicated. No reason to include the swing gage in putting. GOOD LUCK

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

hate this game

posted by fizzlecakes (SPRING CITY, PA) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

so i was playing and i get my first chip in from a hundred yards and the game freezes and if i didnt rent it i would have broken it but uhm yea this is a good game gets boring after a bit if you like golf get it if not dont bother you will probably just go hulk on this game cause it can be a little frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Same Game with A New Course

posted by EazyE360 (SAINT PAUL, MN) Nov 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

I was not a fan of the new EA Golf, sorry I do ot use his name anymore. It is the same game with a new course & I was not that impressed. I played 36 holes & put it back in the mail. I am going back to Hot Shots Golf!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good game...dont understand some of the gripes..

posted by eeeekpenguins (EUGENE, OR) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

First of all I haven't played the series since 2010 so this was a nice update for me. I enjoyed that they went to an XP system instead of performance based. It got annoying in 2010 to lose stat points just because you didn't hit every fairway in reg.

What I don't understand are these people who complain about the putting system when up close. I have never missed a 3 foot putt. I don't know how you can mess these up.. I don't miss anything within 15 feet usually you just need to watch the putting meter and make sure your not pushing the stick to the right or left...its very touchy.

Also I saw a person complain about not being able to judge the difference between a 60% and 80% shot...ummm in case you aren't aware there is an option to take a practice swing to judge your power. If you start taking practice swings its pretty easy to get the power within 5%...also the controller vibrates during the practice swing when you have the right amount of power.

My biggest grip of course was being asked to pay money to buy courses that were used during the career mode, but again I just skipped these tournaments. I'm on my last FedEx Cup tournament and I'm about 3,000 points ahead of Tiger. Unless you really suck and lose a lot of tournaments or have the AI scoring and game difficulty on the highest of settings skipping tournaments shouldn't be any issue...I play on Tour Pro with very low AI scoring, meaning they shoot about 13-15 under par each day of a tournament. Again though I was extremely irritated that there was about $40 worth of DLC for courses that should have just been included.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

cool

posted by RaiderSccr (OVERLAND PARK, KS) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2010

good game. better than last years

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tiger Woods Masters

posted by iwishiwaskewl (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOORRRRRRRRRING. This installment was beautiful to the eye, but was had a very lackluster career mode. It was the same thing over and over and over and over and over and over again. I got the impression that EA only is good at recreating copies of previous titles and slapping a new year stamp on them. The subtle differences in the "new" game are definately not enough to encourage me to go out a spend sixty bucks every year for the same pile of doo doo as last year with slightly better graphics. Load times are ridiculous. On top of everything else TIger Woods is a horrible golfer anyway. Hey Tiger, get ready to lose this sponser too. You cheating loser.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Have to pay REAL Money to Beat the Game.....Greedy

posted by GotGame36 (SAINT PETERS, MO) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

My title says it all.......nothing but greed!! How can EA, which makes millions, expect us to pay for the game then turn around and pay again for courses......what a joke!!

I thought this game was decent until I made it to Pro status. Once you reach Pro status EA tries to make you BUY the courses you need to complete the game and stay in the top 5 in the cup race. If you don't buy new courses then you can't stay in the cup race or finish the game.

Game is buggy.....2-3 foot putts have a 50/50 chance. Caddy is horrible and did I mention REAL money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Decent Round of Golf

posted by Al3ch (SANTA ROSA, CA) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I'm kind of new to the Tiger Woods PGA franchise, mostly having gotten my videogame golfing fix off of things like Mario Golf and Hot Shots.

After having played this title for a while, my reactions were mixed. Here are said reactions:

Graphics: The courses themselves are all well-realized, and the static shots of the courses are beautiful. That being said, the loading times between holes are annoying long (you have to load the scorecard, and THEN load the next hole) for an installed title, and the in-game shot graphics are not terribly impressive. Not an ugly title by any means, but its visuals won't blow your mind.

Controls: I can see what EA is trying to do with the analog controls, but if you're trying for anything between a 50% swing and a full swing, the results are unpredictable at best. I personally think the "two-click" system in titles like Mario Golf/Hot Shots works better, since it's impossible to determine the difference between a 60% and an 80% shot in this game. Also, the controls for zooming around the course and previewing your shot are clunky and unwieldy.

Progression: Lots of goodies to score, and lots of unlockable stuff for your ingame character. Numerous goals for each course ensure tons of replayability -- tons of DLC sweetens the deal even more.

Gameplay: Honestly, playing this game is about as much fun as watching a round of golf -- the experience feels pretty realistic, but "realistic" golf isn't everyone's cup of tea. The commentary is subdued, and the experience feels so sanitized that it is pretty difficult to really "get into this game", so to speak. So, one's mileage will vary greatly with this title -- it's perfect for folks who enjoy a no-frills, realistic, and authentic game of golf. For everyone else, it just comes off as boring.

Bottom line, I like my golf games with more pizazz. If I wanted a game this real, I'd just go down to the links in real life and play a round. Still, decent effort overall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good golf game

posted by coondog (SAVAGE, MD) Sep 24, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

Takes a little bit to get use to and to better your golfer. The caddie gets annoying but kinda helps.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game if you can afford all the courses.

posted by arouse720 (VISALIA, CA) Sep 22, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I have been a fan of this series for awhile and really have never been let down. My wife and I enjoy the thrill of it and get pretty intense on the golf course. That being said it would have been nice if EA didn't make you buy some of the DLC courses just to play the road to masters. I understand and am a fan of DLC but not when it becomes a mandatory thing to enjoy the game. I would have no problem buying extra courses to play for fun but please don't have it affect my story or career if I can not get them.
I think the addition of the caddy helps sometimes but not all and I like that you can set up your own shot if you want to. The graphics and sound of this franchise seems to improve a little each year but nothing major and for most sports games that is fine.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Why

posted by ajrcel (TWENTYNINE PALMS, CA) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

This game really disapointed me. You can not even finish the game without having to pay for all of the courses. I do not recomend this game to anyone, unless you want to pay an extra $30 just to finish the career.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not Bad...

posted by WhiteWolf22 (LINCOLN, NE) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

I'm not usually a golf game fan, so I really had no high expectations when I rented the game. I thought it was pretty good. The courses were pretty accurate and it was challenging. I thought the photo game face was pretty cool too. I play sports games frequently and honestly, I wouldn't say Tiger Woods is in my top 5, but on the same token, it wasn't a bad game either.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad

posted by BAMAGUY (MOBILE, AL) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Mar 2008

Absolutely ridiculous to have to pay for courses to complete tournaments. EA you should be ashamed. This will be my last TW game unless there is a drastic change in the next one....and Madden 12 is not looking good either. I would give this a negative score if I could.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse