Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 11 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 11

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, Wii
GF Rating
6.6

1766 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Golf Game

posted by nagrand (BRONX, NY) Aug 29, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is my first time getting one of the tiger woods games i've played the demo of 10' but this game is definitely a great golf game. i like how they changed the focus meter so u dont have an unlimited amount, it makes the game alot harder which is good. i also like how they added the ryder cup feature and also am liking the team play online. The career mode is good as usual and its overall a great golf game to play if u like golf

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best Tiger woods since 2007

posted by TheBigP (FARMINGTON, MN) Dec 28, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overal I would give this game a 8.5. Game play is good. Small things like putting change year to year and no tiger vision or anything like that. Graphics seem to keep getting better. Lots of courses and plenty more on DLC as well. Difficulty seemed better than previous 2 games in this serious IMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Eh, its okay.

posted by Catfish25 (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Feb 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

There is a new focus meter in the game. Basically it is a system that limits how much spin, power boost and putting vision (tiger vision) you can use in a round. I have yet to figure out how this meter regenerates, it pretty much does it on its own but im trying to figure out if it regenerates based on your play of the previous hole (get a birdy it goes up, get a bogey you get nothing).

The focus meter is a good idea but still seems to lack something. A real golfer can tell how much spin he is putting on the ball based on club choice and where he hits the ball so giving the player the opportunity to spin while in mid air is unrealistic and has been part of the TW series for a while. I think its time they move to something more realistic but maybe thats just me. Putting seems to be going in the right direction. Its no where near as easy as TW10. Also in this game you cannot start out the season as a rookie and immediately win the first tourny by 10 strokes like in TW10 where you came out KO'ing the entire PGA Tour.

There is a new XP system which, based on your performance, gives you XP points which you can then either spend on upgrading your player or purchasing new goods. This also seems to be a better system than TW10 where halfway through the season you would end up having to wear a lime green shirt with argyle shorts just to get your power and putting boosts to where you need them in order to win. If you played TW10 you'd understand what I mean. With TW11 you can actually dress like a real golfer and wear different clothes for each day you play the tournament instead of wearing the same shirt/pants combo for two months because of the attribute boosts.

The major downfall of this game are the graphics. BAD. Seem to be a step backward. On my 52" HD Samsung it looks pixilated. Player still goes through the ground when in a putting scene. Create a player looks bad too. Not impressed with EA Sports lately. Madden better be good but im not holding my breath.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

People must not like games that take skill

posted by Baindini (NORTH POLE, AK) Jul 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This years Tiger is just as awesome as the previous years. The focus meter is a great idea. In previous years I could boost my ball and spin to where I wanted to put it, it was way too easy at times. Now with the focus meter it limits how many times you can boost, spin, and use putt preview. I usually save it for those long eagle puts and use a couple previews. I do agree it would be nice to go back to the old way, but I could also just put in last years game. The graphics are a smidge better. Real time wind makes it very interesting, hitting the ball and midswing it goes up 10 mph makes for some tough shots. The way I look at it is Tiger is getting more and more like actual golf. The previous years I could birdie and eagle every hole with no problem. I have yet to go online cause my guy is still too weak, but I'm looking forward to the team play, look for me and my buddies at the top of the leaderboad!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Golf Game!!

posted by S7Pain (SLIDELL, LA) Jun 11, 2010

Member since May 2010

11 out of 17 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Listen to me as i tell you that this is a great game. the graphics look amazing,game play is at its best,and the option to play the Ryder Cup with your friends via online is a beast.!!!. You can build your created golfer and play the PGA Tour offline or online. This is a challenge to build your player as you basically start from the very bottom. Once you start doing all the skill challenges and playing the PGA tour,your character will eventually become good. This is not an easy game to play at all. If you do not have patience and check your shots,wind,draw,or fade before you swing you will be scoring over Par in no time. this is a great game all around offline and online,but its very very challenging. you really have to know your golf game to compete against the CPU and players online. This game is great to go into you Q.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same Stuff, Different Year

posted by ZJensen (TALLAHASSEE, FL) Sep 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Although I was somewhat pleased with the game I still found it rather repetitive. The game hasn't seen much change within the last 4 or 5 years but, it still keeps me coming back to play it again the next year. Although I would never personally buy one of these games I would recommend it to somebody (to rent) who has enjoyed the previous years of the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

8-Rating

posted by JonLP24 (MESA, AZ) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Let me first say this review is from the perspective of someone who has never played any of the golf games in the Tiger Woods' franchise. So this won't feature any complaints or compliments that mention how the game was from last year's version or any other before this year.

I only created a golfer and nothing else so I only played tournaments with my guy. When you create-a-golfer be sure to include your full name or whatever name you'd like to see appear on leaderboards or FedEx Cup standings. I just went with my first name, all lower case, like I usually do when creating profiles. Let me say it didn't look right seeing jon next to a Sergio Garcia.

If you never played this series, or if you did, than start on varsity. I missed the cut in every tournament(I started out really bad at first with scores such as 49+) until after the British Open (Called "UK Major Championship") but when I did, I started to do well. I won Greenbriar Classic and a FedEx tournament in TPC Scottsdale. I ended up 3rd in the final FedEx Cup standings. The next season I dominated the first 3 rounds of first tournament. I had to switch to Pro and while I was able to hold on to the win. I got a more realistic challenge.

I had a couple of top 10 finishes and a win at TPC Scottsdale(Phoenix Open) . Then I played the British Open.

When you go the create-a-golfer route you get points which you can use to make your golfer better. Either by adding points yourself or buying clothes, shafts, drivers, etc. that all improve your golfer's ability. The downside is courses you were used to change because the ball flies further than you're used to so you may have to use less club. However St. Andrews, really has few obstacles and large fairways. I absolutely dominated this course my second season because all I had to do was hit the ball far. Use the right club and right swing and I was hitting for an easy birdie. I won the British Open with a -41. That is when I sent the game back. Too easy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Pretty dreadful

posted by MaddenFan1 (EDISON, NJ) Aug 7, 2010

Member since Jul 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I get that game developers want to create realistic games. But if we are going to be realistic, amateur golfers are not incompetent to begin with. And it doesn't take them what seems like endless gameplay to earn enough "XP points" to get better.

You literally cannot begin a career and play a hole with water and have the strength to get the ball over the water. That is so unrealistic it is unbelievable. Heck, even when you have earned 4000 XP points, you still cannot get good clubs and enough attribute points to be good.

And then you get into the golfers that are missing, and there are a lot of them, including the man who is probably the most popular golfer in the world, Phil Mickelson. Is it that hard to create a game with Lefty in it?

So, if people want to suck at golf, most people can simply go out and play a round. However, it takes way too much effort to get good at this game, which in turn makes the game not interesting. It's quite a shame.

Hopefully EA goes back to putting out an enjoyable product next year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

E.A sports , rpg , etc.

posted by IC3oCOLDoM (HILLIARD, OH) Jun 19, 2010

Member since Sep 2007

3 out of 8 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

Here we go again.... E.A. is like a bad adiction , you know if you do to much it'll make you sick but you can't help yourself . Maybe there servers got better , maybe I wont lose connection this time , HA !
Even better , they make you pay to play if you don't have a "code" .
My rating for Tiger Woods is a 6 ... But I give E.A. a BIG FAT 0 !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Too many changes

posted by mr0mrs6s28 (ELKTON, MD) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Too many changes in play. The game, like all the others since the beginning, don't carry over any saves from previous games which does suck; you always need to create a new character. After the creation, you then need to go through required golfing lessons. No money is awarded this year all "xp points" only. Nice thing is instead of the game increasing your skill levels, you can decide what you want to grow instead. Overall rating is about a 3. Graphics are good but gameplay should have stayed the same from 2010.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Tiger Woods 11

posted by sbarb0 (SAINT ANN, MO) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is terrible. Stick with 09 or 10. Do not waste your time with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Tiger Woods 2011

posted by Tom9677 (BATON ROUGE, LA) Jun 13, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

6 out of 28 gamers (21%) found this review helpful

This Game Sucks I am sending it back and this will be the first time in years that I have not bought this game.

Not being able to turn off the stupid focus meter is my main cause of disgust with this game I am so used to using the power up, spin and putt preview that the new game is no fun.

EA dropped the ball on this game & I dumbfounded that they would not have a classic setting where the game would play like ALL the other games in the past.

I just hope they don't screw up Football and Hockey as bad as they did Tiger 2011 as I love playing those games but this one is going back if I had bought this game I would have returned it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

bad game

posted by sportsgame (NORTHGLENN, CO) Nov 8, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

This game really really sucks i gave it a one how do make a hole in one in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Mehhhhhh.

posted by Beevester (BOISE, ID) Jun 11, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

2 out of 15 gamers (13%) found this review helpful

It almost feels as if they downgraded the game itself overall from that of it's predecessors. The last Tiger Woods PGA Tour game I probably played was '07. Not only were the graphics better on that, but the gameplay was more enjoyable in general, XP wasn't used to be spent on every aspect of the game which is extremely frustrating because you just don't feel that realism you did in the other games accordingly. I don't know when the last time I walked into a pro shop and said, "I have 50 XP, now give me that hat." was. The game face feature had me emerging with what looked to be a burn victim's face with pockets of cellulite covering the surface of it. I suppose that's a given though. There's really no way to ACTUALLY make that feature work. Maybe it's just me, but as I said before these graphics seem quite lackluster. From my perspective, '07's were quite a bit better. Thanks a lot for having an affair, Tiger. Now nobody cares about actually making these games good anymore. I would give this game a 6, but the fact that Padraig Harrington and Phil Mickelson weren't in it downgrades it to a 5. With all that said, here's to hoping '12 isn't so god awful.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boooooooo

posted by tristan444 (CULVER CITY, CA) Jun 7, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 40 gamers (5%) found this review helpful

Horrible gameplay. but easy 1000 gamerscore in 2 hours.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Fight it!

posted by pigmadic (ENGLEWOOD, CO) Apr 10, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

online pass enabled

en.wikipedia. org/wiki/Online_pass

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

great golf game

posted by gamekrazy (STUARTS DRAFT, VA) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

I found this game to be one of the best tiger woods game to date i would highly recamend this game :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Computer Cheats

posted by INS2G8ER (FALLBROOK, CA) Nov 17, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

Its amazing, but it seems the better I make a shot the better the computer makes a shot. It never hits a bad put. Sure it may stop right next to the cup but it doesn't go rolling by the cup ten feet.

Also the power gauge on the putting is totally F up. You have a 3 footer and somehow you leave it 1" short, com on. The wind and putting spin on the ball seems to be a computers choice. Some holes the wind effects the flight of the ball and on others it does not. Doesn't even depend on the wind speed.

Club choice is screwy also. If I want to hit driver in the fairway I should be able to. When you get into chipping range the choices get messed up also.

Don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by Tool408 (SANTA CLARA, CA) May 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

Seems like the graphics get better but the game gets worse and worse.
Awesome courses and realism but the putting system sucks! I switched back to the classic style and that was just as bad.

I'm glad I didn't buy this like I originally wanted.

Maybe 12 will be better?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

tiger

posted by wadejames23 (MORGANTON, NC) Mar 28, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

this game is same as 2010 but with ryder cup sucked

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

EA lost in '07

posted by ClarkPDX7 (BEAVERTON, OR) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

i would buy Tiger Woods '07 with updated grafics over this 2011 version any day. The game isn't interesting enough to put forth the effort required to advance. CALL OF DUTY!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Tiger > golf

posted by jcg05 (VILONIA, AR) Mar 17, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

Tiger Woods are the best woods.
Tiger is still #1...
All fans of golf should know that the day is still coming...
He will reign over golf for generations, while shattering every record that exists in golf...
Then he shall take over the world...lol

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not bad

posted by keatbaby (POCATELLO, ID) Jan 31, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

Im not the biggest golf fan, but because of its controls and gameplay it turns out to be a half decent game. But it can get old quick. I reccomend this game to only true golf fans

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not as Good as It was

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Dec 5, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

This game falls flat on its face they changed everything and made the game worse. The biggest problem is the whole focus thing, They saiud this is a Good idea and who cares if it works or not we can do it so we are going to do it even if it the stupidest thing ever put in a game which if it isnt it is very close. And some of the Challenges are well Imposssible to do and that is being nice. Just dont Understand why they HAVE to take something that works and mess it up so 90% of the Players dont Like the way they messed it up. This Focus Thingy is Terrible but I just Play Games I dont Program them and I am Glad I dont since I wouldnt just put something in a game just because I can and not because it makes the Game Better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great graphics, challenging game play.

posted by BigLou180 (BRONX, NY) Dec 3, 2010

Member since Mar 2008

If you want to birdie or eagle every hole, then this is not the game for you. Unlike previous TW games, you can't follow the ball in flight and spin it closer to the hole. But watching the flight trail of the ball and seeing it bounce and roll on the fairway/green is very realistic. I don't like the XP system though. On previous versions of the game, you got XP points to improve skills and $$$ to buy clubs and clothes from the Pro Shop. Now you have to choose between using XP for skills OR Pro Shop. It also is a little repetitive, but all sports games are like that when you're playing in season mode.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse