Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10 for PS3
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.6

2209 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome!

posted by 00Zegg (SAN JUAN CAPISTRANO, CA) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is the best Tiger Woods yet. The accuracy of the swings has improved. The putting, once you get used to the difference from past games, makes it for a more realistic experience. Definitely a plus! Don't pass up on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

helpful for first timers

posted by btskillet (NORFOLK, VA) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

the game play is great, tee time, to me seem little difficult ( depends on the accuracy of your movement using the l3 and r3), it also take time to get comfortable with the controls. but overall as beginner i find this game tittle is not for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply The Best!!!

posted by RebelTaz (SOUTH BEND, IN) Jun 11, 2009

Member since May 2009

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The Best Tiger game in ages the real live weather aspect in freakin awesome.Make you adjust your gameplay on the fly if your an experience tiger player then you should be ok.For you newcomers practice,practice,practice is all i can tell you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tiger 10

posted by bompa45 (PALMETTO, FL) Sep 2, 2009

Member since Feb 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I liked the game overall but if you have to leave during the game it won't let you continue from where you left off. Then if you complete the game and log out it won't save game progress! I think EA need's to address this problem.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I've enjoyed every minute...

posted by TheElls (OXFORD, MS) Jun 19, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

After taking some time off of the ps3 I've decided to get back into using it more and getting more out of it. One thing I'm doing is picking up the new EA line-up for the first time since the first series on the next gen.

I agree with the reviewer that said that the game hardly has room to change, but it definitely has grown. The visuals are awesome, the photoface is interesting (hopefully it shows up in every one of their games this year) and the online stuff is the best. Gamernet and all that is pretty much new to me so it has been cool to post clips and try to beat some. Play the Pros and online tournaments allow you to be addicted to the game for periods of time and then put it away and change it up. I think I'll be playing this one for a while, but I can also say I porbably won't buy another TWoo game until '12 earliest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Game!

posted by CSeek26 (HOUSTON, TX) Jun 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Tiger woods hasn't changed much over the years and neither has this one. But with that being said it doesn't really matter. IT was a good game then and its a good game now except the graphics and detail are amazing. The game does have the ability to be more difficult now with a new putting style and harder tiger challenge. Although the game can still be tooned to be easy with the clasic putting style.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A big drop from previous years

posted by ehings (Puyallup, WA) Jul 8, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I'm surprised at the user reviews for this game. I think the game has really fallen off this year. For the first time, there are serious frame rate issues when playing with the three click system. The putting is horrible, the courses aren't anything special (not to mention you have to play forever to unlock them), and why has no one mentioned the pro golfers (other than Tiger) in the game have swings that in no way represents them in real life. Maybe Annika is close. Where's the Gulbis dip? Or the Creamer collapse? I used to play PGA Tour 486 in 1994 and those swings were motion-captured. Very disappointing that this game is not improving.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

High Hopes

posted by rnmike (LA MESA, CA) Jan 5, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes for this game since I love the PC, Wii, and iPhone versions. I was thoroughly impressed with the graphics and realism. However, the intuitive nature of the PC and Wii controls seems lacking in the PS3 version. The disjointed saving mechanism makes for some frustrating moments when you need to call it quits on short notice. It is fun to pick up and play, but too drawn out for career mode. In the iPhone version you can exit the application, answer a call, surf the web then go back to the game and continue at the same hole you left from. Why can't the PS3 version do the same? Whack!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

same song

posted by lihill (BALTIMORE, MD) Jun 15, 2009

Member since May 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

The last Tiger Woods game I played before this was 2001. If you take the online features away from 2010, it's the exact same game. Still a great game, but I can't justify buying it more than once in a lifetime.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Game freezes during loading screens

posted by felzenmat (MOBILE, AL) Jul 11, 2009

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

Game has tons of bugs. For example, about 5% of the time, the camera fails to follow anywhere near the ball. The worst bug of all, which makes the games essentially unplayable, is that the game periodically freezes between holes (during the loading screen). You can play 17 holes and never get to the 18th, losing all of your progress not to mention 45 minutes of your time.

It's hard to believe that EA can put out such a pile of junk. At the very least, they should offer to take back copies of this game from the poor folks who actually purchased it. I'm also dissapointed that Tiger would lend his name to such a poor product. He is probably the only person who could actually make EA do something about this horrible game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

tiger woods 10

posted by enudog (freeland, PA) Aug 25, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

can play with my friends at home must be played on line to play friends sucks

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

possibly the last, most certainly the least

posted by opinioner (BEAVERTON, OR) Jul 20, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

am I missing something? flinging my own dung is more entertaining than this MISS. EA is a revolving door.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tiger Woods 10

posted by Rummy52240 (VINTON, IA) May 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

i am renting this game again. i find that its best to be played with the "LaunchPad Tour" and my own clubs. makes all the issues with the three click glitch crapola go away :) awesome graphics on a 250" HD projection from my Optoma EP 16-91 1080p projector, hooked up to my ps3 w/ HDMI. love the real time weather and online tournament play. this is the second time ive rented it and its basically like i have my own golf simulator.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Annoying announcers and bugs

posted by fins13mp (TARPON SPRINGS, FL) Nov 14, 2009

Member since May 2009

I also found quite a few bugs on this title, particularly in 3-click mode. I also hated the fact you had to play a full 18 holes and there was no way to save progress (even allowing it after 9 would have been USEFUL.)

Which brings me to my biggest peeve with the game. I know Scott Van Pelt often announces golf and ESPN has overtaken the world, but if I have to hear his catchphrase "useful" in that phony British accent, I'm going to vomit. "Useful shot..." Cmon EA, add some variety to the dialogue.

I also hated the new precision putter and relied on the old 3-click. Perhaps I just needed to get used to it and we can chalk it up to being a new feature I didn't give enough time but I found it very difficult. I didn't see much difference once using the Club Tuner feature either.

I also saw that a lot of the people that are getting great scores on this game are using a different controller that has less play in the swing motion creating straighter and more consistent shots. I wasn't really that into the game to warrant purchasing a special controller.

I'll give the online play and challenges a positive though. Nice addition.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Glitch City

posted by Brucelee1 (YUBA CITY, CA) Nov 3, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

This was one of those games that I was looking forward to playing. I am a regular golfer and I was looking forward to playing this game for hundreds of hours. Unfortunately I found the game glitchy and inconsistent. I found it very repetitive to have to play the same course for four times in a row when on tour.

The biggest glitch that I found was on a hole I had already played three times before. I had about a 10 yard pitch shot to his, about 25% of my lob wedge. The computer automatically sets you up at 100%, so I had to manually change the shot to the shorter 25%, which I did. I hit my shot and it hit it at 100% and it went out of bounds. I said to myself, "maybe I set that up wrong". It set me up for the same shot again and I made the adjustment to 25% again.......and it again hit it 100% and out of bounds. I tried four times with the same exact outcome. HOW FRUSTRATING!!!!

So i immediately ejected the game and returned it. What a waste of time!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!!!!!!

posted by DaGamer818 (CEDAR LAKE, IN) Sep 24, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

This is by far the best golfing game yet!
The graphics are great.. Controls are great.. and you get hours of entertainment!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Tiger Woods 10

posted by cougar19 (New Orleans, LA) Sep 9, 2009

Member since Sep 2009

I played Tiger Woods 09 on Xbox 360 and loved it. I rented Tiger Woods 10 for my PS3 and can see the game has a lot of improvement. I can't stand to play the game though because of the lag whenever you are swinging with the 3-Click system. Putts are nearly impossible. It is incredibly hard to get a perfect shot because of the lag on the 3-Click system. I'm trying to get used to using the other swing option but miss the 3-Click system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10

posted by BMAC11 (MOUNT EPHRAIM, NJ) Aug 18, 2009

Member since Aug 2009

Great Game! I have played many of the other titles in this series and this is by far the most challenging. You don't blow away the competition anymore. In fact, the more you upgrade your equipment - the more room for error! If you don't wanna take the time to upgrade - just goto the PS3 store and buy it!

Replay value is pretty good - especially if you get into playing online. However, I get bored with after a while - so Gamefly is perfect for me.

BMAC

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

great golfing fun

posted by mrc131 (WINSTON SALEM, NC) Aug 15, 2009

Member since Dec 2006

This is tiger at its best yet. The live weather introduced a couple of years ago is finally properly implemented. The new courses and fun. The biggest different is the online options. Online live tournaments are great fun. This tiger isnt different enough from 06 to make me upgrade. The game is also too easy. When Tiger shoots -6 at hazletine in real life, and I can shoot -22 in game, its too easy. Worth playing and worth the buy if you haven't had a tiger game in a few years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Lags and Drags

posted by DrGman (THOMASVILLE, NC) Aug 5, 2009

Member since Jan 2008

This game lags in 3-click mode and drags during course of play in terms of dialogue. Much of the fun of the game is online so if you don't have a connection you should not buy it. There are several disappointing omissions over previous years - no matches against past champions or current pros, no uber courses and no David Faherty. I know this is the 21st century and we're all supposed to be enlightened and respectful of the female sports casters out there, but this one sucks. The voices sound like NPR radio hosts - ugh! Where's the banter, the jokes, the quirky phrases? This is golf on ridilin. No thank you. Rent this, don't buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Good but still not great

posted by codds06 (GREELEY, CO) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Jan 2007

The graphics are great and the game play is excellent, but how the game judges how good you do in order to get your skills up is extremely flawed. I can shoot 12 under par in a round and break all course records and yet all of my skills will go down. To me that is beyond stupid!!!! And to constantly have it change after each round is annoying! At the most it should be at the end of a tourney or maybe even at the end of the month of play. Good game but very repetitive, got boring too quick!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

i'm really frusterated!

posted by grassie (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Aug 1, 2009

Member since Feb 2007

I really,really want to love this game but the developers have made this impossible. Reason being, the game STALLS ALL THE TIME! I'll be playin an incredible round, Smokin the competition, goin for eagle on the 18th hole then the game just stops, in mid swing, what the heck! WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY WHY? And thats not the only time or the only Tiger game that does this. Maybe by 2020 these morons at EA will figure out how to make a video game. Thank the video game gods for gamefly. Saving $ everyday.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun

posted by Phoenix444 (BURLINGTON, VT) Jul 27, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

I dont buy many sports games because for me a lot of thm always seem recycled but this game had enough new touches from other games that it was actually very fun to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10

posted by RedSox268 (WYLIE, TX) Jul 23, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Very good game if you are use to playing the Tiger series. The putting has changed but the game allows you to go back to the old way of putting which is what I suggest. I went from four putting on the new way, to birdies or better witht he old way. One bad thing is that when random weather is selected while on tour, it almost always rains. Sounds cool, but it gets really old after a while. Overall a fun game with realistic gameplay...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Just started career mode...

posted by kewone (LOS ANGELES, CA) Jul 17, 2009

Member since Jul 2006

The intro training session on career mode is a good start for those who are new to Tiger Woods PGA Tour. I played the front nine at TPC Sawgrass - EA has managed to keep up with maintaining top notch golf graphics and simulation. Control wise not much has changed, but overall a fun experience for both casual and hardcore gamers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse