Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, PS3, PS2, PSP Games
GF Rating
7.4

3906 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not mind blowing but still really entertaining.

posted by MattyOYO (BUFFALO, MN) Jun 18, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

17 out of 17 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

So, I rented the game from GameFly because I didn't want to buy it. I already had Tiger Woods 09 and figured that this one wouldn't be changed enough to be a different game. I was right in that in a lot of ways it's the same game as last year, but there are some different features that make it really fun. The new weather system is ridiculously cool and the tournament challenge is really fun also. Overall, I think the graphics are a little more cartoony than last year, but the new courses and challenges of the career mode make it definetly worth my time. I love the Tiger Woods series and hope it lasts a long time, super entertaining.

Graphics: 7/10 - Courses look great, but some of the displays do not live up to last year.
Gameplay: 9/10 - Always great, greens play a bit differently than last year, but still really fun.
Multiplayer: 7/10 - Love the new tournaments!
Longevity: 9/10 - I will probably get about 25 hours out of this game, it's really fun to slowly make your character better and beat all the challenges
Overall: 8/10 - Last year's game was a tiny bit better but the updates and new features are worth my time. I'm really having fun with this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game!

posted by Davemonkel (Greenville, NY) Nov 14, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game offers a wide variety of golfing games for anyone but especially golf junkies. this game is a lot more challenging than the last game but there is more items to buy. The game play is basically the same from the last game you just can't hit the ball as far... This game is overall amazing keeping you playing for hours! The only down side is the intro screen is not as cool as the last one and the music sucks. oh well it still is a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Good game, bad developer!

posted by danrhem (MESA, AZ) Oct 8, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The fact that EA exploits the downloadable content feature on 360 just pisses me off! Before internet and patches they tried harder to release a game that was problem free. Now they release any ole thing and patch it up for a year! Also the days are gone of beating a game or season and unlocking a new court, course, level, etc. Now you just pay for everything. THERE WAS A COURSE TO DOWNLOAD THE NIGHT BEFORE THE GAME CAME OUT!! REALLY!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun with some frustration...

posted by brram77 (MONTVERDE, FL) Sep 10, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I actually purchased this game because I enjoy picking up and playing a round of golf from time to time as a diversion. I have no regrets on the purchase. Gameplay is smooth. Like many recent sports games I would say the game is easy to play but difficult to master, at least for me. My largest complaint is the weather. Why is it raining 80% of the time? Not only that, but why are we playing in rain in thefirst place? Shouldnt the round be postponed or something? I mean, its an interesting challenge, but that wears off pretty quickly. Especially since the rain makes the ball travel less far, thus hurting your power score at the end of the round. However, that being said, it is my main complaint. I do like that they have made a large number of courses available to purchase online, yet I have to woner about the price. Basically if you buy 6 additional courses you just paid for another tiger woods game. Kind of pricey if you ask me. Overall enjoyable, and challenging if set to the correct level. AI does shoot ridiculously good scores even in the worst of weather, but I just look at that as a challenge to overcome. Since I see people online shooting -24 I figure if I practice that I should be able to do the same, so I will keep working on it and not complain and blame the game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

its still tiger

posted by flipdwun (CAMDENTON, MO) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

so without skipping a beat, EA has popped out another Tiger Woods. now there has not been a whole lot of inovation in this game since about 07 or 08, but for what it's worth, how much can you do with golf? on top of that, they really have this game right where they want it. the swing stick is as accurate as ever. the putting, which suprise! has changed again, is acctually more realistic then anything they have done before. and the animations from character to spectator are excellent.

so the more i played i said, why did i get this its the same. even the stat system with little to offer Hank Haney is the same. or is it? the more i played i figured out how much more realistic this game is.
first off, the old tiger woods games, you could go all out on every hole hitting the ball like happy gilmore and going for the green on par 5's. with the stat system in place, if you go big, you have to know you can do it. it keeps you in check for a more realistic experience. the weather system changes the way you play, as the crazy wind and rain forces you to play safe and tests your short game and putting skill to its limit. again, more realistic.

so has this game evolved over the years? absolutly. it is more like a true PGA event every time you go out there. which all this has been done very quietly. now this is going to upset some people that wanna hit the ball like a rhino on steroids, but thats not the way the game is played. all in all, if you want a true golf experience, this is the best you can get without hitting the links yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

same old tiger?....yeah, same great game!

posted by phisherman (BLACKWOOD, NJ) Jun 20, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

ok, so tiger woods golf has been out for a lot of years. people complain how not much has changed, but at the end of the day, it's a sports game. the sport of golf has not changed, so neither will the game. i like the new features the creators put in every year. they tweaked the putting, and i like the partnership with the weather channel so you get the actual weather at the time. i mean really, whats the problem? it's a great game. i hope the people that feel that it's the "same old tired game" feel that way about madden football, the nhl series, or any other sports game. this game is a winner in my book.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Its Golf...cant change to much

posted by GameCrit1c (STAFFORD, VA) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

First ill say i never played TW09 i played 08, and from 08 there is a descent amount of changes, the courses look different and a few of the UI items are different. Now for the likes and dislikes:

Pros:

1. The graphics are awesome as usual with a tiger woods game
2. Sound and ambient noises are all good but nothing special.
3. The precision putter is a nice addition to help with putting
4. The many new courses are all fun in golfing standards, but its golf.
5. tournament challenges are very fun and get pretty difficult as you beat them and adds a nice change of pace when your bored of owning the PGA season.
6. There are TONS of items you can equip your golfer with, some humerous.
7. Club Tuner is awesome, gives you the ability to tune your clubs for more power or more spin or less of those, very good touch.
8. My favorite is the achievements, some are difficult, and others are time consuming, but there are all pretty fun to try and get.
9. Weather, it sucks being in it buts its a very good addition.
10. Live tournements is VERY awesome, you get to pick a tourny and play against thousands of other people for the top score.

Cons:

1. My main problem #1 problem is the ball spin, it seems to be kinda worthless in this game, the ball just kinda goes where it wants not where your spinning it, its closer to realistic, but being use to 08's go anywhere i tell you to ball spin, it sucks.
2. Ive ran into a couple "bugs" id call them, where my ball seems to hit an invisible wall and just stop or go flying into a different direction.
3. Its ALOT harder to get hole in ones and double eagles then in 08.
4. The fact that you cant sim through ALL the rounds of a tournement to get to the next its very annoying.

Theres other little things but not major enough to mention, and most of my cons are small problems of mine, others might have different outcomes then me, but i see myself as a good TW player. thers far more Pros then cons, but its Golf...Enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Game is great people, stop whining!!

posted by Baindini (NORTH POLE, AK) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

This years Tiger delivered!! The online tourneys are awesome, winning "cash" and the online ranking. People complaining about how the game hasn't changed...COME ON!!! It's a sports game about golfing!!!!! It can't change that much. Tiger is a game with a following, that I am proud to be apart of. The game has small yet great changes each year. The live weather bringing you rain halfway through the round is awesome, making putting crazy. Guys complaining about how easy it is, try it on tour pro and lets hear what you have to say. It's all about the difficulty you have it on. The graphics are incredible as usual, seeing blades of grass blowing in the wind. Hearing people on here complain about the crowds not having umbrellas in rain really makes you wonder what people are really looking for in games these days.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

2 thumbs up

posted by flygame (HIGHLAND, IL) Jul 25, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

9.5-Presentation
9.5-Graphics
9.5-Lasting Appeal
8.5-Sound
10-Gameplay
9.5-Singleplayer
9.5-Multiplayer
This is my first Tiger Woods experience, which is why it has such a high score. The last time i played a golf game was Jack Nicholas for Nintendo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Same old same old.

posted by SergeantPope (CHARLESTON, IL) Jun 12, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2007

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Tiger Woods games almost never change by much. This time the biggest thing they changed was a tournament feature thingy on Xbox Live. And they changed something about putting so now its a little bit easier. Besides that its basically the same as all of the other PGA Tours. The graphics are pretty good most of the time. And the courses are pretty good. The campaign mode is really good. But lots of you will prouble just do quick play. Theres some downloadable content for this game already out. So there really isnt much to say about this game other than whats new on it because everything else is the same. Try it out, but there really isnt enough new things on this game to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Slight Improvement

posted by djevets (SCOTCH PLAINS, NJ) Jun 14, 2009

Member since May 2006

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I have been playing tiger Woods on 360 since it came out and each year I look for nee things, have my own ideas of what would be cool and hope they would make these changes.
Here is my review of 10:
Pros: Same great graphics especially if played on a HD tv.
Smooth control unless you tune your clubs to have a low swwtspot and attempt to use a full power boost and are off just a bit, you are slicing or hooking big time.
The fact that you can purchase any piece of gear with microsoft points right off the bat is a plus, but it costs you.
The new online features are cool also, but what sucks is that other players somehow shoot -26 -28 under par somehow probably hacking or are just that good which I can't understand so it takes the real aspect o fa real golf tournament out of play.

Cons:
No competition against real players shooting almost -30 for a round which takes the fun out of it for real golfers.
The weather changes are cool, but couldn't EA make the crowds use umbrella's to make it more realistic? They should ha ve noticed that by now at least if adding rain.
I miss having a normal driving range you can just go to and hit to targets. They should make a realistic driving range where you can go to a booth and see other players next to you hitting, maybe even pros or before a tournament to warm up.
Many things could be improved in the TW series and it would make the game soooo much better if they realized it.
I am slso sick of hearing the female announcert voice. I think they should keep it all guys and bring back David Fer.
Having to create a NEW golfer each time is kinda a pain. I wish that you could transfer your old player.

Overall it's good to rent or have imo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nothing new to see here...

posted by KayotixTX (CANYON LAKE, TX) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I didnt REALLY expect a revamp of the series but the game is pretty much the same game as the last 2 years. Graphics are good, controls are good for analog sticks but the game is just too easy. You can shoot under par pretty much right off the bat with your created player and not have to worry much about the CPU players in the tournaments. Realtime weather is a neat but not really a game changer, i guess they needed another bullet point on the box.

I expected a few more options maybe and some revamped graphics for this title. Its still a good golf game but if you played 07-09 you have played this one. Grab it on the Wii if u have it.....the motion controls are PERFECT for the game and push it over the top when compared to the PS3 and 360 versions.

Good golf game overall just not as good as it could of been....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Fun if golf was played in a hurricane

posted by tankhides (DEARBORN HEIGHTS, MI) Jul 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Ok....This game has gotten on my last nerve What the &&%$ was EA doing adding Monsun weather to a GOLF game. First played 5 4 round touneys. NEVER ONCE had sunshine and under 26mph winds NOT ONCE!!! So different courses spread around the world all play golf in SUPER high winds and POURING RAIN. Bullcrap. Nothing real about this game nothing at all.... a terrible sim. I might add tiger woods shoots beyound club records on all courses btw. Yes even in a GD HURRICANE.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

I ddidn't think it was Possible

posted by upsetgamer (PLAINVILLE, KS) Jun 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2004

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I didn't think it was Possible for EA to mess up a game they had already taken from Ok To Horrible but they did it. They messed up the putting really bad. You read the green but the green isn't close to what the read is even putting the old Way. The Putting Preview Isn't close to what the ball really does. And the real Weather is a Laugh since if you turn it on all that means is your either going to be playing golf in a Storm or with winds over 15 mph. But the wind only effects the ball if it means you Making a Bad Shot. Everything else seems to be the same old game with the same old Problems. EA is getting really lazy in the Programming department I guess. I am Dredding to see how they messed up This years Madden. This is A rent only if you have alot of Patience

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

In depth look

posted by Killermandude (MASON, OH) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I don't have anything to compare this to - so this review will be objective, as if it's the only game of it's kind.

Overall - A lot of fun, 3 very unique different parts of sinking a shot (The power drive, the accuracy to get it on the green (or get out of rough/sand trap), and putting). Putting is my favorite, you get 1 preview of where the ball WILL go - then you have to correct from there and hope it works). And of course all the game modes you could want. Multiplayer (on or offline), practice mode, challenge modes, career mode, and free play. Graphics DEFINITELY leave a lot to be desired, all I have to say about that.

Mutliplayer (not live) - MOST fun I've ever had playing a game is just setting up 4 players, and tossing around the controller when someones turn is up. Lots of cheering and shouting when someone makes incredible shots.

Multilplayer (live) - What you would expect, it's the same as playing with your friends, but with a wildcard element. The people are either shut ins who play too much, your average player (like me), or the rage quitters. (Lots of rage quitters for a golf game...)

Career - Probably the coolest aspect in my opinion for a number of reasons. Not only do your stats go up if you do well - they go down if you suck (lol). Buy gear to get better stats (not sure why...), practice/challenge modes to raise stats you struggle with.

Sound - The announcers only have 10 sayings, and you'll be hearing them a lot. Same with the crowd (especially when putting... one guy ALWAYS goes "YAYAYAYAYAYAYA!!!---OHHH....".

and finally...

Weather - This is a hit and miss for me. Some courses will almost always have 20MPH winds, which is very realistic - but very annoying when you're 1-2 strokes away from placing 20th or finishing second. (Annoying not because of the challenge, but because the other golfers have 0 problem with it, like it's not even a factor).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

the graphics were fine

posted by guitargod1 (HUMBLE, TX) Jul 14, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

i dont know why people rip on the graphics so bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

this game is ok that stupid part is the putting

posted by cannonwade (TROY, NY) May 17, 2010

Member since May 2010

the putting part is hard i keep missing

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Lag + Precision = Incredible frustration!

posted by Optimal (LUBBOCK, TX) May 3, 2010

Member since May 2010

While playing this game I found myself unusually frustrated. I have enjoyed Tiger Woods game's in the past; however, something about this one made me want to throw my XBOX out the window. Perhaps, I shouldn't be using the 3-click method of play.. Maybe I should play with the default style.. But I don't want to play like that, I want to play how I choose to play. The reason I play console games is to get away from the constant optimization that comes with PC gaming (adjust video this, key that, sound this, blah blah blah)....

So why would I play a console game that lags at the most inopportune times? Such as the countless number of birdies I've missed or drives I've sent flying into other fairways, simply because the slider was skipping across my screen. I refuse to support a game that requires a serious level of precision, when it is so unoptimized to the point that 5 out of 18 holes in a round are worthless due to serious, and obvious lag issues.

I can only hope Tiger Woods 2011 fixes this, so my XBOX may play without fear of being destroyed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Better as a purchase than a rental

posted by cherypepsi (LANCASTER, PA) Apr 2, 2010

Member since Jul 2009

it was a fun game, nothing mind-blowing, but overall fun to play. The physics screwed up in certain situations, you can often figure on the wind NOT blowing when you adjust for it, but then blowing when you under-adjust. The commentaries screwed up a few times, and it would have been nice to have a wider variety. I'd also have liked fewer cheats or add-ons....make it more about accurate physics, dealing with the pressure and environment, rather than about scoring well, using the money to make it so you can blast it off the tee 500 yards.

Also a side note, don't know it it bothered anyone else, but this is the first game I ever played that triggered me having migraines. As a migraine sufferer, that was a definite downside to playing, obviously.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ouch! Is this suppose to be fun?

posted by mccollum4 (PHOENIX, AZ) Jan 29, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

More fustrating than fun. Not many courses included w/game. EA wants you to buy DLC! DLC is included on Wii version, what gives??

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Broken

posted by rapidfired (DELAND, FL) Jan 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

I cannot write a correct review for this game because I've rented this game for the third time and the game disk is scratched. Hopefully GF will correct this problem so I could play this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Great Golf Game but..

posted by Rpeternell (FRANKLIN PARK, IL) Jan 10, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

This is probably the most realistic and in depth golf game I have ever played...but becasue of that it is extremely hard to casually play. I think only people who have been playing golfing video games their whole lives will be able to enjoy this game for more than 5 minutes. Definately not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Hard game for a beginner

posted by farrlinn (LONG BEACH, CA) Dec 31, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

I thought it is a great golfing sim for someone who has followed the franchise but a beginner like myself, found it to have a very steep learning curve with a really poor training system.

If you played all of the other PGA games I am sure you will slip right in.

If you are new to these types of games you might find it to be very frustrating.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Maintaining the Status Quo

posted by stateboy82 (RALEIGH, NC) Dec 26, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

Tiger 2010 is basically the same as Tiger 2009/2008. The tournament challenge has replaced the bronze/silver/gold challenge of a few years back (maybe 2009?) and now they have included live weather for each tourney. I personally prefer the bronze/silver/gold challenges to the one from this game and while the live weather is a nice touch, it doesn't make up for the things that remain the same. The number of achievements for single player has dropped in favor of online play, which some might like, but I rarely play online, so there is little incentive for me to keep playing the game. EA has had the monopoly on golf sims for years and it is starting to show. I believe that EA has fallen into the same funk with the Tiger series as they did with the NBA Live series. They are not introducing enough new material into the games to make fans want to play and replay them. I am hoping that 2KSports can get a license deal with the PGA or go independent and introduce some competition to EA because the Tiger series has gotten a little stale. If 2K can do with golf what they did with the NBA/NHL/NFL games, it would be a very welcomed addition to the golf sim genre. Competition is never a bad thing and it's time that EA realized that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

tiger woods 2010

posted by fishergirl (FREMONT, OH) Nov 19, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This game was no where near as entertaining or as challenging as previous games. I did not like the changes in the controls at all. I hope 2011 is better. this is one year i finnished but will not be buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse