Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 11 for PS3
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 11

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360, Wii
GF Rating
6.5

1168 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I'm glad i bought this game

posted by Rballer (LAKEWOOD, CO) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I think people are being too hard on this game. I gave it an 8. Graphics are good and it is very challenging, but i think that is a good thing. No, i haven't gotten a hole-in-one yet. yes, i have to restart skills challenges frequently. This leads to a bit of frustration, but hey, its GOLF.

I think they made great strides to add realism with the gusting wind and focus meter, which both i think are very cool. You can still make amazing shots, and when you do they are that much more satisfying. The still gamelike feel with a little bit more challenge makes for an emotional rollercoaster of golf greatness. I still think it is silly that you can add spin when in-flight, but if you couldn't it would just be that much harder, and people would complain that much more. The focus meter at least adds some strategy to the mix.

I always thought it was ridiculous that i'd end a round 20 under in past tiger games. I think they were too quick to "master" and the ease of play drastically shortened the entertainment lifespan. I feel tiger 11 will continue being fun and challenging for a long time. I'm glad i bought this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Slight Graphics Improvement, Pay to Play Online!

posted by rader8r (YERINGTON, NV) Jun 18, 2010

Member since May 2006

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I really wanted to like this newest installment of TW, but I just can't. The new Focus system, while interesting, really puts a damper on the gameplay. You can no longer spin the ball when you really need to, unless you have focus, no more being able to boost on every drive if thats what your into, with out focus...But really, I can't wrap my head around having to pay to play online with this game, I mean isn't that the whole point in owning a PS3?? If I wanted to pay to play against other people, I would start my gold membership on my 360. Oh well, back to TW10 for me...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GREEDY!

posted by CRUSHKILLE (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Jun 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

WHILE I LIKE THE GAMEPLAY OF THIS VERSION, I AM APPALLED THAT I HAVE TO PAY MONEY TO PLAY ONLINE.
I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN AFTER THE BETA ONLINE VERSION STARTED.
THE ONLY THING I AM GLAD OF IS THAT I AM A GAMEFLY MEMBER AND DID NOT PAY $59.99 TO PURCHASE THE GAME ONLY TO FIND HOW EA IS OUT TO GOUGE US.
I CAN ONLY HOPE THAT THE UPCOMING MADDEN 11 WILL NOT DO THE SAME.
THANKS FOR GAMEFLY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What Happened?????

posted by mikeelp23 (NEW BRITAIN, CT) Jun 10, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I loved Tiger Woods 10 and the the new focus feature in this game is just plain annoying!! You need focus to power up your swing percentage and ball spin control and if in mid back swing or after you hit the ball you run out of focus then you can`t control the ball the way you would want to! There`s no option to shut off the focus feature so forget about that idea. Another difference is you use xp points to buy items from the golf pro shop, but you also have to use those points to improve your golf attributes to become a better player. In Tiger Woods 10 your performance on the golf course is what your attributes are based on so the better you play the higher they will go and vise versa. I am glad they kept the bonus attributes tied in with the pro shop items so if you would like to give your player a boost in certain areas of your golf game you still can.If you liked the "push button" swing method in TW 10 thats gone too! Overall I am dissappointed in the changes they made.The graphic may be better but the game play is what makes the game fun to me. If you really liked Tiger Woods 10 then you may not like 11. I would recommend renting before you go out and buy it and judge for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

you'd be better off with tw pga 10

posted by nateoflife (MADISON, WI) Jun 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The graphics are improved slightly, but character faces look creepy to me. And ohh, their hair blows in the wind. Thank God.

The game is probably more realistic, but if that's what you are looking for (and I can't imagine why you would be) buy a wii. The tru aim thing is fine if you wand the game to be tediously difficult. The focus meter thing certainly adds an element of strategy, but ultimatly it just leads to the better player being more likely to lose, which is fine when you're not the best player, but otherwise it sucks. It would be fine if you could just turn it off, but you can't. I really don't understand why people want a more realistic experience. If you want a more realistic golf experience, go outside and play golf. Video games aren't meant to be realistic. That's the whole idea.

It would all be forgivable if they hadn't messed around so much with the way online games are set up. Searching for available games automatically places you in a match, no matter how many are available. The only way to see all available matches (without checking out all the different rooms in the lobby) is to do a search that comes up with no results (I just search for One Ball), then select 'browse sessions'. This is also the only way to set up a match unless you go to a lobby. There are too many rooms, which is bound to cause confusion. You also only have access to player's skill level and DNF%, no other stats, such as wins and losses, or average round. Perhaps the worst part is you can't kick players out of matches you set up. All you can do is quit the match and set up a new one and hope the person gets the hint.

As someone who played thousands of rounds of tw10, I'm very disapointed. I can only hope some of the problems will be fixed in patches because as it stands, the game is not worth your time or money. I wish they'd just re-released last years's game. Oh yea, and the whole Ryder Cup thing, who cares? It is just as tedious as everything else

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GREED

posted by SHOE27 (HUNTINGTON, IN) Jun 16, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I actually liked the game. It has pretty good graphics and some new features that were cool, but they want to charge for their online play. I'm so sick of these companies who find something popular and exploit it. I personally chose ps3 over xbox360 because online play is FREE! I personally will stop buying Tiger Woods' games if they keep being greedy. The 'GREED' aspect is the reason behind my low rating of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game sucks!!

posted by sundude (KERSHAW, SC) Jul 1, 2010

Member since Jun 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has improved in about 2 spots. Grapics and phisics. The putting sucks, the new Foucus thing sucks, because when u need to spin the ball u cant unless you have foucus which u have to hit shots to gain it and you cant hit shots without it. do not buy this rent it and judge 4 urself

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

IA is getting old...

posted by laidback (TUCSON, AZ) Jul 22, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Why can't the developers establish IA in this game that makes it worth while to play against the CPU? ...I mean really. I tell ya what really ticked me off is the amount of additions to this game you have to BUY as add-ons; you have got to be kidding me (YHGTBKM).

It'll take you a year to accumulate the skill points required to buy a shirt, but no worries... just purchase skill points as an add-on for $9.99. Wanna play a golf course that's not included in the game (YHGTBKM)?... no worries, just buy it as an add-on for $9.99.

By the time you buy the add-ons to make it a complete game, you've spent an additionally $70. I didn't do this and I hope to God none of you do either.

.. game play is ok. nothing changed much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

DUMB

posted by bosshogg (CHANDLER, TX) Jun 20, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The dumbest thing for gamefly.....EA is now making you activate its online features with the code that comes with the game (which i dont have because i rented from gamefly) I did get 7 days free but now if i want to play online I have to pay 10 dollars for a game that isnt even mine. DUMB

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

disappointed

posted by Chusker (ORANGE PARK, FL) Jun 12, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

it's been rare that I have been this disappointed with a TW from one installment to the next but this one has done so. the user player models are horrible. I still don't know why you can only create 4 custom golfers. and overall gameplay just wasn't up to par. series took big step back in my opinion. sticking with TW 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Too Easy Still

posted by bmyze316 (WATERVLIET, NY) Jun 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

that dude that said it's too realistic and doesnt want a game to be realistic is an efin clown. OF COURSE I WANT GAMES TO BE REALISTIC! who doesn't? for someone to think that most gamers DONT want the game to be realistic is beyond comprehension so that dude is a clown. but anyway the focus system is an improvement because it is suppose to make it harder, but the game is still WAY too easy. my first ever round i shot a 64 and im and average to good player. online you must birdie every par3, and 4 and eagle every par 5 that is ridiculous and not fun. how hard is it to make the game more difficult?

FAIL

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

This review is loading...

posted by TheToad263 (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Aug 19, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

The Tiger Woods series from EA is one of my favorite sports video game franchises,only second behind EA's juggernaut Madden.While there are some new features to the game such as the Ryder Cup, mostly it is the same game we golf fans have come to love and recognize as the best in golf video gaming with a few subtle changes and improvements.The largest change/improvement(depending on your opinion)is that the game has seemingly gotten considerably harder than its predecessors. Personally,I like it simply because while the previous Tiger Woods games flirted the line between golf simulation game and golf arcade game by allowing players to hit massive drives and sink extremely lengthy putts that are simply unrealistic in the real world,this newest installment takes a step or two in the golf simulation direction and makes putting considerably harder, and shortens the players range with most clubs.There is one rather large concern that I have for this game.The loading times are not only ridiculously frequent, but also terribly long.During a standard 18 hole round of golf,you begin the round by first loading the golf course for 30-45 seconds,then you begin at the first tee.After you finish the hole,you load another 30-45 seconds and end up on the second hole.Now,lets say that on the conservative side the loads are only 20 seconds on average. That means that during an 18 hole round you are spending a minimum of 6 minutes waiting to play due to loading. Now, lets say that an 18 hole round takes in total (including loading) about 50 minutes.That comes out to 12%. Of all of the time spent playing this game,about 12% of it will be anxiously and often annoyingly waiting to start the next hole. Now, lets say I play a total of 100 rounds of golf during the time I own this game, that would take about 84 hours.Of that 84 hours, over 10 of them would be waiting.This is still the best of golf games, just find a way to kill time when your waiting for the next hole to load. Perhaps a book

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good but....not Great

posted by That_guy2116 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 15, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

I thought that the overall gameplay and graphics of this game were fabulous. That being said, the Focus Meter does not replenish quick enough, and depletes way too quickly. I first started on this franchise with Tiger Woods 08, and it was alot more fun when not having to think about if I have enough Focus to spin, or boost, or even putt preview. Like I said, overall good, but not great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Defintly not everyones game.

posted by TrueGame (PORT ORCHARD, WA) Feb 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

This game takes some practice and time. Fun but i didnt enjoy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worst ever!!!!

posted by Quagmire82 (CENTRALIA, WA) Dec 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

Ever since I've played Tiger Woods golf I've always used the right stick to swing and tapped R1 for power. In this game, you can't do that!!! You can use the right stick to swing, but you have to tap X for power, pretty much forcing you to use the left stick to swing unless you wanna turn the power off. Why take away that option? Also, the putt preview is the most inaccurate of any Tiger Woods game. Plus, you have to pay extra to play online!!!! It's funny that they already have extra courses that you have to pay extra to play too. EA Sports is begining to really milk the consumer. You could prolly spend over $100 on this game if you bought all the add-ons and I would'nt be suprised if 12 came out nine months after the release of this game. I remember they did that between 09 and 10. EA Sports......c'mon man!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best "Chilled Out" Game Yet

posted by oceandream (SACRAMENTO, CA) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

This is a chill out game. By that I mean you can just chill and play the game, "no rush" is what I tell my Dad. If your trying to get someone who has never played a video game to play, this is the game for you. When I first tried to get my Dad to play some vids with me I assumed he would love Madden, because he loves football. I was wrong, the fast paced game play and numerous amount of buttons to remember was overwhelming for him as a new player. As well as with the majority of games out there at first try. (no diss on Madden)
When I popped in Tiger and showed him how to hit the ball he was immediately interested. Ever since then he has gotten gradually better until now I am lucky to beat him every other game. We started on Tiger 2010 and now we have two PS3's that we play Tournaments on now almost every day on Tiger 2011.
In review - Tiger Woods may not be doing so well in his own home life, but he did bring me and my Dad closer together at this house...
Thanks Tiger, you da man!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not so great with Move Controller

posted by OdinBudd (ALBANY, OR) Nov 9, 2010

Member since May 2010

I rented this game specifically to test how it works with the move. Having never played the game with the sixaxis, my initial impression was that it was pretty cool. Unfortunately, it may be too realistic because I ended up sucking at video golf almost as bad as I suck at real golf! After a day of playing with just the move, which is actually impossible, you must use a nav controller or the sixaxis to navigate menus ect, I decided to try out the game without the move. Now I became disappointed. It definitely feels like the move compatibility was a rush job, as playing with the sixaxis gives you way more control of the ball. You can NOT use power boost with the move, you can NOT put spin on the ball with the move, trying to change your target zone with the move is darn near impossible. You also can NOT change loft or draw/fade with the move, you must use the sixaxis in your other hand to do any of these things, which means constantly picking up and putting down different controllers = way too much work to be fun. Even setting up the move is confusing and clumsy, there is no screen to verify the eye camera is aimed correctly, and after calibrating I felt unsure whether it was done correctly or not. Left handed support still is a mystery to me, i tried turning around and shooting as a lefty with no success at all, and found no menus or options to change this. Finally the view is always from 3rd person, behind the character. This is annoying and would be better if it had a 1st person view (like sports champions does). To end on a positive note, making a golfer with your own face via the eye camera was pretty cool, although the light from the TV gives people the complexion of Golem!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

never played the previous tw games

posted by fattony (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

but i'm liking this one alot.
dont get me wrong, i cussed out my player and the commentators more times than i'd like to say but i like the focus features and the graphics are really quite nice. i finally found a game i might keep for a few weeks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Move Implementation is a JOKE!!!

posted by gf1234 (HELLERTOWN, PA) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

First of all ONLINE PLAY IS FREE. Every game comes with a code to enter in.

This game is horrrrrrible with the move controller. They need to add an entire implementation in it like JOHN DALY'S PROSTROKE GOLF game did.
For a super realistic GOLF Move experience JD's Game is it. Except that they have a ton of bugs in it and it lacks a lot of content lol But it's about golf first!!!

They advertised all about the Move and TW's game but it's a COMPLETE JOKE! It's like they took 5 minutes to make a add-on Patch for it!
NO CONTROL, NO FEEL! Very sad and hopefully they will go through and make a Move Controlled Version!
Everything else is great in the game, graphics and modes and so forth.
But it's almost unplayable with the Move controller because the Shots are all different and don't rely upon you and your swing at all. I play real golf in real life and a low accurate swing path and club head angle and speed are not good...
I hope they listen to feedback because they could make an amazing Move experience!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Well, how does this work with Move?

posted by 35yrgamer (CLIFTON SPRINGS, NY) Oct 13, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

Thats what I wanted to know, and no one seemed to be sharing an info. Long story short, it works great with move. Far better then when I tried to play TW on the Wii.
This is TW, its an EA game, most of what people are complaing here is spot on and true. However I don't care. I don't have a collection of TW games on my shelf. And I just wanted to play it with Move.
It isn't real golf, but it does mimic is pretty well. The swing feels fluid and smooth. And the golfers on screen do what you do. You can rotate and twist your controler in your hand, and your golfer will rotate and twist his club on the screen. I have a push on tee shots, I have a the same dang push in the game. Thanks alot EA! The putting is kind of rough. Hard to get a beed on how the greens play but I can live with that.
This would be a great game to play with multiplayers. I can see it being a lot of fun, after all your all playing on the same tough greens. Against just the AI, I can see it being a problem here and there.
Look, this is what Gamefly is for right? Renting. If you like golf, give this a shot if you have Move. I don't see how anyone is going to not like this game when holding the wand in their hand.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Does not "Move" me

posted by 3nigma (FOREST HILLS, NY) Oct 10, 2010

Member since May 2010

Not at all setup to run smoothly with the new move gameplay. So far not impressed by the selection and gameplay involved with the move.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game but could use improvements

posted by southman (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Sep 11, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

great game but really ,really needs some serious improvements , for 1 thing the whole if you buy/rent used you gotta play online either you play 360 or PS3 they still charge for online if you buy it used that for one is a huge drawback and for which is why for one of the reasons i refuse to buy any of EAs newer games new or used . and for the fact in TW11 they added this stupid thing called Focus were basically you have to almost use it for every aspect of the game especially in putting because with it you have to almost predict every put the game has to offer easy or hard ones . id say overall this game is a must rent save ur money and rent it or wait for the price to drop well below 20 bucks because this game is not worth it imho . this game is good but sucks compared to the older versions of TW games i miss how they added in 05 tiger vision which was awesome but thats EA for you do the ol bait and switch on you . i think ill stick with TW 10 and older versions .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

tiger woods 11....just plain sucks

posted by tankerman (HAMMOND, LA) Sep 6, 2010

Member since Nov 2008

previous tiger woods games were good..so what happened?
who developed this flop? the focus is a disaster. the play is not good either..i hate the new putting.. just everything about this game is not good..

here is an idea, how about making a realistic golf game..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

solid

posted by gamerkingG (PELHAM, NY) Sep 1, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

this game was ok it was solid. the putting sucks and it is mad hard, it is fun but u always shoot over par rent it to try it but if u like golf u will be a little disappointed

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse