Rent Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10 for Wii
view large frontback

Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.8

1575 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

All you could ask for and MORE!

posted by alec9922 (STATE COLLEGE, PA) Jun 13, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

21 out of 21 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Being one of those EA Sports games that they put out every year, its logical to worry if they are going to just add a new bow and steal your $60 on past performance.....DONT!

Tiger Woods 10 with its 27 courses and plethora of famous names delivers in ways i couldnt have imagined.

First, the Wii Motion Plus is an excellent addition and works splendidly to create as real a swing mechanic as you would ever want in a video game. Any more realistic and you would be slamming your Wii remote down just like your 7 Iron.

They have improved the putting mechanic, also, making it smooth and frighteningly realistic.

The career mode is excellent, starting you out as a rookie trying to work his/her way onto the PGA tour. You compete in stroke play and match play tournaments which correspond to the real life steps you would make as a Q schooler.

Real named equipment and tons of wardrobe and bells and whistles are impressive if not icing on the cake.

Then there is the Frisbee Golf which we played for hours. What a GREAT addition the game. It was the feature that really got everyone involved and allows the game to be fun for people who may not enjoy golf.

Throw is real time weather--- which is just cool and you have a game which has not only improved on its predecessors but expanded on them in ways that make the game even more inclusive and realistic.

There are many other game modes to keep you busy between chasing Tiger on the PGA tour and playing in online tournaments.

Its the reason to own the Wii Motion Plus.

About as good as you could ever hope in a Wii sports game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gets it on the green

posted by JMichaud (BETHESDA, MD) Jul 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jan 2008

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This is my first time with a Tiger Woods game, and I can see why it's such an attraction.
You get everything you'd expect from a sport simulated game - you can play a career in several tournaments, you can go single player over several courses, or your can play those courses multiplayer off line and online.
Problem is, online multiplayer has limitations - either you have to play with friends, or you have to fill out some sort of form or do something to regestier and play online.
But the game doesn't tell me what form to fill or what to do in order to get on board an online multiplayer match against strangers. So I'm stuck in offline mode; but that mode still delivers a lot of fun.
It would be a lot more fun if the controls here weren't so inaccurate. Finding the right place to pull the Wiimote back can be irritating.
Adding to troubles is the putting - which takes a while to get used to. Fact is, I need a full swing, or close to a full swing, no matter how far I'm from the hole (even if it's inches). This is something I haven't seen in any other golf game, nor do I care to see it in another golf game.
Rounding out the title are a bunch of stale mini games (why must they put minigames in these games?) and Frisbee Golf, which I found to be more aggrivating than the standard golfing game.
Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10 gives what's needed, but a few problems here and there tarnsh the shine a bit. This is a defininte rent, and a possible buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is truly what the Wii set out to do.

posted by wetzel8810 (ELYSIAN, MN) Jun 15, 2009

Member since Apr 2006

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Having played the last few editions of Tiger Woods on Wii I have been dissapointed with the control and response. I can say that this version is much better. It has amazing response especially with the Wii motion accessory. There are a ton of courses. About half you need to unlock. Also with all the extra mini games etc, this makes it a must buy or rent on Wii. The Disc Golf alone is fun. I am anxious to try the others out with a group of friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Unbelievable!

posted by Gotbuck (LAKE SAINT LOUIS, MO) Oct 3, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I do not golf but this game is so addictive. There are so many options to customize your golfer, clubs, and swing and not to mention all the mini-games. This game is so realistic as it is dialed in on your swing from everything from your wrist placement to backswing and knee placement. The EA brand of games keeps outdoing themselves each year and this is no exception. Buy it and you will be hooked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Easy to play, difficult to master

posted by Dudzerz (PITTSBURGH, PA) Jun 26, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'll try to keep this review short.

Pros-
-3 difficult settings to suit your level of play. The easiest of which makes the game playable for your 5 year old son, or your 80 year old grandfather.

-In depth tutorial to teach you all the basics.

-Very detailed character creation

-DISC GOLF....Very fun feature, makes using the Wii just that much more fun.

-Good multiplayer features in general.

Cons-
-TOO MUCH TIGER WOODS

-The step up from Easy to Medium difficulty is very difficult to get used to. It takes quite a bit of time to figure out how to hit the ball straight.

-The classic putting feature is very unrealistic and is very, very frustrating. 3 different levels of putters? Give me a break. Use the precision putting, it's much, MUCH better

-There are certain holes that are extremely frustrating on anything but the easiest difficulty. I screwed up an entire round on one hole multiple times because of a few select holes. I recommend saving at least every 2-3 holes so you can just turn it off if you have a bad couple shots. Restarting the round is very very frustrating.

Overall it is definitely worth a rent. I would not recommend buying the game unless you are a die hard golf fan....if you aren't you will get bored of this game very quickly....Plus there will probably be a new version out next year if you change your mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Must play!

posted by Kaiju75 (DOUGLASVILLE, GA) Jun 11, 2009

Member since May 2006

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

This is a "must play" game. The Wii MotionPlus support is outstanding. It's the closest you will come to playing golf without the walking and club fees. The addition of disc golf is great for everyone. The game is packed with content as well for online and offline play. I normally play the Tiger titles on the 360, but this years Wii version offers the most innovation.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome

posted by kbodin1 (LYNN, MA) Jun 16, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Jul 2006

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

this game just couldnt possibly be any better unless Tiger Woods himself showed up at my house to play with me. Its a must rent and a definite must buy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Too difficult?

posted by Solos40 (CRAIG, CO) Jul 2, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a tough one... This game has GOT to be one of the most ingenious golf game ever. It really is JUST LIKE GOLF without golf fees and walking. Keep that in mind. If you are a hardcore gamer looking to master the mechanics and learn how to eagle every hole, than I suggest you get this game on XBOX instead. I only played this game once and I knew it was too hard for me, and trust me, I'm not a sissy when it comes to games. I gave this game a 9/10 simply because the game is truly amazing, i'm not going to give a game a bad rap just cuz it's too difficult.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One word, Amazing!

posted by jojogino (nokomis, FL) Jun 10, 2009

Member since Mar 2006

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Alright so this game is so fun. The enhancements are so useful, the pull and push on the putting makes the putting much harder. I am so addicted to the disc golf. If you are hesitated to buy or rent this game, get it you will be glad you did.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Good only with the Wii motion plus!

posted by Bubba90827 (MONTGOMERY, TX) Jul 28, 2009

Member since Jun 2008

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It's good overall but you have to buy the Wii motion plus that enhances the control of your swing a lot better! They are on amazon for 19.99 a piece. Unless you buy it which it comes with one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Greta game but the Wii Motion Plus is worthless

posted by mememe (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Jun 16, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

2 out of 8 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I love the new game. The putting problems from 09 have been fixed. Just don't waste your money on the Wii motion plus. Every slight minute movement will translate in to a horrible slice or hook. You have to keep your arm PERFECTLY straight to get a straight shot. This game is much more fun without the Motion PLus. If it weren't for the Motion Plus, I would probably give the game a 9 or 10. But as is I give it a 8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

dont get if no wii motion plus

posted by johnsrevie (CUPERTINO, CA) Jun 23, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

ive tried this game with and without wii motion plus. with motion plus this game is a 7.5. without motion plus its a 2 because its so hard to putt without the motion plus. when you have it the gameplay is realistic and youfeel like youre holding a real golf club. the modes are pretty good and it feels really realistic. the my player create is a fun addition

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

It's golf

posted by dasilodavi (WATERTOWN, MA) Apr 16, 2010

Member since Jan 2006

This game is exactly what you want in a golf video game. The courses look amazing, the controls feel as close to golfing as you can get without having a real club in your hand, the multiplayer works very well.

The other modes are okay, I guess. The disc golf part is amusing, but not that filling; anyone who plays for real will be bored after a few holes. The party stuff I didn't bother with.

In short, if you like golf, you'll get this, because it's the gold standard for golf, and the Wii is the best place to implement it. If you're looking for high-action crazy golf, Super-Swing might be more up your alley.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Accurate

posted by dbnoho (ALHAMBRA, CA) Mar 11, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

I remember when this game came out on PS2. Watching people slam the analog sticks in one direction or the next to get a maximum roll all the ball. I never actually played it, no real reason. However, this version, with the Wii controller used as it is, works perfectly. There are lots of tiny details to learn to improve your swing, or you can just swat it. Up to you how deep you want the game to be, or how simple. Graphics are good enough for the game, and the fact that it links to the weather channel on your wii and makes the game play the same as the weather outside your door is great. I'm not sure if this game will make me a better golfer, I doubt it, but it's still very entertaining.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tiger 2010

posted by towgunner0 (CLAREMORE, OK) Jan 17, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

Was good game just didn't have alot of spare time to really getinto it ! was alot diff then playing on the PS2 but had fun with the Wii, i think the first night i swore i tore something!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game!

posted by Motion (WEBSTER, NY) Jan 16, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

ok, at first, i started playing this game without a wii motion plus system. I was concerned because I am an avid golfer in real life and found that trying to hit a shot a different percentage was very difficult. I recently bought a couple wii motion plus systems and wow does it make a difference. I enjoy this game regardless, however, the wii motion plus makes it all worth while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Tiger Woods PGA tour

posted by crickette (FRANKLIN, NC) Jan 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

This is a fun game to play. You have to use the tutorials to get the best playing time. We (my daughter and I) tried just jumping in and playing but had no clue what to do....you can't just "wing it".

It is not a game that I would try to have a young child play as you have to listen to the instructions and sometimes, getting the controller in the right position can be frustrating when you first start playing. Patience is a necessity with this game.

A good game for someone who has at least a slight interest in playing golf. There are ways to get a hole in one, and that is kinda cool, although really having to learn how to hit the ball, use the weather, how the greens are sloped etc would be more educational if you were going for the "real" feel of playing golf.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Hyperrealistic

posted by CoasTcuple (BRUNSWICK, ME) Jan 10, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

While I'm more of a mini golf fan, hubby loves this game:) In order to do well you have to stand and swing correctly (I understand this game has been known to help people with their golf game). If you're not a golf fan or have no interest in learning or perfecting your game it's probably best to avoid this game. However, golf enthusiasts and people interested in learning but can't afford or aren't near an open golf course or driving range will probably like this game:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Fun for parties

posted by strykermp5 (KENNESAW, GA) Dec 18, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

Absolutely love this as myself and my friends all golf. Its nice to be able to feel like you are playing regardless of the weather! Frisbie golf is a blast and a great game for a party!

Support Tiger Woods! Women come and go, but a true athlete is forever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome golf experiance!

posted by Rickmus66 (TIMBERLAKE, NC) Nov 9, 2009

Member since May 2009

I have played every Tiger Woods golf game and by far this is the best one.The game has a lot more to offer than just a game of golf.The Mini games are a thing of beauty.And fun for anyone who realy dont like to play golf.You have online play which is awesome to say the least.
Does your friends live in another town or state and you want to play them.No prob,you can play your friends online,or against anyone in the Wii universe.
The game play is smooth and exact.putting has been upgraded and is better than ever.And if you dont know how to play there is a new feature for beginers to help you learn how to sight the ball down the course.And help you make that big putt from 60 feet away.Advanced players will find this feature a little boring because its basicly takes a lot of the skill out of play.I tried it and made 5 eagles in a row.
The career mode is great.You start off as a rockie and work your way up to be a pro and face the big guns.The only reason I did not give this game a 10 is because in career mode you sometimes play against other rookie golfers.Well the other golfers are the same ones from all the Tiger Woods games.That was disapointing.Love to see new golfers instead of the old stand by's.But besides that,this game is dead on awesome.If you love golf or want to learn the sport,Play this game.Once you start,you will not want to put it down.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Tiger Woods PGA 10 is the best of the series

posted by Endgamer77 (DEER RIVER, MN) Oct 15, 2009

Member since Jan 2009

the tiger woods franchise has put out some good games but this surpasses them all. Its graphics are stellar, The amount of characters and courses is great. but the best thing in my opinion is that it uses the Wii Motion plus to deliver phenomonal accuracy. It without a doubt is a game of the year contender for the wii

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game, but golf

posted by RussW210 (FRANKLIN SQUARE, NY) Aug 20, 2009

Member since Feb 2009

The game is good, more fun than the PS3/Xbox version (played both). But wow golf is so boring. My 6 rating is because of how boring golf is. I'm entitled to my opinion :) This game did not make golf any more exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Poor putting style

posted by Tetley (SALISBURY, MD) Jul 6, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

Well, I must say i was a little let down with this game all because of the putting....There is a classic and precise putting style, both of which are much more difficult than the putting style in the TW 2007 game. With the classic and precise style putting, its all about the % of power that you need to get the ball to the hole and it is not difficult to figure out what % you need to make the putts, but is is extremely difficult to actually strike the putt with the percentage you want ...For example, if you have a ten foot putt and a 100% power putt would go twenty feet, you would need to putt the ball at 50% power, thats fine and dandy. Then you go to make the putt and could practice several times and not get a 50% putt. I had putts going 80% and off the green when I was trying to putt it 30% and putts going 30% when I was trying to putt it at 100%....This was very upsetting, and for that, I would not purchase this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Must own with motionplus

posted by RichScarry (MISSOULA, MT) Jul 6, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

Well, hats off to Nintendo for letting go of their new accessory being released to be bundled with a non-Nintendo game, nearly a month early no less. EA's effort to make the new gadget to work well shows and I can only hope for this type of support from other 3rd party games.

Single player mode has changed little since the previous installments with the acception of the use of motion-plus to play (or not, traditional controls are available). What makes this game impressive is just how much content there is packed in this game. You have your standard career mode where you can create your own character and level up your abilities and acquire clubs, clothing, and other accessories with stat bonuses. Similar, smaller challenges that unlock courses and golfers, and mini games to just name a few.

The online mode was well thought out. You have your standard Nintendo regulated play with anyone or with designated friends, lobbies that allow up to 4 golfers participate in an ranked or unranked match of the hosts choosing, and my personal favorite, daily and weekly tournaments. Daily tournaments are updated daily and will vary on the course. You golf your standard 18 holes at your own pace, then submit your score and see how you stack up with the other golfers (typically 800-1000 players have participated in the tournys I've done). Weekly tournys usually consist of more than one round of 18 holes.

Then you have simultaneous play which was designed perfect. There is no to very little wait for the other golfers. You all go at the same time and the colors of the other players balls are displayed during the game, and at the end of the round the scores displayed. You can play 18 holes quick and I love that.

EA put a lot of effort in this game. It looks good graphically, the mechanics are great (not perfect) and the online mode gives hours of gameplay. I'm happy to see a 3rd party developer put this much effort on the Wii version of a multi console game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow! And disc golf too boot!

posted by lostdrewby (PALMYRA, VA) Jun 29, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

This game freaking rocks! Anyone who likes the playability of Wii sports golf but just wished it had the advanced techniques found in games such as Mario golf for the Nintendo gameboy advance, should truly give this game a shot. And if you don't like the game of golf but love the game of disc, then this is hands down the perfect game for you. This game blew me away with its in-depth gameplay and lets face it, when it pouring outside but you really want to play some disc, then this is where it's at! A definite one to check out for the golfer who just wants to not suck at the sport anymore. That's not to say that the game is easy, but it sure beats the green fees of real golf cause if you have a bad game here, your not stuck looking for your ball for time you wished you could just hit the ball. Truly one to check out even if you just like disc!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse